Johannesburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Gold Reef City Theme Park and Casino

The Gold Reef City complex is built on the site of an old gold mine, and visitors can still descend into the pits and see how the precious metal is extracted. Those in search of their own windfall should head for the casino, where roulette, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised and the guide and driver were excellent. Highly recommended and good value for money

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

PAUL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the way to see a city that you are not familiar with. The bus goes where tourists want to go and want to see. Safe and time saving. Would do it again in Johannesburg or wherever we visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robet D A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding! The red bus tour was great. I loved the narrator and the view from the top of the bus was excellent. The tour of Soweto was good and the tour guide was interesting, but I felt that aspect of the tour lacked a little as our guide left us for a few minutes in the hands of a stranger. We were also nervous about taking a taxi to and from the drop off point. It was 400 rand each way and we had heard scary stories about taxi drivers in Joburg I would pay extra for a ride from the hotel to the drop off point. Over all great!

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Vivian S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a great experience! The tour guide was knowledgeable with a great sense of humor! I would recommend this to anyone who is taking their first trip to Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

robharper_30

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good. well organised and worth the money paid. guide was excellent.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Vivian S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

The tour was fine. I would have liked to have more stops in areas where you could engage with members of the community not just landmarks.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

BT M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very good and the people were polite and helpful

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very friendly staff, a well-conducted tour. On-time departures and arrivals. Great intro to the city of Johannesburg. Enjoyed the experience so much I booked a hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town. Recommended!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had bus problems and had to wait for another bus. The company was great though in that they did everything possible to get the tour back on track. It is a great way to get around the city and see a lot.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Soweto minibus trip was the highlight - it costs extra but is well worth it.

There is a long distance between stops on the hop on/hop off route, which reflects the spread out geography of JoBurg. The Apartheid Museum is a a long way out of town. So in some way the trip is a little boring because of all the time spent going between places, but on the other hand it is very useful to getting you to places which are further from the center of town. I couldn't figure out the public transportation in JoBurg. I used the Gautrain, which was great, but is very limited in where it goes.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Siriporn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice arrangement for ones who only have half day or a couple hours in Joburg

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David J G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent way to see Jo Burg - Safe fast clean and efficient. Good value . JoBurg is no a city you want to be wandering around by yourself if you're not familiar with the unsafe areas so this is an excellent way to get about

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Levell E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was outstanding!! Very informative and the hop on, hop off style works very well. You can choose how much time you want to spend and where. Staff was terrific. Buses were right on time. Very friendly and outgoing. Tour is designed extremely well. A plus all around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Renee S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The hop on hop off portion of the tour was pretty good. But the Soweto tour had a detour due to protesting and rioting that resulted in us not be able to see one of the main attractions.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Megan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely do the Soweto add-on... we had a FANTASTIC tour guide, whose name I can't pronounce but who enjoyed sharing it with us. Plenty to see and do, and a good way to see Jo'burg in one day. Leave time for the Apartheid Museum for sure.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

N.A. d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hop-on Hop-off door Johannesburg is leuk, maar niet bijzonder. De Sowetotour Tours daarentegen was zeer de moeite waard. Indrukwekkend! De gidsen zijn deskundig en weten veel te vertellen.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great. Got to see Nelson Mandela's home and Bishop Desmund Tutu's home. Saw how the people of Soweto live.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Bill USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

izimmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Perfect tour and perfect employers

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lynne K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Good tour but guide needed to know a bit more and give us time to actually go into Mandela's house which would have only taken up a few minutes out of the tour.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Jefery A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, Very affordable way to see several of the top sites.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

wendy v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour covered both the Johannesburg CBD and Soweto. Convenient way of taking in the sights if you don't have too much time to spare. I only had a day and this was an excellent way of seeing Johannesburg. You hop on the bus, plug in the ear piece provided, and finally tune the audio set to the language you desire. It introduces the sights to you throughout the ride. I found the commentary surprisingly informative and a good reflection of the cities role in the history of South Africa. The ride follows a pre-determined loop and you get to see all the main attractions and monuments of Johannesburg. I also joined the extension tour to Soweto, which was a very culturally rich and rewarding experience. Both are highly recommended!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message