To discover another aspect to multifaceted China, take a day trip to Macau. The former Portuguese colony mixes crumbling fortresses with glitzy casinos, baroque churches with cobbled backstreets, and spicy Macanese seafood with classic dim sum. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tonee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour ! Had a great tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed discussing the history of Macau. Has been a tour guide for 34 years in Macau. Also took us to out of the way places. Had a very good lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

William I B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

After hearing various negative remarks about Macau and not to waste our time, we decided to judge for ourselves! Well, what a revelation! We had the most terrific guide named Mario. A Portuguese man who has lived there for 33years. His knowledge of the history of Macau was so interesting. Yes, he took us past great big casinos and took us to The Venetian, not to gamble but to look at the amazing interior. He took us to the old part of the city and took us down interesting, uncrowded streets. The ruin of St. Paul's was explained in wonderful detail. Who knew Macau had such a rich history. Go and enjoy this highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marco R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very nice tour. The guide was very professional and talk lot about the history I recommend this tour. Macau beside the casino's also has a very charming old center . Glad that I went.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alcibiades R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was amazing!!! Macau is very cute little town. There are a lot of places to see beside gambling!! Our guide name Cisco was very funny and engaging! 100% recomended!!! Will totally go back.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stella Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a very good trip. Picked up from, and returned back to my hotel (checked the list first and chose hotel based on this list). The guide was knowledgable and funny. The places visited in Macau were wonderful. Great introduction to Macau as this was my first trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went on a day trip to Macau 2 weeks ago and we enjoyed it so much, we are still talking about it! Cisco our guide was brilliant very informative and entertaining. The day was well planned with a fairly strict timetable to fit it all in. From the bus we saw many landmarks and started with a visit to a Casino, followed by the Macau tower, Temple of A-MA, Ruins of St Paul's Roman Church, historic walk through old Macau and finally a visit to the Jackie Chan casino which included a display of the changing of the guards. Lunch was a very good buffet in a 4 star hotel. It was a fantastic day, we particularly enjoyed the historic walk. The transport from Hong Kong was by Jetfoil which was fast and comfortable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mario was our guide and was full of information about Macau. Perhaps it was a little too much information and his shtick about being Portugese got a little tiring. Since we knew nothing about Macau, though, it is a trip worth doing.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent opportunity for a day trip from Hong Kong to Macau. The tour guide Mario was simply excellent. Just wish we had stayed overnight

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

sabin.carpiuc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day in Macau. Our guide, Mario, was fantastic. He told us a lot of stories and gave us valuable advice. In Hong Kong somebody took us to the ferry terminal. Then Mario greeted us at Macau ferry terminal. We had the opportunity to see Venetian Macau, we saw Macau from Macau Tower and we saw the Portuguese legacy. Also, we enjoyed a very good buffet-style lunch. All in all it is a recommended tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

ADELE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour from Hong Kong over to Macau by jet boat. Incredible tour in this Portuguese founded city. A bit different than the other Chinese towns we've toured. The facade of St Paul's was really incredible, and walking thru the area was very interesting. Also enjoyed the sky tower stop and ta quick stop at a casino. Happy with the guide. Good language skills and informative. Recommend this trip highly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was picked up on time from the departure point and taken to Macau. Customs was a breeze and they didn't even mind that I was actually going to stay in Macau and brought luggage on board. The boat trip over to Macau is beautiful with the rolling green hills! The tour guide was great and did a great job explaining the history and cultural aspects of Macau and how the Chinese and Portuguese cultures mixed and produced the unique culture of Macau. Although he gave people the option of just going to the casino for gambling, all people went with him for the history and culture he imparted to us. That shows what a great tour guide he was. Lunch was a great buffet of Macau specialties and we made a snack stop for some amazing egg tarts! He even called a taxi for me to get to my hotel after my tour! Overall, a great time in Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great way to get a taste of Macau! Cisco was our tour leader and he was fantastic, very knowledgeable and interested in sharing lots of information and answering questions! I enjoyed this tour as I am interested in history and culture, but we did get a small taste of the casinos and shopping as well.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Subrata D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Macau trip with our Tour Guide and Friend, Cisco, was really great. In a day, we felt, we know Macau for so long time as Cisco have given so much information. Lunch was awesome. He planned the trip beautifully.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kylie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing! Cisco was very informative! We managed to see so many things in such a small amount of time! The only thing which must be disclosed about this trip is that the customs going into Macau are quite strict to travelers who aren't from westernized countries. It took us an hour to get through coming off the ferry.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fabulous day in Macau. So much included in our itinerary, our tour guide was exceptional going that extra mile to ensure we experienced the very best Macau had to offer. So many highlights!
The lunch was delicious covering all tastes, something for everyone. Highly recommended. Thankyou Cisco Our Tour Guide for your historical knowledge, a truly memorable day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dorothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous way to see the Island. Well planned and informative. Macau is a very interesting place to visit with its Casinos and rich heritage. Only thing that I didn't like was the tour guide asking if we would like to leave him a tip. Not sure if that is common practice or not but it is the only tour that I have ever been on when this has happened.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

tonylokeyf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hi Viator,
i and my wife just back home Singapore . We like to thank you for the wonderful tour in Macau. We was pick up from our hotel Metropark Mongkok at 7.30am and went to pick some other tourist from the other hotel. We will given the ferry ticket and brief by the tour guide in HK. That was an hour ferry journey to Macau. Once we are there, we are met by Mario Portuguese tour guide whom had be resided in MACAU for many years. He is very careful man that ensure he got all the members of the tour present before he move off for our day tour. He is obviously well known the past history of Macau. Macau is a beautiful and modern city with a lot of casino, shopping mall. We went to the sky tower and lucky for us in time to witness a bungee jump by some brave guy. We went up the tower to had a better view round Macau and listening to all the history how Macau is developed from the past, now and future. After we went to A-MA temple which is there Macau for so many years protecting the village peoples in past whom are fisherman. We got some local goodies of Macau before we went for our lunch at METROPARK Macau hotel. All the food is nice and after then we leave for the Ruins of ST. PAUL. It a trade mark of Macau which only a part left of a church during the war time. We are lucky again as we are there during our chinese lantern festival where you can see a lot of lantern hanging around everywhere. Last stop before we embark for our ferry back to HK is the Casino own by the famous Kungfu star JACKY CHEN which you can see 88pcs of 1kg 999 solid gold with diamonds mounting on the floor of the lobby Casino. Everyone of us is very happy and we had more understanding of Macau and is all thank to MARIO OUR GUIDE I really feel Viator should give Mario a good credit for the cares and services he is provide to us. It really awesome and I sure be back looking for him as my Macau tour guide again. Also recommending Viator to all my friend whom is coming to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide for our Macau day trip. Cisco was very knowledgable and entertaining on our tour. He made our day superb. We visited alot of great places on this tour and really got to see the sites of Macau. It is more that casinos. There is no time to gamble at the casinos, so if that is what you want to do, this tour is not for you. We saw the historic areas of town and St Pauls as well as the Macau Tower. A great trip to see the area.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

ELLIS P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mario was an exceptional and well learned guide. He gave us insights that we would never have had doing this tour by ourselves. He was patient and guided us in a most professional manner. He worked the tour to the exigencies of the passengers. When he asked if anyone was interested in going into the casino and received negative replies he took that for a ne and instead showed other more interesting sights. The tour was smooth and everything when as planned. Even when the tkour was cut short by a typhoon alert in Hong Kong he managed to get all of us on an earlier boat with any additional cost. I recommend Mario and the tour to all those going to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ranjit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are interested in knowing about Macau as a town and its evolution, alongwith seeing some of the key locations, then this is the right tour for you. I enjoyed it, as the trip was quite well planned, things happened on time, and we had a great guide, Cisco, who kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip. Most people who go to Macau end up walking into the casinos and not much else, but with this tour, you can get acquainted with the history and culture of Macau, and also understand its existence in context of China.

Definitely worth spending a day on this tour, and you can always stay back for all the other stuff on your own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carlos A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Macau tour was the perfect day trip from Hong Kong. I was looking forward to seeing the Portuguese 400 years of influence in this part of the world and maybe speak some Portuguese as well. To my surprise, we were greeted by Mario, a Portuguese guide living in Macau for a long time spoke in perfect English and Portuguese. He made the tour very interesting and entertaining as he had a great sense of humor and was obviously well known throughout Macau. We hit all the highlights of Macau and the day went by in a flash. From watching people bungee jump off a 300 meter tower to the ruins of St Paul, it made for a memorable trip. Being able to capture a brief glimpse of what Macau was in its heyday when it was the only connection of China with Europe was exactly what I wanted to see. It is changing so much that in a few more years, the old Macau will probably be history and it will be nothing but a bigger version of Las Vegas. Muito Obrigado Mario!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message