Visitors to Florence will no doubt walk along and cross over the river that runs through the city center; and while it’s possible to see the city these days without paying much attention to the river, that wasn’t always the case. The Arno River was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 266 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharmila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We arrived in Florence on Monday, August 1st, 2016. It began to rain a couple of hours before our scheduled tour. We waited and fortunately the skies cleared. This was an absolutely brilliant choice.
Our very grateful thanks to our lovely guide Gina. She was wonderful. Good humored, knowledgeable, patient and very competent. Gina made the tour come alive with her little anecdotes, her dramatic revelation of dark secrets and facts that may not be easily googled.
We could not have asked for a better introduction to this beautiful city. We as a family are also indebted to Gina for introducing us to the 3rd Best Gelato in Italy. We are hoping to return so that we may repeat that delicious experience.
Thank you Gina and Viator

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

dangia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful boat tour! Totally recommend it if you want to see Florence from a different perspective and I'd suggest to do in the night when you can admire Ponte Vecchio and all other sites illuminated. Nice glass of prosecco on the way back too!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Nikkiday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We're so happy that we booked this tour. Historic Florence is teeming with tourists and walking through the crowds takes so much time. A bike tour makes it so much easier. You get a good overview of area in a much shorter space of time... especially when you have a guide that knows where she's going. Marzia was our guide and she was excellent. When you're visiting such a historical city, it's invaluable having someone who can bring the history to life for you. The same goes for the Academia Gallery. She provided context and we viewed the gallery in a manageable period of time. She was worth her weight in gold. Actually, she was worth more than her weight in gold. She was short. :
In fact, we so enjoyed the Florencetown tour, we booked another two tours!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Angela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sibille was our tour and was a delight. She was extremely patient and informative. I would recommend anyone do this tour!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

mimicogal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After our initial disappointment that we missed the bike tour our bus from the port of Livorno was stuck in traffic - word to the wise ..allow more than two hours transit time from port excursions we were relieved that Florencetown accomodated us by rushing us to a walking tour in progress. Valentina, our guide was delightful. She was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and say to understand. She invited questions and happily did her best to answer any questions we had. We visited many important sites including, Piazzas Santo Spirito, Republica, Vecchio, a view of and travel across Ponte Vecchio. I gained incredible understanding of the Medici family and political history of Florence. We were treated to a delicious gelato at a lovely little gelateria near Palazzo Pitti. In the afternoon we joined Valentina again for a tour of the Accademia - Florencetown arranged our tickets and we were able to get in very quickly. Valentina gave us lots of descriptive background on the paintings and sculptures that we saw. She guided us around the David sculpture with fine detail and description. Finally we ended our tour in the gothic section of the gallery where we were guided through a comparison of the changes in gothic and Renaissance pieces. Overall - Bravo! We had an excellent experience.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Gail S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, learning about the darker side of Florence. Our guide Federica was great, lots of fun and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved this tour! Our guide Claudia was wonderful, funny, and very imformative. Florence is filled with fascinating stories about the founding families. We loved the gelato stop at the end as well.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Lucas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gina was great, so enjoyable, fun, informative and told us many things you would never know of even find reading. Must see at night if you are new to Florence area.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Paul United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour. We completed this on our first night in the city and it was a great introduction to beautiful Florence.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Gina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great introduction to Florence! Met Elisa, our guide, outside the Florencetown tour company office which was easy enough to find. There were only 8 of us and we left for the Arno just a minute or two late. We did have to walk through Florence fairly fast. Once we got to the Barchetto, it was smooth sailing! Elisa was very friendly and knowledgeable. Since our cruise was at 7pm, it was almost sunset so it was quite scenic and the 45 minute ride was just super relaxing and lovely. The small glass of prosecco was a nice touch.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was very enjoyable and a nice vantage point to see things from different perspective. Guide was great.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour was very fun and entretaining. The guide was incredible and she was very helpful, we had to call my grandfather because he was only going to meet us at the Accademia and she let us use her phone and helped us get in touch with him. The Gelato place was delicious and skiping the line at the Accademia was very helpful.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Aine Ahearne Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour - great way to get to know the history of the city. Our guide Alexia was excellent funny and informative.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Davidkingsland2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bike tours are the way to go...and when they include gilato...a sure win.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Raymmond S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just excellant, nothing more needs to be said.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Florence visit.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

LAURA-MAY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walking tour was a brilliant introduction to Florence where we saw the beauty of this city in the evening and was given a download on the complex families of Florence. Tour guide Elisa? was knowledgeable and friendly. Gelato was absolutely delicious and we, certainly, kept in mind of the tour-guide's advice on this Italian's specialty.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Akshay N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Angelo is a great guide, who is knowledgeable, energetic, fun, and a genuine story teller. His grasp on the dark side of Florence is absolute, and when he mixes it with his wit and humour the tour just becomes epic. It was well worth the and the gelato that we got in the end was the cherry on the cake. We went to the gelato place every night after that.
I would recommend this tour to anyone who does not mind walking for two hours and then enjoying a nice gelato.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Delphyne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved this tour!! I had Prosecco and took this in the evening which was wonderful! The man operating the Barchetto was amazing as he offered more information and gave us some tips for local things near our hotel. Please use him more often!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

rgarnett928

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much fun! Learned so much about Florence and our guide, Angelo, was so entertaining and fun. We loved learning about the lesser known aspects of Florentine life. Wouldn't miss this one!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Ravi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was highly knowledgeable. Took us to unknown places and showed us history within the lanes of Florence which is difficult to access on our own. total value for money. Would like to do it again

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really the best way to see Florence in a short time. My 7 yo son did fine despite the crowded streets and hot weather. As promised- helmets, water bottle, ear phones provided. Gelato was good too. David tour was less fun but still necessary to see. Really hot waiting in line to get inside

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This should be your first tour when you arrive in Florence! I will book this tour again with the same guide!!! The Gelato at the end was a plus. Thank you

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and fun tour. Angelo our guide was very engaging, with perfect English. I expected the gelato at the end to be lame, but was actually one of the best we've had in Italy. We went back there the next day for more.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Gaynor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Angelo tells a great tale!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message