There’s nothing in the world quite like a Japanese onsen experience. These public bathhouses traditionally use natural hot spring water and come in a variety of shapes, sizes and forms. From an outdoor onsen in the mountains with steam rising high ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip. Only suggestion would be that the Onsen could be done after the shopping.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

florianne p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was informative and nice. The onsen experience was the best part of the trip. We would have preferred to stay there longer and forego the outlets.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Layanthi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour. The guide and the company is well organised. Managed to see mount fuji just for 5 minutes because of the weather. But i won't get that chance if I didn't book this tour. Nice timing too. If you are focusing on Onsen spa then book Hakone Kowaki-en Hotel. This is very near to the bus and train stations too. If you booked Price hotel you might be lucky enough to see the mount fuji from your garden.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour delivered exactly what it said it would and then some. Our tour guide - Take - was very informative and entertaining and kept us all to schedule. My hotel in Hakone - the Prince Hakone Hotel - was very comfortable and the onsen bath was luxurious. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Daniela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing expierence, informative tour guide, beautiful onsen expierence, highly recommend. :

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Pattos Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of 3 thoroughly enjoyed this 2 day trip. In fact for me the overnight stay at the Princes hotel in Hakone was the highlight. We opted for the Japanese experience and really enjoyed having a traditional style room and the banquet in the evening was fantastic. This option also meant you had a Japanese breakfast which is something quite unique. My husband also said that the outdoor onsen was fabulous.
As for day 1 with the guide, we had a good day. Luckily this tour includes a trip to the 5th Station otherwise we wouldn't have seen the top of Mt Fuji for the whole rest of the day due to clouds.
The second day you are left to your own arrangements. We decided to make the most of the hotel and checked out at 11am which still left us plenty of time to do the Hakone Cable Car the Ropeway is done on day 1 and then the Romance Car - Heritage Train down to Hakone town centre. We then had a late lunch in the town centre and left with enough time to get to Odawara by 1742 for the prebooked train back to Tokyo. Would highly reccommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Shirley Jean J. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was definitely worth it. What sucked though was that it started raining and snowing so it was too dangerous for us to go farther than the first stop at Mt. Fuji and the Onsen experience just felt too short, but at the same time well worth it BECAUSE of all the rain and snow happening. The staff were very well prepared and explained everything in detail, even in a situation should we be left behind by the bus. Amazing trip and fun tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Josie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The staff were friendly, hospitable and accommodating. Unfortunately, we didn't have the chance to see Mt. Fuji because when we were at the 5th Station, heavy rain and gusty wind welcome us! We enjoyed the Onsen and Gotemba Outlet.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Natalie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic trip!! Visiting mount Fuji was amazing. We didn't get much time there 30 mins but it was just enough to wonder around and visit the shrine at 5th station. We didn't do the Onsen as were not keen on getting naked. However, we were able to do a massage which was fab!!
Lunch was not the Japanese BBQ that is advertised in listing which was annoying as we were looking forward to it. It was seafood which we don't eat so ended up with a veg option which was OK but not quite the BBQ we were expecting.
Shopping was excellent...bit of a rush around but was nice to end the day with a few bargains!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Connee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Stayed at the prince hotel and onsen and it was amazing!! Traditional Japanese style room and meals for a true Japan experience. The view from the hotel room was spectacular! Would definitely go back again.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! We had a pleasant time during the tour. The tour guide, Anne, was a Japanese lady. who spoke English clearly, friendly and helpful. The weather was clear on this day and we were able to see Mt. Fuji. We were at 5th station. The view of Mount Fuji was spectacular! The Onsen experience was relaxable Overall, the tour was excellent.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Kam Joi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a pleasant time during the tour. Our guide, Shima was very informative, friendly and helpful. The view of Mount Fuji was spectacular! The onsen experience was one of a kind for sure too bad it was a little bit rushed. Overall, the tour was great!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Kristene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful tour. Our tour guide Emi was very informative and funny too. Beautiful clear day so Mt Fuji was really clear. The onsen was an interesting experience for a westerner would definatly recommend it. Outlet shops where very expensive but that's the case in every country. All up would recommend your company and this tour :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

akwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was great! The weather was nice so we were able to see the mountain, it was beautiful! We ended up not going into the onsen because tattoos weren't allowed, so we were relaxing in the restaurant. The onsen also offers massage services as well if you don't go into the onsen. There were surprisingly some cool stores at the outlet. All in all, a great sightseeing day and our guide was energetic, funny and very helpful!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Yelcy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazingly great! Mt. Fuji is a must see ,onsen experience was surprisingly nice and relaxing. Lunch by the lake was so exciting with very delicious food! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

PILAR MYNTHIA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful experience! It was a very organized trip-- pick up from our hotel was on time, Shima-san, our guide was very informative and all-around helpful, our bus driver was careful and practiced safe driving, and most of all, we were blessed with a very SUNNY and clear day. Mt . Fuji was picturesque! Wish we had more time at the onsen. The bbq lunch was also quite good and filling. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Karin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day trip!

MT FUJI:
Apparently Mt. Fuji is only visible 100 days out of the year, and we happened to be there on a lucky clear day. Take most of your pictures from the first stop the bus makes at the observation center, because once you get to the 5th station you are ON the mountain, which means you no longer can get those beautiful full mountain shots. Also, try the flavored ice cream inside the first restaurant at the first stop, it's quite tasty!

LUNCH:
We purchased the lunch that was additional and it was a pleasant surprise. Beware of the splatters the grease of the meat causes when grilling, and make sure to wear the apron. You may not think you need it at first but when you take it off, you'll see just how much grease splattered around.

ONSEN:
Get over your shyness and do the onsen experience. Yes, you have to be naked, Yes, it's awkward for the first 5 mins, then you realize how amazing your skin feels from the mineralized water, and you don't want to leave. Tip: you can rent towels there.

OUTLETS:
Meh, didn't find any good deals. But then again I frequently visit the outlets in Florida where I get the best deals, ever. It was still fun browsing though!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Ashley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sadly, it did rain the day we went to Mt.Fuji. However, this didn't stop the tour from being amazing. The bus trip was nice and the landscape was pretty. We started off by going to the Mt.Fuji information center at the base of the mountain. This was cool and you can learn a lot about Mt.Fuji. We then drove up to the 5th station. The rain limited some of the views (it also hide the top of Mt.Fuji) but it was still beautiful. The trees were changing color and the full spectrum of autumn colors were visible. Next we went down and had lunch by the lake. The restaurant was on the 3rd floor and you could see the lake from it. We then went to the Onsen (hot spring). They had 3 indoor springs, 1 outdoor spring and a wet and dry sauna for the women. I believe the men side is the same. I wish we had more time to spend here. We then went to the outlets. This was my less favorite part of the tour. The outlets are in an outside mall. The rain started coming pretty hard around now and it was very cold out. The outlets are mostly international brands and are things I can get here in the US. Overall, I had a great time and this tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Shirley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time, the guide was lovely, the bus very comfortable and the experience a must do. We did this trip the first full day we had in Tokyo and it was great to find your feet. Mt Fuji was terrific (I love horse riding and guess what was available at the visitors centre, it was fun). Lunch was delicious and very Japanese (I am a vegetarian and there was no trouble catering for that). The onsen was a must do, it was a very liberating experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Techa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, informative guide but didn't get to see mount fuji as it was very cloudy; very disappointing. BBQ lunch was great and the Onsen was an amazing first time experience that everyone should try at least once.
overall enjoyed the day and the entire package.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

nandha2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Aurelie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent and so was our guide. We learnt a lot about Mount Fiji, but we weren't lucky as for the weather: it was very cloudy. We weren't able to see Mount Fuji, however, the tour was worth taking. The onsen was amazing and the mall was for every taste. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Graeme N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time with a very informative and humorous guide. One hour at the onsen is unfortunately short, I'd prefer to take an extra 30 minutes out of the shopping, but all in all, it was a great day!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Fe G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful time! Our tour guide, Takei, was the best - very informatve, organized, charming, and funny. The barbecue lunch was great. My niece who did the onsen was ecstatic about the experience. And she also found very good bargains of lego toys at the outlets.

Fe G. , New York City

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Kafi E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message