The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leatrice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This three day trip was everything described and was a wonderful experience. The guide was knowledgeable and had a terrific sense of humor. I'd recommend this trip to anyone else who is considering a visit to the Orkney Islands.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

Nigel J L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with Malcolm. Informative, good humoured and tolerant of a mobility restricted passenger! The drive was through some spectacular countryside and the weather was great. Regular stops for photography - and comfort were made. Explanations of the areas travelled through were concise and helpful. Music choice on the way back was quite relaxing.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

keli_ana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide/bus driver on Orkney, lovely scenery and very interesting history.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ian was our driver/guide...he did a great job in both roles. Lots of neat sights and helpful commentary. It was a long day, but a fun one. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Himadri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very professional and he has very good knowledge of the place.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide is engaging, wonderful and informative there is plenty of stops for photos and to explore. My only wish is more time on the isle of Skye exploring rather then in town. I would have like to have seen the fairy pools for example.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Orkney is amazing! This was a highlight of our 8 days in Scotland. The island is beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Skara Brae, Kirkwall, the stones. Our tour guide on the island, Alan, was simply the best. Great stories and he entertained us every step of the way. We had a traffic issue on the bus on the way up oil truck got stuck that blocked the road for over an hour but they managed to hold the ferry so our tour wasn't ruined. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Quite splendid. Very helpful and entertaining crew, Scara Brae et al was wholly impressive, and the whole day was wonderful, especially as we had fine sunny weather. I'd happily do this trip again and have recommended it to others.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

E. Charlotte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely wonderful, long tour day. The bus was comfortable, the ferry ride was bracing, and the bus driver on the island was both knowledgeable and a terrific, humorous story teller. We particularly enjoyed the World War 2 stories and artifacts, as well as the amazing prehistoric sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

SANDRA Victoria E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great and considering I was not well I can still say it was a suberb trip.
It was a long trip but we will be back. The most interesting trip I have ever had and we have traveled a lot including Canada and America. The commentery was first class.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

svasusarver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour. It would be helpful if the guide on the first segment of the trip would review the day's itinerary. As an example most people didn't understand that a second guide would meet us once we disembarked the ferry from John O' Groats. Otherwise this tour was very well run. The drivers were knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

svasusarver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice tour. I was somewhat confused in the beginning because I didn't understand that when I booked with viator I would be going with Highlands. It took sometime to figure this out at the checkin but they found us.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The boat ride was terrific.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

kevin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip, driver was brilliant and very helpful. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Suzanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Orkney tour guide was great. The bus tour picked us up from the ferry dock and provided commentary throughout the whole tour. Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae was awesome to see. So much history and places to see on these small islands.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Katerina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was truly beautiful, even though the weather was quite Scottish - wind and rain. Alison really knows what she is doing - and despite it being a very long day, she made it funny and interesting for all of us. I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alison was an excellent guide her knowledge was unsurpassable and her sense of humour brilliant she involved everyone on the trip and made the effort to know us by name. She included the two children on board in a game of pooh sticks. An excellent tour and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

mgsemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While this was a very long day trip ...Allison made the tour fun and interesting giving us enough time to stop at each of the major sites... and a lot of good quick photo stops. The visit at Elian Donan castle was wonderful and it is truly one of the most beautiful locations.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our tour guide Kevin was well informed and kind. We saw everything that I wanted to see, lochness, eilean donan castle tour, hairy coos, sisters of pintail, portree and other stops around the way. We were also lucky enough to have beautiful weather:)

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jywlee98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent views during the trip and great elaborations from the tour guide. Money worth trip indeed!

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a remarkable trip - if only to get a taste of life in the Orkney Islands. We packed so much in to this one day tour from Inverness especially being able to visit Skara Brae and the Brodgar Ring and to see the beauty of these islands. We were very lucky as the day was bright and sunny so the crossing of the Pentland Firth was calm and beautiful - i would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing the Orkney Islands - the people were so friendly and kind - much enjoyed - Jill Kirby

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Sonja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful time on this tour. The guide was informative and funny. He was also an excellent driver. I only wish that we had slightly more time at the sites that we visited, even just 15 more minutes. But I understand that there are long distances to cover. Overall, the tour was good value for the money, informative, and entertaining.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great trip. The tour guide was interesting and stopped frequently so that we can take some amazing photos. All the beauty of the Highlands were on full display. I loved the castles and the port city of Portree. Having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, it is very similar, minus the castles and terrible food. Everyone who has any time should do this trip. I was so glad I took a tour instead of renting a car and doing this on my own. Just do it!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message