Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mary's House

A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

GREAT guide Cejan but the itinerary was weak. Much more to do in the area than visit some re-discoved Christia site from19th Century.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Orkan was our guide and he was fantastic. The limo van had a table and comfortable seats so the ride was enjoyable. Orkan was personable and knowledgeable. His English was good so it was a pleasure to visit on this tour. This visit was beyond our expectations. We had plenty of time to go on our own and while we shopped they all waited until we were ready to depart. You must take this trip on the sites were amazing and if you are religious this is one of the wonders of the world. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Neels E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the private tour to Ephesus July 8, 2016 and want to commend Gokce Tascilar and the drivers for their excellent services and hospitality. Will be remembered for a long, long time - for sure!.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

great guide and location

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Nigel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide - Mr Top. Not at all crowded. Wonderful weather. Flight connections and airport and hotel pick ups perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour in every way! We were staying privately in Istanbul and so an arrangement was made for the minibus to pick us up at a nearby hotel. This would have been easier to arrange if an email address had been provided rather than a local phone number, however, we managed email contact in the end and all went well. All the staff involved with transfers were good at their jobs, prompt, efficient and welcoming. Would be a good idea to tell/remind people to bring passports official photo ID to the airport fortunately we did have ours. Similarly for those who collect frequent flyer points advance knowledge of the airline might help ours was Turkish Air - Star Alliance. The tour itself was absolutely brilliant and our tour guide was much the same. We were very fortunate to have Mr Serhat Top as our guide he was knowledgeable, insightful and enormously helpful. This was no 'follow the orange umbrella' tour! Everything was included in the tour as per the printed information, so this may be more along the lines of a means of alternate gratuity than travel advice: we found that our 5 day Museum Passes bought in Istanbul also would have worked at a number of the sites we visited. Lunch was relaxed outdoors dining.The meal was traditional, simple and very satisfying. The restaurant staff were more than helpful and obliging, especially given my garlic allergy - advised in advance. The cooperative carpet making presentation and demonstration was very informative. We had make it clear to our tour guide beforehand that we were not in the market to buy carpets or leather goods for that matter. The journey home went smoothly and we were met and transferred by the same people who had sent us off that morning. Yes, it is a long day but worth every minute of it. We'd certainly do it again if we found ourselves back in Istanbul. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Jing S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a very smooth and pleasant trip. We booked the group tour, and it turned out to be only us 2. The guide Orkan is very nice and speaks good English, and the vehicle is new and comfortable. The tour to the carpet school was also interesting, though I found the price there is a bit high.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Jonathan N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I was picked up at my Istanbul Hotel on time and efficiently transported to the airport for the flight to Ismir, where I was met by the tour guide. The guide was knowledgeable and informative. The entire tour was well-organized and efficient. there were just 2 of us with the guide--which is not typical, according to my understanding.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Roy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent and fascinating day. I was deeply moved by being at the house f the Blessed Virgin and the tomb of St John. The Roman ruins were spectacular. My guide Gotcha? Was outstanding. I was greatly marvellously by all the staff. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Roy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing tour. Deeply moving to be at the House of the Blessed Virgin and the Tomb of St John. My guide ? Gotca was marvellous, as were all the staff. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. A must if in Turkey. If you are coming from Istanbul, book your own air and sign up for the tour from Izmir, it will save you a lot of money.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Roy E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

An excellent tour. My tour guide Gotca? Was amazing as were all the staff. Deeply moving to be at the House of the Blessed Virgin and St John. Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Robin D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting Ephesus was breath taking , the time there was perfect and the guide was very knowledgable . St. Mary's house was located in such peaceful surroundings . Seeing St. John's Basilica and his tomb was a perfect way to end the day. This is where he wrote his gospel . There is also a castle in the background to view from afar . The Turkish lunch we had was delicious , and I also enjoyed watching the ladies making the rugs . The beautiful rug viewing ,while sipping on apple tea was delightful as well. I really enjoyed the whole day !

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Ihab United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour, you get to see everything in the area with an experienced, knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Christopher O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour and the guide was amazing. Lunch was one of the best meals I had the entire 10 days I was in Turkey. We also got to see carpet making which was really cool. I only put 4 stars because it's a bit expensive.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was awesome. The tour guide was phenomenal he was very knowledgeable, patient, understanding, and did not allow me to skip any of the most important components of the tour. I was very appreciative of how he made sure that I had a great experience. If you love Roman history and the evolution of Christianity, this is for you.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

D D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a very rainy day for the tour, the sights themselves were a must for anyone traveling to Ephesus, Turkey! The highlight of the trip was seeing the ancient library. What an amazing site to see. One request I would like to make is for the tour company to provide a personalized itinerary for the traveler. That would have been extremely helpful. Instead of providing an itinerary or pickup time my hotel room was contacted two hours earlier than expected for a 4 AM pickup instead of a 6 AM pickup, thus causing quite a poor start to the day. Additionally those of us traveling had no idea what the schedule was for the day, so we just had to go with the flow and when the sightseeing tour concluded, we were taken to the airport only to have to wait three hours for our flight back to Istanbul. Unfortunately we had to spend 3 hours in the Izmir airport when we could have possibly been elsewhere enjoying additional sites or shops at the location. All that being said, it was a good tour and is recommended to any traveler passing through Turkey!

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Our guide was wonderful--her knowledge of Ephesus was extensive and she communicated beautifully. All of the travel arrangements were spot on. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pick up was prompt, everyone was very polite. Tour guide was thorough and made sure we each covered the things we wanted and offered many options of other places to see and allowed the time we needed to do what we wanted. Lunch was fantastic and the trip was worth every penny.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Kristin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My guide was lovely and knowledgeable, and the entire tour was well-planned, educational, and at a pace and with the flexibility that was much appreciated by our small group of 4. I would definitely recommend this tour to friends --from Kristin, Washington, D.C., USA, visited August 2015.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Hamid K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humor

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Al was the best tour guide we have ever had. Very knowledgeable and presented the information with an entertaining flair.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Christine L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was well coordinated by Neon travel, very educated and informative guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message