Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Bazaar (Kapali Carsi)

The Grand Bazaar, or Kapali Carsi, is the mother of all markets, a treasure trove of gifts, souvenirs, essentials and fripperies. Heading into the cavernous bazaar from the daylight, it takes a minute for your eyes to adjust to this Arabian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved our tour of the Istanbul sites and in particular, our guide. She was fabulous, so helpful and responsive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very knowledgeable and got us straight to the front of every line, which had we gone alone, could have taken a lot of time to find and reach the front of. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

ITSMEAJI

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

was very good one... hope i had more days of stay to look around

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! The tour guide spoke perfect english and was very knowledgable. Would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

eddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent full day tour with a wonderful guide. Got to see everything I wanted to see: Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern. Had a tasty Turkish lunch included in the price, and afterwards continued to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and took the Bosphorus boat tour. Due to the current situation in Turkey, there were absolutely no lines outside the attractions. However this is a city like no other, and shouldn't be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely covers the highlights if you are there for a short stay. Guelay was a great guide ...knowledgeable, friendly, and flexible. The day of our tour the bazaar was closed so we did the spice market, which frankly is probably a better experience anyway and most on our tour group were glad to have this tour, including recommendations where to buy goods without getting suckered.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Alexander S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hakan Adagüme was an unbelievable guide and helped us tremendously. We finished a few areas early and he took us around to fill in extra time between drop off points. His knowledge of the city, grand bazaar, and the history of Istanbul made the tour even better than it already was. I highly recommend setting this up day 1 if you are going to be in Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

MN

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed seeing the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc - this first part of the day was fantastic! Was less than thrilled with the quick wander through the Grand Bazzar and Spice Market - there was little time to look. Finally as we are getting ready to get on board for the river cruise our guide tells us that he needs cash from us to pay for our fare as the credit card he was given wasn't working but that he would reimburse us. As you can imagine not everyone had exact change and by the end of the tour there were several of us who were still owed money for the cruise we already paid for when we booked the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic very helpful everything about the experience was great couldn't fault it

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Stephanie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tibet our tour guide was extremely knowledgable regarding the various sites and history of the Ottoman Empire. We were given plenty of time to explore each attraction, however less time could be allocated to the rug shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

robertacreuben36 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful. Saw most important sites very efficiently. Guide well informed and very pleasant. Info delivery by guide exceptional.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see some special places in Istanbul within a single day. Hakan, our guide, was a superb host. He was friendly, knowledgeable and provided time for us to browse at our own pace.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Sally M M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour except grand bazaar closed. Cut short due to potential issues in front of our hotel. Would do again

Doing what: Private Half-day Tour: Imperial Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar

bubun

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guide Gulen was very good.She has a good knowledge regarding Istanbul.It was a very small trip with only 3 persons in totality, but food was just painful , but overall tour is very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

olga.cowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant experience! Our guide Umar was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. It was a really small group (just our family of 4). We had a full flexibility around timing - which was great. Delicious lunch, excellent pick up and drop off arrangements . Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was brilliant and the tour was excellent. This small group tour with the same guide is well recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

abhimanyu s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent!
I was picked up from my Taksim Hotel as per schedule in a comfortable air-conditioned coach.Due to the political climate it was a small group of 3.Our guide Gulay Gunay was informative,friendly,considerate and provided a great insight into Istanbul's history,social and political climate if you wanted to talk about that, gave us enough photo opportunities and time on our own at each sight/place, and answered all our questions or tried to find questions to our answers.She also arranged a last minute tour for the next day for me.
The price for the Harem in Topkapi Palace is not included in the price of the tour,but you can purchase it once inside the palace grounds, and visit on your own, as the tour gives you an hour or so on your own at Topkapi and Hagia Sophia.The lunch was decent.The tour also takes you to a carpet and pottery store, where you are not obliged to buy anything,which was the good thing!All in all highly recommended for someone with not enough time in IST as it covers all the major sights and is not rushed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

diva.ronel

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Absoluut awesome....well conducted walking tour with an excellent guide...enjoyed the small group and lunch was lovely.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went with our 15 and 12 year old daughters and all had a great day. Amazing sights at a good pace with a great guide. Fully recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Lorenzo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing, Omar is knowledgeable and speaks very well. My only problem was that he took us to see how they make the rugs and we felt very pressured to the point that I got scared. We wasted so much time, that we only had an hour at the grand bazaar. I don and #39;t think it was fair. Not happy

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message