Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Hippodrome (At Meydani)

Originally built in the third century, the Hippodrome of Constantinople was the sporting and cultural center of the former Byzantine capital for over 1,000 years. With a U-shaped race track and two levels of spectator galleries, the Hippodrome ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1510 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had an amazing day out with our super friendly guide Guloy Gunay, picked up prontly from the hotel after breakfast by miniva, out guide brought us to all the most amazing places in Istanbul and was very knowledgable on every aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tariq A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I think best guide person with detail knowledge with best timing .

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Picked up from my hotel in Galata at 08:30, and visits commenced with Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace then lunch. After lunch, Basilica Cistern, carpet weaving demonstration and finally the Grand Bazaar. All walking apart from pick-up and drop off but distances were barely noticeable as everything is close by. This is a quick and easy way of getting to see the main sites in a short time period and it was great to have someone to answer questions. Our guide, Hakan Adagüme was very knowledgeable, friendly, not pushy and was able to give added value on wider issues, where to get the best kebabs. His advice on some overly promoted restaurants that are ranked highly on Trip Adviser, which don't match the experience was useful and matched with other feedback I received during my short trip - probably better to seek local advice before booking a restaurant based on the Trip Adviser rankings. The mezze at the lunch included in the price were good and main dish was ok, but it wouldn't rank highly in a city with some great culinary establishments.
The Turkish delight I purchased in the Grand Bazaar was not cheap at TKL 80 but the quality is exceptional and nothing like the Turkish delight that I've had in the UK - well worth what I paid.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I felt that we had the perfect amount of time to see everything that was included in the tour. The sights were all amazing of course and the included lunch was of very good quality.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

angela b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best thing I could have done in the limited time I had in the city. Our Turkish guide, with good English, was very knowledgeable and led us through the various Empires layered upon each other. Being a small group was friendly, and felt very safe. We had a relaxed lunchtime with interesting discussion. Plenty of time in the market and loads of walking on a very cold day. I ended up having a much deeper feeling for Islam, the magnificent buildings, and the history of this great city.It should be mentioned in the blurb that this tour involves a fair bit of walking.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved our tour of the Istanbul sites and in particular, our guide. She was fabulous, so helpful and responsive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very knowledgeable and got us straight to the front of every line, which had we gone alone, could have taken a lot of time to find and reach the front of. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Alexander S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hakan Adagüme was an unbelievable guide and helped us tremendously. We finished a few areas early and he took us around to fill in extra time between drop off points. His knowledge of the city, grand bazaar, and the history of Istanbul made the tour even better than it already was. I highly recommend setting this up day 1 if you are going to be in Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Alexander T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely covers the highlights if you are there for a short stay. Guelay was a great guide ...knowledgeable, friendly, and flexible. The day of our tour the bazaar was closed so we did the spice market, which frankly is probably a better experience anyway and most on our tour group were glad to have this tour, including recommendations where to buy goods without getting suckered.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! The tour guide spoke perfect english and was very knowledgable. Would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see some special places in Istanbul within a single day. Hakan, our guide, was a superb host. He was friendly, knowledgeable and provided time for us to browse at our own pace.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic very helpful everything about the experience was great couldn't fault it

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Stephanie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tibet our tour guide was extremely knowledgable regarding the various sites and history of the Ottoman Empire. We were given plenty of time to explore each attraction, however less time could be allocated to the rug shop.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was brilliant and the tour was excellent. This small group tour with the same guide is well recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

abhimanyu s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent!
I was picked up from my Taksim Hotel as per schedule in a comfortable air-conditioned coach.Due to the political climate it was a small group of 3.Our guide Gulay Gunay was informative,friendly,considerate and provided a great insight into Istanbul's history,social and political climate if you wanted to talk about that, gave us enough photo opportunities and time on our own at each sight/place, and answered all our questions or tried to find questions to our answers.She also arranged a last minute tour for the next day for me.
The price for the Harem in Topkapi Palace is not included in the price of the tour,but you can purchase it once inside the palace grounds, and visit on your own, as the tour gives you an hour or so on your own at Topkapi and Hagia Sophia.The lunch was decent.The tour also takes you to a carpet and pottery store, where you are not obliged to buy anything,which was the good thing!All in all highly recommended for someone with not enough time in IST as it covers all the major sights and is not rushed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

olga.cowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant experience! Our guide Umar was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. It was a really small group (just our family of 4). We had a full flexibility around timing - which was great. Delicious lunch, excellent pick up and drop off arrangements . Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Rosemary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceptional tour guide - Hakan Adagume. He was highly professional, incredibly knowledgeable about history, Turkish culture and the world in general. I have given his name to several clients considering a trip to Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message