Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Camii)

A distinct Istanbul landmark, the world-famous Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Camii in Turkish) opened in 1616 and is renowned for its slender minarets and collection of domes. The Sultan Ahmet I conceived the structure as a project to rival the nearby ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had an amazing day out with our super friendly guide Guloy Gunay, picked up prontly from the hotel after breakfast by miniva, out guide brought us to all the most amazing places in Istanbul and was very knowledgable on every aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Picked up from my hotel in Galata at 08:30, and visits commenced with Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace then lunch. After lunch, Basilica Cistern, carpet weaving demonstration and finally the Grand Bazaar. All walking apart from pick-up and drop off but distances were barely noticeable as everything is close by. This is a quick and easy way of getting to see the main sites in a short time period and it was great to have someone to answer questions. Our guide, Hakan Adagüme was very knowledgeable, friendly, not pushy and was able to give added value on wider issues, where to get the best kebabs. His advice on some overly promoted restaurants that are ranked highly on Trip Adviser, which don't match the experience was useful and matched with other feedback I received during my short trip - probably better to seek local advice before booking a restaurant based on the Trip Adviser rankings. The mezze at the lunch included in the price were good and main dish was ok, but it wouldn't rank highly in a city with some great culinary establishments.
The Turkish delight I purchased in the Grand Bazaar was not cheap at TKL 80 but the quality is exceptional and nothing like the Turkish delight that I've had in the UK - well worth what I paid.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tariq A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I think best guide person with detail knowledge with best timing .

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tetiana Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Istanbul in one day tour by Hakan Adagume was amazing: first the comfortable mini-bus came to us and brought us to Hippodrome, there Hakan told us about the plans about the sights we were going to visit and we've got a short lecture about the history of Turkey and that particular area of Istanbul. Then we've visited a Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace and Cistern Basilica. Hakan told us many facts from history. Then we had a luch included, very nice, we've tried some Turkish cuisine. After this we've visited carpet factory and Grand Bazaar. The last one is located on huge territory and the buildings are pretty old and nice looking, but there is chaos. Everyone wants you to buy something. And we are not good at negotiation. A small advice about spices. I think the prices are lower on Spice Market which is also very old and interesting, but is not included in this particular tour. So just visit it before buying spices on Grand Bazaar. And try to not buy everything around, be attentive about the prices.
Anyway after the whole day tour we were completely exhausted and mini-bus brought us home. The Hagia Sophia is closed on Mondays, so Hakan gave us the tickets to let us visit it next day and gave us short information about it. In general I liked the tour. I liked that we talked not only about the history, but about different stuff, like families, common problems, jobs, hobbies, anything. I liked Hakan's English, it was easy to understand him. Anyway, I advice to visit this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Olihereonviator

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Could be better.. felt like should come without guide to see the places again

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved our tour of the Istanbul sites and in particular, our guide. She was fabulous, so helpful and responsive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

angela b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best thing I could have done in the limited time I had in the city. Our Turkish guide, with good English, was very knowledgeable and led us through the various Empires layered upon each other. Being a small group was friendly, and felt very safe. We had a relaxed lunchtime with interesting discussion. Plenty of time in the market and loads of walking on a very cold day. I ended up having a much deeper feeling for Islam, the magnificent buildings, and the history of this great city.It should be mentioned in the blurb that this tour involves a fair bit of walking.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I felt that we had the perfect amount of time to see everything that was included in the tour. The sights were all amazing of course and the included lunch was of very good quality.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Samina M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyed the tour got to see the high lights of Istanbul and the tour guide was knowledgeable about the historic sites. The only thing I didn't really enjoy was visiting the Turkish Carpet shop. It was interesting to see how they are made by hand but also felt pressured to purchase something by the sale's team. Also when the guide took us to the grand bazaar he recommend certain shops for us to buy gifts etc, As tourist's we put a lot of trust in the hand of the guide. I do believe he was showing us good quality shops to buy things from, however the cynic in me believes he only recommended shops of people he had acquaintance with. However I was happy with the items purchased.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Yaroslava V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

helpful guide and polite driver, main attractions....but the lunch could be better...

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very knowledgeable and got us straight to the front of every line, which had we gone alone, could have taken a lot of time to find and reach the front of. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

ITSMEAJI

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

was very good one... hope i had more days of stay to look around

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! The tour guide spoke perfect english and was very knowledgable. Would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

eddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent full day tour with a wonderful guide. Got to see everything I wanted to see: Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern. Had a tasty Turkish lunch included in the price, and afterwards continued to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and took the Bosphorus boat tour. Due to the current situation in Turkey, there were absolutely no lines outside the attractions. However this is a city like no other, and shouldn't be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely covers the highlights if you are there for a short stay. Guelay was a great guide ...knowledgeable, friendly, and flexible. The day of our tour the bazaar was closed so we did the spice market, which frankly is probably a better experience anyway and most on our tour group were glad to have this tour, including recommendations where to buy goods without getting suckered.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message