Anzac Cove is the small cove on Turkey’s Gallipoli Peninsula where the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) landed during World War I. It then became the primary base for Australian and New Zealand troops during the eight-month Battle of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

tour company and the guide was exceptionally professional. I was the only customer for that day they still run the tour.
Very done

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rich historic sites: Troy, Ephesus and Hierapolis. The guide was very knowledgeable. Gallipoli is of interest to those with an interest in the Second War history. The views are beautiful. Hierapolis if you are really interested in the history it is difficult to cover the 8km and the calcium terrace especially on a blazing hot day. It would be worthwhile to take the motor bike. No helmet! When excavation/restoration are completed on this site it will be stunning. Lots of driving in a comfortable van. It is really a four day tour the fifth is mostly driving back to Istanbul. Given the value of time an option may be to spend the day exploring and fly back to Istanbul in the evening.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour, and we had a good amount of time at Gallipoli. This was a very moving place. Our guide even helped me to find my relatives names on the memorial. The trip to Troy was very interesting and informative. I and #39;m glad I chose the 2 day trip - it is quite a drive from Istanbul.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was awesome
Thanks to Çagman and Arien

You should include Istanbul on the tour

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Stuart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great value for Money and plenty of history!

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very moving ceremony. Fantastic knowledgeable guides. Had a great time and highly recommend

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Christina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I went on this tour to Villers Bretonneux for the dawn service on Anzac Day, 2016. We met up with our tour guides Nicola and Regis at Opera Garnier and left Paris at 2.15am. When we arrived at Villers Bretonneux the tour guides provided us with ponchos, croissants, orange juice and water along with information on the order of service. On arrival the security was understandably strict after which each person was given booklets and 2 pins for the service. The Dawn Service itself was a very moving experience. After the Service there was a wait for each tour bus to be called in turn because there were a lot of people and tour buses! Our tour then continued on to visit a few of the battlefields and memorials with Nicola and Regis who were very friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and informative. This is a must-do tour for Australians and New Zealanders but wear a lot of warm clothes and a waterproof jacket - we were lucky it didn't rain. It was zero degrees Celsius during and after the Service. We returned to Paris at 3.45pm after a very satisfying day.

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Peter W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We also did the Villers-Bretonneux tour in April 2016 and Lynettes comments earlier are a very good description and sum up our experience exactly.Recommended.

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Lynnette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing !! Right from the moment we met Nicola on the Opera Garnier Steps at 1.30am to the very end. We travelled in a comfortable coach to Villers Bretonneux. The Entrance to the Dawn Service was well organised and the Ceremony itself was very moving. At the end of the ceremony we travelled through the Battlefields of the Somme. Nicola and Regis had an incredible knowledge of World War 1 and of the individual battles. Both Nicola and Regis were friendly, and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed this tour immensely and would highly recommend it to others even with the 1.30am meeting time Thank you for a great day. Lynne and John S

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Ashlee N P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour! Charman our guide was fantastic. 5 stars for knowledge. The iris hotel in Cannukale was ok. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable but room was clean. The other hotels were very good. Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Stuart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My trip was more then i could of expected pick ups and transfers were on time. The Hotel facility was amazing and our tours to Galipolli and Troy lived up to all expectations. Our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgable.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

ibis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour was wonderful. very comprehensive with plenty of time in each location. the bus was super clean and the driver was nice. also the tour guide was very nice and caring about the passengers. loved the stop in kusadasi at the family restaurant. very authentic. the hotel in canakkale was 3* the most. all hotels had plenty of food for breakfast and dinner. in Summary: very relaxing and don't need anything else to enjoy Turkey. "TeCheKur".

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Mik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very difficult to put in to words how amazing this tour was. From Gallipoli to Pamukkale, every single moment was sensational. The in depth discussions about every place visited to the food we were eating at each stop was great. Charma sp? the guide was out of this world awesome and incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Turkey. I highly highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the awesome sites of Turkey, but definitely look at going for the 7 day tour to get even more.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

His

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good company of Aussies and Kiwis which makes this trip excellent. Not to forget a couple of South Africans. Hotel choices were good enough and we visited all the relevant historical sites.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fez travel provided a superb driver and an outstanding tour guide Mahmet. My wife and I considered it the absolute highlight of our two weeks in Turkey

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent, we got to see a lot more than anticipated. The tour collected us right on time, there was 8 of us on the tour all Aussies, we all had a great 2 days. We changed hotels when we returned to Istanbul, they were able to drop us at the new hotel at the airport, with no problems. We can recommend this company 110, the hotel was great, the food included in the tour was good as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great well organised trip
Highly recomended

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message