Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1435 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Troy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an excellent time on this tour, the guide was great, very informative.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and made this experience a great day. I was looking forward to the Buddha, but we got a full day filled with some really cool tours I was not expecting at all. Definitely worth the money to have them take you all around on the ferries buses, boats and sky, and show you things you would never see on your own. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see the city and convenient! Rarely waited more than 10 minutes for the bus. 2 day pass with night tour best as there is so much to see and a better deal.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip, well worth doing. The guide was superb.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

MAZIDAH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was really good value package as we get to go on star ferry harbour cruise sampan ride peak tram

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

MAZIDAH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The fireworks was fantastic.

Doing what: Hong Kong Disneyland Admission with Transport

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on our first day in Hong Kong. It was a great way to see the lay of the land and the great views from the Big Buddha. Lantau island is very interesting and so different from Hong Kong. The quaint fishing villages and farming lands were a welcome change. the beaches are also very picturesque and rarely inhibited. The highlight was the Big Buddha and the Monastery, which were both very interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Louise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing tour, the guide was excellent and the lunch at the monastery was brilliant

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Debra B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this tour. However, I have to echo some comments of other reviewers:
* the buses are old and bounced around a lot making it an uncomfortable ride
* a couple of the buses did not have air conditioning, and we got caught in a traffic jam, making that time in the bus unbearable

It seems like Big Bus is doing a better job of identifying stops. Almost every stop had Big Bus workers dressed in red t-shirts making it easy to find them.

If you want to go on the tram ride to Victoria Peak on the weekend, I suggest that you get your ticket from the Big Bus workers at the entry point the day before, and find some other way to get to the entry point the next day. The tram opens at 7:00 am. We arrived at 8:30 am on a Sunday and didn't need to stand in line. However, by 9:30 am when we returned to the bottom, the line was very, very, very long! In the early-August heat, I wouldn't have been able to stand in line long enough to get on the tram.

The commentary on the bus was good; I enjoyed listening to it and the ear phones worked well. However, I hope that Big Bus continues to update the commentary. Some of the information was repeated, and I am sure that there is much more information that would be interesting.

Also, I hope that Big Bus provides additional stops that are of cultural interest.

If you go to Stanley Beach, look for the wonderful fruit juice stand that is on the beach! They had one of the best fruit smoothies I have ever had : )

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall a great evening cruise! Very peaceful evening, easy pick up and drop off at primary locations on the ferry ports, and I enjoyed the music/talking that accompanied the ride.

Only caveat: the open bar led to a few people getting a bit boisterous on the cruise and breaking glasses. I'd perhaps reconsider a full open bar and give a few drink tickets instead.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

JB United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great way of getting about and the tour included many extras such as Harbour cruise, sanpan ride, Peak Tram etc.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Catherine C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good VFM but heavy rain prevented us using buses on second day. Inclusions of attractions made seeing these very easy and we fitted most into first day fortunately.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

TravelKel

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The location and restaurant were delightful, however a tour really wasn't required. Our guide Ben was mostly unengaged, and once we arrived at the the stops he just told us when to return to the bus.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brenda G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour wasnt quite what I had expected, but maybe thats because i didnt read all about it. I had expected the Light show to be longer and to be more involved than it was. Having said that, it was not something controlled by the tour, so it wasnt a fault of the tour at all. This tour is great to relax, have a few drinks and sail around the harbour--for this is was just brilliant. The harbour is easy to see from the water, seeing all the areas you dont see from the usual tourist viewing areas. We sailed to the further ends of the harbour where all the high rise residential buildings are and got a different view of the area. Well worth it for the harbour cruise, not just the light show

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

Peter C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Excellent when we eventually found out where the stops were NO Bus stops indicating big bus stops here very haphazard ,we had to get a Taxi to pier 7 as this was the only one indicated.

Not as well organised as others Singapore , London etc

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

My family and I were extremely disappointed by this trip, and were frustrated by the logistics and the missing components in what was promised in the tour overview.

Time Management: Our tour guide had a poor sense of timing and prioritization for the day. He gave us over 30 minutes for our lunch, but drove us to the Giant Buddha, with 10 minutes to look around before being back in the bus. 10 minutes also was the exact same amount of time he gave us for a bathroom break earlier in the day. It made no sense that we were given the exact same amount of time for the primary attraction of this tour as a simple bathroom break. My family was extremely disappointed in the lack of time we were able to spend at the Giant Buddha.

Missing attractions: The overview of this tour mentioned that we'd see the Wisdom Path and the Giant Buddha Exhibition. However, we did not visit the Wisdom Path at all, and the only sightseeing of the exhibition was in quickly walking past it on our way to lunch and to the bus. Though I was able to snap a quick photo, it was unacceptable that we were not even given the time to properly see these attractions.

Logistics: We spent half the day purely in transit to Lantau Island - between the bus, a ferry, and a cable car ride to the monastery. Given the extent of time needed for travel, it would make more sense to make this trip a 12-hour tour and/or drive on a bus to and from Lantau Island, especially as the ferry was not a super compelling part of the trip.

I've been on bad tours in the past -- boring tour guides, non-charismatic tour guides, etc. But a tour that doesn't even give you the proper time to explore the primary attraction and doesn't take you everywhere advertised is unacceptable.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Iyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall an Excellent tour . Guide and bus pilot were good and co-operative. Time was a bit short to visit big buddha and Po Lin monastery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Govind S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip overall and I would recommend this trip...!!!

Friendly staff from start to finish

The guide was informative and organised at all times, knowing where everyone was pointing out interesting facts.

Pick up and drop off times were at all times punctual which is great subject to traffic of course

Great trip...!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mykola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was awesome tour near a few waterfalls with cool guide Lyric! Strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Tai Mo Shan Waterfall Adventure Hike

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very relaxing day with excellent views. Tour Guide Crystal was exceptional, very well organized with lively sense of humor. Lunch at the temple was excellent

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Beach2108

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we have ever done, great value! Guide was fantastic. Ferry to Lantau, beach photo stop, tai o fishing village tour and boat trip -very authentic and fascinating, then giant Buddha tour, lunch in exquisite po Lin monastery, time for pics or shopping in quaint area then amazing funicular ride. Very pleased with this comprehensive and varied tour!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

js839

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time on tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke English very well. Couldn't believe how big the buddha was. The best part was taking the gondola ride. Worst part was that we were dropped off last at our hotel and that took forever. Would do it again.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tina P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed all of this trip other than we didn't really need to stop and see the beach therefore leaving a bit more time at the Big Buddah.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

James B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What a great way to get around and see just about everywhere on Hong Kong and the buses are pretty much 99 on time , you can't help the traffic

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message