Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2794 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was excellent. Transport was on time and good A/C. Guide Magherita was excellent with good stories and humour. Really good to see Pompeii with a guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

bon.chan11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour guide, enthusiastic and humorous. We had a lot of fun hiking up the Mt. Vesuvius, I made the hike with Birkenstocks but I would probably suggest some sneakers for next time. Pompeii was fascinating, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic as well. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked the optional guided tour, which proved to be a great choice. Marisa was our host on the bus, and she kept us up to date with how we were progressing and what we could see out of the window.

Our guide in Pompeii was Dario: we have had a guided tour of the city before 21 years ago, but Dario was excellent, finding a way to impart lots of facts, but still make it interesting enough to keep our teenagers' attention.

The guided tour took 2 hours, and we had a further 2 hours on our own, which we used to walk to the Amphitheatre even though it was 40 degrees! I would recommend it, the place is impressive!

The icing on the cake was that the bus dropped us back in Rome, not at the Enjoy Rome office, which is a bit out of the way, but at Termini, which meant we could get straight on the bus to our hotel.

Throughout the tour each step was clearly explained to us, with timings which were adhered to, so we always knew exactly where we were going and when we were being picked up. The trip may seem like a lot of money, but it was well worth it, and was the highlight of our break in Rome.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Tommi R H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pompeii was much more meaningful with our very well informed guide Elisa. The tour was prompt and organized. The only hitch was our bus broke down on the way back from Mt. Vesuvius but they responded quickly with back up transportation.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Roland P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience, especially the Pompeii visit was incredibly interesting and the guide provided lots of helpful and interesting insights, both historical and archeological.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Shannon K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful tour! Very informational, learned a lot about the history of Pompeii. Tour guide was entertaining and informative. And they picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel which was on the outskirts of Naples. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling in the Naples area, visiting Pompeii is a must and doing a tour through Pompeii is the way to go!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour! Very comfortable bus with interesting tour guides. The hike to the top of the volcano was challenging but doable, excited to be able to cross look into the mouth of a volcano off of my bucket list! The additional trip to Pompeii was a fascinating step back in time. The guide truly brought out what life would have been like in 79 AD. An unbelievable step back into another time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

graceairey92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good day trip, I and #39;d definitely recommend. The pompeii tour guide was fantastic - very informative whilst making it interesting and funny.
Vesuvius was good also although my boyfriend spent most of it trying to claim the Vesuvius pokemon gym.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Norman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable ride there and back. Great tour guides! Pompeii is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great - Roberto is a treasure and made this day so special for our family. He took what could have been a boring five hour bus ride and made it interesting and kept us laughing and fascinated with his stories. Pompeii was incredible and the hike up to Mt. Vesuvius was worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

enecostin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized. We left with 2 tour guides from Rome and they were with us all along, showing, explaining, answering questions. In Pompeii we had a special guide that walked us through, very informative. Vezuviu is a trip in itself. The lunch was over rated and the bus drive back seamed endless but overall o great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Luke F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip! Our guide, Luca was very fun and knowledgeable, as was our secondary guide, Ettore! Alberto, our driver was very kind and accommodating. Pompeii was fascinating and our local guide was very informative. Lunch was yummy and the hike up Vesuvius was tiring in the heat, but well worth the effort! I'm really glad I booked this tour and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patti B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pompeii is a must see if you are in Italy. Even our 11 year old daughter really enjoyed this tour. Pompeii is incredible to see and it is amazing what has been uncovered. It is also amazing to learn what life was like way back then. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of very interesting information. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Stéphane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour and very knowledgeable guides, Inga and Alessjandra. Superb commentaries, historical content which I adore. Lunch was a very good and please choose marguarita! The driver was also quite a stunt driver in that road leading to Vesuvius. The hiking on the volcano was great for someone who trains regularly like myself.... can be difficult for most though but it is worth it!!
Pompeii is extraordinary! One very slight complaint is I wish we had more free time, really 5 minutes..?
Other that my personnalise over curiousness, tour is 10/10
Again, Inga and Alessjandra are very enjoyable guides. Loved it and btw, please do take the suggestions.... food or other sites to visit while in Roma!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing day. Knowledgable tour guides. Good pizza. Amazing views of Vesuvius and Pompeii. Well planned and structured tour. I think this is a great taster of Pompeii for those short for time.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides were very informative. I would've loved to have known some of the information about Rome before we stayed in Rome. They were so helpful in planning great restaurants and really went out of their way to answer questions

Pompeii was hot. They have only 3 plaster casts of the bodies but the architecture is amazing as were the views. The pizza wasn't anything special but was generous in portions. Would definitely do again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. Walking through the streets of Pompeii gave you a great sense of what it was like to live there at the time. It can be be hot and dusty this time of year so dress apprpriately. Dimitri was a great guide outside of Pompeii and enrico the Pompeii guide was incredibly knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Trisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our best tour while my husband and I were honeymooning in Italy. The tour guides were named Claudia and Robert and they were amazing. They were on time and very professional. Robert especially was clearly a seasoned tour guide and was rather funny. Both tour guides gave us so many information on the culture of Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Vesuvius during the long bus ride. They both monitored our group closely at Pompeii and at Vesuvius giving us tips and tricks along the way. The local guide was named George who again was wonderful-very informative. Then at Vesuvius my husband and I had ample time to climb to the top and enjoy the marvel that is Vesuvius. It truly is breathtaking. Then on the bus ride back to Rome once again, Robert and Claudia gave us so many valuable tips on getting around Rome-good places to eat and so many facts about Roman culture that I truly appreciated. It was such a great tour-truly a must-do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patric United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was hands down one of the best things I did in Rome. I was in Rome for 4 days and did not do any tours, but am very glad I did this one. Our guides were Melanie and Kyara, both of whom made the trip very exciting and interesting. They both know a lot about the history of Rome and share that knowledge with you at the beginning of the bus ride down. The bus is very comfortable, it's an air conditioned coach bus. The first stop is near the top of Mount Vesuvius. Then you get off the bus, and can climb to the summit, which is a little less than a mile. Once you get to the top, you have a great view of Naples and a great view inside the crater of Mount Vesuvius. After the climb, you get back into the bus and they take you to lunch for some Neapolitan pizza, which was absolutely delicious! Then you head over to Pompeii for a tour, which was very insightful! You also get to see a few plaster casts, which are human remains preserved from the ash of Mount Vesuvius during the fateful eruption. Then, after the tour, you head back home. On the bus ride home, Melanie and Kyara come talk to each and every person and answer any questions you have, and they make terrific suggestions on where to eat, drink, and what other sites to visit in Rome. So if you can, book this tour at the beginning of your trip so you can listen to their tips and follow through with them. We got back into Rome at around 8 PM. BOOK THIS YOUR NOW!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Beverly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a highlight of our trip! We had excellent guides who told us a lot about pompeii, vesuvius and the italian culture then and now. They were funny and still provided a lot of facts. The pizza i had at lunch was the best of our entire trip! Visiting Pompeii was fascinating. We had time with our guide, and also had time to explore on our own. The trip up to Vesuvius was also wonderful. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Viator is a GREAT company. As promised, they picked us up on TIME in our Sorrento hotel and drove us to POMPEII. This is a MUST do! NOT TO BE MISSED. Take the guided tour you will not regret it. Our tour guide Maria was the BEST! If you do not take this guided tour you will just be looking at a pile of rocks. This tour was so interesting and worth every penny. Maria was very knowledgeable. Excellent experience. Hot wear comfy shoes and a hat. Take water.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message