Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery

If you ask around Hong Kong about the best attractions, chances are you’ll hear mention of the Big Buddha (Tian Tan Buddha) on Lantau Island. What you probably won’t hear mentioned is Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery, yet this once remote monastery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour guide - interesting and knowledgeable without being overbearing. Overall a fascinating day trip which included the fishing village, The Buddha and a great lunch at the monastery.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant day. Nice to see something of Lantau Island before seeing the Giant Buddha and visiting the monastery which are both a must . Cable car is brilliant with fantastic views. Really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Amber E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We started the day by meeting our guide - Kurt, originally from Austria but has been living in HK for 28 years - at the ferry wharf on Hong Kong Island. From there it was a reasonably short boat trip to Lantau Island where we were met by a coach to take us to our first stop Tai O fishing village. Along the way Kurt filled us in on a little of Lantau's history. He was incredibly knowledgeable, in fact all throughout the day he was a font of knowledge which greatly added to the enjoyment of the tour. The fishing village was just as I'd imagined with a fantastic cultural history. From here we were taken to the Big Buddha, once again with Kurt's fantastic commentary added to our experience. We were left to our own devices for a time to take photos and walk the many steps down to the monastery where we enjoyed an amazing vegetarian feast. The monastery itself was also beautiful. From here we walked through Ngong Ping village, which looked quite touristy but nice, although we didn't have the time to stop and wander around as we headed for the gondola. Be prepared to wait here I can't remember how long we waited, maybe close to an hour as the queue was quite long, but the wait was worth it. 5.7 kilometres long with fantastic views back at the giant Buddha statue, it was amazing. We were met by buses at the other end that then took us back to either our hotel or the ferry terminal on Hong Kong Island. All in all I'd highly recommend this tour, especially if your guide is Kurt!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dante G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Day, Great Guide, Great Meal. We were assuming that an included vegetarian meal at the Monastery would be underwhelming...Instead, it was one of the best meals we had on or 17 day vacation. Loved the time in fishing village and at Buddha. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. One of the best day tours Ive ever experienced.
Our guide Kurt was exceptionally well informed about the culture and history. His commentary was filled with interesting stories and anecdotes and he kept us fascinated and amused throughout the day.
He was very attentive and when the lunch service at the Po Lin Monastery didn't quite go as planned he didnt hesitate to organise the seating, fill the teapots and ensure that everyone was served.
The highlights of the tour were the walk through the Tai O fishing village, the Giant Buddha, the delicious vegetarian lunch and the cable car ride from the Ngong Ping Village on Lantau to Kowloon.
Apart from the small hitch at lunch and a breakdown of the microphone system on the bus the tour went off without a hitch. After the tour, we were the last passengers to be dropped off at the starting point at Pier 6 resulting in a long bus ride through the evening traffic.
Thanks Lantau Tours and special thanks to Kurt.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful views and a great experience overall. We loved seeing the harbor views/ferry ride, beaches, the Buddha statue, the monastery/outstanding lunch, and the gondola ride back was a great way to end the trip opt for the glass bottom for only a couple dollars more. Very friendly guides, and a great day trip for an experience outside of HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Louise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing tour, the guide was excellent and the lunch at the monastery was brilliant

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on our first day in Hong Kong. It was a great way to see the lay of the land and the great views from the Big Buddha. Lantau island is very interesting and so different from Hong Kong. The quaint fishing villages and farming lands were a welcome change. the beaches are also very picturesque and rarely inhibited. The highlight was the Big Buddha and the Monastery, which were both very interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Beach2108

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we have ever done, great value! Guide was fantastic. Ferry to Lantau, beach photo stop, tai o fishing village tour and boat trip -very authentic and fascinating, then giant Buddha tour, lunch in exquisite po Lin monastery, time for pics or shopping in quaint area then amazing funicular ride. Very pleased with this comprehensive and varied tour!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Iyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall an Excellent tour . Guide and bus pilot were good and co-operative. Time was a bit short to visit big buddha and Po Lin monastery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Lennie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide, Henry, was fantastic! Thank you, Henry, for your kindness and wisdom. The visit to the fishing village was enlightening, the vegetarian lunch at the monastery was delicious and the cable car ride back to HK Island was impressive. We had a great time and I highly recommend this day trip from Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michelle L C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another great day out and about Hong Kong! Everything was organised well and ran smoothly. Guide was knowledgeable. The boat ride around Tai O fishing village and its traditional houses on stilts was good. It was very interesting to see how the locals lived. The vegetarian lunch was amazing as was the Po Lin Monastery. The cable car ride back down from Ngong Ping Village was phenomenal - a must do experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

MUST-SEE SIGHT and the veg food in the monastery was amazing! I loved the views on the cable ride back. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had no idea what to expect other than seeing a gigantic Buddha. Lantau is very diverse and lush with vegetation, the vegetarian lunch at the Monastery was one of the best I had in Hong Kong, and the cable car ride -- 3.5 miles -- was spectacular! Our guide was funny and lived on the island so could answer all questions.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jocelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. Everything was well planned out and on time, from the scheduled bus pickup at my hotel, to the ferry, to the Buddha, etc. The guide was witty and informative. The Buddha was very foggy, and for most of the time we were there, it was impossible to see his face. But, if you waited, for a few seconds here and there the clouds would part sufficiently for a good photo. So keep that in mind in case you are in a similar situation. The vegetarian meal at the Monastery was absolutely delicious, and there was plenty of food for anyone really hungry. All in all, a great trip, and a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this Tour: From our Hotel pick up until our drop off everything ran smoothly. This is a must do tour while in Hong Kong. It started with the smooth ferry crossing across Victoria Harbour to Lantau where we met our Tour Guide Quendy who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, she gave us heaps of facts on what we were seeing and clear directions on our meeting times and locations so organised. So, surprised to see so many Aussie Trees growing on Lantau Island it felt like I was back at home. Quendy did explain the reason why they were planted there. Intermittent rain did hamper the day a little. However, we still got to see and do everything on the tour.
We visited the fishing village of Tai O where we saw the traditional silted homes and learnt a little about daily local life this place smells a little from the drying of the fish etc. Visited the Giant Buddha unbelievable just how big it really is - and the Po Lin Monastery what a beautiful place and so peaceful with such wonderful gardens it was truly moving hearing the Buddhist Monks at prayer chanting. Our vegetarian lunch was so delicious we never missed not having meat. This fantastic day ended with a 20 minute trip down the mountain on the Ngong Ping 260 sky rail cable car. The spectacular natural views and those of the Hong Kong airport are not to be missed. A thoroughly enjoyable day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour was good. All on time. Vehicles were clean and in great condition. Guide was cute. Lunch at the monastery was delish!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Beautifully organized and coordinated trip to the Island and the Giant Buddha. Guide was very knowledgable, humorous, and ensured excursion success always. The vegetarian lunch at the monastery was extremely good -- I could hardly tell there wasn't any meat/poultry/fish products at all. Choose your visitation dates carefully if you can my day did not include the cable car ride, which was unknown at date of sign up. You may be able to enjoy that scenic addition then.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

tjgworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

For a day tour, this was the best in value! There were many people involved to get us to each destination. It was seamless and not rushed. Pickup by coach from my hotel was easy. Amie was our main guide once at the ferry docks. She was exceptional in giving facts and directions for each meeting place. Crossing Victoria Harbor in a ferry was a fun experience. On another coach we traveled Lantau. Visiting Tai O was as close to a mainland China small fishing village Ive ever been and was in awe of its heritage and way of life. The Big Buddha and the grounds of the Po Lin Monastery was beautiful and humbling. As a non Buddhist, it was a peaceful exploration surrounded by true buddhist worshipping. It was wonderful watching them in practice of traditions. As if the modes of transportation so far wasnt enough, our group all met at the Ngong Ping 360 entrance. The Skyrail cable car was a joy to ride down the mountain. Heights and sights were exhilarating! Once down we were on a coach again to our perspective hotels. Could not image trying to cover all this on our own. Even though you can, but it would take more time just to get to the sites, buying you own tickets for transport and waiting in lines to visit. Greatest paid tour ever. Special thanks to Amie for making this a fun experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Vera V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great sight and should not be missed. Viator did a great job organizing this wonderful tour, including the monastery temple which is magnificent and the best I ever saw. The gondola ride
that was almost cancelled due to excessive ice because of an unexpected cold spell was a real treat.
I highly recommend this tour. It was excellent and I would like to take it again, if I should get to Honk Kong again some day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. First stop was at the Tai O Fishing Village. Then headed to the Tian Tian Buddha Giant Buddha. You will have plenty of time to walk around and take many pictures. The group had lunch at the Po Lin Monastery. They served vegetarian lunch. It's was pretty good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kamaljit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day! A brilliant tour guide. Great fun along the way. The Big Buddha and cable car was the highlight of the trip. The lunch at the monastery was lovely.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sue.cromie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour with an excellent guide. Unfortunately it was raining most of the day but we still managed to see everything and our guide ensured that everything ran smoothly. Lovely lunch at the monastery. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message