Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1563 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jim S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

As with most Big Bus Tours your tour is what you make it. This was a great service with several tours starting at the Star Ferry, If you're in Hong Kong there's no better way to get around and see everything.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Julian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant day. Nice to see something of Lantau Island before seeing the Giant Buddha and visiting the monastery which are both a must . Cable car is brilliant with fantastic views. Really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent way to get around and see all the sights in Kowloom and the Island we purchased the 2 day pass which included quite a few extras and fast track for the peak tram and sanpan ride which saved a lot of time queing

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour guide - interesting and knowledgeable without being overbearing. Overall a fascinating day trip which included the fishing village, The Buddha and a great lunch at the monastery.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bruce Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Este tour es todo un encuentro con la naturaleza, la cultura de Hong Kong y las distintas religiones que se profesan en China. Nuestro guía de turistas fue muy amable e informativo con todas nuestras preguntas sobre temas como religión y la forma de vida de la gente en Hong Kong. Este tour incluye una breve visita a una playa donde la gente de Hong Kong acostumbra ir para huir de la ciudad. Además visitamos un pueblo de pescadores, donde se pueden apreciar las mercancías del lugar en un pintoresco mercado. Ahí mismo hicimos un paseo en bote donde pudimos ver las estructuras de las casas sobre el agua.
El paseo continua hacia el lugar donde está el Buda Gigante. Para mi agrado, el camión nos dejó justo en la cima, atrás de la estatua de Buda. Por lo que no fue tan pesado el recorrido, solo tuvimos que bajar las escaleras al terminar. La vista desde la cima es espectacular, la naturaleza, los monasterios. Uno de los mejores momentos en mi estancia en Hong Kong. Una vez que bajamos las escaleras, tuvimos una agradable comida en el monasterio, con comida vegetariana muy sencilla y con sabores muy sutiles. Después recorrimos los alrededores del monasterio y procedimos al área comercial Ngong Ping, donde tomamos un teleférico con una vista espectacular del lugar. El guía de turistas nos entregó un boleto para el teleférico tradicional, pero por muy pocos dólares se puede cambiar por una cabina con piso de cristal, lo cual valió la pena! El regreso al hotel fue agradable y sin contratiempos. Definitivamente volvería a tomar este tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent value.
After taking other tours, this is a good way to revisit the favorite places.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Contemptible Pete

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

An excellent way to get around the island. However there is one fundamental flaw. none of the bus stops are marked. WE had to get a taxi to the port where we knew the bus would be in order to catch it in the first place. We asked dozens of locals if they knew where the nearest bus stop was but no one knew. This was the only thing that let down an otherwise excellent service.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Timothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Really well organised tour , excellent guides with good local knowledge . Vegan dinner at the monastery is excellent . Ticks all the boxes for a Lantau tour cable car not in use at time of writing Time at the local market was too short , lots of stalls with local teas , herbs , spices to purchase . Only able to view a small percentage .

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sarah P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Excellent day trip, and very organised. My only complaint is that we didn't check out the Wisdom Path. The tour description states Enjoy the quiet contemplation of the Wisdom Path, where ancient prayers are written on wooden columns that represent infinity. My impression is that we'd have time to go and see it. Instead we were told we'd have to come another day if we wanted to walk there. Don't bother putting things in your itinerary that's not actually included. I would've been much less disappointed.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Geo

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great place with plenty nice views and places to visit plus endless shopping.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

pete.j.elliott

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

We enjoyed the tour overall, but missed out on a couple of things that would have probably upped my rating:-
Pros:
Giant Buddha - a superb sight on a sunny day and worth spending some time here
Fishing village - very interesting, seeing all the fish drying and the boat ride to see the stilted houses
Cons:
The cable car, which was one of the highlights of the trip, was not running when we went we were told in advance, so it was our choice to still do the trip!.
We couldn't do the full boat trip from the fishing village, as it was supposedly too rough. Even though it looked calm to all of us and the ferry from Hong Kong was smooth enough!
The beach was a waste of time at this time of year!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

TERRENCE T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I was lucky to have relatively good weather on the night, hence the view was pretty good. The free drink on the boat was ok. The tour commentary was through a recorded broadcast, a bit hard to hear accompanied by the engine of the boat, the English were just understandable and the music is somewhat to me anyway mismatched to the scenery of symphony of lights on Victoria Harbour.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

Geo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Little disappointing as we expected more from the lights but not to be missed.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

Terriss H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

From what we saw, on a reasonable day this tour would have been excellent. However we struck really bad weather and being cold and uncomfortable spoilt the day. The fishing boat had its side covers down so visibility was severely curtailed. The Buddha was enshrined in mist. The lunch at the monastery was great though.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

jrrichardson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful! / Hope you get Ryan as your tour guide. He is the best!!
Great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour with a well informed guide. Highly recommended as a tour to a quieter Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kyle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic, definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The tour guide was amazing and the vegetarian meal was actually really good. From seeing the fishing village, to the temple, to riding the gondola totally worth it to spend the 8 USD or so extra to upgrade to the glass bottom version, this was definitely a memorable part of our trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. One of the best day tours Ive ever experienced.
Our guide Kurt was exceptionally well informed about the culture and history. His commentary was filled with interesting stories and anecdotes and he kept us fascinated and amused throughout the day.
He was very attentive and when the lunch service at the Po Lin Monastery didn't quite go as planned he didnt hesitate to organise the seating, fill the teapots and ensure that everyone was served.
The highlights of the tour were the walk through the Tai O fishing village, the Giant Buddha, the delicious vegetarian lunch and the cable car ride from the Ngong Ping Village on Lantau to Kowloon.
Apart from the small hitch at lunch and a breakdown of the microphone system on the bus the tour went off without a hitch. After the tour, we were the last passengers to be dropped off at the starting point at Pier 6 resulting in a long bus ride through the evening traffic.
Thanks Lantau Tours and special thanks to Kurt.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dante G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Day, Great Guide, Great Meal. We were assuming that an included vegetarian meal at the Monastery would be underwhelming...Instead, it was one of the best meals we had on or 17 day vacation. Loved the time in fishing village and at Buddha. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kim Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good day out. Very friendly and knowledgeable guides. The incoming typhoon conditions unfortunately meant that the gondola/chair rail portion of the trip was cancelled as considered too dangerous - we could live with that. Big Buddha is amazing. Lunch provided with tour was fantastic and we certainly didn't go hungry. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Scott D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I took the 48 hour option and can't recommend it highly enough. It is safe, clean and is much better value than doing a private tour in my view. There was even a boat tour factored in for the harbor experience. It is ideal for families and is the best way to see Hong Kong without spending lots of unnecessary cash. To not go on this is a lost opportunity I feel

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Hong Kong Big Bus Tour people are absolutely amazing. They all speak very good English and are as helpful as anywhere in the world. They all go out of their way to ensure that you are provided with the appropriate information and guidance. A particular gentleman at Peak Train Stop is just unbelievable and is to be especially complimented.
A great team overall.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ana Maria V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was brilliant! It worth every dollar! The tour guide was so smart and explained everything. It was a full day with so many beautiful places!! You should for SURE not miss this! It is a MUST DO. The views wore amazing and also the lunch-vegetarian style.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! Simply Wow! What a great island and village. Our guide was fantastic, as a Lantau native he knew so much history. The Buddha is truly breathtaking. So glad we went.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message