The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emanuell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip - guide Allison was very funny and super nice! the Isle and destination were fantastic

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Frederick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic landscape partly inaccurate online trip description -- Taking this trip was a highlight of our visit to Scotland. Eilean Donan Castle was impressive as was the drive through picturesque Skye. Our driver and guide Gary made the trip both informative and fun. Lots of important history here. Part of the itinerary was no longer available, which didn't matter to us but meant that the web description is not entirely dependable. Also, instead of a mini-van the trip went in a small bus, which might be challenging for those who get motion sickness.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Justine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time in Inverness the tours I went on with the Highland experience and our driver and was very informative even though it rained most of the time we still got to see a lot of things my Jacobite tour of Loch Ness was beautiful

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Suzy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding opportunity to see and experience many of the awesome historic sights in the Orkney Islands! Days were action-packed, but evening allowed plenty of time to relax, enjoy a good meal, and check out the pretty sea side town of Kirkwall. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and easy going which added to the fun of the tour. It was all that we hoped for!

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Tirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Out guide/driver Ms. Alison Cameron from Highland Experience Tours conducted the tour extremely well. She is simply awesome.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ms Janette Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating, informative, fabulous experience. Loved all aspects of the tour from the comfort of the seats to the amazing sights.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved my Isle of Skye Day Trip with our amazing driver Gary, who was very informative, funny and so helpful that I would do the tour again. Our day started of cloudy as we passed Loch Ness and cleared up when we got to Eilean Donan Castle...which being a huge Highlander 80s film was my favorite of the whole trip, I got some amazing photos and we got and hour to explore...still smiling. We then headed to the beautiful Isle of Skye where we had lunch and the headed home stopping at some of the most glorious sights I have ever seen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ole Wilhelm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great and interesting day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Anita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic day! Well looked after and got a great taster of an amazing place. We'll be back soon.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Erika J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jacquie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Gary was a fabulous, fun and knowledgable tour guide!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

darshanabha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jreed1545

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very very good trip. Just the right amount of stops. The guides gave lots of relevant historical information. The island guide was superb - lots of very interesting information and a great communication style. This trip was a very good value

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Danielle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So many sites seen in one trip. The tour guide was amazing, so many stories and historical information, truly a trip to remember.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

S P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing made so much fun cos of tour guide!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

patricia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We all enjoyed the Orkney day trip and felt it was well organised. We think that we got a good idea of the highlights of the Islands and found the driver/ guide to be very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

patricia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We traveled through a lot of beautiful scenery and visited a range of places of interest. Our guide was friendly and informative. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message