Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Hippodrome (At Meydani)

Originally built in the third century, the Hippodrome of Constantinople was the sporting and cultural center of the former Byzantine capital for over 1,000 years. With a U-shaped race track and two levels of spectator galleries, the Hippodrome ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1495 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very knowledgeable and got us straight to the front of every line, which had we gone alone, could have taken a lot of time to find and reach the front of. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Alexander S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hakan Adagüme was an unbelievable guide and helped us tremendously. We finished a few areas early and he took us around to fill in extra time between drop off points. His knowledge of the city, grand bazaar, and the history of Istanbul made the tour even better than it already was. I highly recommend setting this up day 1 if you are going to be in Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely covers the highlights if you are there for a short stay. Guelay was a great guide ...knowledgeable, friendly, and flexible. The day of our tour the bazaar was closed so we did the spice market, which frankly is probably a better experience anyway and most on our tour group were glad to have this tour, including recommendations where to buy goods without getting suckered.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! The tour guide spoke perfect english and was very knowledgable. Would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see some special places in Istanbul within a single day. Hakan, our guide, was a superb host. He was friendly, knowledgeable and provided time for us to browse at our own pace.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic very helpful everything about the experience was great couldn't fault it

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Stephanie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tibet our tour guide was extremely knowledgable regarding the various sites and history of the Ottoman Empire. We were given plenty of time to explore each attraction, however less time could be allocated to the rug shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was brilliant and the tour was excellent. This small group tour with the same guide is well recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

abhimanyu s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent!
I was picked up from my Taksim Hotel as per schedule in a comfortable air-conditioned coach.Due to the political climate it was a small group of 3.Our guide Gulay Gunay was informative,friendly,considerate and provided a great insight into Istanbul's history,social and political climate if you wanted to talk about that, gave us enough photo opportunities and time on our own at each sight/place, and answered all our questions or tried to find questions to our answers.She also arranged a last minute tour for the next day for me.
The price for the Harem in Topkapi Palace is not included in the price of the tour,but you can purchase it once inside the palace grounds, and visit on your own, as the tour gives you an hour or so on your own at Topkapi and Hagia Sophia.The lunch was decent.The tour also takes you to a carpet and pottery store, where you are not obliged to buy anything,which was the good thing!All in all highly recommended for someone with not enough time in IST as it covers all the major sights and is not rushed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

olga.cowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant experience! Our guide Umar was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. It was a really small group (just our family of 4). We had a full flexibility around timing - which was great. Delicious lunch, excellent pick up and drop off arrangements . Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Rosemary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceptional tour guide - Hakan Adagume. He was highly professional, incredibly knowledgeable about history, Turkish culture and the world in general. I have given his name to several clients considering a trip to Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Deepra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to say that Iam very pleased with Viator and Neon Tours! Hakan was our trip guide and he is so amazing! I cant recommend him enough. The tour was so well organised and Iam very happy with the service. Thank You!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Aman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A Super Fantastic Experience We Had In Istanbul. Our Tour Guide Gulay Was Just Brilliant!!! Very Knowledgeable, Which Made This Tour A Big Massive 10/10

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

G J R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

All you need to see on a short visit, Our guide Hami, was pleasant and well-informed about the history of the city. She pointed out little details of the places and monuments that we would otherwise have missed. Pleasant lunch with her company with stories of everyday life in Istanbul. A bit pressed for time as there was so much to take in on a first visit to a very old city.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! I was greeted by our guide for the day, Tibet, on time and with a smile which assured me that I was in for a good day! What Tibet doesn't know about the history of Istanbul isn't worth knowing. Her portrayal of the historical facts of all the sites we visited was delivered with a genuine passion and kept the group interested throughout. The sites we went to were relevant and appropriate to the historical tour we were on. Normally when food is included in the cost it is normally very basic, however the restaurant we had out lunch in was lovely. The food was delicious and the manager very chatty without being intrusive. Tibet managed the timings perfectly allowing enough time to go off on our own and explore. My only wish is that perhaps we spent a little less time being sold rugs allowing for more time in the Bazaar. That said, I still managed to haggle my way to a bargain in the underground market!

If this is your first or hundredth time in Istanbul, I would encourage you to take this tour as you will not be disappointed. I am off to Marrakech in September so will be on the hunt for a Tibet there too!

Andrew Burden

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The private guide was lovely, knowledgable, and a delight to spend the day. When its just you and the guide you learn so much more, and actually get to know a person and their life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

belugaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great one day tour! Covered the amazing sites and in a comfortable car!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

TerriT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Golay did an excellent job of leading our tour. We recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Azeem Naveed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular experience! The guide was thoroughly well equipped with the knowledge required for explaining and going into the details regarding the tour. We had enough time to walk around at each and every place we went. Tour starts right on time, which is awsome!. Would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul and who wishes to see all these places. By far the best tour I know about to visit the places listed in the tour. If you find a better one do let me know which.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went with our 15 and 12 year old daughters and all had a great day. Amazing sights at a good pace with a great guide. Fully recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message