Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Bazaar (Kapali Carsi)

The Grand Bazaar, or Kapali Carsi, is the mother of all markets, a treasure trove of gifts, souvenirs, essentials and fripperies. Heading into the cavernous bazaar from the daylight, it takes a minute for your eyes to adjust to this Arabian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1479 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic very helpful everything about the experience was great couldn't fault it

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Stephanie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tibet our tour guide was extremely knowledgable regarding the various sites and history of the Ottoman Empire. We were given plenty of time to explore each attraction, however less time could be allocated to the rug shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

robertacreuben36 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful. Saw most important sites very efficiently. Guide well informed and very pleasant. Info delivery by guide exceptional.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see some special places in Istanbul within a single day. Hakan, our guide, was a superb host. He was friendly, knowledgeable and provided time for us to browse at our own pace.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Sally M M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour except grand bazaar closed. Cut short due to potential issues in front of our hotel. Would do again

Doing what: Private Half-day Tour: Imperial Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar

bubun

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guide Gulen was very good.She has a good knowledge regarding Istanbul.It was a very small trip with only 3 persons in totality, but food was just painful , but overall tour is very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

olga.cowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant experience! Our guide Umar was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. It was a really small group (just our family of 4). We had a full flexibility around timing - which was great. Delicious lunch, excellent pick up and drop off arrangements . Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was brilliant and the tour was excellent. This small group tour with the same guide is well recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

abhimanyu s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent!
I was picked up from my Taksim Hotel as per schedule in a comfortable air-conditioned coach.Due to the political climate it was a small group of 3.Our guide Gulay Gunay was informative,friendly,considerate and provided a great insight into Istanbul's history,social and political climate if you wanted to talk about that, gave us enough photo opportunities and time on our own at each sight/place, and answered all our questions or tried to find questions to our answers.She also arranged a last minute tour for the next day for me.
The price for the Harem in Topkapi Palace is not included in the price of the tour,but you can purchase it once inside the palace grounds, and visit on your own, as the tour gives you an hour or so on your own at Topkapi and Hagia Sophia.The lunch was decent.The tour also takes you to a carpet and pottery store, where you are not obliged to buy anything,which was the good thing!All in all highly recommended for someone with not enough time in IST as it covers all the major sights and is not rushed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

diva.ronel

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Absoluut awesome....well conducted walking tour with an excellent guide...enjoyed the small group and lunch was lovely.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went with our 15 and 12 year old daughters and all had a great day. Amazing sights at a good pace with a great guide. Fully recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Lorenzo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing, Omar is knowledgeable and speaks very well. My only problem was that he took us to see how they make the rugs and we felt very pressured to the point that I got scared. We wasted so much time, that we only had an hour at the grand bazaar. I don and #39;t think it was fair. Not happy

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Martha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was extremely knowlesgeable and patient. If someone wanted to buy anything he would provide guidance to get the best items at the best price.

It was an amazing tour!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

TerriT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Golay did an excellent job of leading our tour. We recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Azeem Naveed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular experience! The guide was thoroughly well equipped with the knowledge required for explaining and going into the details regarding the tour. We had enough time to walk around at each and every place we went. Tour starts right on time, which is awsome!. Would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul and who wishes to see all these places. By far the best tour I know about to visit the places listed in the tour. If you find a better one do let me know which.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The private guide was lovely, knowledgable, and a delight to spend the day. When its just you and the guide you learn so much more, and actually get to know a person and their life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! I was greeted by our guide for the day, Tibet, on time and with a smile which assured me that I was in for a good day! What Tibet doesn't know about the history of Istanbul isn't worth knowing. Her portrayal of the historical facts of all the sites we visited was delivered with a genuine passion and kept the group interested throughout. The sites we went to were relevant and appropriate to the historical tour we were on. Normally when food is included in the cost it is normally very basic, however the restaurant we had out lunch in was lovely. The food was delicious and the manager very chatty without being intrusive. Tibet managed the timings perfectly allowing enough time to go off on our own and explore. My only wish is that perhaps we spent a little less time being sold rugs allowing for more time in the Bazaar. That said, I still managed to haggle my way to a bargain in the underground market!

If this is your first or hundredth time in Istanbul, I would encourage you to take this tour as you will not be disappointed. I am off to Marrakech in September so will be on the hunt for a Tibet there too!

Andrew Burden

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

belugaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great one day tour! Covered the amazing sites and in a comfortable car!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Aman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A Super Fantastic Experience We Had In Istanbul. Our Tour Guide Gulay Was Just Brilliant!!! Very Knowledgeable, Which Made This Tour A Big Massive 10/10

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Jason M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide very informative with alot of knowledge and history for the Grand Bazaar

Doing what: Small-Group Grand Bazaar Shopping Tour in Istanbul

Rosemary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceptional tour guide - Hakan Adagume. He was highly professional, incredibly knowledgeable about history, Turkish culture and the world in general. I have given his name to several clients considering a trip to Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Deepra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to say that Iam very pleased with Viator and Neon Tours! Hakan was our trip guide and he is so amazing! I cant recommend him enough. The tour was so well organised and Iam very happy with the service. Thank You!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Katherine H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour and a definite must if you're in Istanbul for a short period of time. Not only did we get to see a lot of the famous 'must-see's' in the city, our tour guide was so informed and really brought the sites to life with her knowledge. If you're stuck between choosing this tour and the one with the 'skip the line' included, I would really recommend this one - you'll save a bit of money and really, the lines are not an issue at all.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message