The Dead Sea is famous for being the lowest point in the world, sitting 1,269 feet (383 meters) below sea level. It is also one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world, and as such, bodies will naturally float in the water. Because of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerardo V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour is a great way to see the highlights in Jerusalem and then enjoy some quality time in the Dead Sea. The explanations of our guide Amir were great and he has a great sense of humor, so the trip wasn't dreary and dull. I don't really like the whole arrangement with the restaurants or shops, since I would rather decide self to which shop or restaurant I want to go, but the ones we had to visit were OK.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

christi_crux17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience! Masada was incredible and the Dead Sea was relaxing

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Priscila M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Amazing.. Beautiful sunrise, the bus was well air conditioned and I felt very safe and the tour guide told amazing stories. I just wish there was more information about the cable cars at Masada. THIS WAS AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE..Ein Gedi was beautiful and the deadsea was also great. It was a private resort area by the Dead Sea with many amenities. I highly recommend this trip if you are into hiking.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our long day with Amir guide and driver touring Masada and Dead Sea. Not only was he a deep weaith of knowledge on all things ancient, he was a philosopher and thought-provoker. In clever and often humorous ways, Amir would set the stage for appreciating the complexities of history and psychology of the people, religion and politics. Bravo!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Rochelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent tour from Jerusalem to Masada and the Dead Sea. Amir was iur tour guide and he was quite informative as well as a pleasure to be with. i recommend this tour and tour guide Amir highly and without reservations

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Lachlan R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic day trip from Jersusalem. I did not know about Masada so this tour was really interesting to discover that. II felt it was a good balance of time between Masada and the Dead Sea. Our guide was lovely and she was very informative, telling lots of anecdotes and interesting facts. Highly recommended

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the Masada and Dead Sea tour and it was Amazing!!! Our tour guide Eli and driver Ossi were awesome. Eli was funny and Very knowledgeable in all areas of the tour from moment we left Jerusalem. We DEFINITELY recommend this Tour. We Had A Great Time!!!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Frank C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good day out with a knowledgable guide and a comfortable tour bus. Long day but plenty of time to stretch your legs and even have a dip in the Dead Sea, would definitely recommend

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent organisation. Visit sites spectacular. Masada is very special. Dead Sea resort was rather crowded. Bus, driver, and guide all very good.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Pawel K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Pretty good, but not thrilling.
Masada is nice/interesting. Dead sea also worth seeing.

Pickup took 90 minutes in total, we finished the tour by 17:30.
The tour guide wasn't amazing, but was pretty good. The tour included all the entrances, so I guess it was relatively cheap.
Especially if you do it on sabbath, when car rental is not possible.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Justin B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Out of the 4 tours my family took on our trip to Israel, this was one of our favorites. Masada is an amazing place, steeped in mystery and archaeological wonder. Given the sheer size, it's impossible to see it all and fully appreciate it in a few hours, but the tour did cover most of the salient points. The view is spectacular. The onsite lunch and service at Masada is bad enough to mention, but then again, we didn't go there for the food or hospitality.The Dead Sea is a weird and wonderful experience, and worth the drive, however the beach we visited, felt more like a public swimming hole packed and somewhat unclean. I didn't mind that it was touristy, it was just changing clothes in a large primitive shack with other strangers that was somewhat uncomfortable. We also showered on the beach in the open air the lines for the proper locker rooms/showers were too long to wait with the amount of time we were given. If you go, try to avoid peak season. In spite of that, the Dead Sea is unique and memorable, and if you're going to Israel on holiday, this destination is a rite of passage. Bring a newspaper to read while you float.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Ludovic H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really nice tour, our guide Rome was very knowledgeable and made the experience fun and educative. Masada and the Dead Sea are must-see sites when you visit Israel, and this tour covers it all in one day trip, returning around 5pm if you're based in Jerusalem like we were means you can also enjoy a full evening in town. One thing I'd change and therefore 4 stars not 5 is we would have liked more time at the Dead Sea, we did manage to get in the water, play with mud, but another 30-45 minutes would have made a big difference to relax a bit more, so maybe shaving some time from Masada, and allowing for more time at the sea. Other than that, highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Liliana L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very good but I would have wished to have more time in the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Lance Owen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favourite tour while in Isael. Both Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning.
I was collected from the pick-up point, which was a 2 minute walk from my centrally located Jerusalem hotel, on-time at 8.30am.
The guide was excellent and knowledgeable about the places we visited and those we passed along the way.
Make sure you take your swimming costume and a towel with you as you'll need them for the Dead Sea resort. Unfortunately, I didn't take mine and had to purchase both items from the beach shop for NIS140 about 30. However, it was still worth it as you can't really go all that way and not float in the Dead Sea!
What really made this trip though was the small but friendly crowd of fellow travellers who came from all over the world but seemed to get on really well. In fact, I ended up spending a very enjoyable evening after the tour sharing a few beers with a fellow solo traveller from Australia I met on the trip.
A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Darren R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour makes what would be a difficult solo, public transport day trip compact and manageable. More time at Masada would have been worthwhile. The tour around the plateau was very quick, with little free time to wander or contemplate. Given how much time was given for lunch and shopping and for the Dead Sea visit, greater balance is possible and desirable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

howard r

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Masada leg of the tour was great. We had plenty of time at the site and our guide Avishai was both informative and entertaining and kept the group together making sure that the stragglers kept up. The Dead Sea was something of a dud. We had great views of it but the part we went to was a tiny beach and bathing area surrounded by a much larger gift and refreshment area. The entire place was crowded shoulder to shoulder including the locker room which is ridiculously small. We also bypassed the Qumran caves which Avishai pointed out as we passed by. Less time in a cosmetic shop we were brought to would have allowed a stop there.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

sofy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip, professional guide, would be nice to have some more time in Dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

kk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable. Most of the day was travel and touring Masada. We spent a couple of hours at the Dead Sea. I think 2 hours is plenty to enjoy the Dead Sea but if you want more time there maybe consider a different tour. Masada was very interesting and guide provided a good overview of the ruins.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Sung Sik P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This trip was good especially Masada! The guide was really good with full of information.
I think dead sea tour was average but it was ok.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Milda N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour was pretty good. I wish we didnt stop for the shopping at the factory, but at least the stop wasnt that long. More time at Masada and some free time there would be nice. Likewise with dead sea. Feels a bit rushed,

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Susan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Would have liked entrance into Masada museum, as well as better facilities at the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Timothy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I would not recommend this trip. It was disorganized . We were picked up late and then placed on the wrong bus. We went to the Ahava storewhich was not on the itinerary which I was not interested in seeing.. It also meant less time at Masada and the Dead Sea. The tour of Masada was so rushed due to the initial delay and then the time spent at the Ahava store We had virtually no time at the Dead Sea for the same reasons. Very disappointing,

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Inna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We did 4 tours with Bein Harim during our honeymoon in Israel, and this was by far our favorite! Masada is absolutely stunning, and it was great having some time to float in the Dead Sea. The tour took about 12 hours from pick up to drop off. Ozzy was our tour guide - he conducted the tour in German and in English and did a fantastic job. He was funny, and full of great information. The bus was large and very comfortable, and made plenty of bathroom stops! Lunch at Masada was delicious and inexpensive. Having done a few of these tours, it seems to all be in the tour guide Masada and the Dead Sea are of course so beautiful, they speak for themselves. Ozzy was organized and had great time management, we felt we had enough time places and didn't feel too rushed though I would have preferred less time at Ahava and more time at the Dead Sea - but others might have wanted to shop, like we did on some of the other tours maybe because the other tours had more stops?. We would definitely recommend this tour and Ozzy, and would go again!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very worthwhile tourwell organized, informative tour guides and an interesting combination of history and archeology Masada and geomorphology and recreation Dead Sea. A great day. Interestingly, on the day of our tour, we happened upon the aftermath of a road accident in the West Bank which turned out to be a terrorist attack on an Israeli settler's car.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Donald M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yawl was a fine guide and gave us much interesting information. Loved the explanations of areas we were passing and the chance to see Masada and take a float in one trip. Only suggestion is to inform guests in advance to brings water shoes for the Dead Sea float.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message