For over 100 years, the Victoria Peak Tram has been inclining its way up Victoria Peak on Hong Kong Island. Taking a ride on the steeply angled tram is an essential Hong Kong experience. The service began as a coal-fired tramway in 1888, and was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent way to get around and see all the sights in Kowloom and the Island we purchased the 2 day pass which included quite a few extras and fast track for the peak tram and sanpan ride which saved a lot of time queing

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

RP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour !!! We were taken around in a very professional manner in a bus to see Hong Kong and experience its sights. There were about 15 of us. The guide was very informative and apart from keeping us entertained, he and his colleague the bus driver took good care of the some of the old folks in our tour group. We were given just enough time at each location to look around and to take photographs as well. We were taken for a boat ride, jewellery factory, Stanley Market, Temple, Victoria Peak and Tram Ride. The jewellery factory was avoidable honestly. We were taken for the tram ride from the top to the bottom which is a really good idea as there is a big line for people to go up on the tram ride and we would have wasted more than 30 minutes in queue if we had done that. The tour company took a photograph and presented us with a momento plate which was optional to buy. Most folks anyway bought it though.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Stella Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour. Easy to follow and comprehensive. I bought the 2 day with night bus tour of Kowloon. It included Victoria peak tram, star ferry cruise, and sampan cruise. It had commentary in English and the buses had rain ponchos for wet weather. Well run tour and I would take it in other cities.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

awfriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A good way to see the city and it surroundings. Got to take all three tours in one day but it meant not spending a lot of time at any one stop. The bus company has it own special line at the tram which cuts the wait time down significantly. The sampan boat tour was also very quick and interesting. Headsets on board the bus tells you what you are seeing so you are doing more than just taking in the sights. After the ferry ride to Kowloon it was hard to find the bus stop. The folks at the ferry did not explain things well. After searching around we managed to find it. Very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Pick up and drop-off at the Hotel was simple. A Great way to skip the lines on tram to Victoria's Peak. Others buying tickets manually had to wait up to two hours for a ride. Our tour went immediately to the front of the line. The day was Sunny and just a light haze made for some great visibility. Though we seemed to rush a bit all day, time at each stop was ample, and the rushing was needed to get everything in and get to the evening cruise on-time. Packed between the Peak Tour and the Evening Cruise, we took a Sanpan ride in Aberdeen an old fishing village that highlighted the poor conditions of the local folks, shopped the Stanley Market, watched a beautiful sunset over the beach at Stanley Promenade, and visited the old but recently restored Clock Tower in Hong Kong. The evening cruise was on an old converted automobile Ferry Boat. The view of the Laser Show on the top deck was nice and the Buffet Dinner had something for everyone. The only negative was that the tour also visits a Jewelry Factory/Store in Hong Kong for about 45 minutes which felt more like a way for the Tour Operator to get a commission rather than providing any insight into Hong Kong, but perhaps it served as a way to keep the cost of the tour lower. Overall though, a great tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Afternoon Sightseeing Tour Plus Dinner Cruise with Hotel Pickup from Kowloon area

MAZIDAH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was really good value package as we get to go on star ferry harbour cruise sampan ride peak tram

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. We got a 48 hour ticket which came with multiple ferry tickets, peak tram tickets, maritime museum entry and 3 different bus tour legs around Hong Kong and Kowloon. The buses were all very well air-conditioned which provides great relief if you are visiting in the hotter months.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

by.the.sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great 2 day tour for us. Plenty to see and do, Stanley Market,Kowloon, The Peak Tram, Aberdeen, the Ladies Markets and much more. This was an easy way for us to get to see and do as much as possible in the shortest time, without the stress of getting lost on our own. Doing the tour just made it enjoyable for both of us.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Great routes and info. Plus the sampan ride and ferry to and from Kowloon were great. Didn't take the sky tram as it was raining but thought everything else was first rate.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tracey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We booked this for our first morning and thoroughly enjoyed the trip - unfortunately the mist at the peak prevented us from seeing very much and the tram down was out of order the tour operator had no control of either would still definitely recommend

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Louisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the BEST way to see all the sights in Hong Kong. You'll be transported to all the sights in Hong Kong in the comfort of the Big Red Bus while you listen to the very informative commentary. Hop off and on as often as you like knowing that the next bus will be along in 30 minutes. Choose from 3 different routes or do them all we did!. So many things are included in your Big Bus ticket - harbour cruise, entry to the maritime museum, star ferry transfers, the Peak tram.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide was was very friendly and informative,weather not particularly good when we visited in February so could not see the fantastic views that are usually seen on this tour, especially at Peak tram. It was good value for money.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Wesley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good commentary with lots of extras including harbour cruise, ferry tickets as many as you wanted and the Peak Tram

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Easy way to see a lot of both HK and Kowloon. The Kowloon trip includes the Peak Tram which is excellent. Interesting on board narration to explain some of the history of HK and Kowloon. Not to be missed

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

suebishop2514

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This ticket is such good value for money! You can do three separate tours and see most of Hong Kong over a 48-hour period. The ticket includes the ferry, a river cruise and the tram to the Peak, as well as entrance to the Maritime Museum. There are people at all the major places to guide you to attractions or route changes, and they couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend the 48-hour Big Bus Tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good tour, really enjoyed the tram ride...although it was very rainy.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

sfengland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Frantic city but good tour. Peak Tram and Star Ferry included and both excellent. Don't skip either...

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ElizabethD United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent tour covering a lot in half a day. The tour took us all around Hong Kong Island, including a sampan extra but worth it! trip in Aberdeen Harbour, an hour in Stanley overlooking the South China Sea and the iconic tram down from Victoria Peak. The guide was very good and gave us lots of information about Hong Kong and Hong Kong Island throughout the tour. I think this trip is very good value and I recommend it.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent value tour
Danny the guide together with the bus driver and photographer were consummate hosts
With this trip you see some great parts of the island culminating in a spectacular funicular tram ride
Danny provided a full informative and often amusing commentary throughout

Would recommend this tour to anyone in order to get a true taste of this vibrant island

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

rob-anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This half day tour was great. Our tour guide Danny was very informative and knowledgeable about Hong Kong. We went up to the Peak and rode the tram down to the bottom. We went to a Jewellery factory and saw how the jewellery is made and then of course they take into the showroom hoping you will buy something. We also went on a san pan ride which is up to you whether you go or not. It was a great day.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were in Hong Kong for 48 hours and we took full advantage of all that the ticket offered. The ferry rides and harbor cruise were bonuses. Well worth the money. Oh yeah, the tram to the viewing platform overlooking Hong Kong was included and truly amazing...not to be missed.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vohie Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An outstanding value packed activity over the two days. The ability to get a feel for HK and being able to hop on hop off on the three routes was excellent. The extras - ferry rides, peak tram ride, san pan ride were great inclusions and the night tour.
The staff were obvious and very helpful all around the different routes and gave insightful hints as well
Great value

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, we took all 3 options and the added trip on the star ferry was great as was the Sampan trip and the Victoria Peak Tram ride. Could not have been better for 48 hours, it allowed us to see all of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kerry d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

First of all I would recommend this tour and high marks for the staff. The Hop-on Hop-off tour employees were great. They were very welcoming and helpful and most of them spoke English. I had booked a two day tour and it took two full days to see everything that was listed on the tour. The extra items like the Victoria peak tram and the 30 minute boat ride were great. The Sampan ride was also interesting. Your ticket also includes four trips across the harbour from Kowloon to Hong Kong Island on the Star Ferry. You get a great view of the harbour. Its only about 10 minutes to cross the harbour but very nice. There is more to see on the Hong Kong Island side. I would suggest seeing this side first. The first stop on the Hong Kong Island side is Victoria Peak Tram. Get off first thing in the morning and this way you will miss the crowds. There is a fantastic view of the city from the Peak and there are also a lot of shops. You will need at least one hour or more to see everything at the top of the mountain. You have priority boarding going up, but not coming down. After leaving the peak take the bus that goes to Stanley and Aberdeen. After you go through a 2 mile tunnel you come out to the ocean and you look down on sandy beaches and secluded beaches. Its hard to believe you just came from a crowded city. Get off at the end of the Bay Area and take the Sampan tour. Its short but it gives you and idea what its like to live on a Sampan. Towards the end of the day go back across the bay to the Kowloon side to take the boat trip in the harbour. Well worth it. There are lots of spots to get off and sample the restaurant areas etc. There is also a ticket for the Marine Museum. I did everything listed for the tour and I had a great time.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to get an overview of Hong Kong. Saw verious parts of Hong Kong and Kowloon, Sampan tour of Aberdeen Harbor and the "boat people". The only part we disliked was a stop at a diamond factory where I assume the guide gets a kickback of any purchases made. I was actually offended by that. Riding up to Victoria Peak was magnificent. The views were spectacular and the tram ride back down was cool.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message