Formally known as the South West Township, Soweto has historically been synonymous with resistance to apartheid, South Africa’s former policy of racial segregation. In the 1970s and '80s, the sprawling district on the edge of Johannesburg was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shirley A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I totally enjoyed my trip in Johannesburg. Anthony, my guide was wonderful, and by the end of the day he became a friend. We ate wonderful barbecue under the Soweto Towers, surrounded by real S. Africans, not tourists, and I really enjoyed watching them enjoy their Sunday afternoon. My time at the Apartheid Museum was a wonderful experience. I sure learned a lot, and truly admired the sacrifices made by Nelson Mandela and the other braves people who worked so hard to bring about change. I saw many results of that on the rest of my trip through an amazing and beautiful country. The only disappointing thing about my day was our failure to get to the Lion Park, due to traffic congestion.

Doing what: Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do tour for any one who visits Jo'burg and wants to find out about its past and present. The guide/driver Bobo picked us up on time and took us first of all to the football stadium, explaining all about the surroundings on the way. Then to Soweto for a drive around the different areas before we left the bus for a walk through the slums - one of the inhabitants led us round and took us to his home. After this it was off to see the Hector Pieterson memorial and Nelson Mandelas house. In the afternoon we went to the Apartheid Museum, Constitution Hill and the courts and then up the tallest building for a panoramic view of the city.
We got so much out of the day, enhanced by Bobo's knowledge and friendliness.
Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Johannesburg Highlights: Guided Day Tour

alrob360

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome! Incredible! Fantastic! These words or any words cannot describe the fun, excitement and knowledge gained from our tour of Johannesburg, South Africa. I traveled with my wife, who was attending a conference in Johannesburg recently. She had one full day to enjoy the town prior to the start of her conference. I picked this particular tour since in included all the popular spots in one day. To start with our driver Antony picked us up from the hotel. Another conference attendee ask to join us and Anthony had no problem including him for no additional charge. We started at the Lion Park which was fun and like a mini safari. The next stop was to be the cultural center. I explained to Anthony that we wanted to see and interact with the people more than doing tourist stuff. He had no problem adjusting the tour to meet our desires. After an incredible lunch at a hot spot frequent by locals, which was included in the tour package, we had a driving tour of most of the popular sites. While driving in Soweto we stopped at the towers where I was able to bungee jump from the Soweto towers. After the jump we hung out with the locals at the restaurant/bar at the towers. We danced, drink, sung songs and had a great time. From there we visited Mandela House and all of the Vilakazi Street sites. We interacted with the people there while Anthony kept the riffraff and beggars from bothering us. We left Soweto and traveled to the more prosperous side of town where we stopped at a rooftop poolside bar with incredible views. It was a full day that far surpass my wildest expectations. During the drive Anthony provide running commentary on the history, political, and economic condition of Johannesburg. We were full of questions and he was able to answer most of them. The ones he was unable to answer at that time he found the answers during our stops. The tour was so good I asked Anthony if he could show me some of the spots we missed on this day another day while my wife was at the conference. He agreed and provided me with a second day tour that included the cultural center and the apartheid museum just to name a few of the spots we visited. This was a trip of a lifetime and we owe it all the Anthony. He was flexible and took us to the places we wanted to see and did the things we wanted to do. Everywhere we went it was as if we were VIPs just because we were with Anthony. His knowledge of his hometown, his sincerity, kindness and openness was simple amazing. He started as my tour guide and ended as my friend, no, my brother from another mother. If you are reading this then you should book. Theres no way it could get any better for the price.

Doing what: Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park

Allan P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A great tour to give you a taster of Johannesburg, an insight into the impact of apartheid and the reality that is Soweto. We actually did the tour in reverse order to what is advertised which meant that it was late afternoon by the time we passed Mandelas house so there wasnt the option to visit as suggested. However, there is a lot to pack in and something inevitably will be compromised.

Personally, we would have preferred more time at the prison known as Number Four and law courts at Constitution Hill by foregoing the Carlton Centre - which houses the tallest building in Africa at 50 storeys not that impressive by todays standards, it is very run down and views are so-so.

Throughout the tour, you are handed over to local guides who were all absolutely engaging and passionate about their subject matter. I say this as this means there is a lot of tipping and a warning to bring extra cash! This is certainly not a complaint - every one of our guides deserved anything given to them.

Highlights for us were visiting the prison, the Apartheid museum and Soweto all incredibly interesting and shocking but important in understanding South Africa past and present.

Just a note of where things could be improved We were picked up from our hotel and then spent more than an hour dodging the rush hour traffic to pick up another couple the other side of Joburg. This resulted in us being late in meeting up with the rest of the group and the tour of the prison had already started. I mention this as this was probably the only complaint of the tour coordinating the pick-ups - particularly as another couple were picked up by another driver from the airport which is just a short drive from our hotel. At the end of the tour, thankfully, all 5 of us that were staying in close proximity were taken back to our hotels in the same minibus!

Doing what: Johannesburg Highlights: Guided Day Tour

Virginia W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Well worth the money. The bus was always on time, the assistants on the bus extremely helpful and I felt very safe all the time. The side trip to Soweto was also very pleasant and worth the visit, although there was not enough time to actually go inside Nelson Mandela's house. One would have to pick up the next bus in order to do that. As the hop-on-hop bus goes only in one direction, one needs to truly plan ahead what sights they wish to visit and allow enough time to do it.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Leonard Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We learned so much on this tour. Our guide Phineas was so knowledgeable not only about Soweto but the history of Johannesburg, he really made this day such a special experience for us. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Karina United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent! Anthony arranged all the details over whatsapp which was convenient as I didn't have international roam. What I appreciated the most about the tour was how flexible he was in tailoring it so I could see places of interest to me in Johannesburg. He's incredibly friendly and his enthusiasm for his city also made my tour more enjoyable. Going to Soweto was wonderful and safe as too downtown Joburg.

Doing what: Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, had a particularly good guide on the shuttle to Soweto Van and a good on-the-ground tour guide in Soweto - we took the option to walk from the stop before to the Mandella home with the local guide.

Only problem was having to print out the Viator voucher to give to City Sightseeing, that meant a trip to an internet cafe, and login onto my email using their web browser. Could have avoided this by booking direct with City Sightseeing.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Sarah Luo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful!! Would fly back to South Africa just to do this tour again. Anthony was a phenomenal guide-- friendly and intelligent, informed us of all the happenings and rich history of Johannesburg throughout the day. He tailors the tour to the needs and desires of those on the tour, and makes you feel safe and well taken care of the entire time! Nelson Mandela is one of my heroes and when I told Anthony that, he drove me through town to see all the Mandela related sites and exhibits in addition to the normal itinerary. The Lion Park was a great interactive experience with the animals, the food in Soweto was so delicious, the streets were bustling with entertainment, and the Nelson Mandela home visit and Apartheid Museum were so moving and powerful. The kind of tour that leaves you wanting more of South Africa : Fantastic all around.

Doing what: Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park

M E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall the tour was very good . The guides were very informative particularly the 2 men who guided us through Soweto. We did not go to the Apartheid Museum which was also on my tour itinerary . I would have liked to have seen it but my time in Johannesburg was limited so I could not see it another time

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up from Garden Court O R Tambo, Very good half day seeing Soweto, made all the better by having the driver/guide 'James all to ourselves.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, saw a lot of Soweto. Guide was really helpful and chatty.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robet D A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding! The red bus tour was great. I loved the narrator and the view from the top of the bus was excellent. The tour of Soweto was good and the tour guide was interesting, but I felt that aspect of the tour lacked a little as our guide left us for a few minutes in the hands of a stranger. We were also nervous about taking a taxi to and from the drop off point. It was 400 rand each way and we had heard scary stories about taxi drivers in Joburg I would pay extra for a ride from the hotel to the drop off point. Over all great!

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Riquelmy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Soweto was my favorite part of my time in Joburg. It was the most culturally enriching experience. An absolute MUST DO. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The bike tour is an ideal precursor to visiting the Apartheid Museum. The museum is by any measure as good as everyone says it is, but experiencing it is all the more poignant if you've just spent several hours in Soweto, where the people including the knowledgeable and friendly Viator guides are wonderfully welcoming.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Soweto minibus trip was the highlight - it costs extra but is well worth it.

There is a long distance between stops on the hop on/hop off route, which reflects the spread out geography of JoBurg. The Apartheid Museum is a a long way out of town. So in some way the trip is a little boring because of all the time spent going between places, but on the other hand it is very useful to getting you to places which are further from the center of town. I couldn't figure out the public transportation in JoBurg. I used the Gautrain, which was great, but is very limited in where it goes.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Renee S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The hop on hop off portion of the tour was pretty good. But the Soweto tour had a detour due to protesting and rioting that resulted in us not be able to see one of the main attractions.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Megan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely do the Soweto add-on... we had a FANTASTIC tour guide, whose name I can't pronounce but who enjoyed sharing it with us. Plenty to see and do, and a good way to see Jo'burg in one day. Leave time for the Apartheid Museum for sure.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

N.A. d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hop-on Hop-off door Johannesburg is leuk, maar niet bijzonder. De Sowetotour Tours daarentegen was zeer de moeite waard. Indrukwekkend! De gidsen zijn deskundig en weten veel te vertellen.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great. Got to see Nelson Mandela's home and Bishop Desmund Tutu's home. Saw how the people of Soweto live.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Vlad Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great Tour! We loved our guide and the fact that we were able to ride a bike through SOWETO brought us so much closer to understanding the significance of the place.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved the Apartheid Museum...it was a WOW! Spacious and well thought out. Would have been able to spend more time there. Fun to look over the area from the Carlton Centre but the bike ride was really the cream on the top. The guides were very informative and very attentive to those of us with a challenge going uphill. A very worthwhile ride to understanding the history of Soweto and the Apartheid.

Doing what: Johannesburg Tour: Cycle Soweto with a Local Guide

Bruce S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was the only English speaking person in a tour group of German Tourist but our tour guide Rudie made the extra effort to provide narrative in both languages ... the visit to the squatter camp in Soweto was excellent and well managed by our tour guide ... well worth it

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant tour of Soweto! Highly recommend. I was very lucky to be the only one on the tour and found it to be very informative.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Maria K United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

We recently booked the half day tour. What was good: Our guide was polite, flexible and accommodating and gave a lot of information bringing to life Soweto, its history and how it is developing nowadays.
No so good: the tour lasted more than half a day and we spend most of the time (6 hours approx) in the van. The vehicle had small windows and it wasn't easy to see outside and that made it feel like a long day.
What could be better: More scheduled stops and more opportunity to interact with locals.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message