For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The two-day tour was excellent value for money with experienced and knowledgeable guides and professional and courteous service in every way. Thank you for the experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour, and we had a good amount of time at Gallipoli. This was a very moving place. Our guide even helped me to find my relatives names on the memorial. The trip to Troy was very interesting and informative. I and #39;m glad I chose the 2 day trip - it is quite a drive from Istanbul.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Robertybobs Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A sombre day, well organised, good guide, very informative.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Mark C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

tour company and the guide was exceptionally professional. I was the only customer for that day they still run the tour.
Very done

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Paddy D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Got a good insight into not only the battles of Gallipoli, but our guide also detailed Turkey and #39;s history and current place in the world and their relationship with neighbouring countries, which was great.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Gillaine S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour of Gallipoli was excellent, highly recommend. Our guide provided a great commentary and allowed time for participants to wander around and reflect. Our tour was supposed to include lunch however as tours are combined there was no provision for this and we ended up paying for it ourselves.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Gavin C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Disconcerting never given an itinerary for an advertised tour or direct email contact. I think the added Troy tour was tacked together. Gallipoli is a must. Quite well done. Being pushed out the bus and the hotel direction pointed out, mmmmm. Cannikale an unexpected gem. Tour in city great. Troy don't

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Stuart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great value for Money and plenty of history!

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The knoeledge of the tour director and his ability to pass this on to those on the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

fabulous day! guide was informative

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Bree Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

What a great day! We got picked up right outside our hostel at 6:30am, it and #39;s a 5 hour drive down, and the guide on the bus keeps you updated. We had a traditional Turkish Breakfast and Lunch. The guide was very knowledgable, it and #39;s a moving experience, a must for Aussies! Recommended!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Fiona Katrine R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Yes it is a long day but a must for any Aussie or Kiwi coming to Turkey. The fields of sunflowers and hay along the way are a surprise. While looking at the landscape of Gallipoli it defies logic as to why anyone would think it was an area suitable to try to land thousands of troops! You can still feel the waste of so many lives as you look over the abandoned landscape, see the rows of beautifully tendered graves and the wind whistles straight through you.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Stuart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My trip was more then i could of expected pick ups and transfers were on time. The Hotel facility was amazing and our tours to Galipolli and Troy lived up to all expectations. Our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgable.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Satchmo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was ok, but the bus was small, we made a 1 hour detour to drop someone off on the Troi tour because that tour did not have enough people. The guide did a great job. The bus said we had Wifi but alas that did not work. It's a huge day close to 16 hours so a bigger bus with nice seats would help as my arse was so sore.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Alex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip ! Really enjoyed it - well organised, good drivers and an excellent, knowledeable and friendly guide. Only comment I would make it to let people know what the plan is ie we were picked up and driven all the way in a car - which was great ! But we thought we were being delivered to a larger bus with others, and didn't realise until about an hour in that we were going all the way with the pick up driver - as I say, for us 3 guests it was perfect, just that we didn't know what was happening, and the driver didn't have enough English to really explain. Otherwise, a really good day, and would do other tours with you again.
Cheers
Alex Stewart

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I read the Iliad and the Odyssey more than a hundred years ago, when I was still a kid and I used to daydream of visiting these places which at that time seemed unreal and out of reach. I put them on my bucket list. I am happy to report that I am glad I visited those places. I wish I would have done it when I was younger so that I could tell stories at work and during my presentations. This is a must see.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we started our day very early and, but had a chance to catch up on rest on the bus trip to the site, when we arrived we were met by our tour guide who escorted us to a local restaurant for lunch, after lunch we got on the bus and went to all of the places that were relevant to the Gallipoli landings and subsequent battles, our guide was very unbiased and we were told the story from both and Australian and Turkish side so a lot of the gaps were filled in. I would like to thank Viator, Fez Travel and the local tour company/guide for giving us a very memorable day.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Matt W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Although a long day it was well organised and well worth it. My only criticism being that I found the Turkish guide a little bit difficult to understand.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul with Return Transfer with Lunch Included

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide was knowledgeable. Great to be part of a small group tour. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Bruce D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

long hairy drive home

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Gary G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I have to give this tour a 0 review. I will explain why. The driver and the tour guide were excellent HOWEVER the problem is this - there is a serious safety problem with this tour. The company that runs this tour needs to be advised about the following reasons. Our driver and tour guide picked us up at our hotel at around 6am in Istanbul. This means the driver had already been awake for a while to get to work, get his bus and his tour guide and get to our hotel. He then drove for another 16 hours - 6 hours down to Gallipoli, 4 hours to various places around Gallipoli with minimal down time, and then another 6 hours back to Istanbul, the last 3 hours in seriously heavy traffic. After he dropped us at our hotel around 10pm he then would have had to presumably drive his bus to a depot then go home. This is a very, very long day for one driver. This is totally unfair on one driver to do such a long day - if we had known we would only be having one driver on this trip we would not have booked. There needs to be two drivers, or swap the driver in Gallipoli. It appears that costs are trying to be kept down by only using one driver. This is a safety concern. Not only is it incumbent on the tour company to treat their drivers better, and ensure safety standards, but it is also incumbent on tourists to ensure safety standards of other countries they travel to by paying a decent price for a tour that gives value for money but upholds standards. The other people on our tour had the same concerns on this issue as what we did. I would not recommend this tour because the driver's well-being is not taken into account but if the driver's were swapped half way through the tour, then I would definitely recommend the tour as it covered all the places we wished to see and was efficiently run.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A long day but so worth the trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It made such a difference being on a small tour as it gave you the opertunity to be able to look for the things you were there for. The tour took us to all the important areas and at no time was time made an issue people could take their own time in all areas after our guide had given all of the information.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Damien B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unreal experience. A must for any Aussie/kiwi in the area. So surreal being at Anzac Cove. Makes you really appreciate how lucky we are to live in Aus/NZ. Only bad thing is the long drive down there.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message