Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Spice Bazaar

The heady scents of saffron, cloves and sugar fill the air at the electric Egyptian Spice Bazaar, or Misir Carsisi , one of Istanbul's oldest markets. Aisle after aisle, more than 85 lively stallholders sell their wares in this cavernous covered ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great half day tour. The Egyptian bazaar was an amazing overload of sights sounds and scents!!! The Bosphorus cruise was very interesting- loved seeing Istanbul from the river.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Elisabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great tour. The combination of land and sea tours was fantastic. Our guide was very well spoken had great knowledge of the city and gave us great advice when we went to the spice bazar.

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great half day tour. It ends up being about a 45 min tour of the Spice Market. Enough time to buy some baklava and Turkish delight. Then onto a boat cruise for about 90 mins. Good chance to get some pics along the river. Great afternoon!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Douglas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a joyful experience. Pick up from hotel on time. Evening program was very entertaining. One thing they can improve is to do the cruise first then the spice market for those who wish to stay longer since there are spare time before dinner anyway.

Doing what: Istanbul Super Saver: Bosphorus Cruise and Egyptian Spice Market Tour plus Turkish Dinner and Show

Helen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour to see the Bosphorus and Istanbul from a different perspective. Love the Egyptian Bazaar - smaller than the Grand Bazaar so easier to get around. Wonderful spices and Turkish Delight! Friendlt locals but not pushy!

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an exceptional tour and our guide, Gülay was amazing. She knew every detail, every date, and the full history of every landmark on the cruise. She guided us where to sit on the boat for the best view of everything. The length of the cruise was just right. Honestly, I enjoyed the Egyptian spice bazaar just at much. Our guide knew the booths to take us to that were reputable and had quality products. It was a leisurely afternoon. We stopped for lunch at a small place recommended by Gülay. It was tasty, quick, and very reasonably priced. I'm a woman, so my favorite part was the shopping and Gülay was great with knowing the best spots for what I was looking for and talking to those shop owners who were no English-speaking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic guide, really informative and engaging. Spice market was eye opening! A must see in Istanbul, followed by a leisurely and enjoyable cruise. All in all a great tip and decent value for money.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Dolores J D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour guide and an interesting choice of places to show us in the spice bazaar. Enjoyed the pet supplies area and the birds, even big jars of leeches, which locals were buying for medicinal purposes, don't ask! The cruise was scenic and relaxing. Well worth your time.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Derek T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a great day out and good value for money. Picked up from our local hotel and dropped back after the afternoon cruise and spice market visits.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow what a great day. The weather was perfect on the water. A wonderful slow cruise down the Bosphorus.
Open air boat. Bring a wrap in case it is a bit windy. Nice boat crew. The Spice market was so much fun. So many people everywhere. If you happen to go back on your own, if on a Saturday, that is market day. So many people to look at. FUN FUN! Tasting treats everywhere!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Brenda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Derya was a very good tour guide. Extremely pleasant, knowledgeable and very good english. Tour is interesting but the fun part comes at the spice market. Is a must see!!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Walter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice morning tour. Picked up on time with a small group. Almost like a private tour. Nice cruise on the Bosphorous and a good trip to the Egyptian spice market. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

Randa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Not Enough time in the Egyptian Bazaar which is good you dont get to spend alots of money. The Bosphorus Cruise was amazing. I love it!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Ann T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour is great. We really enjoyed the Spice Market. Our guide explained the difference between the Spice Market and the Grand Bazaar so we could be smart shoppers. The Bosphorus cruise is beautiful and relaxing.

We were very pleased with our guide. We were picked up on time at the port and were brought back to the port. We were told that we could be dropped off someplace else if we wished to explore on our own. That was a kind offer.

We were surprised and pleased that the tour was not cancelled as there was only one other couple on the tour. Great for us, but not so great for the company

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in Istanbul for a week in early Sptember. We took this tour on our last day in Istanbul because we wanted something relaxing(the cruise portion) after a week of visiting sites on our own. The Spice Market is not as big as the Grand Bazaar, but it's still a must see and shop thing to do. The tour was FANTASTIC as well as the tour guide!!!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Jacklyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A very nice day out with Omar as our guide, very enjoyable cruise, and time to shop in the spice market! Thanks again, Omar!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Glorylyn A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was a great tour with wonderful photo opps. Views and history along the Bosphorus are incredible and I think it's definitely a must see tour. Spice Bazaar is awesome, not as daunting as the Grand Bazaar. Shopping there is worth spending a full day. Our guide Serhat was very friendly and ccourteous and after the tour ended, he helped us with directions and recommendations for other things to do around Istanbul. Highly recommended~!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The tour was excellent. The bus showed up on time and the cruise down the Bosphorus was excellent. We enjoyed looking at the beautiful houses on the shoreline. The trip to the Egyptian Bazaar could have been a little longer but we were able to buy a number of items and even haggle over the prices with some of the merchants. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The cruise was fabulous. We spent a very short time at the Egyptian bazaar. It looked interesting would liked to have stayed just a little bit longer. Return journey back to the hotel was painful. We were virtually the last to be dropped and there were a lot of people on the trip it took forever because the hotels were in the north and south parts of Istanbul. After the tour it would have been easier to drop us first as we were in the Sultanemat area but no they went to Taxim first and then we got caught in the traffic. After the tour finished the journey back was almost 2 hours. So this spoilt the tour.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Lemiel P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great views on the cruise and I loved shopping at the Egyptian Bazaar!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Raymond G Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We were supposed to have the cruise in the morning, but due to bad weather our flight was delayed, but the local tour operator was gracious enough to postpone it in the afternoon. The cruise was awesome and we were treated to an afternoon delight of culture, history and nature. The cruise is one of the best ways to see Istanbul. Furthermore, the spice bazaar is to die for. I bought a lot of spices and samples of the local tea. The guide was very knowledgeable and very courteous.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

AMADOR V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

If you do only one thing in Istanbul -- do this tour! The Bosphorus cruise is great, incredible views of Istanbul. The Egyptian Bazaar is a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Kevin M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

On a sunny day, the cruise is wonderful. It seemed like it was 2 hours and covered a lot of the palaces, bridges, mosques and other important monuments you pass by. The spice market was great! A pointer: The tour brings you to one stall, and items are explained, e.g., Turkish delight and spices like saffron, and Turkish tea is served. Go to another stall and compare the prices!!! Prices are cheaper further down.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Lynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We visited the Spice Markets first which are very colourful and the aroma is superb. From there we did the Bosphorus River cruise which was relaxing and enjoyable. We saw many beautiful buildings along the way as well as palaces and remains of ancient forts. Our guide was Sivlay who looked after us very well.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Christoph T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A really interesting cruise, a great way to see a different view of Istanbul. The Egyptian bazaar was a little rushed and we were more or less ushered to one particular stall in the hope of spending some money there. Overall though, well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message