Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong Ping ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! Simply Wow! What a great island and village. Our guide was fantastic, as a Lantau native he knew so much history. The Buddha is truly breathtaking. So glad we went.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kim Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good day out. Very friendly and knowledgeable guides. The incoming typhoon conditions unfortunately meant that the gondola/chair rail portion of the trip was cancelled as considered too dangerous - we could live with that. Big Buddha is amazing. Lunch provided with tour was fantastic and we certainly didn't go hungry. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dante G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Day, Great Guide, Great Meal. We were assuming that an included vegetarian meal at the Monastery would be underwhelming...Instead, it was one of the best meals we had on or 17 day vacation. Loved the time in fishing village and at Buddha. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. One of the best day tours Ive ever experienced.
Our guide Kurt was exceptionally well informed about the culture and history. His commentary was filled with interesting stories and anecdotes and he kept us fascinated and amused throughout the day.
He was very attentive and when the lunch service at the Po Lin Monastery didn't quite go as planned he didnt hesitate to organise the seating, fill the teapots and ensure that everyone was served.
The highlights of the tour were the walk through the Tai O fishing village, the Giant Buddha, the delicious vegetarian lunch and the cable car ride from the Ngong Ping Village on Lantau to Kowloon.
Apart from the small hitch at lunch and a breakdown of the microphone system on the bus the tour went off without a hitch. After the tour, we were the last passengers to be dropped off at the starting point at Pier 6 resulting in a long bus ride through the evening traffic.
Thanks Lantau Tours and special thanks to Kurt.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful views and a great experience overall. We loved seeing the harbor views/ferry ride, beaches, the Buddha statue, the monastery/outstanding lunch, and the gondola ride back was a great way to end the trip opt for the glass bottom for only a couple dollars more. Very friendly guides, and a great day trip for an experience outside of HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

hobodaddy1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend the full day trip to Lantau Island. you'll take a ferry across the harbor, see the S China sea, visit a fishing town, see the Big Buddha get the lunch too. and the awesome tram ride back to HK. We went in December and the weather was great.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ravi Kumar S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hi I booked the local travel tickets through Viator and they were waiting for me in an envelope at the designated desk when I arrived in Hong Kong at around 08:00 am from Taipei, Taiwan. The Airport Express ticket helped us me and my wife reach Hong Kong station down town in less than half an hour. We walked to the Tram lower terminal and visited the 'Peak', the ride was up the hill with nice view of the tall structures and the inland waters. Had a walk through the 'Pok Fu Lam County Park' near by and later had our return trip down the Peak. We walked through the Hong Kong streets to reach the 'Maritime Museum' to spend few hours, which included the 'Simulator' SHIP driving experience on the 'A' deck of the museum. Around 15:00 hrs we reached the MTR Hong Kong Station to travel to 'Tung Chung' using our MTR day pass. The 'Ngong Ping 360' cable car return trip ride took us an hour which helped us take pictures of the greenery, sea waters and the airport including the huge 'Buddha' statue. Traveled back to Hong Kong station to board 'Airport Express' and catch our flight to 'Hyderabad'.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Lora H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic local tour from a company based on Lantau island. The group is small, we all fitted in a mini-van rather than a large coach. It was excellent value for money. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sinlisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was excellent. Our Guide Ryan was very knowledgable and funny. From the time we were collected from our hotel everything was sorted and went smoothly. Catamaran over to Lantau island, coach to fishing village, small boat ride around stilted houses, coach up to giant Buddha, lunch at the monestery and cable car back to Kowloon, then final transfer back to hotel. Great value and whole day out. Highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

deborah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Despite it being cloudy and misty I loved this tour, an opportunity to see the giant Buddha and also a fishing village with homes on stilts, a boat ride to get a close up view, and seeing the island in general was wonderful. cows roam free on the island and the vegetarian lunch was fabulous all in all well worth the cost.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Ben was an excellent tour guide. Perfect for seeing all of Lantau island.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes....definitely!! A start with a 30 minute ferry ride to Lantau no outside seating and crowded. Then.... a quick stop at the beach followed by a fishing village. We loved the fishing village.... very surreal on how the locals live. Next, the trip to the Giant Buddha with vegetarian lunch. Buddha was great for the short duration, lunch was just OK. Finally, the 25 minute cable car ride. Not a huge fan of heights but truly an amazing view of the island and the Hong Kong International airport. Overall....highly recommend!!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic day out from Hong Kong.

Our guide Henry was very knowledgeable and took time out to answer any questions.

Especially liked visiting the fishing village, this was one of the things we wanted to see on our trip to Hong Kong.

Visiting the Buddha was great and the meal in the temple superb. No need to worry about scaling the steps and the Buddha, the bus drops you there and you walk down them or get the bus back down.

The views from the cable car were outstanding.

Thank you Henry for a great trip and for your extensive knowledge.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

docksw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. The lunch was very good. The guide, Crystal was very informative. The Buddha was amazing. I also enjoyed the trip to the fishing village.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic trip, great sites and the Big Buddha is stunning.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mirela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was really good. We got to see everything we wanted on Lantau island. The lunch was different and everyone enjoyed it. At first we couldn and #39;t see the big Buddha but after our lunch it cleared up. Overall it was an amazing experience and our tour guide was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rakesh G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you have to take one tour in Hong Kong, this is the one you should take. It has ferry, gondola, giant Budhha and lovely scenery of Lantau island which reminded me of Maui.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gloria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall a great trip. The Buddha is well worth seeing as is the houses on stilts and the fish market. Going over by boat and coming back by cable car gives the best of both worlds. Could have done with a bit longer looking at the market stalls and souvenir shops.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aparna J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lantau Island isnt the easiest to get to so this tour makes it extreemly easy to do so. Our guide grew up on the Island and had a great sense of humor. The vegetarian meal was also very good!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aoife Flynn Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Would highly recommend this trip to anyone travelling to Hong Kong. Pick up wasn't available from our hotel but was arranged for one just around the corner which was great. Our guide was excellent and gave us lots of local information. A jam packed tour. Hotel coach transfer, ferry to island, visit to beach on island, stroll around local market, boat trip to see how the locals live, trip to Giant Buddha, lunch which was the best meal we had during our whole stay on Hong Kong and cable car to finish it off. Great value for money. For those worried about climbing the steps at the Giant Buddha don't fret, our friendly guide dropped us off at the top so out only experience of the 289 odd steps was walking back down them. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Somaly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

i'm highly recommended to visit big buddha in Hong kong

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

LEE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My booking was placed 2 days before travelling. Have followed the instructions to pick up d vouchers. Everything went smoothly upon arrival at the airport followed by picking up the necessary documents at the counter mentioned. I am glad with the package purchased and cutting off all the Q up at the cable car station also. With the MTR Pass being upgraded to 3 full days unlimited travelling I get to make full use of the pass. The trip was fun, stress free and enjoyable. Mostly importantly , i would recommend all to this online bookings . I was also being guided through out the Big Buddha Tour during this trip. Happy holidays to all .

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on our first day in Hong Kong. It was a great way to see the lay of the land and the great views from the Big Buddha. Lantau island is very interesting and so different from Hong Kong. The quaint fishing villages and farming lands were a welcome change. the beaches are also very picturesque and rarely inhibited. The highlight was the Big Buddha and the Monastery, which were both very interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and made this experience a great day. I was looking forward to the Buddha, but we got a full day filled with some really cool tours I was not expecting at all. Definitely worth the money to have them take you all around on the ferries buses, boats and sky, and show you things you would never see on your own. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Serigell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good value.
Good view of Hong King and surrounding coastline from both the cable car and when at the top of The Big Buddha.

Top tip - if purchasing a voucher before hand and aren't fro, Hong Kong, when visiting the site remember to take your passport along to exchange the voucher for tickets.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message