Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2867 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

watersmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride from Rome to Pompeii, but good; stopped in Naples and had some authentic pizza and it was fantastic! Pompeii was amazing and spectacular. Just like any tourist destination there were gift shops at the exit, although this one had many items that were phallic. All good; great trip/tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ken R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Perfect trip delivering on all points. Bus was comfortable, guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Wonderful hike up Mt. Vesuvius and tour of Pompeii if only there was more time. Lunch was nice. Great day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ralphuy.kimle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such a great tour! we had 2 tour guides and one of them had actually studied geology and so he had so much useful information about Mount Vesuvius as well as Pompeii. The views are amazing from the top of the mountain and visiting Pompeii was also a great experience. I would of loved to stay in Pompeii to see the museum as most of the artefacts are in there and not at the ancient ruins. Its still worth seeing though, amazing to walk through the town that was buried in ash. Great pizzas for lunch and well organised trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gaylia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic day trip - exhausting but well worth it! We had two fantastic tour leaders Claudia and Dmitri and an amazing bus driver who drove us safely up most of Mt Versuvius! Lovely lunch, very interesting afternoon in Pompeii with a different, very well informed local guide. overall, an outstanding tour which we would highly recommend .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Darlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was interesting and funny. Her coverage of the site was great given the two hours given to cover this large site. While this is a half day tour, it does take time to get to and from Pompeii from Sorrento. The shuttle from the hotel is definitely more enjoyable than the train. The headsets were excellent and the size of the group was manageable.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long but fantastic day, with two very entertaining, informative and engaging guides in Andy and Chiara. The trip lets you see some of the Italian countryside which you would miss if you spent your whole visit in Rome itself.

The climb up Vesuvius is something to behold, and the local guide for Pompeii was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour, highly recommended. Even through a little rain Pompeii is amazing! We've been to many ancient sites and this is right up with the best of them. The tour takes about 2 hours and delivers all the most important things to see. Lots of the group weren't going on to Herculaneum which is a pity. Although only 20 of Herculaneum has been uncovered it is an incredible example of a Roman holiday city. Just fabulous, don't do one without the other.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Erwin Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very good. Tourguides Sarah and Ahmed are of the highest standards and that is what a tour needs. They kept us well entertained during the bustour to Vesuvius and Pompeii and informed us well about the timeschedules etc... Also did they give us valuable information for us to enjoy our stay in Rome and/or Italy even better. Especially on the way back they gave us individually all their time we needed to answer any query we had digging into their experience and suggestions. Pompeii tourguide was very good, he had his jokes handy and kept us well entertained during the tour making it an interesting one rather then becoming boring. Good tourguides are so important and this tour had them all !! Well done ! Will definitely consider them again when I will decide for a tour in Rome or area.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dana D A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guides were fantastic!! Andy and Chiara were very entertaining and informative. I wish we had taken this tour at the beginning of our trip instead of at the end, I think with their tips and guidance we would have had an even better time in Italy.They were supremely organized, attentive, and knowledgable about both Veuvius and Pompeii, which made this experience an adventure into the past.
If it is possible to request certain guides for outing, I HIGHLY recommend Andy and Chiara!! I will definitely use City Wonders as my go-to tour guides in all the cities that they are available
Dana, Karsten and Kolton USA

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

james g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

this was actually our 4th visit to Pompeii and our 2nd ascent of Mt. Vesuvius, our guide was wonderful she was able to provide a lot of really good insights into life in ancient Roman life and she was very personable.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

LeAnn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this all day tour. Andy with City Wonders is a great guide- he was funny, engaging and extremely informative.He directed us to one of the best restaurants in Rome and told us how to find great gellato, information which has served us throughout Italy. The tour is long, but you get to see a lot. Well worth the hike up to Vesuvius, followed by a delicious pizza lunch. Then a very interesting tour of Pompeii - which is much bigger than we thought. If you have the time, I recommend you do this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karolina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our trip was excellent, worth every penny! The tour guide in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and funny, we couldn't imagine better day out. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had our tour on Monday 12th Sept with Chiara and Andy. Both were amazing. Caught up with Andy near the top of mount Vesuvius where he continued to walk to the top with us and pointed out where Pompeii was in the distance. Both went the extra mile as tour guides. Best tour ever!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sheila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would recommend this tour very highly. Andy from City Wonders was an excellent guide, he made the day-trip very interesting. The walk to the crater of Mt Vesuvius was steep but well worth it. The tour of Pompeii, although a bit hard to understand the local guide, was very informative. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Meesh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Your was very well organized. Our guide was Maria and she was very funny and informative. Pompeii was fun but a little short feeling. Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. The hike up is killer on the calves but totally worth it. Wear proper shoes! Overall a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A terrific day trip from Rome. The tour guides on the bus gave lots of interesting information, the bus ride was a comfortable and carefree way to get to Pompeii. The official guide at Pompeii was outstanding, and Pompeii was an amazing place -well worth the trip.
We also really enjoyed the hike up Mt. Vesuvius and the fantastic view which is pretty steep and requires good walking shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome trip ! Our two tour guides were informative and entertaining ! Our bus driver was fantastic - extremely skillful at negotiating the twists and turns upand down the road to Mt. Vesuvius. The tour of Pompeii was well organized and also very informative. A very worthwhile day trip !!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour of Pompeii was great our guide was funny and very informative looked exactly like manuel pelligrini
If your going to see Pompeii this tour is a must
My Vesuvius was great to see and this day tour fitting both things in with a pizza and beer in between was great

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Maria was a dynamo. She provided lots of wonderful historical information peppered with a little levity during our long and very hot day tour of Pompeii and Vesuvius - and in English, French, Italian and Spanish I might add. While you dont get a ton of time at either site, you definitely feel like you get all the highlights. It was so great to have a guide through Pompeii to learn about the history and what life was like when the city was thriving. The headset technology was also pretty good, which was a pleasant surprise.

The included lunch was pretty good too though the menu is limited to two choices - we both had pizza and enjoyed it.

We also had a wonderful experience with the round-trip transfers. Our hotel changed 3 times after booking the tour - once the night before - and they still got us on-time and from the right place. Huge kudos to the tour operators for that!

Our only disappointment was that the Vesuvius portion was self-guided, but you do get good foundational information on the drive up. I would recommend for couples and families - definitely a fun and informative day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Guides were fantastic. Hotel pickup and drop off. Great lunch. We stayed in Naples to visit pompeii and vesuvius and chose this tour as a way to do it. We weren't disappointed. You need to be able to walk easily to walk around pompeii and up vesuvius, but its not too strenuous. We saw lots of young kids and old people on vesuvius.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Shelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pompeii was incredible. This was a great tour and our tour guide Roberto was fabulous! Lunch was great and Mt. Vesuvius was incredible.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

tashn92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a fantastic time with the Project Napoli team.
Everything went smoothly.
Our Pompeii group was small (10) and our guide Elyssa was funny and informative. The pizza was marg and standard then we were given 1hr15 to go up and down the mount. Plenty of time given to walk and admire views!
Excellent day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Asunga D Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a good tour . The Guides MARA and AHMED joined together for the tour. We did the Mt Vesuvius first which was a very good thing as it takes some effort to get to the top. The sticks certainly helped . Then went for lunch . Post lunch was Pompeii with the recruited local guide who was also very good. Then we had some free time before starting the return journey. During travel many interesting facts and tips were were told including how to dine and shop like locals .Super tour to anybody who can afford it .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Bridget P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pompeii is amazing to see, the history and all of the work uncovered - just Beautiful! The hike up Mt Veseuvius was outstanding! Loved the pizza too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message