Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Sultanahmet District

Leave the present day behind and take a wander around Old Istanbul, the wonderful old Sultanahmet District. This World Heritage-listed district is crammed with historic buildings and enough magical atmosphere to keep you enthralled for days.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

G J R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

All you need to see on a short visit, Our guide Hami, was pleasant and well-informed about the history of the city. She pointed out little details of the places and monuments that we would otherwise have missed. Pleasant lunch with her company with stories of everyday life in Istanbul. A bit pressed for time as there was so much to take in on a first visit to a very old city.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! I was greeted by our guide for the day, Tibet, on time and with a smile which assured me that I was in for a good day! What Tibet doesn't know about the history of Istanbul isn't worth knowing. Her portrayal of the historical facts of all the sites we visited was delivered with a genuine passion and kept the group interested throughout. The sites we went to were relevant and appropriate to the historical tour we were on. Normally when food is included in the cost it is normally very basic, however the restaurant we had out lunch in was lovely. The food was delicious and the manager very chatty without being intrusive. Tibet managed the timings perfectly allowing enough time to go off on our own and explore. My only wish is that perhaps we spent a little less time being sold rugs allowing for more time in the Bazaar. That said, I still managed to haggle my way to a bargain in the underground market!

If this is your first or hundredth time in Istanbul, I would encourage you to take this tour as you will not be disappointed. I am off to Marrakech in September so will be on the hunt for a Tibet there too!

Andrew Burden

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

belugaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great one day tour! Covered the amazing sites and in a comfortable car!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

TerriT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Golay did an excellent job of leading our tour. We recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Azeem Naveed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular experience! The guide was thoroughly well equipped with the knowledge required for explaining and going into the details regarding the tour. We had enough time to walk around at each and every place we went. Tour starts right on time, which is awsome!. Would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul and who wishes to see all these places. By far the best tour I know about to visit the places listed in the tour. If you find a better one do let me know which.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went with our 15 and 12 year old daughters and all had a great day. Amazing sights at a good pace with a great guide. Fully recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Lorenzo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing, Omar is knowledgeable and speaks very well. My only problem was that he took us to see how they make the rugs and we felt very pressured to the point that I got scared. We wasted so much time, that we only had an hour at the grand bazaar. I don and #39;t think it was fair. Not happy

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. I was a solo traveler looking to get a feel for Istanbul, its culture, architecture, history, people and atmosphere. This tour ticked all those boxes and I would highly recommend to like minded travelers who have a short stay in Istanbul and want to get a full experience of the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

ALFREDO C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ali is not only a great guide and a knowledgeable professional; he is an amazing person, as well. My girlfriend and I felt like we were touring Istanbul with a good old friend of ours.
Thanks Ali for such a great experience!

Alfredo and Cris! New York, NY

Doing what: Sultanahmet Old City Tour with Private Guide

Hani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tipit Sp? was a great guide and the tour was very well organized. Transportation was great, and prompt. Getting to see the major sites in one day is a great thing, and we loved walking around! Recommended it to all!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Shelly L. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding! We were the only 2 people on this tour. We were picked up on time at our hotel and our tour guide Gulay Gunay was amazing. Her English was very clear, her knowledge of the sights fascinating and she was very accommodating. Perfect way to see this city. Istanbul is safe and a very clean city. Shop keepers take pride in their city and are constantly sweeping the sidewalks in front of their shops. A wonderful place to visit, steeped in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

lupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a perfect tour. Included the most highlighted icons of Istanbul, visited in a tied schedule but enough for knowing the most important things about the city. Perfect for one day tour. The guide Tibet, was great, talked about the history of each icon but also comment about currently facts of Istanbul. Very clear, perfect english and so friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Saurabh M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very good. We arrived at our host's home to a very warm welcome. The food especially the lentil soup was amazing. The conversations with our guide about Turkey were very illuminating as well.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Meghan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The family was amazing and we loved our guide!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

S M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an essential tour of seeing Istanbul's grandest buildings in a day. We were picked up from the hotel by our guide Tibet who was very nice and friendly. She presented a clear programme of the day and how we were proceed.
We were in the Topkapi grounds before 09 Am. This was an excellent time to be there as there were not many people and we had the place mainly to ourselves and a few other people. Tibet was really knowledgeable about Topkapi and provided a mix of historical guidance and then some free time for us to explore on our own. This was a short 2 hour trip of Topkapi but to be fair you could spend a day here...some many treasures to explore. I especially enjoyed the Holy Relics room and the Treasury. Topkapi was followed by the grand Ayasofia which provided a stunning glimpse of how Istanbul has been at the cross roads of civilizations. Again Tibet provided us an excellent historical overview and the timeline. We then saw the Basillica Cistern which in my mind was less grand but they did film From Russia with Love here so worth a visit. After the Basilica Cistern we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant - this I must say was a let down especially for the kids as they wanted pasta rather then the chicken grill - they brought more of less boiled pasta and chips. After lunch we saw the grand Sultanahmet Blue Mosque which is an architectural master piece...we then proceeded in the car to the Grand Bazaar which was fascinating however, i did find some of the shops extraordinarily expensive - especially the leather ones typical carpet seller technique , starting with really high prices and then coming down significantly. On the whole the day was excellent. Tibet was one the best guides I have been with, she knew her stuff and was also flexible around the needs of family with kids - she connected well with the children. Neon travels really need to work on the lunch aspect as it was not good value for money. Would recommend this tour none the less.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tobias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good guide, good logistics, great places. After the tour, make sure you have some time on your own just strolling around on your own to let it all sink in and reflect on the many great things!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Ali H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour by all means! Our tour guide Tibet was awesome and gave us a great experience. Would recommend it without hesitation

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Jamal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide Tibet was simply outstanding in terms of her knowledge and was very helpful and supportive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must do when visiting Istanbul. Our guide Tibet was great. From the pickup time till drop off. Explained everything clearly and gave us time to roam around. She didn't rush us and we had a great time in this tour worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Kevin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and guide who was very knowledgable and attentive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Fred and Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth what we paid. We had an excellent guide who spoke wonderful English and was easy to understand. She got us in everywhere without any waiting time. Her narration was very informative and helpful. She also took us to the Cistern. Great lunch at a local restaurant with delicious local food. Even the carpet demonstration was fun, no pressure to buy anything. Also had much fun at the Grand Bazaar.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message