Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2741 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claudia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

13 hours sounds like a long trip for 3 children 9 and 11, but they really enjoyed it. The bus stops after 1 1/2 hours both ways, providing a nice break. Walking up Vesuvius was a wonderful experience - especially for my husband, a geology fan. Pompeii was very interesting. We were glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful tour to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The trip was well organised the the tour guides were exemplary in their knowledge and enthusiasm to make sure we had an enjoyable and engaging tour. Alessandra the allocated guide for our group was fantastic. Loved Pompeii and all it had to offer, the tour guide who showed us around Pompeii brought to life what we were seeing through her knowledge and the way she shared that with us. It was nice to have a break for lunch in a restaurant. The walk up Vesuvius to the top was a good hard walk with a breathtaking reward at the top. On the trip back to Rome our tour guides continued to engage with us and checked to see if we needed any assistance on our return to Rome. City Wonders provided a tour that was well worth the money, I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was a highlight of our visit to Rome. The guides who spent the day with us, and the Neapolitan guide who joined us for Pompeii itself, were all excellent. The trip was very well organized, including an excellent pizza lunch at a real, sit-down restaurant that was ready to receive 100 guests all at once. The city of Pompeii was extensively excavated and fascinating. Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius on a hot day was exhausting but worth the effort!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...starting in Rome, climbing Mt. Vesuvius and then of course Pompeii! We couldn't have asked for anything better. The guides were knowledgeable and made the day one of our vacation highlights! Thanks

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With out a doubt the best tour you could book. Was amazing from start to finish. First the bus journey down to Pompeii was long but the tour guides gave us till the first stop to get some sleep due to the early start which was nice. The second leg of the journey they talked to us about the surrounding area the history and also the plan for the day. Mt Vesuvius incredible the climb up was tough but the views were amazing, we didn't feel rushed or pressured to hurry back so gave us plenty of time to get up there which was nice as my partner suffers from a heart problems so she didn't have to rush and make herself ill. From there the lunch was nice getting to try pizza from Naples the place where it came from.
Pompeii was the highlight seeing the ruins and getting a very informative guide who let us explore and gave us lots information. We again weren't rushed about or made to hurry along they let us go at our pace and enough it. And lastly the bus ride back to Rome was nice before entering the city again the guides came round the bus and talked to us individually and asked us if we needed any advice or tips about Rome. This I felt was a nice touch as we asked about restaurant suggestions they had along with things to do that aren't on guide books and they gave us there local knowledge. Would recommend to anyone that wan't to experience what can only be described as a breath taking tour. Thanks Sara for the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Elaine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! As time was limited we only saw the main points of interest in Pompeii and would have liked a little longer there to explore more.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic day out and so well organised. We were met as advertised at Naples station and taken on an air conditioned coach to Pompeii. The tour staff were very helpful and friendly. Our tour of Pompeii was led by Maria and she was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and gave an insightful and amusing commentary. We had around 2 1/2 hours to look around and it as it was 35 degrees, that was enough! We saw the highlights and the pace was just right. We were then taken for lunch at a local restaurant and had a choice of either tomato spaghetti or pizza margarita.The food was freshly cooked and delicious. The cold drink was also very welcome, as was the air conditioned interior. Back on the coach for the 40 mins to Vesuvius, again our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. Once parked up, we were given 1 hour and 45 mins to walk to the top and back. It was a challenge in the heat but plenty of time to get to the summit, take some photos and wander down. The views were spectacular over Naples bay and well worth the effort of the walk up. It was on a clear, wide pathway, a little rocky in places but our stout shoes were fine. A cold drink at the cafe and then back on the coach to be dropped back at Naples station. An altogether fantastic day, well organised and with plenty of time to enjoy the sights, would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Leila P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting and informative tour! We were picked up promptly from our hotel in Naples and driven to Pompeii. Our tour guide was very informative and was able to answer all our questions about Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and everything from start to finish went exactly to plan. It was a long day trip but worth it, the coach was very comfortable, the guides who accompanied us from start to finish very informative with good sense of humour. Rest breaks and quiet time on the coach made the long journey pleasant. We were passed to a local guide on arrival at Pompeii whose knowledge brought the history of the place alive. We chose to book with Viator following successful trips with them in Venice a few years ago and have this evening just booked a tour with them for our forthcoming trip to Vienna. I feel confident booking with Viator through my past experience and can highly recommend them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ARLENNE M. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing guides: Ana and Sara. Antonio: very good busdriver! Two groups together in one bus; no problem at all. It rained and Vesuvius crater was closed down when we got there (we got part of the money back). Lunch: good! Pompeii amazing!!! Very recommendable tour!! Try the limoncello (missed this).

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Raymond D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pompeii is a must see. One gets a much fuller picture of how the Romans lived than from the relics in Rome itself. The guides were all excellent and helpful. The views from Vesuvius were stunning.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The meeting point was clear and the guides were on time and organised. We heard lots of interesting facts on the bus to Pompeii and we were happy to just sit back and relax - tour started early to fit everything in. Our guide in Pompeii was excellent. It was crowded and hot, but it was easy to hear and follow our guide. Lunch was ok - not the best I've had, but good enough. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was great - I loved the fact that we could walk at our own pace, within the guide times given by the guides. The trip back was again a highlight with lots of interesting facts. Our guides were very helpful in general about Rome and what to do. My two teenagers loved it as well.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

katrina.steedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the Day trip to Pompeii from Rome. Our guide, Luca, was incredibly knowledgeable and gave some great insight into Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius, Roman Culture, history and food. The day was paced well considering we included two rest stops, a hike up Mt Vesuvius, pizza for lunch and 2 hours at Pompei Ruins. If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient way to see Pompeii from Rome, highly recommend the tour. However, if you would like to spend more than 2 hours at Pompeii, would suggest you look at another tour as felt there was so much more to see at Pompeii but was a good highlights tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Raelene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good day trip with Francesco and Andy - very good tour guides. Make sure you wear shoes that you don't mind getting dirty as the hike up the mountain is dirty and strenuous. The tour of Pompeii was very interesting. There were only 3 molds of the people that had been recovered apparently the number available to view changes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

econn02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour of Pompeii and opportunity to hike Mt. Vesuvius. Guides were very knowledgeable! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Rebekah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely LOVED this tour. Our tour guides were superb they were warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable and fun. It's a must see day trip out of Rome! The only thing I would change is I would love about 30-40 minutes of free time to walk around Pompeii after the tour was over to take pictures and see a bit more before we headed off. All in all we were thrilled with the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

hvdelumen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sarah and Antonella were very able guides and made sure everyone was accounted for amidst the tour groups. We had someone from the group that wasn't feeling too well and they made sure she was well taken cared of. Having local guides in Pompeii added authenticity to the tour. The hike to Vesuvius can be quite taxing but is worth the hike. May be good to remind guests to wear the right footwear and bring protective gear umbrella/ hats as the heat can be quite strong in summer.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were staying in Sorrento and took the train to meet the group in Naples at 10:30. Group was easy to locate near the train station. The tour guides were great!! The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and our guide did a great job keeping everyone together while moving forward the whole time. We had lunch at a restaurant with great Neapolitan pizza before going on to Mt. Vesuvius. Hiking 900 m up to the top of the volcano was an incredible experience! My husband and I were very happy we did this tour to see both amazing sites. We got back to Naples at 5:30 exactly and had time to explore some more of Naples, eat more pizza, and catch the last train back to Sorrento!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jason O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best tours I have ever done. Organised and very informational, was great having all the transport already done. The tour guide for the Pompeii was average, not very personable in her delivery. But that just might be her, she was very knowledgeable. The guide for the Mt Vesuvius was great, funny, and hiked up with us in high heels. Such a great trip and I would totally do it again.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Ron F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pompeii was brought to life by our guide Stephania - and lived up to expectations.

Herculaneum was another step up - and with the same guide we saw and heard so much more than we could have expected.

A must do for anyone with real interest.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

ratza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I think the pick-up and transportation alone were worth the day trip, considering the limited time we had in Naples.

The guide was very knowledgeable and even though the Pompeii part of the tour was short, for me it was just right. There were only three or four plaster casts of the victims, kept far behind bars making Maria essential in explaining the otherwise empty foundations and giving us a glimpse of everyday roman life.

The lunch was as expected a pizza margherita and a soda, though I picked pasta since all pizzas kind of tasted the same. It's not something to remember but it is welcoming shade and a snack after walking around in the sun and dust.

The Vesuvius part was a bit short, you have about 30 minutes to climb from where the bus stops and 20 minutes to climb down in about an hour, leaving 10 minutes for going around the top. Fortunately, as you might see from online images, the caldera is no more impressive than a rock quarry and unless you'd have a drone or something, you can't take a proper picture of it. The weather was very cloudy during our visit so the panorama was pretty grey, but you might have better luck.

I recommend this tour if you're short on time and find a day with clear skiesfor Vesuvius and no windsfor the sand/dust in Pompeii

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our Trip to Pompeii and up Mount Vesuvius.
Our guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and Humerous. Took us around all of the key points of Pompeii and gave us an insight into the lives of the people who lived there.
Included with the tour was lunch at a local restaurant. My partner and I both had pizzawhich was nothing to write home about, but fine for a quick meal before the second half of the tour.
In the second half on the bus we travelled most of the way up Mount Vesuvius. There was a 25 minute climb up a gravel path to get to the top for some amazing views! Make sure you bring good outdoor shoes, and a large water bottle! Although water and refreshments are sold at certain points along the hike up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Donna N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were right at the exit of the port as soon as we got off the cruise ship. The buses are air conditioned and very comfortable. We visited Pompeii first and were given about 20 minutes to purchase souvenirs or water for our tour. We were given radios and headsets to be able to listen to our guide along the roads in Pompeii. The tour was not rushed but note there is a lot of walking on stones and sometimes the ground is uneven. After the Pompeii tour it was a short walk to a local restaurant and we could choose between pizza, spaghetti or salad. All selections were large and they also had complementary bottled water, wine or pop. We then had another short walk to get back on the bus to go to Mt. Vesuvius. There is a small shop that you pass thru and a man offers walking sticks for a donation upon completion of your walking up/down the mountain. I took a stick and am glad I did as it is steep. Beautiful views but it is a difficult walk as the path is loose gravel and dirt. For those that make it up to the top you can have a wine in the bar and sit for a little while. Once we finished we got back on the bus to return to the cruise port. Pay attention when returning as our bus made several stops and when we didn't get up immediately and they started to pull away from the cruise port. They do make an announcement but it is usually only announced once so pay attention.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

carol r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a wonderful day. I was picked up at hotel and returned at the end of the day by Amiel and Sylvia who were marvelous. Everything was included as well as lunch. Susannah the tour guide for Pompeii was very interesting and bought the place to life. It was hard climbing the last stretch of Vesuvius but well worth it. I made some new friends on the coach an thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

marlenepetrella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to Pompeii from Rome was a very long day, but it was well worth the effort. Roberto, our guide, made all the difference. He was very organized and attentive to everyone's needs. Plus, he was extremely entertaining, telling stories that my grandchildren loved and providing humorous information about what constitutes real gelato and what you will NEVER get at a real Italian restaurant spaghetti and meatballs--NEVER happen. But, for me, the most touching point was when we were climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius. My family stayed with me for most of the climb up, but I was VERY slow and wasn't sure I would make it up in the allotted time. Roberto knew I wanted to make it to the top if at all possible, and he encouraged me to keep going, never raising concerns that time was running out. When I finally reached the top and triumphantly met my family, Roberto was there to snap my picture, smiling from ear to ear. Then he walked with me, all the way down--again, never rushing me or making me concerned about the time. He genuinely wanted me to have, and enjoy, the experience. So many tours are totally focused on the time schedule that they lose sight of the reason people take their tour. And I get it: schedules ARE important. However, I am truly grateful that City Wonders hires tour guides like Roberto who know that schedules need to be flexible. The experience is everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message