Johannesburg, at nearly 4 million people over 1,600 square kilometers (625 square miles), is the largest city in South Africa. A truly cosmopolitan city, Jo'burg, as it's often known, overflows with history and culture. From museums to On a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

brookie0871

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was amazing and perfect for me as a single traveller. Organised tours but not stuck being with a group, perfect! the Wild Horizons team were there on time every time and everything worked like clockwork. i stayed in the 4 star hotel option at the safar lodge... OMG i had no idea it was going to be so amazing. and im so glad i didnt waste money on 5 star as this hotel is every bit a 5 star location along with 5 star staff. if you want to do more than the tour activites then you need another day and night. i didnt have time for the rafting, bungee or the boma bbq dinner. so i left wishing i could stay longer... and will come back one day in the winter to see the falls in full glory.

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

Virginia W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Well worth the money. The bus was always on time, the assistants on the bus extremely helpful and I felt very safe all the time. The side trip to Soweto was also very pleasant and worth the visit, although there was not enough time to actually go inside Nelson Mandela's house. One would have to pick up the next bus in order to do that. As the hop-on-hop bus goes only in one direction, one needs to truly plan ahead what sights they wish to visit and allow enough time to do it.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Rhonda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Disappointing. Driver did not include opportunity to go into the Nelson Mandela Museum as described in on the website. I would not have booked the tour otherwise. He just drove past the museum, and only when asked, allowed time to stop and take a photo. We did not get what we paid for. Viator should make sure that its contractors provide the tours described on the website. When I asked why we weren't going to the museum, the driver said that it wasn't included in the price. Instead, he took us to the Hector Peterson Museum, which was good, and to the Regini Mundi Church, which did not add much and could have been eliminated. When I indicated that we would pay for the Mandela Museum, he agreed to a brief visit, time permitting. Of course, time ran short because of another passenger's schedule. Since this was our last day in J'burg, we were unable to visit the museum. I have used Viator before -- in Rome and Florence. I was satisfied on those occasions, and decided to book with Viator this time. Based on this experience, however, I will think carefully before booking with Viator again. I took this tour on October10. I will be looking at your reviews to see whether you include this one, so that potential customers will be on the alert.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Leonard Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We learned so much on this tour. Our guide Phineas was so knowledgeable not only about Soweto but the history of Johannesburg, he really made this day such a special experience for us. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Suzanne W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The tour that was in the description was not what we took. We spent most of the time at Constitution Hill and had to wait 25 minutes for the tour at CH to begin. I'm used to tours that provide lots of information while driving around. Unfortunately there was lots of silence while driving place to place. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

James C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Driver was a hour late and didn't now how to get to several places. He did have a good voice but would not recommend this tour with this guide. He left us a lone several times.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised and the guide and driver were excellent. Highly recommended and good value for money

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

beisenherman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jean Graham of Discover Kruger Safaris is the best person to share this incredible experience with on so many levels. Jean was on time, friendly and extremely knowledge. We got to see all of the Big Five and then some. She drove from one spot to another in order to observe upfront and personal all species of animals and birds. I even got to see large white snails. a snake, and a turtle just hanging on the side of the road. The meals and rest spots were perfect.I couldn't think of having anyone else take us out. You have to plan on going out more than once. It is so worth it.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

Annette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good, Lawrence is a great guide!

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, had a particularly good guide on the shuttle to Soweto Van and a good on-the-ground tour guide in Soweto - we took the option to walk from the stop before to the Mandella home with the local guide.

Only problem was having to print out the Viator voucher to give to City Sightseeing, that meant a trip to an internet cafe, and login onto my email using their web browser. Could have avoided this by booking direct with City Sightseeing.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Yokia W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a worthy excursion.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Yokia W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a worthy excursion.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Angela S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good way to see Pretoria. And I have to mention Lawrence who'll make everything so much funnier plus he knows he's history and politics. Great tour!

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up from Garden Court O R Tambo, Very good half day seeing Soweto, made all the better by having the driver/guide 'James all to ourselves.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, saw a lot of Soweto. Guide was really helpful and chatty.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Cornelia Veroni F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great! We saw everthing we wanted to see. Our guide was very nice and polite.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Afrikaneer history shown is Pretoria is both surprising and moving. It was very worthwhile to make this side trip.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Robet D A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding! The red bus tour was great. I loved the narrator and the view from the top of the bus was excellent. The tour of Soweto was good and the tour guide was interesting, but I felt that aspect of the tour lacked a little as our guide left us for a few minutes in the hands of a stranger. We were also nervous about taking a taxi to and from the drop off point. It was 400 rand each way and we had heard scary stories about taxi drivers in Joburg I would pay extra for a ride from the hotel to the drop off point. Over all great!

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

sanjiv

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Pretoria is a nice city but the tour felt rushed.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Chris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

friendly tour guide who did a very good job as far as we were concerned

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Soweto was my favorite part of my time in Joburg. It was the most culturally enriching experience. An absolute MUST DO. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The highlight of this tour was visiting Constitution Hill. Insist on taking as much time as you need here, as the rest of the tour goes by rather quickly and can you leave feeling rushed. Exploring Number Four - the prison complex that once housed Mandela and Ghandi is quite interesting.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour gives you some insight on the colonization of South Africa by the Dutch. It definitely helps you understand the present culture and why things are the way they currently are.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Vivian S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a great experience! The tour guide was knowledgeable with a great sense of humor! I would recommend this to anyone who is taking their first trip to Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

robharper_30

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good. well organised and worth the money paid. guide was excellent.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message