The injustice, cruelty and day-to-day absurdities of white minority rule are impressively detailed in Johannesburg’s Apartheid Museum. “Apartheid”, meaning “separateness” in Afrikaans, was officially in operation from 1948 to 1994, though ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neil C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We toured Soweto as part of a full day tour with MoAfrika tour guides that included a visit to the Apartheid museum. We had initial reservations about doing the tour but felt it important to get a feeling for how some South Africans live and the history around Apartheid.
After picking up other guests we headed out to the Apartheid museum. There is a lot to see at the museum and the 2 hours we were given were not nearly enough to read and to view all that was on offer.
Nonetheless we thoroughly enjoyed our experience as it gave us a much clearer understanding of the battle that Black South Africans had to fight to gain their freedom.
After the museum we stopped at the Calabash Stadium where the 2010 World Cup final was held. We then went to the rich part of Soweto and the millionaire houses. It then went on to the middle class areas before stopping at a poorer area. We were shown one of the shanty homes which we found quite humbling. Whilst we felt we were intruding the occupants were happy for us to visit.
After lunch under the Orlando Towers we then visited Vilakazi Street to see the only road in the world where 2 Nobel Peace Prize winners lived. Our final destination was to the Hector Pietersen memorial.
A very good tour with an excellent tour guide Tsholo.

Doing what: Full-Day Soweto City Tour with Apartheid Museum

Neil C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

We took the tour whilst visiting Joburg to try and get a feel for the city. Whilst it covered quite a large area we just felt that something was lacking, that might have been because we went on a Sunday when the city is relatively quiet.
We picked the red tour bus up at Park Station and remained on it until it returned to the station. We visited quite a few sites including the Aparetheid museum,Constitution Hill and the mining district.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Henk d

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The guide was an hour late to collect us from our lodge in Johannesburg. There after it took one and a half hour to collect the other guests. The tour to Soweto and the apartheidsmuseum was interestING, informing and wel presented by the guide. Than it took a two hour drive to bring us back to our lodge.

Doing what: Full-Day Soweto City Tour with Apartheid Museum

Edward L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We took the tour mainly to see the Apartheid museum but we much enjoyed the rest of it too--very informative.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

M E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall the tour was very good . The guides were very informative particularly the 2 men who guided us through Soweto. We did not go to the Apartheid Museum which was also on my tour itinerary . I would have liked to have seen it but my time in Johannesburg was limited so I could not see it another time

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The bike tour is an ideal precursor to visiting the Apartheid Museum. The museum is by any measure as good as everyone says it is, but experiencing it is all the more poignant if you've just spent several hours in Soweto, where the people including the knowledgeable and friendly Viator guides are wonderfully welcoming.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Jamie S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good informative tour.
Not impressed w Carlton Center Observation Deck but the Apartheid Museum and bike tour were well worth it. The small size of the tour group was appreciated and our guide for the day was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Vivian N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

I would not recommend this tour. It did not deliver as advertised. Pick up was 30 minutes late without any notification of delay. We drove by the Carlton Centre but did not go up to the Observation deck. Upon being dropped off at the Apartheid Museum, I was told lunch was not included. When I showed my guide the voucher showing lunch was supposed to be included, he said he would check into what was arranged, but no promises and I should purchase my own lunch at the café. After 2 hours at the museum, I was picked up and taken to Lebo's backpackers for the cycle tour. The bikes were in poor condition. One lady's brakes did not work well, and I got a flat tire. They also charged an additional fee for water which could be purchased at the bar, but the bar did not have any change. This was annoying since the intention of purchasing this tour was for an all-inclusive experience and I didn't bring extra cash for the water I needed given the heat of the afternoon. Also, we did not stop a local shebeen bar. It felt the people involved in this tour were all penny-pinching and taking shortcuts which made the tour poor value for money and felt like a scam.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved the Apartheid Museum...it was a WOW! Spacious and well thought out. Would have been able to spend more time there. Fun to look over the area from the Carlton Centre but the bike ride was really the cream on the top. The guides were very informative and very attentive to those of us with a challenge going uphill. A very worthwhile ride to understanding the history of Soweto and the Apartheid.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message