Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3052 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! We opted just for the driver and could not have been happier. Giovanni was amazing. He was waiting outside the cruise terminal right when we got off and during the long drive to the Amalfi coast he told us about the history of the places we were visiting and kept us well entertained. He stopped all along the drive so we could take beautiful pictures of the scenery. Since we went in December we had no traffic at all so we were able to stay in the towns a little longer than normal. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario our driver was fabulous! So informative. Knew so much about the area and the people. He was amazing. Such a lovely man as well

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

radougla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour started a little slow, we were picked up at 8am, and the first 90 minutes was spent picking up other guests before we actually hit the road. But once we did, it was fantastic! First stop Pompei. Amazing! Loved seeing this ancient city and our tour guide was so knowledgeable. Then a lovely restaurant lunch, 3 courses, of pasta, a meat or fish dish and a small dessert of gelato. After lunch we drove to Sorrento,Positano and cruised the Amalfi coast. I have to say it is the most spectacular coast line I have seen anywhere in the world. I am in love with Sorrento and will come back absolutely! Big thank you to our wonderful tour guide Sara and driver Antonio. They made the day really fun for us with lots of jokes and knowledge. Five stars for this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

avinashchukkapalli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the best trips we have taken. Amazing driver and tour guide. Though he knew minimal english, he was able to understand and he being a local, he was able to add his flair to the trip. He knew all the scenic spots and he knew the local pretty well. Definitely a trip that you should take and if you are coming off a cruise, Simpy go for this. The shore excursion offered by the cruise is expensive and it doesnt cover the places that this trip offers. Just its simply worth it.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

'Pepe your driver of the coast' was our tour guide and he was great! Had a great day of sight seeing and was flexible with our time!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Bethany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! The Amalfi coast is unlike anything I and #39;ve ever experienced. So much beauty! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

fmurray

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The experience was disappointing. The driver, whilst a nice person, was very tired right from the start and this contributed to all 6 participants being focussed on the driving rather than the scenery. The driver was often distracted and made, and took, phone calls on his mobile whilst driving. On the motorways, the car often drifted more than normal, even for an Italian driver due to the driver's tiredness. The safety aspect of a tour such as this has to be paramount and unfortunately there did not appear to be any procedures put in place to ensure that the driver was rested appropriately.
Unfortunately, I would not recommend this type of tour to others unless they have a death wish.
Pompeii and the scenery along the coast were fantastic but not even close to worth the risks. I'd find another way.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Julie S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

On August 31 of 2016, my friend and I left Rome for a three day tour, which included Naples, Pompeii, and the Amalfi coast. From the very start, we were met with difficulties.

First, we were instructed to meet our driver at a hotel near our accommodations at 6:30 am. We arrived at 6:20 am and found him in the lobby, very irritated that we weren't already there. He tossed our luggage into the back of the van and pealed out with us and two men. As we careened through the twists and turns of Rome, we all buckled our seat belts out of necessity or we may have been thrown from our seats. Then we picked up two additional tourists and headed at breakneck speed to the Carrani tour hub. Our driver didn't tell us where to go or what to do, but we found our bus and embarked only to wait about 45 minutes to an hour to depart. I don't understand the haste and discourtesy of our first driver when we had to wait on the bus for so long to leave.

Finally we left Rome and arrived in Naples. We expected some sort of tour, but all we did was get off the bus for a photo of the bay and we were hustled back on to the bus to a hotel/restaurant where we were served tasteless and barely warm food. We were constantly reminded to tip the waitstaff at least one euro. I thought for the cost of the tour this was unnecessary and condescending.

The tour of Pompeii was fine.

After Pompeii, we separated from the main group and were driven to the Amalfi coast. We had upgraded to a 4 star hotel, and found our accommodations to be lacking. Our refrigerator didn't work the entire time we were there. We asked about it at least three times and were assured it would be fixed it was not. The room was very hot the air conditioner couldn't keep up with the heat outside. The food for dinner at the hotel was not 4 star quality at all.

Before we left the states for our Italy trip, we had booked train tickets from Naples to Milan for the afternoon of our last day on the Amalfi Coast. When we arrived at our hotel in Amalfi, we asked the staff to call Carrani and arrange for an earlier departure, from 3 to 12. They assured us that it was all taken care of. Then the morning of our departure, we discovered that the hotel staff had merely booked us a taxi, costing us each 50 Euro on top of the cost of our trip. We had paid for the transfer from the hotel to Rome, and we simply needed to leave earlier to catch our train in Naples.

The Amalfi coast was beautiful and Pompeii was an interesting visit, but I would not recommend this tour to anyone because of the expense and the low quality service, accommodations, and food.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii and Amalfi

Alison A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR. We received a meeting point and a time for this tour 9 am by the snack shop restaurant. We arrived there at 8:50 but didn't see anyone who resembled a viator tour guide. We waited another 25 minutes and there still was not anyone who came to meet us. It turned out that the tour guide had walked down to another location to escort people who were there at 8:30 to the bus. She the guides name was Christina had our names on the list but she didn't return to find us even though we were early. We eventually had a random stranger call the contact number for the tour guide. He yelled at her in Italian...we have no idea what was said but 5 minutes later she came to get us. She was incredibly rude and absolutely unapologetic for leaving us. If we hadn't gotten someone to call her for us I have no doubt they would have simply left us behind. The entire tour bus finally left over 30 minutes later then the scheduled departure time. The next problem we encountered on this tour was at Pompeii. Again, the headsets were absolutely terrible. My headset didn't work at all, and I informed the tour guide of my problem but she simply shrugged and told me she didn't have another one. So I tried my best to stay as close to the guide as possible during the tour so I could hear, but as you can imagine I was quite frustrated. With the large tour group size on top of the tourist filled streets of Pompeii, I wasn't able to hear the tour at all. The rest of the tour was fine, the driver for the almalfi coast made my friend and I comfortable kissing us, taking pictures with us but other than that it was ok. If I had to do it again I never would have booked this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time and a wonderful guide! This tour is something we would recommend to anyone visiting Positano!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast Sunset Cruise from Positano or Amalfi

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto, our guide and driver, was great! Drove us quickly to Pompeii and handed us over to Gaetano, the local guide. He took us all over the ruins and shared a lot of information with us. Afterwards, Roberto took us to Amalfi. The roads were long and winding but Roberto did not have any problems at all. We definitely recommend this tour from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto, our guide and driver, was great! Drove us quickly to Pompeii and handed us over to Gaetano, the local guide. He took us all over the ruins and shared a lot of information with us. Afterwards, Roberto took us to Amalfi. The roads were long and winding but Roberto did not have any problems at all. We definitely recommend this tour from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Outstanding tour! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Nicola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I had a wonderful time. Pompeii is just such an incredible history filled town, our guide was incredible and funny. It was a slight shame the people that went on the Amalfi coast part of the journey had to leave so suddenly the we didn't get much time in Amalfi but it was still amazing. Alberto, our driver, was incredibly knowledgeable and a lot of fun. i would recommend this tour to everyone. it was overall a fantastic day!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

osamaali8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto was great! He was very good with timing and explaining things to all of us. We had 7 people in the van and we all ended the trip like a family!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an awesome tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We opted to include an English guide and was well worth it. Since there were 5 in our party we ended up with a truely private tour so we're able to go at our pace. The guide was very friendly and very informative. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Arijit C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Overall experience of the tour is good. Our driver Giovanni was helpful and courteous. The reservation process is pretty smooth but I did confirmed a day ahead just to be sure.
We covered Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello in approximately 7hrs. Had our lunch in Amalfi only few restaurants were open as it was 24th Dec. Overall a great experience if you want to cover the 4 cities with beautiful sceneries in a good car in 7hrs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. Tour bus drives you around, guided tour of Pompeii, quick lunch at a restaurant that serves pizza or spaghetti. Food was okay for a tourist trap restaurant, van driving tour of sorrento, lemoncello factory, amalfi coast. Road is very curvy, but worth all the great views.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

david.shayne Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant day out with a great driver and tour guide, Rossiario. The day was real pleasure, Rossario was relaxed and careful driver who negotiated the crowds, traffic and winding roads will skill and ease. This tour was great way to see the villages of the Amalfi coast, the itinerary was flexible and negotiated with the driver, his recommendation for lunch was excellent. The meal was very good quality and the view was perfect. I highly rate this tour and congratulate Rossiario for making the day so enjoyable and a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Walter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

our tour guide Tony was a condumate professional,we joined with him in PompeiiThe Amalfi coast is quite remarkableworth every penny we paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Julie was was very knowledgeable and interesting. The driver was great on the difficult Almalfi roads. I highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

JoAnn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour... so much history. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and very passionate about his work. It was a small group so it was very personable.... GREAT TOUR!!!! I highly recommend....

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

woodchuck770

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Pepe was on time and easy to find. The scenery was awesome, shear cliff drop offs most of the way.
The shops in Sorrento were a thing to see, quite varied and friendly. The Lemonchilla was great.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not only was the tour awesome but our crew was super nice and accommodating. My fiancée and I opted to be picked up at Praiano but we got confused and ended up somewhere else. The crew found us and the rest of the day went very smoothly. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver was great navigating the crazy Mama Mia street in Amalfi and was a delight informing us of the sites in the area, etc. Our guide in Pompeii was AMAZING! He was super knowledgeable and was a 3rd generation tour guide of Pompeii. You could tell that he was incredibly passionate about what he did and all the information he provided as we navigated around the ancient once buried city was fantastic! Definitely would recommend this trip for anyone!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message