Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong Ping ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Ben was an excellent tour guide. Perfect for seeing all of Lantau island.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes....definitely!! A start with a 30 minute ferry ride to Lantau no outside seating and crowded. Then.... a quick stop at the beach followed by a fishing village. We loved the fishing village.... very surreal on how the locals live. Next, the trip to the Giant Buddha with vegetarian lunch. Buddha was great for the short duration, lunch was just OK. Finally, the 25 minute cable car ride. Not a huge fan of heights but truly an amazing view of the island and the Hong Kong International airport. Overall....highly recommend!!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic day out from Hong Kong.

Our guide Henry was very knowledgeable and took time out to answer any questions.

Especially liked visiting the fishing village, this was one of the things we wanted to see on our trip to Hong Kong.

Visiting the Buddha was great and the meal in the temple superb. No need to worry about scaling the steps and the Buddha, the bus drops you there and you walk down them or get the bus back down.

The views from the cable car were outstanding.

Thank you Henry for a great trip and for your extensive knowledge.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

docksw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. The lunch was very good. The guide, Crystal was very informative. The Buddha was amazing. I also enjoyed the trip to the fishing village.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic trip, great sites and the Big Buddha is stunning.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mirela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was really good. We got to see everything we wanted on Lantau island. The lunch was different and everyone enjoyed it. At first we couldn and #39;t see the big Buddha but after our lunch it cleared up. Overall it was an amazing experience and our tour guide was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rakesh G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you have to take one tour in Hong Kong, this is the one you should take. It has ferry, gondola, giant Budhha and lovely scenery of Lantau island which reminded me of Maui.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gloria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall a great trip. The Buddha is well worth seeing as is the houses on stilts and the fish market. Going over by boat and coming back by cable car gives the best of both worlds. Could have done with a bit longer looking at the market stalls and souvenir shops.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aparna J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lantau Island isnt the easiest to get to so this tour makes it extreemly easy to do so. Our guide grew up on the Island and had a great sense of humor. The vegetarian meal was also very good!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aoife Flynn Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Would highly recommend this trip to anyone travelling to Hong Kong. Pick up wasn't available from our hotel but was arranged for one just around the corner which was great. Our guide was excellent and gave us lots of local information. A jam packed tour. Hotel coach transfer, ferry to island, visit to beach on island, stroll around local market, boat trip to see how the locals live, trip to Giant Buddha, lunch which was the best meal we had during our whole stay on Hong Kong and cable car to finish it off. Great value for money. For those worried about climbing the steps at the Giant Buddha don't fret, our friendly guide dropped us off at the top so out only experience of the 289 odd steps was walking back down them. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Somaly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

i'm highly recommended to visit big buddha in Hong kong

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

LEE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My booking was placed 2 days before travelling. Have followed the instructions to pick up d vouchers. Everything went smoothly upon arrival at the airport followed by picking up the necessary documents at the counter mentioned. I am glad with the package purchased and cutting off all the Q up at the cable car station also. With the MTR Pass being upgraded to 3 full days unlimited travelling I get to make full use of the pass. The trip was fun, stress free and enjoyable. Mostly importantly , i would recommend all to this online bookings . I was also being guided through out the Big Buddha Tour during this trip. Happy holidays to all .

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on our first day in Hong Kong. It was a great way to see the lay of the land and the great views from the Big Buddha. Lantau island is very interesting and so different from Hong Kong. The quaint fishing villages and farming lands were a welcome change. the beaches are also very picturesque and rarely inhibited. The highlight was the Big Buddha and the Monastery, which were both very interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and made this experience a great day. I was looking forward to the Buddha, but we got a full day filled with some really cool tours I was not expecting at all. Definitely worth the money to have them take you all around on the ferries buses, boats and sky, and show you things you would never see on your own. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Serigell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good value.
Good view of Hong King and surrounding coastline from both the cable car and when at the top of The Big Buddha.

Top tip - if purchasing a voucher before hand and aren't fro, Hong Kong, when visiting the site remember to take your passport along to exchange the voucher for tickets.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Beach2108

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we have ever done, great value! Guide was fantastic. Ferry to Lantau, beach photo stop, tai o fishing village tour and boat trip -very authentic and fascinating, then giant Buddha tour, lunch in exquisite po Lin monastery, time for pics or shopping in quaint area then amazing funicular ride. Very pleased with this comprehensive and varied tour!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Iyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall an Excellent tour . Guide and bus pilot were good and co-operative. Time was a bit short to visit big buddha and Po Lin monastery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

knssub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the trip for 4 , 2 adults and 2 of my kids. The tour was well planned and is really worth if the day is not too hot :- . Hotel pickup was prompt, Ferry ride was really good and from there a bus tour of the Lantau islands. I felt, the tour agency could have avoided stopping just 15-20 mins at the beach, instead should have taken directly to the Buddha where one could spend more time. The fishing village tour was short and good, not much to see and experience, however, just a different experience. From here we were taken to the Giant Buddha, this is where i did not like the time give to us, we were just given 20 mins, which was really not good enough to spend time there. One would easily require at least 40 mins at this place. I would really suggest the tour agency to skip the beach break and allow that time here. Post Giant Buddha tour, we were taken to at the base for the lunch. Lunch was really good.
Next stop is the cable car ride which was the 2nd best in the trip where the tour typically ends and we are dropped back to our respective hotels.
Overall, the tour was really good and my family enjoyed it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Eileen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must visit if you are in Hong Kong. Out of this world!! Big buddha is really big, the views from the cable car are breathtaking and the pass for the MTR was so useful and worth every penny.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had no idea what to expect other than seeing a gigantic Buddha. Lantau is very diverse and lush with vegetation, the vegetarian lunch at the Monastery was one of the best I had in Hong Kong, and the cable car ride -- 3.5 miles -- was spectacular! Our guide was funny and lived on the island so could answer all questions.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with lots of interesting places to visit. Giant Buddha was the highlight followed by the cable car ride. Great tour guide who knew lots of interesting facts and was extremely friendly. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jocelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. Everything was well planned out and on time, from the scheduled bus pickup at my hotel, to the ferry, to the Buddha, etc. The guide was witty and informative. The Buddha was very foggy, and for most of the time we were there, it was impossible to see his face. But, if you waited, for a few seconds here and there the clouds would part sufficiently for a good photo. So keep that in mind in case you are in a similar situation. The vegetarian meal at the Monastery was absolutely delicious, and there was plenty of food for anyone really hungry. All in all, a great trip, and a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this Tour: From our Hotel pick up until our drop off everything ran smoothly. This is a must do tour while in Hong Kong. It started with the smooth ferry crossing across Victoria Harbour to Lantau where we met our Tour Guide Quendy who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, she gave us heaps of facts on what we were seeing and clear directions on our meeting times and locations so organised. So, surprised to see so many Aussie Trees growing on Lantau Island it felt like I was back at home. Quendy did explain the reason why they were planted there. Intermittent rain did hamper the day a little. However, we still got to see and do everything on the tour.
We visited the fishing village of Tai O where we saw the traditional silted homes and learnt a little about daily local life this place smells a little from the drying of the fish etc. Visited the Giant Buddha unbelievable just how big it really is - and the Po Lin Monastery what a beautiful place and so peaceful with such wonderful gardens it was truly moving hearing the Buddhist Monks at prayer chanting. Our vegetarian lunch was so delicious we never missed not having meat. This fantastic day ended with a 20 minute trip down the mountain on the Ngong Ping 260 sky rail cable car. The spectacular natural views and those of the Hong Kong airport are not to be missed. A thoroughly enjoyable day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Beautifully organized and coordinated trip to the Island and the Giant Buddha. Guide was very knowledgable, humorous, and ensured excursion success always. The vegetarian lunch at the monastery was extremely good -- I could hardly tell there wasn't any meat/poultry/fish products at all. Choose your visitation dates carefully if you can my day did not include the cable car ride, which was unknown at date of sign up. You may be able to enjoy that scenic addition then.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip is a must. Our guide actually lives on the island and obviously loves it. First step was an old fishing village which is unchanged despite the modern buildings growing up around it. The huge Buddha was mind blowing. We then went on to the monastry and had lunch in a restaurant close by. The meal was our very first full vegan meal. We didn't know quite what to expect but have to say it was one of the best meals we have had on this trip, and that is quite something for two very committed meat eaters. We finished up with cable car ride and the views from there were amazing. A must do trip for any visitor to HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message