Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3066 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour. Long drive but well worth the sites. If you can, visit the Limoncello factory!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Barb C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing day trip! Be aware of the windy roads if you are prone to motion sickness, but so worth it. We went Feb 4 so there was very few visitors in Pompeii and Positano and Amalfi making for a very enjoyable experience. Khan was our driver and guide and he was great! Funny too!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Amelia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour of Pompeii and the Amalfi coast

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Louis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour. It was quite reasonable and very informative. Pompeii alone was worth the price and got the Amalfi coast along with it. If you go to Naples, do NOT miss this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Louis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Spectacular trip. Worth every penny

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Richard Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took a chance on this group through its internet site. Viator promised that we could see the cities of the Amalfi Coast in a one-day private tour. We were absolutely delighted with the tour guide and driver needed for this circuitous drive through the mountains! Our guide had excellent English language skills and a wonderful command of the history of the area. The tour hit the highlights of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello an villages inbetween. Each location had a different flavor and rich backdrop for exploring and learning. We had time on the tour in each town to wander on our own shopping and eating. We stopped at strategic points for fabulous views. We highly recommend this tour and want the company to know how much we appreciated our guide and our driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! We opted just for the driver and could not have been happier. Giovanni was amazing. He was waiting outside the cruise terminal right when we got off and during the long drive to the Amalfi coast he told us about the history of the places we were visiting and kept us well entertained. He stopped all along the drive so we could take beautiful pictures of the scenery. Since we went in December we had no traffic at all so we were able to stay in the towns a little longer than normal. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario our driver was fabulous! So informative. Knew so much about the area and the people. He was amazing. Such a lovely man as well

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

radougla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour started a little slow, we were picked up at 8am, and the first 90 minutes was spent picking up other guests before we actually hit the road. But once we did, it was fantastic! First stop Pompei. Amazing! Loved seeing this ancient city and our tour guide was so knowledgeable. Then a lovely restaurant lunch, 3 courses, of pasta, a meat or fish dish and a small dessert of gelato. After lunch we drove to Sorrento,Positano and cruised the Amalfi coast. I have to say it is the most spectacular coast line I have seen anywhere in the world. I am in love with Sorrento and will come back absolutely! Big thank you to our wonderful tour guide Sara and driver Antonio. They made the day really fun for us with lots of jokes and knowledge. Five stars for this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

avinashchukkapalli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the best trips we have taken. Amazing driver and tour guide. Though he knew minimal english, he was able to understand and he being a local, he was able to add his flair to the trip. He knew all the scenic spots and he knew the local pretty well. Definitely a trip that you should take and if you are coming off a cruise, Simpy go for this. The shore excursion offered by the cruise is expensive and it doesnt cover the places that this trip offers. Just its simply worth it.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

'Pepe your driver of the coast' was our tour guide and he was great! Had a great day of sight seeing and was flexible with our time!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Bethany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! The Amalfi coast is unlike anything I and #39;ve ever experienced. So much beauty! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Daniele F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our trip to the Amalfi Coast was amazing. Our driver was Roberto and he was great. He was early, for our pickup we were first but he said he would wait until the actual pickup time to give us a little time to grab something to eat crucial for the long trip. We picked up other people in quick order and we were off. Our other van mates didn't really seem to be interested in chatting or sharing conversation so my friend and I ended up talking a lot with Roberto, which was great. He knew so much! We did have a pit stop before going to Pompei and that was fantastic. I had never been to Pompei, and actually didn't really ever have a desire to go. So glad we went!!! It was interesting and our tour guide, Gaetano, was such a pro! After that, a stop in Sorrento and then lunch in Positano....GREAT! A stop in Amalfi after was such a treat. There was a band that was walking through the streets and it was such an amazing experience.

Yes, the ride is long but it was well worth it. If you want to break up the drive, I suppose a night in Positano or a neighboring town would be a option, but if you only have a day do this! You don't have to drive so you can sleep on the way back!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Danielle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful drive down the coast and an AMAZING tour of Pompeii! One of my favorite tours on the trip since it was so informative and with a heavy emphasis on Roman civil engineering. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

hilerie11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really amazing. Both our guides were exceptional. I got just the right amount of info and history at Pompeii while being allowed to wander a bit and take some time to let it soak in. The trip through the Amalie coast was truly exceptional. The road is crazy but fortunate our driver was safe. The tour took an entire day so be prepared to be tired. The lunch was good and the wine was reasonably priced. I would recommend going in a slower season such as January if you want more time to enjoy, less people, and safer driving conditions. The only negative is some businesses are closed and locations to take a pit stop are less than in summer.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was just enough to get a taste for the coast and now I know where I would go. So beautiful!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

Vivek G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour consisted of visiting the famous ruins of Pompeii, followed by a visit to the Amalfi Coast with stops along several towns namely Sorrento where you visit a Limoncello factory, Positano, and Amalfi. One of the good things about the tour was that we were picked up by the local operators directly from our hotel, even though the hotel was a little far from Porto de Napoli, where the tour starts from. At the end of the tour, they dropped us off at our hotel as well. Pompeii is a great town to visit. If you like archeological sites, you should plan on spending more than just a couple of hours there and should plan a day tour. There is a lot to see. The Amalfi Coast is even more beautiful than what we had seen in pictures and is definitely worth a visit. We were very fortunate to have beautiful sunny weather which was great. The tour guides Lucio and one other were both good and provided a lot of good information. We would definitely recommend this tour especially for those who only have a day to spend in the area.

The only inconvenience we faced was that we were stopped at Porto de Napoli for a long time in the morning with no restrooms nearby, apparently because the local operators received too many last minute bookings and got overwhelmed. So for us the tour started at 8:00 AM and ended around 6:30 PM. We were the first ones dropped off so the others had an even longer day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Valerie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very nice small group, and fit comfortably into the minivan. Pompeii was crowded, but because it is so large, it was not uncomfortably so. It was fascinating, and well worth seeing. The guide was very informative, and we really felt we learned a lot about what life was like before the eruption, and also what the magnitude of the eruptions were there were two - a lot of people left after the first one, but many stayed, and they were killed by the second one. The drive down the Amalfi Coast was scenic and, at points, hair-raising. We had an excellent lunch in a cafe on the beach at Positano. We stopped in Amalfi on the way back and had a coffee and dessert. The light was fading, and the Christmas lights were on, as well as the town lights, so it was really magical. The drive back to Rome was long, as the traffic was bad, and there are no real alternative routes. It was a long day, but a very enjoyable one.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

fmurray

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The experience was disappointing. The driver, whilst a nice person, was very tired right from the start and this contributed to all 6 participants being focussed on the driving rather than the scenery. The driver was often distracted and made, and took, phone calls on his mobile whilst driving. On the motorways, the car often drifted more than normal, even for an Italian driver due to the driver's tiredness. The safety aspect of a tour such as this has to be paramount and unfortunately there did not appear to be any procedures put in place to ensure that the driver was rested appropriately.
Unfortunately, I would not recommend this type of tour to others unless they have a death wish.
Pompeii and the scenery along the coast were fantastic but not even close to worth the risks. I'd find another way.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Julie S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

On August 31 of 2016, my friend and I left Rome for a three day tour, which included Naples, Pompeii, and the Amalfi coast. From the very start, we were met with difficulties.

First, we were instructed to meet our driver at a hotel near our accommodations at 6:30 am. We arrived at 6:20 am and found him in the lobby, very irritated that we weren't already there. He tossed our luggage into the back of the van and pealed out with us and two men. As we careened through the twists and turns of Rome, we all buckled our seat belts out of necessity or we may have been thrown from our seats. Then we picked up two additional tourists and headed at breakneck speed to the Carrani tour hub. Our driver didn't tell us where to go or what to do, but we found our bus and embarked only to wait about 45 minutes to an hour to depart. I don't understand the haste and discourtesy of our first driver when we had to wait on the bus for so long to leave.

Finally we left Rome and arrived in Naples. We expected some sort of tour, but all we did was get off the bus for a photo of the bay and we were hustled back on to the bus to a hotel/restaurant where we were served tasteless and barely warm food. We were constantly reminded to tip the waitstaff at least one euro. I thought for the cost of the tour this was unnecessary and condescending.

The tour of Pompeii was fine.

After Pompeii, we separated from the main group and were driven to the Amalfi coast. We had upgraded to a 4 star hotel, and found our accommodations to be lacking. Our refrigerator didn't work the entire time we were there. We asked about it at least three times and were assured it would be fixed it was not. The room was very hot the air conditioner couldn't keep up with the heat outside. The food for dinner at the hotel was not 4 star quality at all.

Before we left the states for our Italy trip, we had booked train tickets from Naples to Milan for the afternoon of our last day on the Amalfi Coast. When we arrived at our hotel in Amalfi, we asked the staff to call Carrani and arrange for an earlier departure, from 3 to 12. They assured us that it was all taken care of. Then the morning of our departure, we discovered that the hotel staff had merely booked us a taxi, costing us each 50 Euro on top of the cost of our trip. We had paid for the transfer from the hotel to Rome, and we simply needed to leave earlier to catch our train in Naples.

The Amalfi coast was beautiful and Pompeii was an interesting visit, but I would not recommend this tour to anyone because of the expense and the low quality service, accommodations, and food.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii and Amalfi

Alison A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR. We received a meeting point and a time for this tour 9 am by the snack shop restaurant. We arrived there at 8:50 but didn't see anyone who resembled a viator tour guide. We waited another 25 minutes and there still was not anyone who came to meet us. It turned out that the tour guide had walked down to another location to escort people who were there at 8:30 to the bus. She the guides name was Christina had our names on the list but she didn't return to find us even though we were early. We eventually had a random stranger call the contact number for the tour guide. He yelled at her in Italian...we have no idea what was said but 5 minutes later she came to get us. She was incredibly rude and absolutely unapologetic for leaving us. If we hadn't gotten someone to call her for us I have no doubt they would have simply left us behind. The entire tour bus finally left over 30 minutes later then the scheduled departure time. The next problem we encountered on this tour was at Pompeii. Again, the headsets were absolutely terrible. My headset didn't work at all, and I informed the tour guide of my problem but she simply shrugged and told me she didn't have another one. So I tried my best to stay as close to the guide as possible during the tour so I could hear, but as you can imagine I was quite frustrated. With the large tour group size on top of the tourist filled streets of Pompeii, I wasn't able to hear the tour at all. The rest of the tour was fine, the driver for the almalfi coast made my friend and I comfortable kissing us, taking pictures with us but other than that it was ok. If I had to do it again I never would have booked this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time and a wonderful guide! This tour is something we would recommend to anyone visiting Positano!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast Sunset Cruise from Positano or Amalfi

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto, our guide and driver, was great! Drove us quickly to Pompeii and handed us over to Gaetano, the local guide. He took us all over the ruins and shared a lot of information with us. Afterwards, Roberto took us to Amalfi. The roads were long and winding but Roberto did not have any problems at all. We definitely recommend this tour from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message