Soweto (short for South-West Township) was synonymous with resistance to Apartheid in South Africa, particularly as repression was stepped up in the 1970s and 80s, a time when images of the sprawling district on the edge of Johannesburg were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leonard Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We learned so much on this tour. Our guide Phineas was so knowledgeable not only about Soweto but the history of Johannesburg, he really made this day such a special experience for us. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, had a particularly good guide on the shuttle to Soweto Van and a good on-the-ground tour guide in Soweto - we took the option to walk from the stop before to the Mandella home with the local guide.

Only problem was having to print out the Viator voucher to give to City Sightseeing, that meant a trip to an internet cafe, and login onto my email using their web browser. Could have avoided this by booking direct with City Sightseeing.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Sarah Luo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful!! Would fly back to South Africa just to do this tour again. Anthony was a phenomenal guide-- friendly and intelligent, informed us of all the happenings and rich history of Johannesburg throughout the day. He tailors the tour to the needs and desires of those on the tour, and makes you feel safe and well taken care of the entire time! Nelson Mandela is one of my heroes and when I told Anthony that, he drove me through town to see all the Mandela related sites and exhibits in addition to the normal itinerary. The Lion Park was a great interactive experience with the animals, the food in Soweto was so delicious, the streets were bustling with entertainment, and the Nelson Mandela home visit and Apartheid Museum were so moving and powerful. The kind of tour that leaves you wanting more of South Africa : Fantastic all around.

Doing what: Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park

M E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall the tour was very good . The guides were very informative particularly the 2 men who guided us through Soweto. We did not go to the Apartheid Museum which was also on my tour itinerary . I would have liked to have seen it but my time in Johannesburg was limited so I could not see it another time

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Carlton Centre Observation Deck and Soweto Bike Ride

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up from Garden Court O R Tambo, Very good half day seeing Soweto, made all the better by having the driver/guide 'James all to ourselves.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, saw a lot of Soweto. Guide was really helpful and chatty.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robet D A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding! The red bus tour was great. I loved the narrator and the view from the top of the bus was excellent. The tour of Soweto was good and the tour guide was interesting, but I felt that aspect of the tour lacked a little as our guide left us for a few minutes in the hands of a stranger. We were also nervous about taking a taxi to and from the drop off point. It was 400 rand each way and we had heard scary stories about taxi drivers in Joburg I would pay extra for a ride from the hotel to the drop off point. Over all great!

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Riquelmy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Soweto was my favorite part of my time in Joburg. It was the most culturally enriching experience. An absolute MUST DO. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The bike tour is an ideal precursor to visiting the Apartheid Museum. The museum is by any measure as good as everyone says it is, but experiencing it is all the more poignant if you've just spent several hours in Soweto, where the people including the knowledgeable and friendly Viator guides are wonderfully welcoming.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Carlton Centre Observation Deck and Soweto Bike Ride

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Soweto minibus trip was the highlight - it costs extra but is well worth it.

There is a long distance between stops on the hop on/hop off route, which reflects the spread out geography of JoBurg. The Apartheid Museum is a a long way out of town. So in some way the trip is a little boring because of all the time spent going between places, but on the other hand it is very useful to getting you to places which are further from the center of town. I couldn't figure out the public transportation in JoBurg. I used the Gautrain, which was great, but is very limited in where it goes.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Renee S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The hop on hop off portion of the tour was pretty good. But the Soweto tour had a detour due to protesting and rioting that resulted in us not be able to see one of the main attractions.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Megan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely do the Soweto add-on... we had a FANTASTIC tour guide, whose name I can't pronounce but who enjoyed sharing it with us. Plenty to see and do, and a good way to see Jo'burg in one day. Leave time for the Apartheid Museum for sure.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

N.A. d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hop-on Hop-off door Johannesburg is leuk, maar niet bijzonder. De Sowetotour Tours daarentegen was zeer de moeite waard. Indrukwekkend! De gidsen zijn deskundig en weten veel te vertellen.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great. Got to see Nelson Mandela's home and Bishop Desmund Tutu's home. Saw how the people of Soweto live.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Vlad Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great Tour! We loved our guide and the fact that we were able to ride a bike through SOWETO brought us so much closer to understanding the significance of the place.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Carlton Centre Observation Deck and Soweto Bike Ride

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved the Apartheid Museum...it was a WOW! Spacious and well thought out. Would have been able to spend more time there. Fun to look over the area from the Carlton Centre but the bike ride was really the cream on the top. The guides were very informative and very attentive to those of us with a challenge going uphill. A very worthwhile ride to understanding the history of Soweto and the Apartheid.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Carlton Centre Observation Deck and Soweto Bike Ride

Bruce S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was the only English speaking person in a tour group of German Tourist but our tour guide Rudie made the extra effort to provide narrative in both languages ... the visit to the squatter camp in Soweto was excellent and well managed by our tour guide ... well worth it

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant tour of Soweto! Highly recommend. I was very lucky to be the only one on the tour and found it to be very informative.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Maria K United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

We recently booked the half day tour. What was good: Our guide was polite, flexible and accommodating and gave a lot of information bringing to life Soweto, its history and how it is developing nowadays.
No so good: the tour lasted more than half a day and we spend most of the time (6 hours approx) in the van. The vehicle had small windows and it wasn't easy to see outside and that made it feel like a long day.
What could be better: More scheduled stops and more opportunity to interact with locals.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Christine H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Seeing Soweto from the point-of-view of a resident was well worth the time.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message