Jamaica ATTRACTIONS See all

Appleton Estate

Largely regarded as one of Jamaica’s best rum distilleries, Appleton Estate has been producing the liquor since 1749, making it the country’s oldest  sugar cane  estate  and distillery.  With its sprawling sugar cane plantations and modern ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really great tour, but expect it to take up the whole day. We left the hotel at 8:30 am. After about an hour and a half ride, we arrived at the black river. This tour was really fun. The guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job getting the crocs to come out and swim to the boat. He even reached over and fed one and grabbed her leg. see pics

The Appleton Rum Factory tour was very informative. The lunch was delicious and the chicken was not spicy at all. At the end they provided all you want samples of 9 different varieties of their rum, which everyone seemed to really enjoy. It was about a 2 and a half hour drive back to the hotel, so I would say it was about 10 1/2 hours total, but well worth it.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Laura United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour!
There were 4 of us on the tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and kept us informed all day about what we were doing. He gave us lots of history, told us the name of the village/town/parish we were entering, and stopped for rest breaks when we needed them. The visit to Appleton itself was really great, lots of info, and lots of rum tastings. The guides there were fantastic and could answer any question.
Our tour driver took us to a local restaurant on our way back for lunch at our groups request. We had a full day out from 8am to 6pm.
We had a really great day, and I would recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Montego Bay

Joanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, it has a lot of variety and it was great value for money. Our tour guide, Ralph, was brilliant and answered lots of questions about Jamaican culture as we travelled to the first attraction. We really enjoyed the Black River boat tour. The guide was really knowledgable about the animals and plants which inhabit the area. YS falls is beautiful, we could only spend an hour there, which was enough time to check out the waterfall but you could happily spend an afternoon enjoying the different swimming pools. The Appleton Rum tour was really enjoyable and they are very generous with the free drinks which was a great way to end the tour!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Melissa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This full day tour provided a great variety of experiences. The tour guide at Black River was extremely knowledgeable about the preserve and the animals and the boat ride was a great break from the beach. YS falls is gorgeous and with a picnic lunch you could easily spend half a day lounging and swimming in the falls, the cold pool and the warm pool. The tour guide at Appleton provided a great background into the history and process and their were great gifts to bring home from the shop.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Day. It is long though, bring a snack and water since the Appleton factory is last. There were only four of us booked that day, we had a great driver Scott and a super guideRalph who was very knowledgeable. I would recommend this as long as you can take lots of driving time.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Connie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Dispite the long bus ride all three places were fun and inviting! We went to YS Falls in the past and were happy that they did not have drought conditions! We loved the Black River tour along with the Appleton Rum Plant!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Darin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour itself was great! All the stops were fun and varied enough so you were not bored. Black River and YS Falls were both extremely picturesque, so make sure to have plenty of batteries for your camera. Appleton tour was extremely informative, even if you have been on similar tours before. I had been on brewery tours, but never liquor so I enjoyed it even more. The tour company used was a great choice as the guides were fun and entertaining. They even placed us with people our own age, making the trip enjoyable. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice smattering a Jamaica culture all in one day. Warning...it will be a long day so prepare accordingly with snacks, plenty of sleep, etc.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

BusyM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing from start to end. The Black River tour was perfect! The stop at the YS falls was only an hour so it was a little difficult to get in the zip line ride that enticed us, but it was gorgeous. The Appleton rum tour was amazing, loved all the rums we tasted. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining; the bus driver, highly skilled! We did NOT forget to tip them. Thank you!!!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Roxanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this tour. Black River Safari and YS Falls were very scenic. The Appleton Rum Estate was very informative and the rum was great. We had an excellent driver. It was a day well-spent.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Beverley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

our trip on the black river safari was just wonderfull,our trip was just 2 couples but we had a blast,ys fall was very beautifull ,really lovely settings,appleton estates was great and our guides were very knowledgeable,i would gives this tour 10 out of 10

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

wanda z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a very nice day. We were picked up early 8:00am at our resort. We had a lovely tour guide Lisa. She was friendly and professional. The driver was excellent at handling the bus! We headed to the Black River Safari. This part was fun our guide loves his job and enjoys taking about the birds and wildlife. YS Falls was amazing. It is very beautiful. The guides are freindly and will take your pictures as you explore and swim in the falls. We enjoyed this part of the trip very much. The lunch provided was very good. There were several choices for lunch. So, after exploring the falls area lunch was served. There are nice and clean changing rooms by the natural pools so you can change out of your swim gear. Then on to Appleton rum tour after lunch. This is the furthest part of the trip. It is well worth the drive. We toured the factory, learned the history, and sampled different rums. There is a rum store there...but honestly wait until you get to the airport the rum is cheapest there. (You can pack it in your carry on.) Then back on the bus to head back to our resort. We returned to our resort about 6:15 pm.The bus was clean and comfortable. The drive back was long and bumpy. But that would be the only negative, can't help the roads are rough. This was a wonderful day. It truely was worth the time.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

MARCIA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was the best tour we had been on while in Jamaica. The driver and the tour guide introduced themselves to the group. They gave us local history and fork lore that made the long 3 hr trip enjoyable. We stop for a break and they let us take pictures at a beach. Get something to drink and just stretch our legs. The riverboat captain was great he told us about the crocodiles and he even had one come to the boat so we could take a picture up close. YS Falls was beautiful My sister really enjoyed this part of the tour. We were given time to explore on our own. The climb up the stairs to the different levels of the waterfall was difficult at times, but they had guides to help you. The Appleton Rum Estate was nice. They greeted us with a rum punch when we arrived. We had a traditional Jamaican meal of Jerk chicken,peas and rice and local vegetables. On the drive home the driver stopped so we could buy snacks from the local food vendors along the road. This tour gave you a real since of life on the island.I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great our, friendly tour guide and bus driver. I left my phone on the bus after being dropped off at our hotel and this was returned to me the next morning when I met the driver at reception. The crocodiles are great to see and the trip up the river is very relaxing. The Y.S Falls are amazing and very different to the Dunn's Fall which we visited the week previous. My girlfriend and I felt that more time at the falls, maybe 90 mins instead of the given 60 would be a good change. Time spent changing before and after getting wet takes time out of this already short time here at such a beautiful place. The Appleton rum tour was shorter than expected but still great to see and sample their large variety of rums after the tour. The price was far less than what our rep quoted is also, we wish we'd tried booking through trip advisor from the start.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Victor P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Black river was cool but we should have gone up the river further. We kept kept looking for crocks at the bottom that didn't come out. We switched Appleton and YS which was good because after appleton you really needed a swim.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Alyssa W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The drive is a little scary, with the hills and how narrow the roads are however, this tour is so worth it.
The tour guide was so knowledgeable and sweet. Any question you asked was answered and if the answer wasn't known she found out and let you know. The samples of Appleton rum are the small bottles but good. You do get to taste test many varieties. Also, the tour guide could tell you what your favorite rum would be and she was spot on! Great tour!

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Montego Bay

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

fun trip but long ride from and to Negril. great hostess and driver, loved the Appleton tour

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

rick d

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The experience of travelling the Jamaican counrty side from Montego Bay to Appleton estates was wonderful. The trip was 2.5 hour ride with a 2 hr tour. On the way back we stopped for some autentic jerk chicken and pork with some festival. Avian our driver was awesome, very informative and provided a very relaxing day trip for us.

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Montego Bay

Megan L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The drive to Appleton Rum Estate was long, but beautiful. Our tour guide let us stop and get a beer at a local stop, try new fruit from a fruit stand, and even get jerk pork from a side of the road stop! Our tour guide was informative about everything from the towns we were driving through to politics and history. His information and cool stops along the way made the long drive worth it. The tour itself was informative and the tasting was great. I would note that the 'free bottle of rum' is a mini bottle that only contains a shot of alcohol.

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Negril

Laurie A. F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The safari, YS falls, and Appleton were all great. However be Aware from Negril it's a 3 hour drive. Also everything was a bit rushed, and we only had about 10 minutes for rum tasting. The dinner provided was delicious jerk chicken. We would chose this tour again.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Laureen B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour was wonderful. Ladies on the bus were funny and friendly and made the bus ride fun even though we had a small group that was pretty low-key! Drive was about 1.5 hours but well worth it. Crocodiles on Black River were HUGE and this was totally a cool stop. Beautiful mangrove scenery. The YS falls were also beautiful and the guys there help you walk on them and take photos for you for tip - excellent photos! We of course wished we stayed longer at falls than 45 min-hour, but understand we are fitting in 3 tour places. The Appleton Estate was awesome also...beautiful scenery and mountains, and such a smaller factory to produce so much rum - WOW. My only comment was when I tried to call Tourwise Limited via phone number on voucher to confirm hotel pickup location/time, it kept ringing and no VM machine. Then I found their Facebook and website online and also emailed two different email addresses. I was so worried first days of trip that this wasn't legit as they had no way to contact them via email or phone number. So it would've saved me a great deal of worry to have finally had Tourwise Limited email me back, or have a voicemail machine and call me back. This was the only disappointing part. What if I had changed hotels and had no way to contact them? I also wrote VIATOR.COM customer service to ask for another phone number or contact info. You say you get back to us in 12-24 hours or 36 hrs in extreme cases. I NEVER HEARD FROM YOU. So you're customer service failed. Not sure if I will book a tour through your website ever again. So tour, when we got picked up, wa GREAT. But these details were not and that's why the 4 and not a 5.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

jennamarie.mitchell

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

YS Falls was the best part! It was fun to jump off the falls into the water below! :) The Black River was cool also, and it was neat to learn so much about the local wildlife (and get upclose with crocodiles!). Of course the rum factory was a hit! Beware, it stinks but you get used to it after awhile. Also, be ready to spend a lot of time driving. All three places are fairly distant from eachother and it was close to a 3 hour car ride back to our hotel in Negril from Appleton.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Randall T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I'm rating this tour as a four star only because of the very long bus ride along a terrible road. The bus bounced around alot and it took approx 1:45 mins to get to the Black river Safari. The actual events were very good. Black River, excellent. YS Falls Beautiful and Appleton Tour, excellent.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Lynnae H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Our tour was good! We got shifted to a tour that included the Appleton estate and it ended up being a highlight. Our tour guide was fun and friendly and kept the discussion on track. Our first stop was the Black River and our guide knew just where to find the crocodiles in the river. The second stop was at YS Falls. Gorgeous to be sure, but maybe not enough time allotted for the location. Appleton was delightful! The rum punch was the best as well as the lunch! The tour was informative and fun. It made me feel like I was on a plantation tour. The all you can sample rum made the long ride back to Negril tolerable and nearly enjoyable!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Marc S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour is interesting and the grounds are beautiful, but you don' see much of the actual production. It is mainly history of how rum was made in the past. Rum tasting is crowed and uncomfortable in a very small room. The ride from Montego Bay to the Appleton Estate is long, rough, and dangerous.

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Montego Bay

dawn b

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Long, long day...most of it on a bus. Appleton tour caps off with all you can drink samples!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message