Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong Ping ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Somaly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

i'm highly recommended to visit big buddha in Hong kong

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

LEE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My booking was placed 2 days before travelling. Have followed the instructions to pick up d vouchers. Everything went smoothly upon arrival at the airport followed by picking up the necessary documents at the counter mentioned. I am glad with the package purchased and cutting off all the Q up at the cable car station also. With the MTR Pass being upgraded to 3 full days unlimited travelling I get to make full use of the pass. The trip was fun, stress free and enjoyable. Mostly importantly , i would recommend all to this online bookings . I was also being guided through out the Big Buddha Tour during this trip. Happy holidays to all .

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on our first day in Hong Kong. It was a great way to see the lay of the land and the great views from the Big Buddha. Lantau island is very interesting and so different from Hong Kong. The quaint fishing villages and farming lands were a welcome change. the beaches are also very picturesque and rarely inhibited. The highlight was the Big Buddha and the Monastery, which were both very interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and made this experience a great day. I was looking forward to the Buddha, but we got a full day filled with some really cool tours I was not expecting at all. Definitely worth the money to have them take you all around on the ferries buses, boats and sky, and show you things you would never see on your own. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Serigell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good value.
Good view of Hong King and surrounding coastline from both the cable car and when at the top of The Big Buddha.

Top tip - if purchasing a voucher before hand and aren't fro, Hong Kong, when visiting the site remember to take your passport along to exchange the voucher for tickets.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Beach2108

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we have ever done, great value! Guide was fantastic. Ferry to Lantau, beach photo stop, tai o fishing village tour and boat trip -very authentic and fascinating, then giant Buddha tour, lunch in exquisite po Lin monastery, time for pics or shopping in quaint area then amazing funicular ride. Very pleased with this comprehensive and varied tour!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Iyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall an Excellent tour . Guide and bus pilot were good and co-operative. Time was a bit short to visit big buddha and Po Lin monastery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

knssub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the trip for 4 , 2 adults and 2 of my kids. The tour was well planned and is really worth if the day is not too hot :- . Hotel pickup was prompt, Ferry ride was really good and from there a bus tour of the Lantau islands. I felt, the tour agency could have avoided stopping just 15-20 mins at the beach, instead should have taken directly to the Buddha where one could spend more time. The fishing village tour was short and good, not much to see and experience, however, just a different experience. From here we were taken to the Giant Buddha, this is where i did not like the time give to us, we were just given 20 mins, which was really not good enough to spend time there. One would easily require at least 40 mins at this place. I would really suggest the tour agency to skip the beach break and allow that time here. Post Giant Buddha tour, we were taken to at the base for the lunch. Lunch was really good.
Next stop is the cable car ride which was the 2nd best in the trip where the tour typically ends and we are dropped back to our respective hotels.
Overall, the tour was really good and my family enjoyed it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Eileen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must visit if you are in Hong Kong. Out of this world!! Big buddha is really big, the views from the cable car are breathtaking and the pass for the MTR was so useful and worth every penny.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had no idea what to expect other than seeing a gigantic Buddha. Lantau is very diverse and lush with vegetation, the vegetarian lunch at the Monastery was one of the best I had in Hong Kong, and the cable car ride -- 3.5 miles -- was spectacular! Our guide was funny and lived on the island so could answer all questions.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with lots of interesting places to visit. Giant Buddha was the highlight followed by the cable car ride. Great tour guide who knew lots of interesting facts and was extremely friendly. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jocelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. Everything was well planned out and on time, from the scheduled bus pickup at my hotel, to the ferry, to the Buddha, etc. The guide was witty and informative. The Buddha was very foggy, and for most of the time we were there, it was impossible to see his face. But, if you waited, for a few seconds here and there the clouds would part sufficiently for a good photo. So keep that in mind in case you are in a similar situation. The vegetarian meal at the Monastery was absolutely delicious, and there was plenty of food for anyone really hungry. All in all, a great trip, and a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this Tour: From our Hotel pick up until our drop off everything ran smoothly. This is a must do tour while in Hong Kong. It started with the smooth ferry crossing across Victoria Harbour to Lantau where we met our Tour Guide Quendy who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, she gave us heaps of facts on what we were seeing and clear directions on our meeting times and locations so organised. So, surprised to see so many Aussie Trees growing on Lantau Island it felt like I was back at home. Quendy did explain the reason why they were planted there. Intermittent rain did hamper the day a little. However, we still got to see and do everything on the tour.
We visited the fishing village of Tai O where we saw the traditional silted homes and learnt a little about daily local life this place smells a little from the drying of the fish etc. Visited the Giant Buddha unbelievable just how big it really is - and the Po Lin Monastery what a beautiful place and so peaceful with such wonderful gardens it was truly moving hearing the Buddhist Monks at prayer chanting. Our vegetarian lunch was so delicious we never missed not having meat. This fantastic day ended with a 20 minute trip down the mountain on the Ngong Ping 260 sky rail cable car. The spectacular natural views and those of the Hong Kong airport are not to be missed. A thoroughly enjoyable day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Beautifully organized and coordinated trip to the Island and the Giant Buddha. Guide was very knowledgable, humorous, and ensured excursion success always. The vegetarian lunch at the monastery was extremely good -- I could hardly tell there wasn't any meat/poultry/fish products at all. Choose your visitation dates carefully if you can my day did not include the cable car ride, which was unknown at date of sign up. You may be able to enjoy that scenic addition then.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip is a must. Our guide actually lives on the island and obviously loves it. First step was an old fishing village which is unchanged despite the modern buildings growing up around it. The huge Buddha was mind blowing. We then went on to the monastry and had lunch in a restaurant close by. The meal was our very first full vegan meal. We didn't know quite what to expect but have to say it was one of the best meals we have had on this trip, and that is quite something for two very committed meat eaters. We finished up with cable car ride and the views from there were amazing. A must do trip for any visitor to HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

tjgworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

For a day tour, this was the best in value! There were many people involved to get us to each destination. It was seamless and not rushed. Pickup by coach from my hotel was easy. Amie was our main guide once at the ferry docks. She was exceptional in giving facts and directions for each meeting place. Crossing Victoria Harbor in a ferry was a fun experience. On another coach we traveled Lantau. Visiting Tai O was as close to a mainland China small fishing village Ive ever been and was in awe of its heritage and way of life. The Big Buddha and the grounds of the Po Lin Monastery was beautiful and humbling. As a non Buddhist, it was a peaceful exploration surrounded by true buddhist worshipping. It was wonderful watching them in practice of traditions. As if the modes of transportation so far wasnt enough, our group all met at the Ngong Ping 360 entrance. The Skyrail cable car was a joy to ride down the mountain. Heights and sights were exhilarating! Once down we were on a coach again to our perspective hotels. Could not image trying to cover all this on our own. Even though you can, but it would take more time just to get to the sites, buying you own tickets for transport and waiting in lines to visit. Greatest paid tour ever. Special thanks to Amie for making this a fun experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Little Mo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really enjoyable day. Lantau Island is a nice, quiet island away from all the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong Island. The Big Buddha statue was amazing to see. The vegetarian lunch was really good. They gave us a selection of dishes to try. I'm vegetarian but the rest of the group weren't and they all enjoyed the food.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. First stop was at the Tai O Fishing Village. Then headed to the Tian Tian Buddha Giant Buddha. You will have plenty of time to walk around and take many pictures. The group had lunch at the Po Lin Monastery. They served vegetarian lunch. It's was pretty good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great day. Tour Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend this tour. The skyway was fun, the history of Buddha was very interesting and the vegetarian lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lisbeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we were at Lantau island 30 yrs ago we saw the drawrings of the Buddha and the steps to come back and see it now was unbelivebale the only way to the island back then was by ferry now you can drive ,çable car or by ferry

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Arif S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour of Lantau island, very recommended.
Started with a coach transfer to the ferry port, with a travel guide, was then ferried from Hong Kong island to Lantau island where another mini bus took us all around, the guide was very knowledgable who pointed out the features of island, then when to small villages, with the tour leading up to the Monestry where lunch was served and a visit to view Big Buddha, with the final ending to the Sky cable car, viewing the whole island and the Airport, and then a coach transfer home. Very much enjoyed the whole day out with good local knowledge and history.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maryam P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. There's a loooong queue that you can skip with this tour. Our tour guide Laurence was very nice and funny. We took the cable cars, there we got on the bus and went to a fishing village called Tai O and had a short boat tour and a tour of a temple of Taoism. Then we had some free time to go around in the village and eat fresh scallop! After that we took the bus back and went to see another temple called ten thousand buddhas. Then we walked up the 260 staris to see the main attraction big buddha.
I highly recommend this tour since the guided tour gives you as lot of historical information.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide who provided us with the rich history of Lantau Island. The stops provided us with a comprehensive experience taking us from beach, to fishing village, mountain top to experience Big Buddah, lunch in the monestary, shopping and cable car ride down. I would have never been able to experience this without the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message