Inverness ATTRACTIONS See all

Culloden Battlefield

Just 5 miles from Iverness, the historic Culloden Battlefield is one of Scotland’s most significant battle sites, commemorated by the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre and protected by the Scottish National Trust. It was here, on the Culloden ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the Orkney tour. Very informative and a knowledgeable driver/guide in David. It ticked all the boxes for us and a few that we did not expect.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour of the Orkneys was wonderful. Our Driver/Guide David was extremely informative and diversified our agenda to accommodate all of our needs. The accommodations were excellent. Many thanks to David for making our trip unforgettable.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Could we have asked for a better guide than a red-haired, bearded, kilted Scot with a degree in Scottish history? Dave gave us a great tour, pointed out pubs and restaurants for our lunches and dinners, made lots of photo stops and really helped everyone connect to Scotland's history and culture.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was fantastic. Rabbie's Tours does an incredible job. Their tour guides are always very knowledgeable.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

cchampaneri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful trip to Orkney islands. Weather was cool, some drizzling, scenery was beautiful and our guide Karen was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Marilyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this was an awesome place to visit!

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Love how interactive this battlefield was. It made you feel like you were right there during the battle. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour and a great way to see the highlands! The guest houses were great as well. Everything was well organized and professional. We had a great time!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Yesenia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the guides were very helpful! Never had to wait long for the next bus, perfect schedule!!! Definitely recommend to anyone wanting to see the city!!!!!

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip and must congratulate Jamie and Highland tours for this excellent package. Great sites visited and the excellent knowledge of Jamie brought each to life in a historical sense or visionary picture. From Oban to Inverness a pictorial delight with lochs, mountain ranges, castles, great music in the evening and food. A tour must

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Danielle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see for any history buff.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Stephen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip
Andrew was amazing and a wonderful host ,guide and raconteur
A few suggestions
1We arrived in Glasgow and took a bus to Edinburgh to join the trip only to find out we could have started in Glasgow .i reviewed the site and there was not mention of starting from Glasgow
2 the extra trips and sites were not mentioned in the itinerary and when we tried to pay by Visa we were told cash only .this should have been mentioned beforehand so we would have the correct amount
3 we thought a small group tour would have been 7--14 people but we were 26
4 we would have appreciated a brief itinerary printed for us so we would be prepared for the days activity
5 a mesh carryall on the back of the seat in front would have been helpful for storing papers and daily items
Accommodations were stellar ,meals were great
Definitely worth the money

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The multi-day passes are a fantastic value for families touring Scotland.

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Franklin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour
Audrey was a great guide and gifted story teller
She often would stop often in places not on the tour
but on the way to show us things relating to Scottish history and/ or lifestyle
The variety of scenery and historical features was amazing
The guesthouses were all welcoming and comfy

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Tristan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour! The tour is with Rabbie's and is very well planned. The mini coach is comfortable - only eight people on this tour so was plenty of room in the coach. The guide Heather was fantastic, very knowledgable, great customer service skills, good sense of humour and great story teller! The accommodation arranged was very suitable, stay at the Hildeval in Kirkwall, very friendly hosts and comfortable rooms. I will definitely travel with Rabbie's again when I'm next in Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Our driver Tom was a wonderful person who knew so much about Scotland and was so proud of his Scottish history. He took the time to walk each person into their accommodations and ensure that they were in proper order and everyone was happy. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone looking to get a true taste of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't hesitate AT ALL when it comes to booking a tour with Rabbie's. They are extremely professional and organized and their drivers are very skilled, well versed and respectful of all passengers. I did two of the 5-day trips with them, this one to Orkney and another to Skye and they were fabulous. Both trips only had 8-10 passengers, but even if the van was full 16 clients max it would be very comfortable. There are plenty of stops and bathroom breaks throughout the day, so that is not a concern. The hotels/B and B's varied, but all were very clean, friendly and convenient to the main locale. You cover a large amount of ground on this tour, heading up the east coast of the Highlands to John O'Groats and taking the ferry beautiful 1-hour ride over to the AMAZING Orkney Isles. Rugged, stark windswept beauty...gorgeous, two nights in this ancient and magical place! And then back to the mainland and another stunning day exploring the west coast of the Highlands down to the lovely village of Ullapool. The last day's drive back to Edinburgh is filled with more beauty and history with a moving stop at the battlefield of Culloden. Seriously, having been on 2 of the 5-day tours with Rabbie's, I will absolutely tour with them again! I should mention that I am a single woman in my 50's, solo traveler and these tours made it a very easy and stress free not having to drive alone way to get out of town and see the Highlands and Isles. Made some new friends along the way as well. Thanks for the marvelous memories Rabbie's and I'll be back to lovely Scotland soon!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Gina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bloody BRILLIANT!
The commentary was so enlightening, informative, entertaining and engaging. The scenery was magnificent and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Mark the tour guide was THE BEST. We will definitely be back and we highly recommend this trip as well as the tour company.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Miranda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This pass is a good way to save money if you are going to many of the big tourist attractions in Scotland!

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Gabriella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Andrew is definitely the best guide ever! Charming, knowledgeable, kind as so very funny. He made this trip just wonderful. When Andrew spoke he made Scottish history come alive. Can't say enough good things about this tour and Andrew! By the way, the sites were interesting and the accommodations were very nice as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

fsterlingrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was spectacular. Our guide, Joe, was a true Highlander. He took us to some great places and told some wonderful stories. I would definitely do this tour again. The only thing I could do without was LochNess. It was a bit of a tourist trap but still fun. LOVE LOVE LOVE Skye. Our weather was amazing. I am ready to back.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing trip. Loved the tour and our tour director was fantastic. Definitely go on this tour!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message