In Chinese culture jade is associated with long life and purity and many locals in Hong Kong wear protective jade pendants based on their birthday and zodiac. If the jade cracks that means some sort of bad luck has been averted. An enormous three ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

crawfordgolf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took this tour at the end of a two-week cruise. Of many shore excursions and tours we took some through Viator, this was by far and away the best! Advertised at a maximum of 12 people, it turned out to be just the two of us - which enhanced the experience. Our tour guide Eva Chan was outstanding - among other things, she had the best command of English of any guide we had in Asia, and by the end, we felt we were almost friends. The itinerary was so interesting, and Eva narrated things so completely - the markets she showed us were nothing like anything else we saw in Asia. I also need to add a word about the operator, Urban Adventures - they were by far the most proactive in communicating all the details we would need to know, such as exactly where to meet, how we would identify the tour guide, etc. One thing to note - there is a lot of walking on this tour - 5 hours worth - but Eva gave us rest stops that were appropriate to our requests.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Carolyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our second walking tour with Danny and he did not disappoint us in yet again taking us to so many interesting places and giving us so much information. The number and variety of markets we saw exceeded our expectations. In one afternoon we experienced so much more than we could ever have done on our own. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Douglas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very pleasant. Lots of chances to see the markets and well-narrated by our guide.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Malcolm W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were very fortunate in that the small group consisted only of my partner and me and the guide, so we were able to customise how we spent our time. Our guide, was excellent. It was really interesting to be amongst the locals in the flower market, the fish market and the bird market. Similarly in the market the locals use themselves in Fa Yuen street. Then in contrast we ended up at the entrance to the very touristy Temple Street night markets just as they were getting going at around 17.00. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

eric w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide, Danny who was very interesting to listen to. He was very informative without being pedantic and included lots of diverse titbits including pointing out refreshing street food and drink! All the markets were fascinating particularly the flower and bird markets.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Trudy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A very interesting and informative tour. Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable about the markets we visited and pointed out features a tourist would not notice. We covered a lot of contrasting areas includig lovely flowers, birds, fish and jade. Very good value.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Vincent T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Danny was an amazing guide! He was knowledgeable and showed us things we wouldn't see on our own. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Elyce S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide was funny and had so much info. We had our own personal tour guide Dannyo, he was wonderful. Like the bus tour you get to see a lot and get back on when you want

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Ashley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Brilliant tour, and our guide Dan was excellent. The tour takes in everything described in the information and was a really great way for us to see as much as possible in a limited time in Hong Kong. Dan was very knowledgeable, very helpful and provided lots of added information about everything we were seeing, putting it into a wider context of the economic and political history of Hong Kong. A great tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Cheryl Lynn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Mongkok Walking Tour was by far our favourite tour of Hong Kong, because of the true insight of daily life of a Hong Kong person. Our Guide Wendy was just terrific walking us through markets where we would normally never go and explaining every aspect of that Market. Also there truly isn't a lot of walking as the Markets are all very close to each other. A totally fascinating experience.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Geoffrb United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A long tour of the markets around Mong Kok, the guide was knowledgeable and gave much information about the markets and the locality

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative tour. Very glad I took the tour. Danny took us would thourghly recommend it.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

ray

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My guide, Danny was fantastic! Knowledgable, fun, flexible and a new friend. This tour is a great way to discover things and learn information you would not learn on your own. Do it!

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed Dino and the Mongkok Market Tour and Biddy with the Hong Kong Island Tour. They both spoke very good English and took us on a great tour of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent way to see Hong Kong from a local's perspective. Danny was a great host. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Danijel

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Janeil H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Danny has designed the perfect tour! He has it down to a science. I still can't believe how much we saw and learned in three hours. Yes, he definitely keeps a fast pace, but that's so every minute is maximized. Danny was charming, extremely knowledgeable, and graciously answered all of my crazy questions. A fabulous time!

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Penny D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic, Jennifer made our walk very interesting, we visited all sorts of markets plus picked up some great purchases! Jennifer was also our own personal photographer, emailing through photos after the tour!

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Danny Fung was my tour guide. There was another couple and myself on the tour, which was a perfect size. Danny's English is impeccable and he projects his voice, which was important because the market places were noisy. Being that this was a walking tour, we were able to cover a lot of territory in three hours. I really enjoyed the diversity of the markets. They ranged from the traditional bird market to a modern galleria. I would highly recommend this tour, and a great way to start your visit and get you oriented.
Pat from Boston

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Danny the tour guide was terrific! A fabulous way to see lots in a short time frame. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

betsy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Danny was a great guide and we had a fun day exploring all the interesting markets in Hong Kong.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour with our guide Stephen. he was very knowldegable and was able to answer all the questions we posed as we wandered through the various markets in the Mongkok area. A real added bonus is the Big Bus hop on - hop off bus ticket which enables you to tour the rest of Kowloon when the walking tour is finished. If you enjoy seeing the the "real" Kowlonn then this is a great way toi start. Great tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an absolutely amazing experience. Our guide Danny was full of information about the area and we covered way more of Hong Kong than we ever would by ourselves. My only nitpick was that we didn't get directions to the markets because we would have loved to find our way back to a few of them. A map would have been a great takeaway from the tour. If you like to get out and about exploring a new city, definitely do this tour! Money well spent.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having visited Hong Kong before, we decided to do something different and booked 3 walking tours. Our tour guide on each day was Danny. He was knowledgable and very personable. On tour 1 only 5 people were booked but the other 3 were late and joined us part way round. Danny set a good pace, which was fine with us and we saw lots, but made sure that the others were always within sight. On this tour, we had the chance to stop and to see the various markets and take photos. Danny was interesting to talk to and we covered a whole range of subjects from history to culture. Definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Maria N. N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Jennifer is an excellent guide, personality, knowledge, personable, etc, I could have taken more tours with her, I highly recommend the tour and the guide have to be Jennifer!!!!!!!!!
I enjoyed this tour very much, the markets are very interesting and also the areas visited.

Doing what: Hong Kong Markets Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message