Hong Kong, located on the coast of China at the Pearl River Delta and South China Sea, was originally a fishing village. It became a colony of the British Empire after the First Opium War in the 1800s. Now one of two special administrative regions ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a good trip to China and you do see Panda bears in the safari park. Excellent Guide and Tour leaders. One suggestion is to take plenty of drink and food because you don't get a lovely Chinese lunch until 2.45pm in Guangzhou. The total mileage traveled in China one way is 190kms on motorways. The fast ferry to China and return Train travel to Hong Kong are excellent. Its a really a good day trip into China and we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Frederick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this well-organised day tour into China. Overall, it was an highly informative and stimulating day. Prior details re visas and border crossings were handled efficiently we were picked up as arranged by our friendly guide, taken aboard the high-speed catamaran to Shenzhen where we boarded a bus with a well-informed local guide who told us all about the history and development of the area. Highlights were the pandas, the terracotta warriors, the authentic old market and artisans in Guangzhou, the impressive dim sum lunch at a restaurant you won't eat it all and the Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall. All finished off with a restful high-speed rail trip back to HK. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! From the start on the ferry to Shenzen to the fast train back from Guanzhou was top notch. The tour guide Michelle was very friendly and want out of her way to help us and everyone on the tour. The local guide Albert either knew or made up every fact there was about China. The panda was highlight of the tour.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our Guangzhou China Day trip was amazing. Our guide was so professional and helpful. The sights were incredible along with some very nice people. Clean bus, boat and trains too. It is a very long day but 100 worth it. Would do it again and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very full on day but well worth it. Tour leaders were both very good and informative and driver Bill did a excellent job in the traffic. Great inside into the people and culture of China.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful trip! We enjoyed all the sites that we visited including the kindergarten, zoo we saw Pandas! and the temple. The lunch was delicious and we had quite a variety of different foods. Our short visit to the market was interesting since we saw different products such as snakes, turtles, scorpions, etc. Our bus ride to Canton gave us the opportunity to see the countryside. We had a great tour director/guide. He was very knowledgeable and funny. He gave us a very informative lecture on our way to China and was responsive to all our questions. We highly recommend this trip. A long day but worth every second that we visited China. D and A

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good day if very long. The 2 hr coach trip to Canton was, to me, the best bit, as one saw so much of rural china.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

F M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was confident and funny. We were taken about he lower part of china, the tour took a whole day. Learned about the dragons and got to see the panda actually moving, then they just lie there sleeping. Areally interesing and full on tour

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an amazing tour so interesting. My first China experience Thank you to Alex and the team for a great day

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

cuillinskye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Magnificent day on the Guangzhou trip. Was a long day but travelled by boat, bus and train. Our guide Alex kept us entertained and informed from the beginning and was well organised in getting us through immigration on the outward and inward journeys. Worth doing to get a feel for mainland China

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fantastic tour and I highly recommend it. It gave my family including two kids 12 and 14 a great insight in China and certainly left us wanting to see more. The tour was well organised and very well timed. We had a guide who accompanied from start to finish who was entertaining and highly informative. We picked up a second guide in Shekou who was sensational and had a fantastic recall of interesting statistics and information. Don't be put of by the length of this tour. It is certainly worth it. We were picked up at 7.15am and got back to our hotel around 9pm however, we were all so engaged with the tour that we didn't really notice the time passing by. My kids absolutely loved the whole day.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a very long day out but well worth the day out.. We were picked up by a great guide called Alex he explained all we needed to know about our day before we left Hong Kong. When arriving in China we were met by another guide can't remember his name and he was brilliant gave us the history of China very interesting. The lunch was great the Pandas were fun but didnt get to see them up close. The train trip home was quite and you could catch up on your sleep.!! .Would recommend this trip to anyone that wanted to see China in a day. Jacky and Russell, Queensland

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Connor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Despite being a very long day this was a most enjoyable tour, the long trip to Guangzhou was well worth it with the hustle and bustle of the new city combined with the old city charm being a major plus, the little Chinese market we visited (complete with snakes and chook beheading) was fun and the lunch stop was awesome with plenty of yummy food and cheap beer for purchase. The panda's were sleeping whilst we were there and were not really visible - but that was fine as we saw Pandas on other tours / locations.

All in all a great day with some good sights - the train on the way home serves ICE COLD PINTS OF BEER which they are not shy of allowing you to buy as many as you like!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

keithmjeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great day out. As our first visit to China it was great way to see what life is like. It was a very long day, but worthwhile. Very good tour guides, nice lunch and excellent places to visit.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

ychingm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A well organised day trip to Shenzen Guangzhou. Michelle took good care of the group has a wonderful sense of humour! Surprising to see how well developed the cities are. Enjoyed the fully packed long day of catamaran, kindergarten, pandas very cute, terracotta warriors, dim sum, local market, temple and memorial hall. A well deserved rest on the train back to Hong Kong.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Opportunity to visit 2 major China cities in one day is well worth it. Always learn fascinating things on these tours.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I found the tour to be extremely well organised and the guide was most helpful. I was very pleased to be visiting a part of mainland China which was bit specifically catering for tourists I found the wide range of places visited fascinating because I felt I was seeing mainland China for what it was. Making fast progress to the future but firmly rooted in the land. For me the most enjoyable visits were to the Buddhist Monastery and the Pandas, I found the market rather shocking, the fault here was mine, not the tour. It was a long and arduous day but most interesting, thank you to the tour operators and Alex our guide. Mary Cahalan, Ireland

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mags

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wow! An amazing day - I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't have chance to go to Xi-an to see the Terracotta Warriors. It's only a glimpse at the museum but it's something! The pandas were the highlight of the tour for me but the trip in it's entirety exceeded my expectations. A visit to two great cities which were everything I thought non-touristy cities in China would be like. Busy, lots of hustle and bustle and day to day activity - great! Our tour guide for the, Michelle, was wonderful, very experienced and made the trip enjoyable with her sense of humour and fun. The other people on this trip were wonderful too. I met a couple from South Africa who had been to S Korea for their son's wedding and a couple from Stoke on Trent on their way to a wedding in Oz - thanks to all of them for making this day very memorable. Thank you Viator - an unforgettable trip.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brigitta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour made for my favourite experience out of our four week honeymoon! Michelle and Richard are stupendous guides who really made the day worthwhile.
The whole thing ran seamlessly. We were picked up from a hotel, given the chance to buy some snacks for the road at the pier, then sped over to China on a catamaran. Entry into the country with our group visa was well organised and quick. The bus through Shenzen was fascinating and far different to what I was expecting. The museum with terracotta warriors, jade and different Chinese teas was a potential low point as we had to deflect the constant sales pitching of souvenirs, jewellery etc. This was nothing to do with the tour company though. The next stop was the safari park where we met two Pandas (AMAZING) and two lion cubs. Great experience but again we had people chasing us putting with snakes and birds trying photos for money. Mildly annoying but worth it to see the pandas and again, not the tour’s fault.
Following this was the drive to Guangzhou which seemingly took no time at all with Richard on the mic sharing his fascinating anecdotes the whole way there. The guy is probably the most hilarious person I’ve ever met, and the best part is that he doesn’t even realise it which just makes everything he says that much funnier. Upon arriving at Guangzhou we enjoyed a delicious lunch of traditional Chinese dim sum. I get the feeling they served a somewhat simplified menu for us Westerners.. suffice it to say I didn’t see any chicken feet on the lazy susan. After lunch we took a brief but magnificent tour of a local food market, a definite highlight. The things I saw in that five or ten minute walk will stay with me forever! After this we visited the historic town hall and the biggest temple in the city. Both very interesting as well. When we finally got off the train back in HK at 11pm we were exhausted from the sheer amount of mental stimuli and energy expelled that day, but my goodness was it worth it!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Makshman C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised trip. Knowledgeable tour guides doing their very best to show China in one day!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great tour. It is a very long day. I was picked up at 7:30am at my hotel and return at 10:45pm. I was tired but the trip was worth it. The tour leader, Michelle, took care of everything regarding transportation and lunch. The tour guide took us all over Canton, talked for hours about China, past and present.
For anyone who wants a taste of mainland China, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fabulous day trip to china from Hong Kong. Three of us travelled, including my 80 year old mum. The day was extremely well organised. Alex, our guide for the whole day was just brilliant. He looked after us so well, kept us very well informed and he was very entertaining. Every part of the day was great. A really good taster of china. It is a very long day but it passed very quickly. We saw some amazing sights, has a lovely meal and travelled by boat, coach and train ... All very confortable.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great day although long. Michelle our tour guide was with us all day and a great laugh. The highlight for us was Guangzhou and lunch in an authentic dim sum restaurant. There is a lot of ground covered in the day - bus, ferry, bus, train but a great way to see a very small part of China. The Chinese tour guide, Albert, was very knowledgable and provided great insight. If you have a spare day in Hong Kong try this out.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We feel like this trip was a very good introduction to China. We got to see some highlights of the cities and experience life in the country.
We appreciate our guide's flexibility when we wanted to change our itinerary (as in ending the bike ride due to traffic, and skipping Reed Flute Cave for hiking.) As a private tour, we had a choice of what we wanted to see and do with the expertise of our guide's, Bin's, knowledge of the area.
The food was delicious. We like that we ate in nice restaurants as well as local places and that we got to go to the local markets and cook a meal in a class. The hotels were comfortable (3 and 4 stars). We enjoyed the quiet scenic private boat rides, both along the Pearl River and the Li River. We liked being away from the touristy areas, so our hike from Dazhai to Ping’An was very special. Waking up in Ping’An was beautiful with mountains all around us.

We especially want to thank our guide, Bin, for taking care of our daughter's other travel arrangements and accommodations. We enjoyed good conversations with Bin.

We wish you many good travels and good health to Bin and the rest of Viator.

Doing what: 6-Day Best of Southern China Private Tour: Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Guilin and Yangshuo Including Pearl River

Philip John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful. What a terrific, if very long, day. Michelle, our guide for the duration couldn't have been more helpful, informative or fun and Albert, who joined us once we arrived in Shenzhen, was a mine of information. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, indeed, it has whetted our appetites for a longer trip to China in the near future.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message