The South African city of Johannesburg is main international gateway to the country, but visitors tend to get on another flight fairly quickly and head for cities like Cape Town or Durban. There's enough to see and do in Johannesburg to keep you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Stayed at the Green Fire Lodge is why this gets 5 stars.
Technically not Kruger, but Greater Kruger. No fences in between, so animals can wander in between, but just be advised. I would 100 still book this.
Green Fire is brand new, rebuilt in 2012, so the entire lodge is GREAT! Amazing staff, amazing food! Also, they don't take their safari vehicles off the roads/paths a big plus! as they are not damaging or killing trees or small wildlife or actively chasing animals through the bush. I loved seeing the animals more naturally and not being chased. Didn't miss anything from this.

Book this, especially if you can select Green Fire!

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

Graeme T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This Tour was sensational although with travel time, 4 days is hardly enough. We stayed an extra 2. Our accommodation was not with the stated lodge but rather with Drifters Game Lodge. Lucky us! because we were spoiled rotten by a gorgeous couple Adrian and Kim. The resort is spectacular as well. Almost new with beautiful individual bungalows with ensuites, overlooking an amazing wide sandy riverbed. at times we had heards of Elephants meandering past along with the occasional Rhino or Water Buffalo. The food here was 5 star as well passionately prepared by James. They even baked me a birthday cake! Prices for drinks was very reasonable and R50 ($5) took care of the washing. As for the Safaris, their resident guide and tracker Karl showed his skills in hunting us down the 'big 5' plus a host of other animals and birds. I can thoroughly recommend this tour but strongly suggest you request to stay at Drifters Game Lodge

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

JAIRO ANDRES B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and fantastic location for a short Safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Ramesh J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very good driver who also double up as tour guide. He was very keen that we spot all the animals.. He took extra efforts so that we could take good pictures. Thanks to him, we had the best safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Pilanesberg was very good. If you've done safaris in Tanzania and Kenya you may be a little disappointed, but if you have never seen animals like this close-up, it is superb. Sun City is good if a bit odd. The Las Vegas of Africa, and all that implies. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Lisa T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This trip was amazing. There were seven of us on the trip so we had a small minibus to drive us up there. The driver pointed out lots of interesting things on the drive. We managed to get a whole safari jeep to ourselves other jeeps were full with 25 people on board (I think other people were jealous). We then went off to sun city and spent a few hours in Valley of Waves. This was an extra £12 and we were only there for two hours but we enjoyed it. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

lovesy

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

For a first time safari adventure it was great. Driver and guide were entertaining and educational. We didn't see lions but saw all other animals even an elephant as close as 2ms from the truck. We were the only ones on the trip so got more than our moneys worth. Sun City is Vegas in the savannah, not our thing so after a quick bite and walk around we headed off. Photos to come....

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

GUOJUN Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I just saw a few animals in Pilanesberg safari.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

TKG

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

keiths

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

the safari was great...though prob would have been better if we had arrived earlier, started off at 7am so was almost 10am by time we got there. Sun city was a waste though so we cut it short and asked our guide to take us to the Lion park we had passed on the way so got to pet the lion cubs.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message