Johannesburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Constitution Hill

Perhaps nowhere is South Africa’s transition to democracy more vividly apparent than on Constitution Hill. For over a hundred years, buildings here functioned as a much-feared prison complex, holding everyone from common criminals to activists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edward L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We took the tour mainly to see the Apartheid museum but we much enjoyed the rest of it too--very informative.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Leonard Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the perfect way to get around Johannesburg. The commentary is excellent and the sound is very clear. All of the major sights are on the route I would recommend this to every visitor to Johannesburg.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Suzanne W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The tour that was in the description was not what we took. We spent most of the time at Constitution Hill and had to wait 25 minutes for the tour at CH to begin. I'm used to tours that provide lots of information while driving around. Unfortunately there was lots of silence while driving place to place. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Yokia W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a worthy excursion.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Yokia W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a worthy excursion.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

PAUL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the way to see a city that you are not familiar with. The bus goes where tourists want to go and want to see. Safe and time saving. Would do it again in Johannesburg or wherever we visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

friendly tour guide who did a very good job as far as we were concerned

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The highlight of this tour was visiting Constitution Hill. Insist on taking as much time as you need here, as the rest of the tour goes by rather quickly and can you leave feeling rushed. Exploring Number Four - the prison complex that once housed Mandela and Ghandi is quite interesting.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Tanveer A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Tour was good.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Tanveer A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was a great tour and we enjoyed it very much. Tour guide was good also. But very over priced. This place is very close to Johannesburg but we paid too much money for 5 hours tour.

Doing what: Mahatma Gandhi and Satyagraha Private Tour of Johannesburg

Vivian S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

The tour was fine. I would have liked to have more stops in areas where you could engage with members of the community not just landmarks.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

BT M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very good and the people were polite and helpful

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very friendly staff, a well-conducted tour. On-time departures and arrivals. Great intro to the city of Johannesburg. Enjoyed the experience so much I booked a hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town. Recommended!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had bus problems and had to wait for another bus. The company was great though in that they did everything possible to get the tour back on track. It is a great way to get around the city and see a lot.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice and informative. Mark was great.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Siriporn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice arrangement for ones who only have half day or a couple hours in Joburg

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David J G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent way to see Jo Burg - Safe fast clean and efficient. Good value . JoBurg is no a city you want to be wandering around by yourself if you're not familiar with the unsafe areas so this is an excellent way to get about

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Levell E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was outstanding!! Very informative and the hop on, hop off style works very well. You can choose how much time you want to spend and where. Staff was terrific. Buses were right on time. Very friendly and outgoing. Tour is designed extremely well. A plus all around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Brilliant. I had no idea S Africa was so beautiful and the people so friendly. I did not feel unsafe at any stage in the trip. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bill USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

izimmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Perfect tour and perfect employers

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jefery A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, Very affordable way to see several of the top sites.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

yoshihiro T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Short and crispy!! Good for starting tour of Johanesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mr Chris C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jo'burg gets a mixed press, and on the basis of our tour, undeservedly so. Our guide Moses was informative and gave a lively and fascinating presentation of Johannesburg's role in the development of modern-day South Africa. The Constitutional Court was well worth a visit, and seeing the redevelopment of down-town Jo'burg was a welcome antidote to the scare stories one hears. Highly recommended, and I just wish we'd had enough time to see Soweto too under Moses' excellent guidance.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was Hennie of Tourvest. He was very proud of his city Johannesburg and wanted to impart as much knowledge and show us as much as he could during our half day tour. We were lucky to have such an informative tour and I would recommend Hennie for any tour in and around Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message