Jamaica ATTRACTIONS See all

Falmouth Cruise Port

The town of Falmouth on the northern coast of Jamaica is one of the largest colonial historic districts in the Caribbean and is home to the Historic Falmouth Cruise Port, the newest cruise port to open on the island. Founded in 1769, Falmouth was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Darlene M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the ride through the country side our guide provided a lot of facts and trivia. The Bob Marley museum and site has to be experienced! LOL. adult content. I would recommend as an excursion especially if not into port shopping. I bought some great spices from his mother's recipes. Nice band provided a great respite. I would caution people with walking difficulties.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Bob Marley Experience

Paul R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Transport to the shore excursion was difficult. We had to wait under a large white tent located within the gated area owned by the cruiseline. The tent is located to the left of the main walkway into the town of Falmouth. There was no one to help us find our ride.The ticket was for a 1p.m. pick-up however, the ship was using eastern standard time and Falmouth is an hour behind. We were unsure whether we would be picked up on ship time or local time.
Eventually, a driver appeared to pick us up. Upon leaving the gated area, we were taken to a seedy back street parking lot and told to switch vehicles. This alarmed my wife greatly. I then noticed that the second vehicle did not have the window stickers the first vehicle had which, apparently, was needed to get into the gated area. My suspicions were confirmed since we were dropped off outside the gates upon our return.
The location was about a one-half hour drive away from Falmouth. The river was fairly swift with mutiple mini-rapids. We had a guide with us in the water who steered us away from rocks, saw grass, etc. We went about three miles down stream. We then were taken by boat to Bengal Beach which is at the mouth of the river. The driver met us at the beach and took us back to Falmouth. The whole excursion took about two and one-half hours from door to door.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Jean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour, just be aware that the 2 person kayak is no longer available. We ended up doing the single kayak instead which was fine and probably more fun in the end. The rapids are small and easy to manage but you still will get a rush out of them, great for kids. The river and shores are clean and the water is warm. Guides are friendly, attentive and most helpful if you get snagged.The equipment is in good order. We booked direct, pickup, tour and return to ship were easy and on time. Have fun !

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Rio Bueno Kayaking Adventure in Jamaica

Tyson V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The team was fantastic. Outside of a small glitch and waiting for pickup, we had a very nice van ride to and from the Falls, and had a great recommendation for lunch. I would have hoped for perhaps some water on the long-ish drive to the falls - but we were fine without. George was a fantastic driver and a great guide. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Joan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Not the zipline place I had booked! Thought we booked Zipline Jamaica and ended up at Chukka Tours!! When I questioned staff was told they were closed down and Chukka took over!! We are so disappointed that Viator did not inform us of this change . Even thought the staff was very nice we felt like the 5 of us were an extra 5 people the tour guides were not expecting. We use Viator for most tours every where we go but will rethink using you next time!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaican Zipline Adventure

valeriegulliford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour all around ! Driver Tony picked us up on time and was very helpful and knowledgeable about area. Rafting trip was spectacular ! Our raft Captain- Delroy was a delight ! Can and #39;t say enough on how beautiful and relaxing and entertaining this trip was!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Sharon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Jamaican Zipline was amazing. I was a little concerned at first but the guides Blemish and Jerry and the driver Belly were a lot of fun. They made sure we were safe on each zip. They were very friendly and outgoing. Lots of jokes. The travel to the zipline area was past Montego Bay which was a long ride from Falmouth but the guide Greg from Juta Tours was very knowledgeable and shared historical information about Jamaica. I will definitely recommend this trip for those seeking something adventurous and for those in good health. Not for the faint at heart.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaican Zipline Adventure

bibpsych

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide assigned to our group at the Grotto was exceptional. He was very patient with all people on the tour some able to move quickly and some not so much. He shared much knowledge in a friendly and articulate way. The beauty of the caves is wonderful, and the history of its use fascinating. It is a tour not to be missed.
Our driver was accommodating, and answered many of our questions, taking a more interesting route back to our ship.
The only negative, our fault, was when we stopped for a traditional Jamaican lunch, albeit at a pretty place with lovely views and a nice breeze, the prices rivaled the highest price dinner cost in the states for lunch. We thought the menu was given in Jamaican dollars rather than US dollars. oops -- our fault for not thoroughly verifying.
T

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Green Grotto Caves Tour

mhedstrom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So easy to deal with. All the cruise ship excursions combined the caves with Dunn River Falls which we've done already, and just wanted to do the caves. It was super easy to find our driver once we got off the boat, he was very friendly and knowledgable about the island. He dropped us off at the caves, helped us get signed in, we got on the tour, he was waiting when we were done, and took us back to the ship. A perfect time for us, with none of the hassle. The caves were really cool too. The tour was about an hour long, and it was fun learning all the history. Our 6 year old really enjoyed this as well.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Green Grotto Caves Tour

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the BEST time!!!! Both the driver and the guides were AWESOME!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this excursion. I traveled with someone who has a developmental disability and they made the trip very special for her. Can't say enough good things about them. Very kind and funny!!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Roger B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Had difficulty finding driver who was to pick us up at 1pm at the pier- Finally talked to dispatcher who made phone call and finally driver arrived well after 1:40- He flipped the dispatcher a bill and we were off- Nice young man and nice vehicle- We were only ones on tour and seemed as though would not have made contact without the dispatcher- Otherwise tour was fine

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Rafting Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Arthur Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We loved it, but it was a little too short. If you like just being in a comfort zone, not to much choppy water, then this is for you. If you are looking for more waves, then you need to find a different river.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Cotrese S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I had a great tour and would recommend this tour to my friends. My tour guide was friendly and very informative.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Bob Marley Experience

Debjani M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Tour guide was lovely and well informed. The rafting was magnificent. We had time on the beach and the food was delicious. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Rafting Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Leslynn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a blast and a hoot while at the same time
VERY relaxing ! We had Gayle (Rupert) as our
guide who was very knowledgeable about the area,
professional, courteous and friendly. My gal pal and
I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Thank you !

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Claire L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great trip to do when in Jamaica we laughed the whole time we were there, we had a an hilarious guy show us around (captain crazy) a very good day. Not suitable for children.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Bob Marley Experience

Chanel P New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was an amazing experience, better then what I thought it would be.Our guide was humorous fun and had a great vibe. Although maybe not for everyone, if you love Reggae and are a fan of Bob Marley, I'm sure you will get what you want out this tour. I took my 3 teen children and they really enjoyed it to, having grown up listening to Bob, they appreciated it too.The drive from Falmouth (we were on a cruise) was interesting as well seeing the local landscape etc. Thanks for a great day :)

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Bob Marley Experience

Erkki L Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Very simple and yet exiting tour. We took this independent tour through Viator rather than our cruise organizer, because it was cheaper. It was easy to find the driver who met us with his own BMW at the harbor. He was very helpfull and positive and we ended up having a personal trip to the attraction with him. The caves were interesting with bats and even small snakes. The bottom of the caves is well worth the 65 stair climb. The Bond movie live and let die had parts filmed in here.......

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Green Grotto Caves Tour

Jeffrey C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

more like a lazy river rafting experience. Transportation to the site was much later than told so waited for about 45 minutes to get there. Staff was friendly ... no complaints there. Swing was fun. Would have enjoyed swim in river

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Rafting Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had great time! The rafting wasn't scary but a lovely ride on the river. Watching guests on the rope swing was fun. Just wish the white water rafting had been longer!!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Rafting Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Marcia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

My husband and I recently went on the Jamaica river tubing adventure on the Rio Bueno. It was one of our favorite excursions starting with the friendly van driver to the professional staff. The river rapids and scenery where spectacular!!! We would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Carrie Brownell W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

There was a problem with our driver being able to get thru security @ the port, so we had to call the local number and make arrangements to meet outside the gate. The tour itself was great and our driver, Johnson, was very accommodating and helpful. We would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Ricardo N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

A long drive for a half hour tour of some shacks. Not a tour for children. Had difficulty locating driver for tour, he was outside gate.

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Bob Marley Experience

Michael

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

While the rafting portion and beach was nice, the port pickup was TERRIBLE! The phone number provided by Viator didn't work, so it was hard to find the guide. Then, once we found him, he said "wait right here" and never returned. 1 hour later, thanks to another guide's kind help, we found our van!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message