Whether you’re making a pit stop in the Highlands’ capital before heading out on a hiking expedition or spending a leisurely weekend in the UK’s northernmost city, Inverness is the perfect gateway to the Scottish Highlands. Here are a few ideas for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

Mona Y France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good informative tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

rnshane1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great way to see the city .....we always find a City Sight Seeing Tour!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marilyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this was an awesome place to visit!

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a amazing time sailing down the Loch Ness looking for Nessie. Would recommend this for anybody who wants to see the views of Loch Ness on the water. Was also able to see Urghart Castle too.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Love how interactive this battlefield was. It made you feel like you were right there during the battle. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Yesenia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the guides were very helpful! Never had to wait long for the next bus, perfect schedule!!! Definitely recommend to anyone wanting to see the city!!!!!

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Danielle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see for any history buff.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a good tour. I really like the freedom of the hop on - hop off. The only disappointment that we had was the castle. It was closed for restoration while we were there so we weren't able to go inside.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mrs M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing, The rugged scenery was truly amazing and our guide, Duncan was excellent. This tour should be on every ones bucket list of places to go.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

nikhil b India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SUPERB AND GREAT

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Audrey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot rave enough about our Tour guide! I believe his name was Michael and he was so informative and friendly the entire day. This tour was by far the highlight of my vacation with stunning scenery and so many opportunities to stop and take photos and ask questions. If I ever go back to the area I would definitely take this tour again!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

Shellie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Short and sweet. Excellent way to see the city and get your bearings!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another fantastic tour, which I would definitely recommend. Malcolm was an excellent tour guide, with a wonderful mix of humour, history, and information about the region, in a relaxed and approachable manner. He made lots of stops, which was great, as the scenery was amazing and everyone wanted to take lots of photos. The tour group was a nice size - about 12 people - with a good mix of people. I really enjoyed this day.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

UKTour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Powerful, emotive. The museum was so well done and the walking tour provided headphones and a clear walking path. The 360 movie brought us right in the middle of the battle in real time.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

kimberlee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Culloden is a very moving place. To experience it really puts you in a somber mood. Normally, this would not be a good thing, but here, it is expected.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

enaidmz USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great for highlights

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jean A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Applecross tour is not to be missed! The scenery is amazing and someone else does the driving!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a small tour, but well worth doing to get your bearings and views you might have otherwise missed

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kerry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

was most informative and value for money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Roxanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you have only one day to see landscapes of western Scotland you should consider taking this tour over the Skye trip. Skye needs more time, but you can cover a lot of Applecross in a day and the scenary is fantastic! There are no castles on this trip but the wet desert landscape more than makes up for it. Here one really has a chance to experience the desolation of the Scottish Highlands. The mountains are rugged and the terrain is generally steep - here the vistas overwhelm even the most wide angle of lenses.
Our guide, Skye, really knew her geology and plants, which was a bit of a treat as most trips are culturally based.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

LaleiG USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great overview of a surprisingly interesting city. I got the impression that this was a place where most use as a base for touring the Scottish Highlands, but Inverness was very interesting and attractive in its own right. The Hop-on-Hop tour allows you to experience this for yourself. Our tour driver was a spunky friendly lady and the recorded commentary was great. The bus also gave a very interesting and comprehensive overview of what there is to see in the city. Great value for the money to boot and highly recommend doing it as it allows us to get to discover a lot of great things about this city in a short time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My wife and I and her brother went on a British Isle cruise on Princess Cruise line.
We pre-ordered the hop-on hop-off tour bus for all the ports that were available;
Dublin, Liverpool, Belfast, Glasgow, Inverness, Edinburgh and London after the end of the cruise.
We also purchased “Skip the Line” at Guinness storehouse,
which was good because of the long line to purchase tickets.
We walked right up to the pre-buy line person and walked in.
All the hop-off hop-on buses were very good, clean and all workers were courteous and helpful.
I don’t think they see the Viator online print off tickets very often,
but there was no problem using the computer print off tickets.
I would definitely recommend the hop-on hop-off tour buses every where you go.
Pre buying did not save a lot, but you did not have to worry about having local cash to buy them.
I normally do not conduct a rating but everything worked out well, so I will in this case.
Gary, Renton, Washington

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

karen s

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

deep in history and great opportunity to walk the battlefield at your own pace with GPS

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message