Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Sultanahmet District

Leave the present day behind and take a wander around Old Istanbul, the wonderful old Sultanahmet District. This World Heritage-listed district is crammed with historic buildings and enough magical atmosphere to keep you enthralled for days.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was brilliant and the tour was excellent. This small group tour with the same guide is well recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

abhimanyu s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent!
I was picked up from my Taksim Hotel as per schedule in a comfortable air-conditioned coach.Due to the political climate it was a small group of 3.Our guide Gulay Gunay was informative,friendly,considerate and provided a great insight into Istanbul's history,social and political climate if you wanted to talk about that, gave us enough photo opportunities and time on our own at each sight/place, and answered all our questions or tried to find questions to our answers.She also arranged a last minute tour for the next day for me.
The price for the Harem in Topkapi Palace is not included in the price of the tour,but you can purchase it once inside the palace grounds, and visit on your own, as the tour gives you an hour or so on your own at Topkapi and Hagia Sophia.The lunch was decent.The tour also takes you to a carpet and pottery store, where you are not obliged to buy anything,which was the good thing!All in all highly recommended for someone with not enough time in IST as it covers all the major sights and is not rushed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

olga.cowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant experience! Our guide Umar was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. It was a really small group (just our family of 4). We had a full flexibility around timing - which was great. Delicious lunch, excellent pick up and drop off arrangements . Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Rosemary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceptional tour guide - Hakan Adagume. He was highly professional, incredibly knowledgeable about history, Turkish culture and the world in general. I have given his name to several clients considering a trip to Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Deepra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to say that Iam very pleased with Viator and Neon Tours! Hakan was our trip guide and he is so amazing! I cant recommend him enough. The tour was so well organised and Iam very happy with the service. Thank You!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Aman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A Super Fantastic Experience We Had In Istanbul. Our Tour Guide Gulay Was Just Brilliant!!! Very Knowledgeable, Which Made This Tour A Big Massive 10/10

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

G J R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

All you need to see on a short visit, Our guide Hami, was pleasant and well-informed about the history of the city. She pointed out little details of the places and monuments that we would otherwise have missed. Pleasant lunch with her company with stories of everyday life in Istanbul. A bit pressed for time as there was so much to take in on a first visit to a very old city.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! I was greeted by our guide for the day, Tibet, on time and with a smile which assured me that I was in for a good day! What Tibet doesn't know about the history of Istanbul isn't worth knowing. Her portrayal of the historical facts of all the sites we visited was delivered with a genuine passion and kept the group interested throughout. The sites we went to were relevant and appropriate to the historical tour we were on. Normally when food is included in the cost it is normally very basic, however the restaurant we had out lunch in was lovely. The food was delicious and the manager very chatty without being intrusive. Tibet managed the timings perfectly allowing enough time to go off on our own and explore. My only wish is that perhaps we spent a little less time being sold rugs allowing for more time in the Bazaar. That said, I still managed to haggle my way to a bargain in the underground market!

If this is your first or hundredth time in Istanbul, I would encourage you to take this tour as you will not be disappointed. I am off to Marrakech in September so will be on the hunt for a Tibet there too!

Andrew Burden

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

belugaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great one day tour! Covered the amazing sites and in a comfortable car!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

TerriT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Golay did an excellent job of leading our tour. We recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Azeem Naveed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular experience! The guide was thoroughly well equipped with the knowledge required for explaining and going into the details regarding the tour. We had enough time to walk around at each and every place we went. Tour starts right on time, which is awsome!. Would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul and who wishes to see all these places. By far the best tour I know about to visit the places listed in the tour. If you find a better one do let me know which.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went with our 15 and 12 year old daughters and all had a great day. Amazing sights at a good pace with a great guide. Fully recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Lorenzo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing, Omar is knowledgeable and speaks very well. My only problem was that he took us to see how they make the rugs and we felt very pressured to the point that I got scared. We wasted so much time, that we only had an hour at the grand bazaar. I don and #39;t think it was fair. Not happy

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. I was a solo traveler looking to get a feel for Istanbul, its culture, architecture, history, people and atmosphere. This tour ticked all those boxes and I would highly recommend to like minded travelers who have a short stay in Istanbul and want to get a full experience of the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

ALFREDO C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ali is not only a great guide and a knowledgeable professional; he is an amazing person, as well. My girlfriend and I felt like we were touring Istanbul with a good old friend of ours.
Thanks Ali for such a great experience!

Alfredo and Cris! New York, NY

Doing what: Sultanahmet Old City Tour with Private Guide

Hani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tipit Sp? was a great guide and the tour was very well organized. Transportation was great, and prompt. Getting to see the major sites in one day is a great thing, and we loved walking around! Recommended it to all!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Shelly L. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding! We were the only 2 people on this tour. We were picked up on time at our hotel and our tour guide Gulay Gunay was amazing. Her English was very clear, her knowledge of the sights fascinating and she was very accommodating. Perfect way to see this city. Istanbul is safe and a very clean city. Shop keepers take pride in their city and are constantly sweeping the sidewalks in front of their shops. A wonderful place to visit, steeped in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

lupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a perfect tour. Included the most highlighted icons of Istanbul, visited in a tied schedule but enough for knowing the most important things about the city. Perfect for one day tour. The guide Tibet, was great, talked about the history of each icon but also comment about currently facts of Istanbul. Very clear, perfect english and so friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Saurabh M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very good. We arrived at our host's home to a very warm welcome. The food especially the lentil soup was amazing. The conversations with our guide about Turkey were very illuminating as well.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Meghan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The family was amazing and we loved our guide!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message