As Scotland’s northernmost city and the capital of the rugged Scottish Highlands, Inverness makes a convenient base for taking in the country’s highlights. Start with exploring the murky waters of Loch Ness, home to the notorious Loch Ness Monster, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 353 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ausra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well organized tour. The Eilean Donan castle was amazing.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As first time travelers to Scotland not willing to drive and not keen on group tours, my husband and I were a bit squeamish about taking a full day trip. However, from the moment we boarded the bus to the last step off, we were so glad we did. Kevin, our tour guide, was amazing. He was a wealth of information, a relaxed and patient man full of entertaining stories and antidotal tidbits. Scotland is a feast for the eyes stunning shades of green with gorgeous skies. Our journey to the Isle of Skye included a stop at the iconic Eileen Donan Castle where we were able to peruse the castle and grounds at a leisurely pace. Lunch in Portree on Skye was yummy, albeit rushed due to slow traffic on the way. Kevin made many stops on the trip allowing for photo opportunities and to see to our comforts. Our favorite stops were in the Highlands to capture images of the beautiful wildflowers and hillsides. At the end of the trip Kevin gave us recommendations for dining in Inverness. We tried one Hootananny which ended the day with a 5-star rating! Thank you Kevin and Viator.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Kyle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful! So beautiful, hundreds of picture opportunities. Our driver/guide Gary was amazing, funny, informative, friendly. Wish we could have ventured further around Skye, you only stop in Portree and only for an hour. Due to traffic issues we stopped at Loch Ness on the way back, and it was getting dark. Didn't actually go to the castle, which I was disappointed in, and only saw it from the road above looking down. But a great trip, long day, but hundreds of beautiful pictures.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jonine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a fantastic tour guide Duncan, who was extremely knowledgeable and gave the best stories of the area. He even played music during the tour. It was exceptional. My in-laws said that this was the best tour they had ever had in their lives, so we know it was memorable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

sloruby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed the tour and Kevin was a very knowledgeable guide. I just wish we had a little more time for exploring the little town of Portee and maybe some of the outlands, Portee was beautiful, but the stop was for lunch and if you ate there wasn't time to look and if you looked there was time to eat. I would have loved to see the Fairy Pools. The weather was what I understood is Scottish, clouds hanging low in the morning and quite chilly, some rain and some sunshine. I loved the Elean Donan castle, beautiful. I would gladly do it again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Nelida D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Kathie fue fantastica, superentretenida y nos dio un monton de informacion. Tome el tour con algunas dudas, pero los dos dias pasaron volando. La proxima vez tomare el tour de 3 dias. Definitivamente lo recomendare a mis amistades.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

ERDEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and me had a wonderful trip via viator..Our guide Gail was nice, knowledgeable and fun. We saw quite nice places, lochs, glens etc in two days.We highly recommend viator and Scottish Highlands....

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

maxkafka8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best tour guide I've ever met, good on you Gary

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour that covers a lot of ground in two days. Our tour guide Stevie was great - very informative and witty. Flexible itinerary as we stopped at a few places along the way at the request of tour group. The guest house was very good - great breakfast and friendly hostess. If I could change one thing it would be the inclusion of admission to a few key attractions on the way, especially the Loch Ness cruise.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour with a small group. Our tour guide/driver Chris was very helpful and made us all feel at him. HIs entertaining commentary, Scottish stores and music added to,the experience. THe tour took us to some well known places as well as those not so well known that are just as special. I would recommend this Rabbies tour to anyone

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Bernard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

People should never miss it!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Leatrice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This three day trip was everything described and was a wonderful experience. The guide was knowledgeable and had a terrific sense of humor. I'd recommend this trip to anyone else who is considering a visit to the Orkney Islands.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

carlywoitha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Roger was quite entertaining in his retelling of Scottish history. This tour hit all of the big sites to see throughout the Highlands. I would highly suggest it for a quick 2-day trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Nigel J L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with Malcolm. Informative, good humoured and tolerant of a mobility restricted passenger! The drive was through some spectacular countryside and the weather was great. Regular stops for photography - and comfort were made. Explanations of the areas travelled through were concise and helpful. Music choice on the way back was quite relaxing.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ian was our driver/guide...he did a great job in both roles. Lots of neat sights and helpful commentary. It was a long day, but a fun one. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Himadri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very professional and he has very good knowledge of the place.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide is engaging, wonderful and informative there is plenty of stops for photos and to explore. My only wish is more time on the isle of Skye exploring rather then in town. I would have like to have seen the fairy pools for example.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

svasusarver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice tour. I was somewhat confused in the beginning because I didn't understand that when I booked with viator I would be going with Highlands. It took sometime to figure this out at the checkin but they found us.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

kevin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip, driver was brilliant and very helpful. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Katerina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was truly beautiful, even though the weather was quite Scottish - wind and rain. Alison really knows what she is doing - and despite it being a very long day, she made it funny and interesting for all of us. I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alison was an excellent guide her knowledge was unsurpassable and her sense of humour brilliant she involved everyone on the trip and made the effort to know us by name. She included the two children on board in a game of pooh sticks. An excellent tour and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message