Kowloon, on the mainland facing Hong Kong Island across Victoria Harbour, has a less formal, more domestic feel. Most Hong Kongers live in the crammed streets of Kowloon, and the focus for visitors is Nathan Road's hotels and shops on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour!! First....Victoria Harbor Cruise for an hour with free drinks, then dinner at Victoria peak, lastly a ride and some quick time at the Kowloon night market. Tour guide was great, very caring. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Victoria Peak

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We arrived in Hong kong and checked the weather We had a choice do all 4 tours in one day but not get off or do 1.
We did 3 two on the Island and 1 on Kowloon. Missed the night tour and the markets..not by choice.We got rained in and were advised the buses were going to be cancelled and if we needed to return to our hotel to do so the ferry ride was rather calm compare to the drowning on the bus. Day 2 lucky we took the bus to Ocean Park good choice. The next day we were stuck in the hotel due to Typhoon.
I am sure we would have gotten so much more from this tour if the weather had been good

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took the 48hr trip, which gives the freedom of all 3 different routes. 2 of these on Hong Kong Island, the other in Kowloon.

A good way of getting a overview of what is available in each area. Handy for future trips, which can be done via MTR, or buses. Both of which are really cheap.

Cost of trip is slightly excessive - But worth it to have a guided tour of each area. Also included a trip to the Peak.

Recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. We got a 48 hour ticket which came with multiple ferry tickets, peak tram tickets, maritime museum entry and 3 different bus tour legs around Hong Kong and Kowloon. The buses were all very well air-conditioned which provides great relief if you are visiting in the hotter months.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

by.the.sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great 2 day tour for us. Plenty to see and do, Stanley Market,Kowloon, The Peak Tram, Aberdeen, the Ladies Markets and much more. This was an easy way for us to get to see and do as much as possible in the shortest time, without the stress of getting lost on our own. Doing the tour just made it enjoyable for both of us.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Great routes and info. Plus the sampan ride and ferry to and from Kowloon were great. Didn't take the sky tram as it was raining but thought everything else was first rate.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good trip. Price also included Star Ferry, Maritime Museum, Sampan Ride. we also chose the Night Bus around Kowloon. Excellent value for money. Following our experience we also booked the same company in Shanghai.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Making the tour time and location arrangements was very straightforward and went smoothly.
Undoubtedly the best way to get a great overview of Kowloon and Hong Kong island so you know where you want to explore further. The ferry trip and peak rail tickets a great bonus.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Easy way to see a lot of both HK and Kowloon. The Kowloon trip includes the Peak Tram which is excellent. Interesting on board narration to explain some of the history of HK and Kowloon. Not to be missed

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

KiEn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

When you go for trip to Hong Kong don't miss this package tour and remember this name BIG BUS. The most recommended tour package that let you explore entire Hong Kong from Kowloon and Central to back of Island, the Stanley Tour. See the amazing Hong Kong from Sky Terrace in Victoria Peak and at Sky100. Experience the origin of Hong Kong as a floating village on a traditional sampan ride. We love Hong Kong, We love Big Bus!

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour if you have a limited time available, takes you round all the must see places and you can also add extras onto your tour. Audio commentary is also very good telling you lots of facts about what you are seeing and where you are going. The night tour to Kowloon is also worth the trip.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicvee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were only in Hong Kong for a couple of days so this really suited us as we got to get out and see lots of areas very easily. If it hadn't been for this tour then we wouldn't have gone out to places like Aberdeen on the green route. We wish we would have had more time to get off and explore the areas on this route. My favourite thing was the Sampan ride. Great to do something that felt slightly cultural in a very modern city.

Also very handy that the Star Ferry journey was included in our ticket and the Victoria Peak ticket. We were really happy with this as having everything included made our short amount of time in Hong Kong much easier to get around and see the things we wanted to.

I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Hong Kong but I do have one piece of advice - unlike London and other open top bus tours I have been on, the bus stops are not clearly labelled. The map that is provided with the tour gives you good notes on where to find the bus stops but it took us a long time to find the stop nearest to our hotel in Kowloon because we were expecting to see the Big Bus logo on the bus stop. It wasn't an issue once we had a map but I just thought this may help others doing this tour in the future.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Edward O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great way to see Hong Kong and Kowloon from the water!! A good laugh, lovely people, a great free bar, and good food from the top of the peak!! A very enjoyable night - worth doing!!

Doing what: Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Victoria Peak

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Danny, the tour guide, was outstanding. He really knew the area and picked great places to try. He also made sure to accommodate special diets, specifically vegetarian. Definitely worth going. It's a very good introduction to the Kowloon area and the local food. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kowloon Street Food Tour

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant - filled 2 days with 3 tours during the day - an evening tour of Kowloon, a sampan ride and trips on the Star ferry

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is the way to orient yourself with Hong Kong and decide where you want to explore further. Make sure you do the red tour first and follow that with the harbour cruise as the times work best. It's hot so the temptation to head upstairs and then into the covered area is high. Actually the upstairs covered area is stifling as there's no breeze; if you sit in the open area upstairs for the breeze and view, remember the umbrella for showers and sunscreen! At times people headed back downstairs, it was too hot.
We found the blue line starting point for busy Kowloon to be a bit iffy to find so just make sure you've allowed time to get to the start point and also if you go to the end of the blue line make sure you can find the pick up points again. The other lines were a breeze. The green Stanley line was such a contrast to the hustle and bustle, and we wish we'd allowed far more time. Definitely take your swimming costume if you fancy Ocean Park or Repulse Bay for a dip. We missed the sampan ride drop off point because we didn't have our audio on. Make sure you pick up your audio by the driver as you get on; there's no-one to hand them out and the driver doesn't make announcements. We highly recommend this tour; the Big Bus people are very helpful and it's the way to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kerry d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

First of all I would recommend this tour and high marks for the staff. The Hop-on Hop-off tour employees were great. They were very welcoming and helpful and most of them spoke English. I had booked a two day tour and it took two full days to see everything that was listed on the tour. The extra items like the Victoria peak tram and the 30 minute boat ride were great. The Sampan ride was also interesting. Your ticket also includes four trips across the harbour from Kowloon to Hong Kong Island on the Star Ferry. You get a great view of the harbour. Its only about 10 minutes to cross the harbour but very nice. There is more to see on the Hong Kong Island side. I would suggest seeing this side first. The first stop on the Hong Kong Island side is Victoria Peak Tram. Get off first thing in the morning and this way you will miss the crowds. There is a fantastic view of the city from the Peak and there are also a lot of shops. You will need at least one hour or more to see everything at the top of the mountain. You have priority boarding going up, but not coming down. After leaving the peak take the bus that goes to Stanley and Aberdeen. After you go through a 2 mile tunnel you come out to the ocean and you look down on sandy beaches and secluded beaches. Its hard to believe you just came from a crowded city. Get off at the end of the Bay Area and take the Sampan tour. Its short but it gives you and idea what its like to live on a Sampan. Towards the end of the day go back across the bay to the Kowloon side to take the boat trip in the harbour. Well worth it. There are lots of spots to get off and sample the restaurant areas etc. There is also a ticket for the Marine Museum. I did everything listed for the tour and I had a great time.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Angiebud1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very small group for this trip made us all feel special and selected. Meal at the restaurant was excellent, couldn't fault the food or service. Views superb, seeing the night fall. Had time to look around and take great photos too afterwards. Then travelled back down and into the tunnel to Kowloon to go to Stanley Market. Had about 40/50 mins to explore, fun to see and haggle-amazing! Then onto collect our boat. Although were few others on this boat, very quiet. Drinks were okay but the guide was very informative, pointing out all sorts of things in the night scene, great way to see the skyline in the dark, all,lit up. Well,worth the money-all of it. Even my children enjoyed it, but a late night!

Doing what: Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Victoria Peak

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great value with 48 hour pass - bus, unlimited ferry crossings between Kowloon and Hong Kong island, harbour boat trip, tram to The Peak and sampan. Excellent way to get around and see the sights.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Oscar V B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is the best way to see quite a bit of Hong Kong and Kowloon for first time travelers to HK. I have used Viator hop-on hop-off tours in most of my trips in Europe and Asia specially when I it's my first trip to that place.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour with our guide Stephen. he was very knowldegable and was able to answer all the questions we posed as we wandered through the various markets in the Mongkok area. A real added bonus is the Big Bus hop on - hop off bus ticket which enables you to tour the rest of Kowloon when the walking tour is finished. If you enjoy seeing the the "real" Kowlonn then this is a great way toi start. Great tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Julia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Bib Bus Tour saved my continuous-rain-and-cold trip to Hong Kong! The contact people were very friendly, spoke good English, and gave me lots of good advise! The bus was my haven in the rain and a great way to navigate the area. Included in the two-day ticket were ferry tickets between Kowloon and Hong Kong as well as tickets for The Peak Tram, a sanpan ride, and a tour of Victoria Harbor. The Peak Tram and ferry tickets really fit the bill, however, the weather kept me from using the others.

I tend to get lost in big cities, so the Big Bus map came in handy getting directly to points of interest. I got to visit the villages of Stanley and Aberdeen as well as the Ladies Market for some shopping.

Although I was traveling as a retired (old) single female, the Big Bus would be great for families with young kids because there's lots of room on top and room inside for strollers and carts. Hong Kong really would be easy for a family to visit, if they had the advantage of the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus.

In sum, the Hop-on-Hop-off City Tour was everything I had hoped it to be.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Maria N. N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I enjoyed this tour and everything that it was offered, I took the two days and I explitted between Nov. 27th and Nov.30, because in between I had other tours, the 27th was the first day and I wanted to familiarize with Kowloon and Hong Kong island, prior of taking the other tours, on the 30th I took the one going to Aberdeen and Stanley where I visited the Market, I recommend not to miss that part of the country side.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Julie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved it !! Only thing I would change is the constant back and forth from Kowloon to Hong Kong Island which happened about 4 or 5 times. Would have liked more time on the Peak (Bubba's was great by the way) and more time at the markets. We spent a lot of time on the bus and we all felt it was unnecessary. Harbour cruise was fab - loved to have incorporated the tour with the Laser show. Cheers, Julie

Doing what: Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Victoria Peak

Maryam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

AMAZING .. well deffinetely go back again. I had the 48 hours tour and it was the best thing we did. the guides at the bus stop were friendly and informative but ladies guides were more friendly than guys and the kowloon people were smiling and soooo sweeet

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message