Peru’s famed “Gateway to the Amazon” was once just a humble Jesuit outpost in the jungle, until the Industrial Age. With that revolution—particularly after the widespread adoption of the automobile—international demand for rubber exploded. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alejandro A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide Jorge Luis Lopez. Passionate about his job, his country and the jungle. Very nice lodge. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Brian D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Adriano Alvarado, was fantastic with a deep knowledge of the jungle and the plants/animals within it, strong command of both english and spanish, and a great sense of humor. We were able to see a wide variety of plants and animals via guided walking tours, a fishing outing, and a visit to a wildlife reserve. The lodge itself had a nice common area and tasty food. The rooms are simple but overall fine - that's the only part that could be improved upon to be a bit more clean but since there's no AC I think it's the reality of being in the jungle with almost 100 humidity. Overall an excellent and fun tour for the price.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Marc L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Superb guide, Antonio guided us through the forest. Be aware of the mosquitos they drill though all your clothing use multiple layers, especially at night. But all together a fine trip

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Marc L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Superb guide, Antonio guided us through the forest. Be aware of the mosquitos they drill though all your clothing, especially at night. But all together a fine

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Carey A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour comes highly recommended. It and #39;s the perfect balance between relaxing and exciting, educational and escaping. Jackson was top notch, so chill and so knowledgeable. Swimming in the Amazon was THE BEST.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Carey A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour comes highly recommended. It and #39;s the perfect balance between relaxing and exciting, educational and escaping. Jackson was top notch, so chill and so knowledgeable. Swimming in the Amazon was THE BEST.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Benjamin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!!! I highly recommend it. The service was amazing and the tour guide was very helpful. The lodge was very beautiful and clean. It was a very relaxing plus adventurous trip! I and #39;m definitely planning on going back, but planning on staying longer than 3 days.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

j s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I cant say enough great things about this adventure!!!! It was an awesome lodge located on the amazon. We started by stopping at monkey island, which was delightful. We got to experience all different kinds of monkeys and help with the support them by donating for food and medicines. Next stop was the lodge, which even had a beautiful pool. The staff certainly keeps you busy with hikes, boat trips to see the pink dolphins and fishing for piranhas, visiting local villages, both day and night. The meals were cooked to perfection and the fresh fish was the best!!! Our guide, Freddy, was so passionate and informative about everything. He was born in a nearby village, along with others on the staff. The rooms/huts were comfortable and didn't even mind the power being off at certain times of the day/night. We met some very interesting and fun travelers that stay the same time we did and learned a lot from them that we used for the rest of our trip. I would highly recommend this adventure for other travelers!!!! We love, love loved it!!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Greg L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was really good. You get the chance to experience a range of different activities. The accommodation is really nice and the food at the lodges is very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the fishing experience and visiting the reserve.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Barry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Heliconia - great lodge activities varied and well organised . Iquitos hotel pick up and airport drop off also week organised . Whole tour very relaxing and it's on the Amazon !

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Jakchai B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an amazing experience. Tour guide and all Lodge staff is the great part of this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this trip despite nothing ever drying in the Amazon and being bitten alive! Note that this is not a luxury hotel in anyway, there is no WiFi and only cold water. However the food is good and the staff very friendly. Our guides English was excellent. If you want a totally different experience away from the busyness of day to day life, this is for you. We swam in the Amazon and saw a sloth, anaconda, macaw and fished for Piranha!

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Fraser W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Heleconia lodge was amazing. Our tour guide spoke English clearly and fluently.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

BRENDA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well organised and a great Amazon experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Franchesca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful way to complete my South America vacation. This lodge was extremely clean especially considering that you are in the jungle. This is apparently a resort for the upper class Peruvians, especially those with children. I was the only non Peruvian when I arrived but everyone was so kind. I was traveling alone but I never felt lonely. A few more guests from the US arrived the second day. I was assigned an English speaking guide. He was my guide the entire weekend. All transportation, food and excursions are included. The food was AMAZING!! You are served in a new dining room. Everything is fresh and delicious. I was so impressed with the lack of processed foods especially desserts. The excursions were better than expected. The trip to the village was eye opening. The indigenous people were wonderful and you will fall in love with the children. Be sure to take a large bag of candy to share with them. I highly recommend this to be added to any trip you make to Peru.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a nicely plan great tour. The tour guide Neal was born and raised there so very knowledgable. They plan all activities 1 1/2 to 2 hours long and then give us 2 hours of rest time so it was nicely planned. The food from lodge was exceptional, the best we had since Peru. Just be aware that there's no hair dryer and only has electricity from 5:30pm till midnight. The dining area and pool was very comfortable.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

arjunpachory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An absolutely amazing experience! The entire tour is perfectly managed, with airport pick-ups and drop-offs, and transport to every point of the entire experience.
At the lodge, our guide Daniel was incredible, and made sure that there was not a single boring moment for the three days. He went out of his way to show us animals and plants in the forest, and impressed us all with his amazing knowledge of the local flora and fauna.

The tour includes fishing and dolphin-watching, as well as night-time boat rides and jungle treks, each a memory for life in itself.
The food at the lodge is phenomenal too.

I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Iquitos, and would definitely do it again at some point.

Note: The lodge has no mobile signal, but the activities are so well managed that this is not an issue in the slightest. In fact, it is quite refreshing!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Phil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This relatively short trip felt like it was much longer than it was. It gave me a satisfying taste of what I'd hoped to experience - the wildlife, vegetation, culture. It was comfortable without feeling unrealistically luxurious.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very educational about the forest and how to protect the forest.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Angie United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the most amazing things we have ever done. Huge thanks to Nixon, our guide, and the Heliconia Amazon River Lodge. Their staff are just the best, so welcoming and the food is top notch. Piranha fishing is an experience everyone should have in their lifetime, the competition to catch one gets fierce!!.
The itinerary is very broad and is very interesting. Don't forget your bug spray and camera. We were very sad to leave.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Ashley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every dime! The best food I've had in Peru Teddy, the chef is really nice as well. The people were welcoming and informative at the lodge and in the surrounding villages. My guide was supposed to be in English but he was still learning some words so we went back and forth from Spanish to English. The Lodge was spacious and safe however, there is no hot water for showering which I didn't mind. If you want to go by yourself..do it! I went to the lodge alone and I am a Black female but there was a Caucasian female there as well as families, and couples.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

STEPHANIE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing experience with our 2 children ages 7 and 8. We had a wonderful guide, loved all the scheduled daily activities, and enjoyed the food. This place is remote and rustic. You will only have about 3 hours of electricity a day, no hot running water sometimes no running water at all!, no cold refrigerator full of drinks, no cell service, and no walls or ceiling - just mosquito netting and a thatched roof. But all of these cons are part of what makes the experience amazing. You're not at a posh Hawaiian Island resort - you're in the jungle, so just embrace your sweat and deet-covered self and have some fun! Swim with the piranhas. Seriously, do it.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Mercedes S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a beautiful Lodge. I stated at the Heliconia Lodge Thursday-Saturday. I was picked up at my hotel: Casa Monrey where I was introduced by my Guide-Daniel. I was taken to the port where I already had packed by small luggage with everything I would need for three days for my Amazon Jungle Adventure. Daniel and the boat captain where very nice. Daniel the tour guide pointed out where the grey and pink dolphins where half way to the lodge and I was able to take great pictures. When I arrived at the Heliconia Lodge I was greeted by Marina the main hostess and person in charge with a drink AND a brief introduction then I had time to go to my beautiful room that was just across the pool. I really thought the lodge was like a four or five star hotel clean, well taken care of and well kept. They keep you busy with all the inclusive tours and activities. The food is freshly made and they take into consideration your likes and wishes. Actually, it needs to be said they seem to go out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable. Only thing to keep in mind is the hours the lights are on which really your are so busy either enjoying the tours and activities and the pool and the lodge surroundings that is almost like you don't even give it a second thought. Also taking a warm/hot shower is not a problem the only thing you have to learn to regulate the water: first turn on the cold water knob next after a minute turn on the hot water knob and then next after a minute or so you regulate the two knobs to your taste. I want to say thank you to Viator which is the website that I used to booked the Heliconia Lodge amazing Lodge. Also to all the staff at the Heliconia Lodge and the waiter I think his name was Febursun , Marina the main person in charge and DANIEL the guide you all where so respectful accommodating sweet and just a jewel in the Amazon, Gracias! I had a wonderful stayed I just wish it would have last longer.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Igor Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Heliconia Lodge was flooded so we were upgraded to another lodge Samiria Eco Lodge which was pretty far away from Iquitos and it wasn't that great. The rooms were pretty dirty and the electricity and hot water were available only for couple hours each day. Our guide at the lodge was pretty good and only thanks to him we had an OK overall experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message