Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Mt. Wellington

Standing sentinel over Hobart, Mt. Wellington is known by locals simply as ‘the Mountain.’ A visit to the Pinnacle is an essential Hobart experience. At the Pinnacle you’ll find a glass lookout building and boardwalks. In every direction the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ada P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It took me a while to get a hang of the bike. But once I did it, it was thrilling to decent Mount Wellington with these guys. Very nice organised.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

BRIAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was really great enjoyed the tour great guide loved the bike ride Just thought they could have included a bottle of water after the tour which dosant cost much to supply and a nice end to the tour

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Emelie J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Both the trip up to the mountain and the MONA visit were amazing, I would really recommend this tour. The guide was nice and friendly but said herself that she wasn't good at remembering facts so I didn't feel I could trust all the information she gave.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Leanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Didn't make it to the top snowed the night befor could not get thru. But the bus driver took us to other parts of the city which we wouldn't have seen otherwise .Very much appreciated for making it a great morning for us.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Robyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Too quick. Will go again on next Hobart visit.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Jules

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour was excellent, although bikes probably needed to be checked for safety before they left. ONe of my group is a professional cyclist and the 2 bikes they were using had faulty brakes
Maybe just a better maintenance, but tour and ride and guide excellent

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

stephanie.tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Hobart from the top of the mountain and a fun ride down. Staff was really friendly and tried to accommodate us going all the way to the top since there were recent road closings due to icing on the road. Overall a great experience!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

judy.wilson Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Awesome way to see mt Wellington, racing down the hill was excillerating. The off rode part was a little challaging but our guide was supportive and helpful

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Charles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour guides and awesome bike ride. This is suitable for all bike riding levels.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

lh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great fun, and catered for those of us who were a bit nervous and those who were confident participants. Good quality bikes and top notch guides. Rug up as its cold at the top.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Leone C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was a bit worried about doing such a big downhill ride, but the guide and bus driver were great. It was very well run so that there was no pressure to go faster than you wanted to go and the more confident/adventurous people got the chance to go as fast as they liked and do the off road riding. The mountain was amazing - cold, rainy and foggy at the top but clearing up as the ride progressed. The bikes and gear were well maintained. I really enjoyed the afternoon.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

rzc2801

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This tour just was just OK , but all because of weather . Roads were closed because of snow so Mount Wellington was not accesible, me made a couple of other visits around the city of Hobart to kill some time , i bet that with the proper weather the views and location must be amazing but this day I was not able to see it..

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Leonie B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely morning driving to and from Hobart up to Mt Wellington. We had the perfect weather, clear blue sky and -1 on top of the mountain. Sue was our driver and guide and a lovely lady and excellent driver, would recommend this trip but you would need to take your chances on the weather, we were so lucky

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Kim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We all loved it. A great way to experience mt wellington and the awesome views,

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Ken C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip and luckily the weather was clear although very cold! and the view was good.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall a good experience and descent with knowledgeable and friendly staff. The pickup point, however, was two blocks away and not at the indicated Elizabeth St. wharf indicated on the confirmation notice. Please update this information for future travelers.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Bethany G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was super fun, and id say a must do if you and #39;re visiting Hobart. The instructors were great and broke the descend down for us so we knew what to expect along the way down the mountain.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

jduckworth7797

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent half-day tour. We were lucky to have an exceptionally clear day, with relatively little wind and warm temperature. The guide was excellent, the mini-bus comfortable, thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Philip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing views from Mount Wellington and very friendly driver. MONA is one of those must see places and it did not disappoint. You may not like everything in there but there is enough to keep you interested and amazed by some of the work on show. Probably the biggest Gilbert and George exhibition ever - not my scene but it was compelling.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Helen R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A great day out led by a very proficient guide.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Andy

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

This tour was short but the tour guide/driver is fantastic, she is full of great stories. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain I couldn't see much from the summit. The rest of the tour was really fine.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Norm N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The people running the tour where ok, but it rained the whole time and was cold. We got soaked before we left the top of the mountain and couldn't see a thing. It was cloudy and very poor visiability. They should have canceled the trip. My husband and I where so wet and cold we couldn't finish the ride and rode down in the van.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

steve

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great guide, was cloudy and cold at the top but still an experience! Stopped for photos part way down where it was clear, so we still got good views.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Kristy L Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Unfortunately we had a cloudy day which is out of anyones control. Our driver was very knowledgeable. Would have preferred less time to look through the Female Factory. Was not a lot to look at for the time we had there and would have loved to be able to go into the Cascade Brewery rather than just an opportunity to get out and take a picture with the sign.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Keith T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Mt Wellington tour was excellent. MONA... pass

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message