Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1536 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jrrichardson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful! / Hope you get Ryan as your tour guide. He is the best!!
Great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour with a well informed guide. Highly recommended as a tour to a quieter Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kyle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic, definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The tour guide was amazing and the vegetarian meal was actually really good. From seeing the fishing village, to the temple, to riding the gondola totally worth it to spend the 8 USD or so extra to upgrade to the glass bottom version, this was definitely a memorable part of our trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. One of the best day tours Ive ever experienced.
Our guide Kurt was exceptionally well informed about the culture and history. His commentary was filled with interesting stories and anecdotes and he kept us fascinated and amused throughout the day.
He was very attentive and when the lunch service at the Po Lin Monastery didn't quite go as planned he didnt hesitate to organise the seating, fill the teapots and ensure that everyone was served.
The highlights of the tour were the walk through the Tai O fishing village, the Giant Buddha, the delicious vegetarian lunch and the cable car ride from the Ngong Ping Village on Lantau to Kowloon.
Apart from the small hitch at lunch and a breakdown of the microphone system on the bus the tour went off without a hitch. After the tour, we were the last passengers to be dropped off at the starting point at Pier 6 resulting in a long bus ride through the evening traffic.
Thanks Lantau Tours and special thanks to Kurt.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dante G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Day, Great Guide, Great Meal. We were assuming that an included vegetarian meal at the Monastery would be underwhelming...Instead, it was one of the best meals we had on or 17 day vacation. Loved the time in fishing village and at Buddha. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kim Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good day out. Very friendly and knowledgeable guides. The incoming typhoon conditions unfortunately meant that the gondola/chair rail portion of the trip was cancelled as considered too dangerous - we could live with that. Big Buddha is amazing. Lunch provided with tour was fantastic and we certainly didn't go hungry. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Scott D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I took the 48 hour option and can't recommend it highly enough. It is safe, clean and is much better value than doing a private tour in my view. There was even a boat tour factored in for the harbor experience. It is ideal for families and is the best way to see Hong Kong without spending lots of unnecessary cash. To not go on this is a lost opportunity I feel

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Hong Kong Big Bus Tour people are absolutely amazing. They all speak very good English and are as helpful as anywhere in the world. They all go out of their way to ensure that you are provided with the appropriate information and guidance. A particular gentleman at Peak Train Stop is just unbelievable and is to be especially complimented.
A great team overall.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ana Maria V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was brilliant! It worth every dollar! The tour guide was so smart and explained everything. It was a full day with so many beautiful places!! You should for SURE not miss this! It is a MUST DO. The views wore amazing and also the lunch-vegetarian style.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! Simply Wow! What a great island and village. Our guide was fantastic, as a Lantau native he knew so much history. The Buddha is truly breathtaking. So glad we went.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Francisco O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are in Hong Kong and enjoy nature an physical activity this tour is a must. Rory is a wonderful guy and a superb guide, he will take you to places he knows perfectly and give you a very nice experience.

Doing what: Tai Mo Shan Waterfall Adventure Hike

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great way to see Hong Kong

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

tracey357

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good day worth the trip, the fishing village was incredibly interesting. More time at the giant Buddha would have been good. Lunch at the monastery was amazing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

snowy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I had booked two days only took advantage of one day due to the weather but an ideal way to see the city

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judy B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

An easy and inexpensive way to see the city. Good information is shared but if you do all 3 tours, it can get redundant. At most of the stops there was someone in uniform selling tickets and available to answer questions.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Derick H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good, but best to start at the beginning of the tour. We used the first stop close to our Hotel, the signage to find the stop was very difficult, had to ask many people, most local, whom only had a vague idea of the Big Red Bus Tour. It was overbooked and crowded, we had to wait for two buses before we could get on, that used up nearly 2hours tour time. We had to be aggressive in the finish to get on the bus or be stranded,, so many of us had to stand. Guides were not clear in telling people that there were ear phones to use to listen to the commentary, we found out by another helpful tourist. Difficult to find the next coloured tour, eg. Blue route, guide directions not clear, also mixed up his left/right instructions. Helpful Indian vendors helped us get to that stop eventually. Do not overbook...we booked the Ferry tour and Night tour, but you have not time, and need Taxis to at least find these venues.
Recommend all bus tours, but not the extras, if you only have two days stay like we did, you will not have the time to do it in their time frame. Best to do the Night Ferry tour and day tour privately.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Liliana G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We were able to do all the available loops, so we truly saw all of Hong Kong on both sides. We rode with several drivers, and I would say only a couple were not the friendliest. The tour provides you headphones so you hear a professional tour guide in your language. We had a little bit of a challenge finding our original starting point, and then had to wait a bit for the first bus, but you get the hang of it. So worth the value, you cover a lot of ground on the Big Bus!

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Steve F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this trip. My wife and I had done it previously about 5 yrs ago. This time we took our friends as it was their first time in HK. Unfortunately we timed our trip with the Typhoon in Oct 2016 which meant this trip was plagued with rain and wind. Worst thing was that the cable car was cancelled. Enjoyable all the same though!! Easy Hotel pick-up. Tour guide was great - very easy going. A great way to see the Big Buddha!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

mfathy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Nice experience and nice close view to the show.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

Magda O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Lantau is a beautiful place to visit and we enjoyed this trip. Unfortunately for us it was very misty so the view of Big Budha was limited but it still remained a great experience. The monastery was stunning and the vegetarian meal was really tasty. The fish market and ride through the floating houses was very interesting and enjoyable. The fact that the return trip is via the new bridge past the airport makes it great for sightseeing.

Overall we loved it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anne D

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was Not 8 hours, barely 6. Although The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, she rushed us through the tour. We did not have time to explore the Po fishing village on our own for even a minute. I wanted to buy a quick souvenir but no time nor did we have enough time to look at all the great shops at Ngong Ping because we all agreed that she did not prepare us for the experience. She rushed us on to the cable cars. The sights were great, beach, Big Budda, fishing village boat ride. We dropped the first couple back at their hotel in Kowloon at 3:45!! The tour was interesting, the lunch at the monastery was fantastic. However, the tour guide exited the bus somewhere without even saying goodbye.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

mfathy

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Nice place but not as we expected it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nicholas M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Good day
I want to express my disappointment at the quality of the service that was provided. I arrived at Hong Kong international airport to pick up the vouchers as requested by your mail,only to find the China Travel Services closed. My flight landed at 21.30 and we could not contact anyone. I had to pay for our trip to the hotel.
The following morning I managed to contact the China Travel Services, who then told me to come to the airport to pick up my vouchers.
I then used the taxi again to the airport. I left my family at the hotel as the vouchers were to be used the same day.
On arriving at the airport I was suprised to find that the China Travel Services did not have my vouchers. I then had to travel to the cable company by taxi and arranged for my family to also travel there via the metro.
All said, this cost me more than 630 HK dollars to pick up vouchers for the activity.
Whilst I had a unpleasant experience, I need to commend Angela and Andrew from the Ngong Ping 360 for their excellent service once we arrived at the cable car.
I will be writing a full review on my return from my holiday outlinIng my experience and I will be looking at recovering these costs from Viator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Dan K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Very disappointed with our trip to Lantau. We took the trip on December 30th. Our tour guide was Kirk.

We were late being picked up from the hotel...so we had to take a later ferry. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, but should have done a better job managing the time we had. He spoke far too much and far to long and didn't give us any time to explore the fishing village or the shops at the Giant Buddha. We were late getting to the gondola and had to wait in a long line. My husband and I had to take a cab back to the hotel because we had dinner plans at 6pm and wouldn't have made it back on time. We didn't make it down the mountain until 5:15pm and it was about a 45 minute ride back not including dropping off at other hotels. The information provided said we'd be back to the hotel around 4pm. I've read other reviews and agree that the sites you'll see are wonderful. Perhaps our trip would have been better with a different guide.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

millercathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A quiet day with relatively few people on this beautiful island

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message