To discover another aspect to multifaceted China, take a day trip to Macau. The former Portuguese colony mixes crumbling fortresses with glitzy casinos, baroque churches with cobbled backstreets, and spicy Macanese seafood with classic dim sum. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ranjit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are interested in knowing about Macau as a town and its evolution, alongwith seeing some of the key locations, then this is the right tour for you. I enjoyed it, as the trip was quite well planned, things happened on time, and we had a great guide, Cisco, who kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip. Most people who go to Macau end up walking into the casinos and not much else, but with this tour, you can get acquainted with the history and culture of Macau, and also understand its existence in context of China.

Definitely worth spending a day on this tour, and you can always stay back for all the other stuff on your own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carlos A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Macau tour was the perfect day trip from Hong Kong. I was looking forward to seeing the Portuguese 400 years of influence in this part of the world and maybe speak some Portuguese as well. To my surprise, we were greeted by Mario, a Portuguese guide living in Macau for a long time spoke in perfect English and Portuguese. He made the tour very interesting and entertaining as he had a great sense of humor and was obviously well known throughout Macau. We hit all the highlights of Macau and the day went by in a flash. From watching people bungee jump off a 300 meter tower to the ruins of St Paul, it made for a memorable trip. Being able to capture a brief glimpse of what Macau was in its heyday when it was the only connection of China with Europe was exactly what I wanted to see. It is changing so much that in a few more years, the old Macau will probably be history and it will be nothing but a bigger version of Las Vegas. Muito Obrigado Mario!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

RAJENDRA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was wonderful, well planned and well guided by all the personal involved, specially the guide in Macau named Mario.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mychal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The long day is worth it on this day tour from HK to Macau. Miguel our tour guide was excellent, funny and kept the tour moving along all day. Would have like to spend more time in the old town portion of Macau vs seeing the casino, but all in all I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a quick overview of the area. I'm looking forward to returning and exploring more of this interesting city on my own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! our guide Cisco was so engaging and charismatic. we really got to see the amazing sites of Macau with him. He kept the tour moving and the fact that he can speak all these languages made it super entertaining. The tour was great but I would recommend that instead of a lunch at a hotel, that a more authentic experience can be had. I would have liked to have lunch a little more locally then a buffet lunch at a hotel. that would be my one change.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michelle L C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The whole day was great! The guide, Mario, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He was so good he even organised for us to be viewing the Macau Tower when someone bungee jumped off it! Haha! The visit to the Venetian Casino and the Grand Canals of Shoppes was something to remember. It was a great day out from start to finish.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized tour, smooth and fast boatride from HK to Macau. Our guide Cisco was very friendly and knowledgable. We visited all major sights, including the observation deck of Macau Tower without any waiting. It was fun to do this trip!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great day trip from Hong Kong , interesting guides and info on Macau

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

S S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED....VERY SMOOTH,FROM START TO FINISH.
GOT TO LEARN MUCH ABOUT THE HISTORY OF MACAU.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

paddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent day trip to Macau, perfectly organized from pick up at the hotel, ferry crossing and transport and guide at the other end. Cisco, our guide was excellent and the tour very well organized. Covered a city sightseeing, historic sites and also a visit to a casino - not much time to try ones hand at the slot machines or card tables though - that was not the aim of the tour.
All in all, excellent and highly recommended if you just have a day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Odalys R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Definitely would recommend this tour. Everything from the hotel pickup to the hotel drop off was perfectly arranged, very punctual. The tour guide in Macau Mr.Cisco was great. Very knowledgeable and attentive. Tour covered all the main sights in Macau. Lunch was buffet style with various choices. Overall a Great experience!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Najaden Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a lovely day in Macau! Cisco was the perfect guide, very knowledgeable in his field, with a lovely sense of humor, dedicated and sympathetic. The lunch buffet included was also very good and varied. But watch out for the first souvenir shop we visited trying to rip off with over priced products. Shop instead in the little souvenir shop just in front of the ruins of St Paul. The same range but the prices are just a fraction compared with the first store.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

carolbilton67

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very experienced guide who was most helpful to 2 oldies using walking sticks. Learnt much about Macau, saw a variety of places all of them interesting, very good balance of sightseeing and opportunities to shop, only down side quality of food for included lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Vlasta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, I was in Macau 30 yrs ago, it was a small village....now, WOW...
Our tour guide Mario was great, gave us a lots of information about new and old Macao.
Trip is well worth it. We had a great day in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Sisco was fantastic and a lot of fun! Not only was he very knowledgable about the history of Macau, he had a great sense of humour and kept everything interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour if you only have one day to spend in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Janice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Mario, was very knowledgeable and gave us a good overview of Macau. The only negative was lunch which was just OK.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

donnieg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day out made all the better by the very knowledgeable and entertaining CISCO. He made the tour pass very quickly and the stop at the Venetian was awesome. To our limited knowledge of Macau which we thought was a small historic island could not be farther from the truth, with all the casinos and wealth on show it made our jaws drop. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic day. Our guide in Macau was an entertaining and knowledgeable person who gave us all the information we needed and answered all question put to him. We had to alter the tour as it was the 16th anniversary or the hand over to China and so we had to do St Paul's first and have an early lunch. The lunch was in a restaurant overlooking Macau and was a buffet which catered to all culinary tastes. The afternoon was spent touring parts of Macau and going up the Macau Tower ending at a casino giving us time to go into the gambling rooms or take a walk around the area and do some shopping. The ferry trips were comfortable and it was about an hour each way and I was back at the hotel at 1930,12 hours after being picked up.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gary M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice way to see the city of Macau with no shopping involved. It was nice to walk through the city and see the shops and signts before going to lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Viator Macau Day Trip was fantastic! The boat takes about an hour from Kowloon to Macau. Our guide was Portuguese and had lived in Macau for 33 years. I think his name was Robert. He was excellent and quite the character! He was very good at detailing the history of Macau. We saw many sites including a few casinos which didn't interest us much because I'm from California and we've been to Las Vegas many times. For example: The Venetian Macau looks much like The Venetian Las Vegas....cocktails are not around every corner as in Las Vegas though. The waitresses served water and tea. Just a little strange to see all these people drinking tea while gambling! The Macau Tower which we were optionally charged extra to go up to the top had beautiful views of Mainland China and we saw people jumping from the highest bungee jump in the world here. It was worth it. So fun! We saw the feminine Buddha statue and the A-Ma temple. Went to a bakery where they made tasty almond cookies and delicious Egg Tarts! The lunch was just so-so, we didn't really have any expectations. The ruins of St Paul and Macau Spanish steps were beautiful, then a walking tour of the central area of Macau, then an hour back on the boat to Kowloon. It was a full day. 8 am to about 7 pm. If you have time, I recommend this day tour. Well worth it!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

robert g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip to Macau was great. The tour guide was fantastic. Very informative and well spoken. A must for tourists.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tania Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour provided a great overview of Macau and definitely made me want to go back and explore a little longer and deeper at another time. This place is much more than just the casinos.
We had Mario as our guide and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.
If Macau, outside of the casino scene interests you at all, then this is the tour to do.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Darlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had been thinking of going to Macau on our own but decided to go with a tour. We made the right choice. Our guide was great and really showed us Macau and not just the casino area but the old Portuguese area. He explain the history and really help us understand it. Everything went smoothly including getting on the ferry to come back to Hong Kong.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message