The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 331 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The boat ride was terrific.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

kevin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip, driver was brilliant and very helpful. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Suzanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Orkney tour guide was great. The bus tour picked us up from the ferry dock and provided commentary throughout the whole tour. Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae was awesome to see. So much history and places to see on these small islands.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Katerina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was truly beautiful, even though the weather was quite Scottish - wind and rain. Alison really knows what she is doing - and despite it being a very long day, she made it funny and interesting for all of us. I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alison was an excellent guide her knowledge was unsurpassable and her sense of humour brilliant she involved everyone on the trip and made the effort to know us by name. She included the two children on board in a game of pooh sticks. An excellent tour and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

mgsemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While this was a very long day trip ...Allison made the tour fun and interesting giving us enough time to stop at each of the major sites... and a lot of good quick photo stops. The visit at Elian Donan castle was wonderful and it is truly one of the most beautiful locations.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our tour guide Kevin was well informed and kind. We saw everything that I wanted to see, lochness, eilean donan castle tour, hairy coos, sisters of pintail, portree and other stops around the way. We were also lucky enough to have beautiful weather:)

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jywlee98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent views during the trip and great elaborations from the tour guide. Money worth trip indeed!

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a remarkable trip - if only to get a taste of life in the Orkney Islands. We packed so much in to this one day tour from Inverness especially being able to visit Skara Brae and the Brodgar Ring and to see the beauty of these islands. We were very lucky as the day was bright and sunny so the crossing of the Pentland Firth was calm and beautiful - i would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing the Orkney Islands - the people were so friendly and kind - much enjoyed - Jill Kirby

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Sonja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful time on this tour. The guide was informative and funny. He was also an excellent driver. I only wish that we had slightly more time at the sites that we visited, even just 15 more minutes. But I understand that there are long distances to cover. Overall, the tour was good value for the money, informative, and entertaining.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great trip. The tour guide was interesting and stopped frequently so that we can take some amazing photos. All the beauty of the Highlands were on full display. I loved the castles and the port city of Portree. Having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, it is very similar, minus the castles and terrible food. Everyone who has any time should do this trip. I was so glad I took a tour instead of renting a car and doing this on my own. Just do it!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Emanuell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip - guide Allison was very funny and super nice! the Isle and destination were fantastic

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Frederick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic landscape partly inaccurate online trip description -- Taking this trip was a highlight of our visit to Scotland. Eilean Donan Castle was impressive as was the drive through picturesque Skye. Our driver and guide Gary made the trip both informative and fun. Lots of important history here. Part of the itinerary was no longer available, which didn't matter to us but meant that the web description is not entirely dependable. Also, instead of a mini-van the trip went in a small bus, which might be challenging for those who get motion sickness.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Justine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time in Inverness the tours I went on with the Highland experience and our driver and was very informative even though it rained most of the time we still got to see a lot of things my Jacobite tour of Loch Ness was beautiful

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Suzy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding opportunity to see and experience many of the awesome historic sights in the Orkney Islands! Days were action-packed, but evening allowed plenty of time to relax, enjoy a good meal, and check out the pretty sea side town of Kirkwall. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and easy going which added to the fun of the tour. It was all that we hoped for!

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Tirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Out guide/driver Ms. Alison Cameron from Highland Experience Tours conducted the tour extremely well. She is simply awesome.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message