Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 913 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donovan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this activity. The chef and his assistant were amazing and words cannot describe the beaty of the location. One of my favorite experiences of my two and a half week tour of Italy.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Andrew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

More than a cooking day we had a short tour of Rome and a shop in the market. The venue was great and we finished with lunch which included wine. The whole day very well ran and the chef was very nice. The assistant could do with a little training. For example taking the knife and fork out of someone's hands whilst eating because she wants to wash up isn't great customer service but the rest of it was so good that it's hard to mark down. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent cooking class.....it was fun and very entertaining. The chef Daniel is very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the highlights of our trip. Small group experience we will never forget. The little town we shopped for ingredients, the guide/chef Frederico?was very amiable and the small house was exactly what I pictured a small town house in northern Italy to be. The food was superb and more importantly the memories will be unforgettable.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

gayle s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This cooking class was excellent. Quick tour of market and shopping for the meal, followed by fun cooking in a great apartment. Everything was delicious and I'll definitely start making my own pasta at home. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

LIsa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Does this class take place in a real medieval village? Yes. Is the meal that is prepared delicious and fun to learn? Yes. Is this class worth a day of your vacation and money it costs? Well, yes!
Francesco was our van driver and chef for the day. The class is small and intimate, allowing everyone to get to know each other the other family we met were Aussies. On the way to the class 40 minutes outside Rome we all stopped at various shops for the ingredients for the meal: butcher, produce stand, and cheese shop--which doubled as a village convenience store that also sold mops and brooms and American cereal.
The medieval home in which we cooked was indeed ancient, however the inside was beautiful and renovated, and it included air conditioning! It was perched over a cliff and looked down upon a waterfall.
Creating the classic Italian meal was not only fun, it was educational and gave me a sense of accomplishment--I never thought I could make my own pasta. And I do not exaggerate when I say that the meal we created was as good if not better than any meal I ate in a Roman restaurant and we ate in some pretty great restaurants while there.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Bonnie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of market and quality instruction. Came home knowing how to make homemade pasta by hand!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Cavan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We spent a wonderful evening with Francesca, who was informative and entertaining. Francesca took away the fear of making pasta and introduced us to some scrumptious and easy to make dishes. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Pasta 101- Learn to make your own home-made pasta or pizza at a chef's home

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience, great chef and wonderful place!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Karenina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best experience ever. From the moment it began till the last drop off in the city of Rome it was well worth the money spent on this tour. Learned so much from Francesco who was the prefect host. There was a small group of us, we worked really well as a team and ate a lovely lunch that we prepared together. So if you love to cook and like meeting new people, then this is the tour for you. Do it you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

André B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best experience I had in Italy! Run from the crowded piazzas in Rome and go spend a day in Lucia's quiet little place in Umbria. It's perfect! But it's not a wine tasting, it's only the cooking class and farm tour. And it's GREAT!

Doing what: Tuscan Agriturismo Day Trip from Rome: Cooking Class, Lunch and Wine Tasting

barbarasiebrecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was awesome. Beautiful setting, friendly people. Fun day!!!

Doing what: Tuscan Agriturismo Day Trip from Rome: Cooking Class, Lunch and Wine Tasting

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The absolute highlight of our entire 2 week trip! I cannot rave enough about this excursion...Chef Francesco was perfect in everyway from the time he picked us up to the time he dropped us off. He was extremely knowledgeable and very personable. The ride and the location is exquisite. We had the greatest group and everyone truly enjoyed cooking and eating together. Some of the group even went out to dinner after to That's Amore which was delicious and so much fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

grubby5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour. The chef was very professional, funny, and worked well with all of us with far fewer skills them him. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Tuscan Agriturismo Day Trip from Rome: Cooking Class, Lunch and Wine Tasting

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative and educational walk from our meeting point to the cooking destination. Our chef, Ilda and her assistant, Guisseppe, did a fabulous job demonstrating and explaining techniques. Highly recommend this cooking class as the pasta, sauces and dessert were fabulous!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Theodore H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour, set in a small town outside Rome. The food was wonderful and the class was fantastic. Small class setting really helps set the mood/style.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Johanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a good cooking class. It began at ou meeting point, the chef Paolo and his assistant Nicolette were wainting for us. We were only 6 that day. We walked to Campo dei fiori to buy our vegtebles, fruits, meet and other things to prepare the meal. We had some tasting at some shops, very good. After we walked to the appartment Marlon Brandon use to stay there when he was making movies in Rome. It was so beautiful, situated on the Isola Tiberina. We had Prosecco and prepared 3 types of pastas and dessert and Paolo prepared the meet and vegtables for us. The quality of the ingredients were incredible and the taste..... WOW ! We had a lot of fun, he his funny and charming, we had a great time and highly recommand to take this cooking class.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Lillyan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely amazing class! We had so much fun shopping in the market for fresh ingredients! The apartment that we cooked in was amazing. We laughed, drank wine and learned new techniques. The best part was that the class only had 8 people. It was very intimate and so much fun to enjoy the meal together. The highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ilda and Daniel were funny and informative and made cooking Italian classics simple and within our grasp. The meal we prepared was delicious and the kitchen was a great atmosphere to learn in. Would recommend for any age!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

delaramotlagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience for all ages... We had a blast! My 9 year old son now wants to open a restaurant!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Ngayan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It is such a delightful experience. Our chef Francesco is excellent and very patient with us. He is also funny, cracking jokes along the way to warm up the group and make us more comfortable. I especially appreciate the small group setting. He is able to provide individual guidance if we are having some trouble with certain cooking techniques. We all learn a lot about real Italian cooking!
Along the way on the shopping trip prior to cooking and on the way out, Francesco shows us some interesting spots in this little village/town for a bit of history and picture taking of this quaint hamlet. The streets are narrow and we meet some local residents who are just so kind.
The best part of course is the eating. After we make all the goodies, Francesco cooks everything for us. First shows us how to do it, and then lets us sit down in the lovely dining room in this lovely home and then brings us all the courses. We are stuffed, totally stuffed, and are amazed at the quality of food we are able to make. Everyone in the group has a wonderful time, and we will highly recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Debra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best meal we had in Rome. Village was quaint, grocery shopping was as genuine Italian experience. Chef was at times both funny and exasperated by all the women in the group. I and #39;m sure he drank lots of vino that night :) but I learned lots and will make pasta again. You have to do this event!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Victoria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family enjoyed the class but hoped for more actual hands-on cooking. the food was delicious.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our trip in Florence. We had an incredible time making pasta, tiramisu, and eating it too! The chefs were great teachers and were very hands-on and fun throughout the process. We even got a book at the end with recipes, things to do in Florence, and where to eat during our trip. I would recommend this class to anyone looking for a half-day cooking class that won't suck up the entire day in Florence, for those visitors only having a select amount of days in this area.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message