The Dead Sea is famous for being the lowest point in the world, sitting 1,269 feet (383 meters) below sea level. It is also one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world, and as such, bodies will naturally float in the water. Because of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eva Iceland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trip was wonderful, but we needed more time to stay at the Dead Sea, but everything else was wonderful.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour and guide, Amir! He was very detailed on the history of Masada, and used a lot of visuals as well. Would highly recommend seeing this area of Israel including a swim in the Dead Sea!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jerome B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

pretty amazing trip, though I found the tour is too long at mesada. on the way there you get different views of the dead sea and dunes, would have been nice if the driver stopped at a few of these spots on the road for us to take pics. Dead sea was good.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Bridget S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

More of a 2.5 star than a 3, but there doesn't seem to be a half star option. Masada was great and the driver was great, but it was a gong show getting to the tour bus including a taxi driver who was sent to get me when the bus couldn't get to me because of some accident and expected me to know where to tell him to take me. Sort of scary when you're in a foreign city and don't speak any Hebrew and are dropped at what looks like a University with no tour bus in sight. After that misadventure, and finding the right bus around the corner in a whole sting of buses, we were off. The camel stop was ok, the second stop at the Dead Sea cosmetics outlet seemed unnecessary when I discovered later that they had the same products at the gift shop at Masada. Masada was excellent, truly memorable, and our guide knew what he was talking about, so we had a very good tour there. However, because we started late and there was obviously no attempt to make up the time anywhere, by the time we got to the Dead Sea and had changed and had found where the trucks to take us to the water were, we had about five minutes in the water before we were told that we beach was closing and had to run to take the last truck back to the change rooms. Most of us hadn't even had a chance to find the mud. There was no attempt to make up for the mishaps of the morning in any way. I would have appreciated a free drink and snack or something along those lines. Our guide sort of apologized, as in sorry for this morning but it wasn't my fault so I wasn't impressed there. The driver was great and super polite and friendly though. I'd take a different tour company next time to see the Dead Sea, like really see it. Tip: bring flip flops to wear in the water because the crystallized salt is as sharp as glass.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Ari was great. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Everything ran smoothly. It was a little cold at the Dead Sea, but not anyone's fault!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

rmezzara

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip. The guide was knowledgeable and provided good insight into the current state of events in Israel. The restaurant at the Masada was crowded and somewhat disorganized but the best of the situation was made. The dead sea was very crowded that day but we did get into the water and it was wonderful.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Dkrigstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Dead Sea was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Gursharan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A truly enjoyable and interesting day trip to the fortress of Masada, overlooking the Dead Sea. The pick-up and drop-off was convenient and on time and the trip was extremely well-organized, made all the more enjoyable by our guide Rotem, who kept us constantly informed about the sights and the excursion destinations. Both destinations of Masada and Dead Sea are extremely popular so be prepared to share these places with coachloads of other visitors. Having said that, this does not ruin one's own enjoyment in any way! The fortress at Masada turned out to be fascinating, with a fascinating history and a breath-taking location. The tour around the fortress requires a fair bit of walking so comfortable walking shoes are recommended as is a bottle of water. There is a water supply on site so bottles can be re-filled. Walking around the place is not strenuous but do be prepared for some rough ground. The location of the fortress on top of the mesa means that there are opportunities for taking lovely images of the surrounding landscape with the Dead Sea in the distance. The tour of Masada ends at the cafe and this was packed! I'd suggest carrying a packed lunch to avoid the long lines in the cafe more time could be spent at the on-site store or taking photos! The Dead Sea did not disappoint either. It gets fairly busy but the resort is such that coach loads of people disperse and it doesn't feel packed. The tour allowed plenty of time at Dead Sea for a dip and a rest. There is a self-service restaurant as well as other food and drink outlets as well as a souvenir store. For those who have forgotten to carry their swim suits, etc., the store stocks these! Both Masada and Dead Sea were great but I favored Masada over Dead Sea and would have favored more time there. However, that's a personal choice. All in all, a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

dagiles2

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Masada is exceptional! Walking the site, learning the history, and soaking in the views made for wonderful morning. Our guide provided great context to understand the site. After lunch, we drove to the Dead Sea. We had ample time to swim/float and relax before driving back. I gave this a score of 4 instead of 5 because there was a lack of communication about timing - when lunch would end, when to meet after the Dead Sea - that left us wondering and a bit confused. A few extra comments - 1 I was picked up by a taxi in the morning and taken to a common meeting point where all tours operated by the company depart. We then left in a van to proceed with the tour. 2 There was a food court at Masada where people in the tour were encouraged to grab lunch. Prices ranged from 30-100NIS. 3 Individuals were dropped of at their hotels or the airport after the tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Gerardo V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour is a great way to see the highlights in Jerusalem and then enjoy some quality time in the Dead Sea. The explanations of our guide Amir were great and he has a great sense of humor, so the trip wasn't dreary and dull. I don't really like the whole arrangement with the restaurants or shops, since I would rather decide self to which shop or restaurant I want to go, but the ones we had to visit were OK.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

christi_crux17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience! Masada was incredible and the Dead Sea was relaxing

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Priscila M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Amazing.. Beautiful sunrise, the bus was well air conditioned and I felt very safe and the tour guide told amazing stories. I just wish there was more information about the cable cars at Masada. THIS WAS AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE..Ein Gedi was beautiful and the deadsea was also great. It was a private resort area by the Dead Sea with many amenities. I highly recommend this trip if you are into hiking.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our long day with Amir guide and driver touring Masada and Dead Sea. Not only was he a deep weaith of knowledge on all things ancient, he was a philosopher and thought-provoker. In clever and often humorous ways, Amir would set the stage for appreciating the complexities of history and psychology of the people, religion and politics. Bravo!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Rochelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent tour from Jerusalem to Masada and the Dead Sea. Amir was iur tour guide and he was quite informative as well as a pleasure to be with. i recommend this tour and tour guide Amir highly and without reservations

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Lachlan R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic day trip from Jersusalem. I did not know about Masada so this tour was really interesting to discover that. II felt it was a good balance of time between Masada and the Dead Sea. Our guide was lovely and she was very informative, telling lots of anecdotes and interesting facts. Highly recommended

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the Masada and Dead Sea tour and it was Amazing!!! Our tour guide Eli and driver Ossi were awesome. Eli was funny and Very knowledgeable in all areas of the tour from moment we left Jerusalem. We DEFINITELY recommend this Tour. We Had A Great Time!!!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Frank C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good day out with a knowledgable guide and a comfortable tour bus. Long day but plenty of time to stretch your legs and even have a dip in the Dead Sea, would definitely recommend

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent organisation. Visit sites spectacular. Masada is very special. Dead Sea resort was rather crowded. Bus, driver, and guide all very good.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Pawel K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Pretty good, but not thrilling.
Masada is nice/interesting. Dead sea also worth seeing.

Pickup took 90 minutes in total, we finished the tour by 17:30.
The tour guide wasn't amazing, but was pretty good. The tour included all the entrances, so I guess it was relatively cheap.
Especially if you do it on sabbath, when car rental is not possible.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Justin B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Out of the 4 tours my family took on our trip to Israel, this was one of our favorites. Masada is an amazing place, steeped in mystery and archaeological wonder. Given the sheer size, it's impossible to see it all and fully appreciate it in a few hours, but the tour did cover most of the salient points. The view is spectacular. The onsite lunch and service at Masada is bad enough to mention, but then again, we didn't go there for the food or hospitality.The Dead Sea is a weird and wonderful experience, and worth the drive, however the beach we visited, felt more like a public swimming hole packed and somewhat unclean. I didn't mind that it was touristy, it was just changing clothes in a large primitive shack with other strangers that was somewhat uncomfortable. We also showered on the beach in the open air the lines for the proper locker rooms/showers were too long to wait with the amount of time we were given. If you go, try to avoid peak season. In spite of that, the Dead Sea is unique and memorable, and if you're going to Israel on holiday, this destination is a rite of passage. Bring a newspaper to read while you float.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Ludovic H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really nice tour, our guide Rome was very knowledgeable and made the experience fun and educative. Masada and the Dead Sea are must-see sites when you visit Israel, and this tour covers it all in one day trip, returning around 5pm if you're based in Jerusalem like we were means you can also enjoy a full evening in town. One thing I'd change and therefore 4 stars not 5 is we would have liked more time at the Dead Sea, we did manage to get in the water, play with mud, but another 30-45 minutes would have made a big difference to relax a bit more, so maybe shaving some time from Masada, and allowing for more time at the sea. Other than that, highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Liliana L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very good but I would have wished to have more time in the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Lance Owen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favourite tour while in Isael. Both Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning.
I was collected from the pick-up point, which was a 2 minute walk from my centrally located Jerusalem hotel, on-time at 8.30am.
The guide was excellent and knowledgeable about the places we visited and those we passed along the way.
Make sure you take your swimming costume and a towel with you as you'll need them for the Dead Sea resort. Unfortunately, I didn't take mine and had to purchase both items from the beach shop for NIS140 about 30. However, it was still worth it as you can't really go all that way and not float in the Dead Sea!
What really made this trip though was the small but friendly crowd of fellow travellers who came from all over the world but seemed to get on really well. In fact, I ended up spending a very enjoyable evening after the tour sharing a few beers with a fellow solo traveller from Australia I met on the trip.
A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Darren R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour makes what would be a difficult solo, public transport day trip compact and manageable. More time at Masada would have been worthwhile. The tour around the plateau was very quick, with little free time to wander or contemplate. Given how much time was given for lunch and shopping and for the Dead Sea visit, greater balance is possible and desirable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

howard r

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Masada leg of the tour was great. We had plenty of time at the site and our guide Avishai was both informative and entertaining and kept the group together making sure that the stragglers kept up. The Dead Sea was something of a dud. We had great views of it but the part we went to was a tiny beach and bathing area surrounded by a much larger gift and refreshment area. The entire place was crowded shoulder to shoulder including the locker room which is ridiculously small. We also bypassed the Qumran caves which Avishai pointed out as we passed by. Less time in a cosmetic shop we were brought to would have allowed a stop there.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message