It used to be that visitors landing at Hong Kong's airport on Lantau Island quickly hopped on the metro or hailed a taxi to Kowloon or Hong Kong Island. But with the addition of an MRT station, the establishment of Hong Kong Disneyland and a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Este tour es todo un encuentro con la naturaleza, la cultura de Hong Kong y las distintas religiones que se profesan en China. Nuestro guía de turistas fue muy amable e informativo con todas nuestras preguntas sobre temas como religión y la forma de vida de la gente en Hong Kong. Este tour incluye una breve visita a una playa donde la gente de Hong Kong acostumbra ir para huir de la ciudad. Además visitamos un pueblo de pescadores, donde se pueden apreciar las mercancías del lugar en un pintoresco mercado. Ahí mismo hicimos un paseo en bote donde pudimos ver las estructuras de las casas sobre el agua.
El paseo continua hacia el lugar donde está el Buda Gigante. Para mi agrado, el camión nos dejó justo en la cima, atrás de la estatua de Buda. Por lo que no fue tan pesado el recorrido, solo tuvimos que bajar las escaleras al terminar. La vista desde la cima es espectacular, la naturaleza, los monasterios. Uno de los mejores momentos en mi estancia en Hong Kong. Una vez que bajamos las escaleras, tuvimos una agradable comida en el monasterio, con comida vegetariana muy sencilla y con sabores muy sutiles. Después recorrimos los alrededores del monasterio y procedimos al área comercial Ngong Ping, donde tomamos un teleférico con una vista espectacular del lugar. El guía de turistas nos entregó un boleto para el teleférico tradicional, pero por muy pocos dólares se puede cambiar por una cabina con piso de cristal, lo cual valió la pena! El regreso al hotel fue agradable y sin contratiempos. Definitivamente volvería a tomar este tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant day. Nice to see something of Lantau Island before seeing the Giant Buddha and visiting the monastery which are both a must . Cable car is brilliant with fantastic views. Really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a great well organised tour of Lantau Island. First of all you take the ferry across to Lantau Island and then get to explore the whole island by coach, visiting local villages and temples on the island. The floating village was an eye opener on how to preserve food and the locals were friendly. The Giant Buddha is an incredible structure to see and visit. A highlight of the tour which I was not expecting was to actually be able to go inside the Buddha itself when it is not open to the general public and hear the history associated with it's creation and the artefacts we saw was a unique experience. The lunch at the temple was made with local produce and very tasty. I particularly liked the end of the tour with upgrading to the glass bottom cable care ride back down the mountain side, great views!! Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Amber E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We started the day by meeting our guide - Kurt, originally from Austria but has been living in HK for 28 years - at the ferry wharf on Hong Kong Island. From there it was a reasonably short boat trip to Lantau Island where we were met by a coach to take us to our first stop Tai O fishing village. Along the way Kurt filled us in on a little of Lantau's history. He was incredibly knowledgeable, in fact all throughout the day he was a font of knowledge which greatly added to the enjoyment of the tour. The fishing village was just as I'd imagined with a fantastic cultural history. From here we were taken to the Big Buddha, once again with Kurt's fantastic commentary added to our experience. We were left to our own devices for a time to take photos and walk the many steps down to the monastery where we enjoyed an amazing vegetarian feast. The monastery itself was also beautiful. From here we walked through Ngong Ping village, which looked quite touristy but nice, although we didn't have the time to stop and wander around as we headed for the gondola. Be prepared to wait here I can't remember how long we waited, maybe close to an hour as the queue was quite long, but the wait was worth it. 5.7 kilometres long with fantastic views back at the giant Buddha statue, it was amazing. We were met by buses at the other end that then took us back to either our hotel or the ferry terminal on Hong Kong Island. All in all I'd highly recommend this tour, especially if your guide is Kurt!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. One of the best day tours Ive ever experienced.
Our guide Kurt was exceptionally well informed about the culture and history. His commentary was filled with interesting stories and anecdotes and he kept us fascinated and amused throughout the day.
He was very attentive and when the lunch service at the Po Lin Monastery didn't quite go as planned he didnt hesitate to organise the seating, fill the teapots and ensure that everyone was served.
The highlights of the tour were the walk through the Tai O fishing village, the Giant Buddha, the delicious vegetarian lunch and the cable car ride from the Ngong Ping Village on Lantau to Kowloon.
Apart from the small hitch at lunch and a breakdown of the microphone system on the bus the tour went off without a hitch. After the tour, we were the last passengers to be dropped off at the starting point at Pier 6 resulting in a long bus ride through the evening traffic.
Thanks Lantau Tours and special thanks to Kurt.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ravi Kumar S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hi I booked the local travel tickets through Viator and they were waiting for me in an envelope at the designated desk when I arrived in Hong Kong at around 08:00 am from Taipei, Taiwan. The Airport Express ticket helped us me and my wife reach Hong Kong station down town in less than half an hour. We walked to the Tram lower terminal and visited the 'Peak', the ride was up the hill with nice view of the tall structures and the inland waters. Had a walk through the 'Pok Fu Lam County Park' near by and later had our return trip down the Peak. We walked through the Hong Kong streets to reach the 'Maritime Museum' to spend few hours, which included the 'Simulator' SHIP driving experience on the 'A' deck of the museum. Around 15:00 hrs we reached the MTR Hong Kong Station to travel to 'Tung Chung' using our MTR day pass. The 'Ngong Ping 360' cable car return trip ride took us an hour which helped us take pictures of the greenery, sea waters and the airport including the huge 'Buddha' statue. Traveled back to Hong Kong station to board 'Airport Express' and catch our flight to 'Hyderabad'.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour so much tp see and the lunch was amazing as was the cable car ride Do it when in HK!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sinlisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was excellent. Our Guide Ryan was very knowledgable and funny. From the time we were collected from our hotel everything was sorted and went smoothly. Catamaran over to Lantau island, coach to fishing village, small boat ride around stilted houses, coach up to giant Buddha, lunch at the monestery and cable car back to Kowloon, then final transfer back to hotel. Great value and whole day out. Highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great and well planned. I have nothing bad to say about it. We had a great tour leader, the timing for everything was perfect, lunch was good and the cable car ride down was amazing!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes....definitely!! A start with a 30 minute ferry ride to Lantau no outside seating and crowded. Then.... a quick stop at the beach followed by a fishing village. We loved the fishing village.... very surreal on how the locals live. Next, the trip to the Giant Buddha with vegetarian lunch. Buddha was great for the short duration, lunch was just OK. Finally, the 25 minute cable car ride. Not a huge fan of heights but truly an amazing view of the island and the Hong Kong International airport. Overall....highly recommend!!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic day out from Hong Kong.

Our guide Henry was very knowledgeable and took time out to answer any questions.

Especially liked visiting the fishing village, this was one of the things we wanted to see on our trip to Hong Kong.

Visiting the Buddha was great and the meal in the temple superb. No need to worry about scaling the steps and the Buddha, the bus drops you there and you walk down them or get the bus back down.

The views from the cable car were outstanding.

Thank you Henry for a great trip and for your extensive knowledge.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gloria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall a great trip. The Buddha is well worth seeing as is the houses on stilts and the fish market. Going over by boat and coming back by cable car gives the best of both worlds. Could have done with a bit longer looking at the market stalls and souvenir shops.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aoife Flynn Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Would highly recommend this trip to anyone travelling to Hong Kong. Pick up wasn't available from our hotel but was arranged for one just around the corner which was great. Our guide was excellent and gave us lots of local information. A jam packed tour. Hotel coach transfer, ferry to island, visit to beach on island, stroll around local market, boat trip to see how the locals live, trip to Giant Buddha, lunch which was the best meal we had during our whole stay on Hong Kong and cable car to finish it off. Great value for money. For those worried about climbing the steps at the Giant Buddha don't fret, our friendly guide dropped us off at the top so out only experience of the 289 odd steps was walking back down them. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

LEE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My booking was placed 2 days before travelling. Have followed the instructions to pick up d vouchers. Everything went smoothly upon arrival at the airport followed by picking up the necessary documents at the counter mentioned. I am glad with the package purchased and cutting off all the Q up at the cable car station also. With the MTR Pass being upgraded to 3 full days unlimited travelling I get to make full use of the pass. The trip was fun, stress free and enjoyable. Mostly importantly , i would recommend all to this online bookings . I was also being guided through out the Big Buddha Tour during this trip. Happy holidays to all .

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Serigell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good value.
Good view of Hong King and surrounding coastline from both the cable car and when at the top of The Big Buddha.

Top tip - if purchasing a voucher before hand and aren't fro, Hong Kong, when visiting the site remember to take your passport along to exchange the voucher for tickets.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Graham M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day out, fantastic vegetarian lunch and exciting trip on the cable car

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lennie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide, Henry, was fantastic! Thank you, Henry, for your kindness and wisdom. The visit to the fishing village was enlightening, the vegetarian lunch at the monastery was delicious and the cable car ride back to HK Island was impressive. We had a great time and I highly recommend this day trip from Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

knssub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the trip for 4 , 2 adults and 2 of my kids. The tour was well planned and is really worth if the day is not too hot :- . Hotel pickup was prompt, Ferry ride was really good and from there a bus tour of the Lantau islands. I felt, the tour agency could have avoided stopping just 15-20 mins at the beach, instead should have taken directly to the Buddha where one could spend more time. The fishing village tour was short and good, not much to see and experience, however, just a different experience. From here we were taken to the Giant Buddha, this is where i did not like the time give to us, we were just given 20 mins, which was really not good enough to spend time there. One would easily require at least 40 mins at this place. I would really suggest the tour agency to skip the beach break and allow that time here. Post Giant Buddha tour, we were taken to at the base for the lunch. Lunch was really good.
Next stop is the cable car ride which was the 2nd best in the trip where the tour typically ends and we are dropped back to our respective hotels.
Overall, the tour was really good and my family enjoyed it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michelle L C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another great day out and about Hong Kong! Everything was organised well and ran smoothly. Guide was knowledgeable. The boat ride around Tai O fishing village and its traditional houses on stilts was good. It was very interesting to see how the locals lived. The vegetarian lunch was amazing as was the Po Lin Monastery. The cable car ride back down from Ngong Ping Village was phenomenal - a must do experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

tonywhitworth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

fantastic tour, great views, cable car etc.. well worth doing, great day out and value for money

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Eileen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must visit if you are in Hong Kong. Out of this world!! Big buddha is really big, the views from the cable car are breathtaking and the pass for the MTR was so useful and worth every penny.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had no idea what to expect other than seeing a gigantic Buddha. Lantau is very diverse and lush with vegetation, the vegetarian lunch at the Monastery was one of the best I had in Hong Kong, and the cable car ride -- 3.5 miles -- was spectacular! Our guide was funny and lived on the island so could answer all questions.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with lots of interesting places to visit. Giant Buddha was the highlight followed by the cable car ride. Great tour guide who knew lots of interesting facts and was extremely friendly. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So many different things to see.... The cable car ride alone is worth it! Our guide didn and #39;t speak clear English is my only complaint.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this Tour: From our Hotel pick up until our drop off everything ran smoothly. This is a must do tour while in Hong Kong. It started with the smooth ferry crossing across Victoria Harbour to Lantau where we met our Tour Guide Quendy who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, she gave us heaps of facts on what we were seeing and clear directions on our meeting times and locations so organised. So, surprised to see so many Aussie Trees growing on Lantau Island it felt like I was back at home. Quendy did explain the reason why they were planted there. Intermittent rain did hamper the day a little. However, we still got to see and do everything on the tour.
We visited the fishing village of Tai O where we saw the traditional silted homes and learnt a little about daily local life this place smells a little from the drying of the fish etc. Visited the Giant Buddha unbelievable just how big it really is - and the Po Lin Monastery what a beautiful place and so peaceful with such wonderful gardens it was truly moving hearing the Buddhist Monks at prayer chanting. Our vegetarian lunch was so delicious we never missed not having meat. This fantastic day ended with a 20 minute trip down the mountain on the Ngong Ping 260 sky rail cable car. The spectacular natural views and those of the Hong Kong airport are not to be missed. A thoroughly enjoyable day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message