Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2976 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Pompeii tour was absolutely awesome! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and amazingly proud of her heritage. Loved the entire experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

janet m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent tour fantastic views of the Bay of Naples walking up Mount Vesuvius. Enjoyed the neapolitan pizza.We loved Pompeii which was a great finish to this great tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ptom_01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Can and #39;t say enough about this one. Our guides Kylie and Dimitry did an great job preparing us for the visit with an informative and entertaining history lesson. The local guide at Pompeii was a hoot. A word of caution about Vesuvius, it and #39;s a steep climb but the good thing is the climb isn and #39;t required.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife, son and I had a great day out. It was fascinating to learn about Pompeii and our tour guide Enzo was extremely engaging the whole time we were there. The afternoon spent climbing Vesuvius was breath taking in more ways than one and all in all it was an unforgettable experience. I'm sure it won't be for everyone, but if you're interested in the subject matter as we were, you'll find going with a good tour guide is the best way to experience it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Anna was incredible. So friendly and funny. She even took the time at the end of the trip to come and talk to each one of us on the bus to answer personal questions. The hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius was amazing. It's steep, but not very far, so almost anyone would be able to do it. Our tour guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was really wonderful. He provided just enough information, but also periodically gave us free time to explore and take pictures. We were lucky that we went on a day that wasn't very busy and the weather was perfect Nov 16, 2016. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Rome. It was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

deb c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Anna was a thoroughly entertaining and informative guide who really made this trip fabulous with her great sense of humour. this was further complimented by our wonderful bus driver Masimo and Enzo the very knowledgeable guide at Pompeii - a tour with a great pace and a wonderful way to experience the history of ancient times - would highly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

SONIA M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience. I just love Pompeii. I really recommend Viator, very professional, experienced guides, a lot of interesting information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rhonda L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was wonderful. The guide was fantastic and we learned so much. We could not have asked for a nicer day. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Andy was our guide and did an outstanding job! Very comfortable bus, good pizza and he was willing to help us in our tour if we had any questions. I enjoyed seeing Pompeii and all it had to offer. Vesuvius was okay but the view from the second stop was gorgeous! This trip was worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really interesting site and one not to be missed. Our tour guides and driver were lovely and highly informative. The site of Pompeii is mind blowing and I look forward to a future time when I can visit it again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carmen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, Amanda, had fabulous tidbits of information to offer as we traveled to Mt. Vesuvius. After visiting Pompeii we headed back to Rome and were offered a lovely tasting of Limoncello! Yum!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Wayne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour of pompeii and vesuvius we had really good guides full of information comfortable travel well worth the money would definitely do it again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour started off with easy and on time pick up from our hotel in Sorrento. We had just enough time touring Pompeii and a fantastic guide that really made the history come alive! We were back to the hotel in the early afternoon which allowed us to explore Sorrento for the rest of the day. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Lois

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I'm so grateful we made the time for this trip. The tour company was super accommodating. We had to leave the group after the tour and they actually put us on a bus heading to our next destination. They were so gracious. The tour itself was incredible. It was my husband's favorite experience and the guide made sure we saw the most important sites. If you don't have a lot of time for Pompeii, this is the perfect way to see it. Well done.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Darla G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! We hiked up Vesuvius in the rain, not the best experience but what can you do about the weather? We weren't as prepared as we should have been for the rain and wind. Pompeii however was a great trip and our guide was a local who has lived there all his life. he was a wealth of information about the area and very interesting! Loved it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

sarah.barnett6651

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the highlights of our trip was this tour. The coach driver was an absolute legend, the roads leading up to Vesuvius can't have been easy to navigate! Our tour guide through the ruins of Pompeii was very witty as well as really knowing his facts.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pompeii and Vesuvius well worth it, would recommend and have to all.
Pompeii guided tour a must Lucianna our tour guide all the history and story makes what you see come to life.
Mt Vesuvius a bit of a hike to the top, easy enough just pace your self.
There are places to stop on the way and enjoy the views whilst having a rest.
I grabbed a hiking stick from the vendor whom only asks for a donation on your return.
Have a glass of red at the top with your friends as a reward for your effort.
You wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

k2squared

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing trip that we would highly recommend to climb Mount Vesuvius and tour Pompeii. The guides were wonderful, the day was well thought out, the lunch was typical but good, and the overall experience was breathtaking. The value was great for the cost. Remember to wear good walking shoes!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ramon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well organized. Confirmed pick up time via email day before. Tour guide was full of great information and was fun as well. Pompeii was more than I ever expected. The scale is unbelievable and the many details are still intact. Wear supportive shoes because the walkways are original and uneven. I saw several people fall.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable with her history of Pompeii and was very entertaining. Pompeii is beautiful but it and #39;s a long walking tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

esanginiti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a long day of touring but it is a GREAT way to see Pompeii. We had great guides and saw and learned a lot. It was neat to be able to climb Mt Vesuvius. Having a guide take us through Pompeii really maximized our time and elevated the experience. The pizza lunch was clearly a tourist trap. It was a huge reception hall with hundreds of other tour buses. Not a very local dining experience. I still think it's an amazing to see Pompeii from Rome and I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

No trip to the West coast of Rome would be complete without visiting the Tyrrhenian Sea coast, to tempt fate by climbing sleepy Vesuvius then to tread on the cobblestoned streets of ancient Pompeii as it's ill-fated inhabitants did nearly two millennia ago but now with a local archaeologist. Our tour guide for the day Roberto was knowledgeable and engaging and was a perfect fit. Although the obligatory lunch stop served very disappointing Neapolitan pizzas, worse still was finding a Starbucks inside Pompeii built on the site which had been the womens' bathhouse. If this is how we treat world heritage sites there is no hope. Putting these minor gripes aside, this full day trip into Campania was both exhilarating and informative made possible by our expert guides and driver.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sandeep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well, I can't talk enough about tour. It was very well arranged. The tour guide for Pompeii could have been better with language English

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Gillian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great trip taking in both Pompeii and Vesuvius in one day. The pick up arrangements were very well organised with good communications from the outset.
Our guide for Pompeii was friendly and informative showing us the highlights of this huge site in the two hours that we had there. A really good lunch was included at a restaurant near to Pompeii from where we were driven by coach to Vesuvius. We were dropped at the parking area about a mile from the crater and from there we continued on foot. Some of our group waited at the cafe as the climb is rather steep. We were very lucky to have clear skies and fantastic views across the Bay of Naples.... well worth the effort.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Alice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius was amazing. Very interesting. Would have liked more time to walk up Mt Vesuvius - it was a bit of a rush. However, it was the highlight of our trip to Rome/Naples.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message