Just outside Hobart, Australia’s second-oldest city and farthest south capital, sits the historic convict settlement of Port Arthur. Chances are, if your travels bring you to Tasmania, you’ll want to visit this top attraction. The open air museum, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Port Arthur is incredible! The tour was very well organized with the perfect amount of time for activities. The price is amazing. 10/10 would recommend

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Alana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our experience in Hobart and the trip to Port Arthur were wonderful! Our tour guide/bus driver, Adam, was personable and relayed so much interesting history of the city to us in a way that you could tell how much he loved his home city of Hobart. The day trip to Port Arthur was also interesting and enjoyable as was the 90 minute bus drive to Port Arthur and the trip back. Our driver served us with lots of interesting information as well. We really would have stayed in Hobart/Tasmania longer had our schedule allowed for it. I would rate our tour 5 out of 5!

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Craig A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was wonderful! We learned some very interesting things about Port Arthur. The guides were very knowledgeable and had stories to make the history come alive! I would recommend this tour for anyone!

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

Tina and mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tours were easy to book, efficient and well worth the price. The tours were great and were completed over two days, on the first day we were shown the sites of Hobart and on Day two we were taken to Port Arthur, both tours were very informative and enjoyable, both coach drivers, one on each day, were also our guides on each day, both were pleasant, very knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful where necessary. Definitely worth the price and would gladly book using viator in the future.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Karlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was fantastic - the airboat ride around the majestic cliffs of the Tasman Peninsula was amazing and visiting Port Arthur was very interesting. Only one problem - the boat was full and the gentleman lecturing about the area spoke so that only the front passengers could hear him. He always came back when asked a question, but it was disappointing to miss so much of the discourse.Everyone involved was very friendly and made sure we were all comfortable and we had plenty of time to see everything. It was absolutely a day well spent! If you go, just don't be afraid to let them know if you can't hear what they are saying!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Ken C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really wonderful day out. The weather was good and the sea calm, the guide and commentary were excellent - he was very knowledgable and could tell us all about the geology, flora and fauna that we sailed past. We were lucky enough to see a shoal/school? of blue finned tuna leaping from the water with albatros circling overhead. Also saw seals basking in the sunshine on the rocks. Port Arthur very interesting historic site unfortunately the guide there did talk for too long meaning that there was not a lot of time to wander round afterwards but a thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

PB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. Half day Hobart tram tour was a little rushed. Having said this we saw and learned much more of Hobart than expected if we had done on our own. We returned to several sites later in our own time. Port Arthur tour is a full day. We didn't rush around, visiting only half the site before sitting down for an awesome lunch in the cafe before boat and Isle of the dead tours. Looking forward to return visit to complete tour.
Both drivers were also our tour guides and where knowledgeable and informative with both history and local topics providing excellent commentary. Both captains cannot praise enough. Highly recommend both bus tours.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Mrs Coral A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I am sure I have already rated this trio! However to repeat, it was excellent. A great day tour of Port Arthur, the isle of the dead and the Tasman Gorge. Very good driver full of both information and jokes. A great day out.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

LYNDA J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, could have done with more time at Port Arthur

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

anne-marie s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a wonderful day. boat trip very exciting. saw a couple of pods of dolphins. port arthur has so much to see. will be definitely going back there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hobart half day sightseeing tour was very good value. We had enough time at each sight to see everything that the tour director/bus driver had mentioned in his preview.
Port Arthur Tour was a great day trip. Sue our tour director was very friendly and helpful with lots of information, this added to our enjoyment of the day. AG

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was fantatstic. Started off with hr bus trip, simple m/tea at quiet local shop, back in the bus and off to the boat. Boat only held 33 people, was open air speed boat type of thing and full length rain coats were supplied given you are going to get slightly wet. Was freezing out on water - rug up - even on a 25 degree day. Lots of kodak moments so take the camera. 3hr boat trip ended with very substantial lunch at Port Arthur. Guided walking tour followed about 40mins and then fee time to roam around Port Arthur before return bus trip where the driver kindly dropped off everyone to their accommodation. Long day, really worth it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely incredible. Great boat team and we were lucky with the weather which allowed us to see parts of the coast that you cant normally get to owing to large ocean swells. Informative, fun and Port Arthur was also great in the afternoon.
Book now!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Tanya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful scenery,speed ride on the boat was fun good information about the site during our trip. A must to do activity. Port Arthur was very interesting site to see.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Vanja Radisic Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wow! That's all I am going to say. Best boat ride we were on - it felt like going back in time, surrounded by those ancient caves and rocks. Port Arthur is impressive, and much larger than we thought. An hour longer would be ideal. Guided walk wasn't great - don't wait for it, just go your own way info is everywhere, read it yourself. Very happy with lunch arrangements.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Rein B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Port Arthur was bigger and better than we expected. John, our bus driver, was one of the best tour guides we've had.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Trisha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed both of these tours, the Tram Tour gave a great insight to what Hobart has to offer and the Port Arthur Tour was very educational and a 'must see' tour for all visitors to Tasmania

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Tracey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this trip was fantastic, everything was organised to a 't''. The boat trip was informative and very interesting, We went on a really cold day and it was fine with the extra rain suits that the staff gave us. They have beanies and gloves on hand for anyone who needs them as well. The boat staff are lovely and very approachable. So Don't let the weather put you off. Port Arthur was so interesting and the included lunch was really yummy, fudge included! The bus driver was helpful and really knew his local history.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

israel125 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The most fun of the trip! I could not fault the cruise. We had cold and wet weather on our cruise with rain, hail and even snow! But we were prepared, with thermals. But regardless - we were well catered for with the offer of gloves, beanies and the full length rain jackets. Damo, the guide, seemed rough around the edges at first. But as soon as we started he was an absolute champion, with a power of information about the geology, geography and widlife. He delievered it with the perfect amount of dry humour - which kept the moral high considering the conditions.

A good tip is to sit up the front. They do warn you that you may get seasick, with the waves being more pronounced up front, but with seasick tablets, and the offer of ginger tablets it's worth the risk. We had 4/5 meter swells, and normally this would be fairly hairy to contend with, but the 3 x 200hp motor power speedboat it handles the whole thing with ease and confort. They get in really close to the cliffs and even go into a couple of caves, in the boat!

The second part of the trip was not as thrilling as the speedboat cruise, but it was equally as interesting. We arrived at Port Arthur at 1pm, with our lunch waiting. The food was more than enough, with a great salmon roll we had the choice of chicken, vegetarian or salmon, along with several other bit and bites.

Port Arthur was essentilly self-guided, but you can join a walking tour which we did, and a boat cruise. We only made the walking tour, which was enough to get a good history of the place. We finished that and wandered around. I though the silent 'ward' was the coolest. Inlcuding the building and it's history.

I can highly recommend this tour to everyone! It's a must do! And it will give you the best impression of Tasmania! Especially Eaglehawk. I now want to move there!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Mrs J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Tram trip was interesting and showed far more of Hobart than we expected. The driver was knowledgeable and fun and we enjoyed the experience.
Port Arthur was also a really interesting day out. We had an initial talk by a Guide before being let loose to make our own way round the larger than anticipated site. A bit spooky in places but certainly worth a visit with lots of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

jonathan s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Port Arthur was awesome. So tranquil and serene now in contrast to its turbulent past, quite surreal. Tour was amazing, and we did some great sightseeing on the way. Bus driver was very knowledgeable on the local history so the bus trip was interesting and enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a fantastic opportunity to experience the history of a place like Port Arthur. The tour from the moment of pickup through to delivery back to the hotel was professional and courteous. The tour driver was A being both knowledgeable and friendly.
Port Arthur itself is wonderful. So much to see and experience. If history is your thing then this is the one tour you must take

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

Debbrae O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a memorable day with a couple of surprise stops on our way to Port Arthur. Our driver was informative and did a good job. The Port Arthur precinct is certainly a must do for a visit to Tasmania. Great day!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Albert Angelo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I love this trip! It's intimate and exciting; the Tasman Peninsula and Island are amazing!!! We also had a close encounter with the dolphins, albatross and fur seals, including the Comanche - sailboat from Sydney. Port Arthur is interesting. Definitely this is a lot better than Milford Sound!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Happybird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic day. The group was small being a Saturday due to the usual attraction of the Salamanca markets. Morning tea and lunch were both provided and beyond what was expected. The driver for the day 'Phil' was friendly and warm. The boat ride is the best experience and port Arthur beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message