Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3020 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

paulbrewer20

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a cold day, but we still enjoyed our guided tour of Pompeii. It was quite amazing, even though we only saw a small part of the site. The guide was very good, and had a great sense of humour. Unfortunately I cannot remember her name

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Kingshuk B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day long day out. You get to see and experience so much. Kids learnt a massive amount of history regarding Pompeii. The Pizza stop over was amazing, however be prepared for a lot of walking, especially up the mountain

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Visiting Pompeii deserves a good guide. There is so much to know about ancient Roman cities, their way of life, etc., beyond just the disaster that fell upon Pompeii, and this turned out to be the best part of the tour. It is fascinating. A lunch is served on this tour - pizza Neapolitan - that was the best pizza I had in Italy. And that is saying a lot. Unfortunately, we were not able to get to the top of Vesuvius as we hit a fog bank but it could not be helped.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Emogene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing tour of both Vesuvirus and Pompeii. Even though we were held up by traffic on the motorway, our wonderful guides were able to make up the time so that we got to see all of Pompeii. We also had time to climb to the top of Vesuvius to see the smoke coming out of the vents and the lovely Bay of Capri. Pompeii was astounding in revealing life so many years ago. It shouldn't be missed. All 3 of our guides were fantastic. They even stopped to talk to all of us on the ride back to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Melanie was a fantastic tour guide, and this was a fantastic tour! She was completely attentive to our needs, knew our names, provided a very personal experience. She was vastly knowledgeable and told great stories on a multitude of subjects. ONe of the best tour guides I've ever had, and I do A LOT of tours. Pompeii is simply amazing and a total must-see in Italy. Naples pizza is a favorite- get the magherita- and try the limoncello. Take this tour. You will not regret it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was by far the the best tour I have ever been on I would sign up for it again if I was ever in Rome again. The host were the best and extremely informative throughout the the tour. The guide at pompeii was amazing he brought the city to life and had information that only an experienced guide could know. I would give this tour Fifty stars if it was an option.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Minna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything worked as promised. The main tour guides were knowledgeble and helpful. Our local guide in Pompeii could have been more energetic. He seemed a little bored at times.
Vesuvio was beautiful. I will remember that climb and view for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ashley.rybka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our favorite tour! Although the bus ride was long our tour guides kept us interested w lots of fun info and We stopped for breakfast/ bathroom break and returned for shopping. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible (it and #39;s tough!) and Pompeii was truly a sight you shouldn and #39;t miss! Yummy pizza too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Krista H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Booked this tour for my first day in Italy and could not have been happier. Learned a lot about Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii and well as useful information about Rome and Italy in general.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rosie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sarah and Robert hosted an excellent tour, providing great knowledge, entertaining stories not to mention a delicious limoncello on our day trip to Pompeii. It is great to have such expertise available to help understand what we are seeing and the colourful context around it. That is what you get when your guides have degrees in archaeology, geology and ancient history - pretty appropriate for a tour of Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had been to Pompeii before but this time there were new areas restored for exploring. We also loved the challenge of climbing Mt Vesuvius. Not for the faint hearted as it is a steep climb but worht the views and to look deep inside the crater.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Deidre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The meet up was quick and smooth. The bus ride down was comfortable and the guides talked about the country side keeping your interest peaked the whole trip. Pompeii was busy and I would have liked more time to see it but we had to have lunch which was amazing! Plus we made it to Vesuvius which was also rushed so much to do in one trip but if you don't have much time I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylvia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight of our European trip! We highly recommend it! Our guides Alessandra and Claudia were so insightful and our local Pompeii guide was full of knowledge and made this trip one of the best we could have wished for. We would definitely go back.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chrissy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I heard that it is fairly easy to get down to Pompeii via train on your own, however, I recommend this tour because the guide gives you so much information and makes the long trek down to the city of ruins more informative and exciting. Naples doesn't appear to be the safest city and our guide informed us of the history and struggles within Naples. You will see nothing quite like Pompeii in your lifetime. MUST SEE!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day but worth it, take an umbrella with you in high season because the sun is unbearably hot and there is hardly any shade or breeze, Pompeii was fantastic, I didn't realise it was so full of statues, beautiful, you get to see a lot of Pompeii and the guide was very informative, fascinating to see and quite moving when you see the figures of the people that perished there, the lunch was pants but it filled a hole, Vesuvius was magnificent but so hot and dusty, worth making the effort for the views and to stand on the crater of an active volcano, you are left to your own devices and there are a couple of refreshment bars on the way up which were a blessing, and I also had a paper fan which I donated to a very hot Japanese lady on the way down, altogether it was a great trip and I would go again but maybe take a packed lunch.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Katelyn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with the tour! What a wonderful time and awesome experience to enjoy both Pompeii but hike Mt. Vesuvius! Beautiful day with my family and surprisingly our 4 year old hiked the entire thing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Rhena B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pompeii is a must see for all. Pictures do not do it justice. Went on the trip with family. We enjoyed it. Since we went during the winter months we seen the museum. Not enough time there to see it but we were on a schedule. The tour guides were great. Recommend the trip to everyone.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Although it was busy in Pompeii, our tour guide was tremendous at getting us around the sights and providing a great amount of information!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Edgar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was an archaeologist who did a wonderful job at both Pompeii and Hurculaneum. He has a great style in bringing the history in contemporary terms that helped the info really stick with you, and used good humor at times to help with that. In Herculaneum there were only six of us in the tour group with him so it was very personalized. Extremely professional and informative, and he tolerated some of us lagging to take pictures of this amazing history. Thanks.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

ann a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Pompeii tour from Naples, IT is one of the best tours I have ever had. Our tour guide forgot her name was born and raised in Naples, IT. She is very knowledgeable, explained all details. Our tour driver, Paulo, was nice and kind too. I learned a lot about 2,700 years old city. Absolutely recommend it. Loved it, loved it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is THE trip to experience! Our hostess/host Melanie and Andy from City Wonders Tours were phenomenal. You knew you were in good hands right from the beginning. We learned so much from their talks during the bus ride to/from Pompeii - were extremely personable and you felt that they truly enjoyed their job and enjoyed meeting and interacting with the passengers. They even came to each passenger individually and answered any questions, offered recommendations for restaurants or gelato and generally took excellent care of us. The bus was comfortable heat was excellent and I would choose City Wonders tours over any others after this experience. Very nice job indeed!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dominic T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised and tour guides personable and professional. Pompeii was extremely busy and Vesuvius was a small hike but worth the effort. Highly reccommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

C Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience and I'm really glad that I booked a complete trip with viator instead of trying to figure out trains schedules and interpretation on our own. I really loved that Anna not only prepared us for the Pompeii visit itself, she was a wealth of knowledge regarding the history of things along the way. Not to be overlooked, Aldo was excellent as well. There was so much Christmas Eve traffic but no matter what happened, he kept us safe and on-time.

My ONLY complaint/suggestion would be to skip the pizza lunch. The meal was not even of average quality and it took away valuable time that could have been better spent at the Museum and the Pompeii site itself. I understand that the driver needs to make stops along the way and I would have appreciated it if they had used these breaks and simply tossed me a sandwich and a drink instead of wasting so much of my time at the restaurant. Even better, tell people to pack a light lunch of their own

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

5/5
Our guides were Roberto and Andy. We met them on time at Piazza Del Popolo and were made to feel welcome. We were particularly unlucky with a few things on this tour, firstly our coach was driving at walking pace up Mount Vesuvius and this was because unfortunately there was a foot race going on, with the slowest participant walking up the mountain, we were really set back time-wise. The weather was bad, we managed a glimpse into a crater on the mountain amidst the rain clouds and on our return to Rome we were driving through a thunderstorm, flooding the roads and reducing the traffic's speed to a stand still. It turned out to be a long day, but we can't fault Roberto and Andy's professionalism. They kept us well entertained throughout, both are very knowledgeable and informative. Andy offered comedy and good tips the one about how to find the best Ice Cream was spot on and Roberto loves story telling, you guys had a long day!

The lunch stop appears to always be Tiberius in Pompeii, I have reviewed the lunch as a 4/5 separately

Our local guide for Pompeii was Enzo, there is so much to see and without a guide you'll struggle to balance your time and miss out on some finds. Enzo was a very good guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Adriana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The visit to Pompeii was spectacular. The tour started on time and included very knowledgeable tour guides. The tour itself included pit stops at very touristy joints, but the information we received was great. Overall, highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message