Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Juneau Cruise Port

Juneau’s cruise port is right by the historic downtown area of the city, perfectly located for shore excursions, dinner, shopping and entertainment while you’re cruising Alaskan waters. Founded during the gold-rush days, Juneau is a terrific port ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 695 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was fabulous! We had Ben and Jerry ok, Jeremiah. They were able to get us very close to the whales. We saw the bubble net feeding an incredible nine times. At one point, the whales were so close, going from one side of the boat to the other, Ben had to turn the boat off and drift. An incredible experience!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Clare B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw several pods of humpback whales that were bubble-net feeding. It was thrilling. Also there was an Orca bull that we saw for a few moments. It was a great ride.The crew was very knowledgeable and made the cruise even more interesting. They provided hot drinks or water and fed us a half bagel with smoked salmon cream cheese.There was also a bathroom on board, just in case.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Marvin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding tour. Our guide who drove us from event to event was informative and friendly. The whale watching was just amazing - we saw numerous whales and the ship and crew were fun and supportive. We had just enough time at the Mendenhall glacier - see it now, as it continues to recede and is considerably smaller than when I saw it 12 years ago. The salmon bake was first-class, and a great way to finish the tour. The food was great and the venue was inventive - they even had a fire for toasting marshmallows. Overall a great experience and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Captain Kyle worked hard to find the whales and we saw both Orca and Humpback whales. Exciting!
Our tour at the glacier was awe-inspiring. Beautiful!
Mike

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved everything about this trip. Our captain and his mate were so informative and we were even lucky to see a number of whales!! The bus trip to Mendenhall Glacier again was very informative and the scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Annette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alex and Emma were great! Emma gave us an overview about whales and Alex knew exactly where to go. A huge bonus was seeing a whale breach right in front of our boat just a few minutes after Alex stopped the boat. A great tour price for a smaller group of people--well worth it!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw TONS of whales, both orca and humpback. We also saw sea lions, and bald eagles. The whales were very active, and we saw very unique behaviors of bubble net feeding, and breaching. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was not obvious where we were supposed to meet this tour, but after asking several people, we were able to find our tour. The driver to the boat was great with lots of information about the city and the area. The whale watching cruise and the Mendenhall Glacier visit were fantastic. We saw a large number of whales and had plenty of time to visit the glacier. Outstanding excursion!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

vshorten

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All I can say is you should go and do this trip it is amazing.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Seema R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing. Josh and Alex were awesome guides - knew the area, knew the spots to go to and got us there. Great customer service with snacks, water, and laid back personalities. Bonus - MUCH cheaper, and smaller vessel to get closer to whales than the cruise line. I was not paid to do this, and rarely leave positive reviews but these guys deserved it. Would absolutely recommend them to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Steven and Amanda were wonderful. We shaw a whole group of whales come up for feeding even before we stopped the boat. The show continued even after we had left. It was a most wonderful experience. The walk to the waterfall near the glacier was easy and worth it. The walk on the other trails was great because we saw the king salmon try to make it upstream to spawn. Great trip.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

very good tour we saw lots of whales would highly recomend

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What could be more majestic than seeing whales surface and breech. What a thrill! The guides were knowledgeable about the whales, the boat was stable and fast. The captain was sure that both sides of the boat got to see the whales and made an attempt to follow them. Mendenhall Glacier was great, just be aware that this tour will not get you on the glacier, just close to it. The salmon bake was enjoyable. Salmon baked over an open fire, great sides and live music while we were there.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

tcbcshopping United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super excursion! We did not see Orka's, but saw humpback whales bubble-net feeding. Tell guide to skip salmon bridge and give you enough time at Mendenhall Glacier to walk to water fall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The crew was nothing short of great, great great. Their excitement topped ours. It was so much fun. This company shows the whales all the consideration they deserve. They approach them with great caution.
Marty, Norma and Granddaughter Joy

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

wavifig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME. Saw soooo many whales. Learned a lot and enjoyed the boat ride. The staff was wonderful and the whole thing was an amazing experience. We didn't even mind the weather being wet. Also enjoyed the glacier and Nugget Falls. This is certainly another revisit destination.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mendenhall Glacier was impresive but very crowded and touristy. Not the fault of the tour company!

The whale-watching portion was phenomenally good. We happened to be doing this tour while bubble-net feeding was happening, and got to witness an incredible show. Hats off to Juneau Whale Watching and our skipper and crew, Jason, Emma Naturalist of the year, reportedly and John.

The city tour part of the package was narration while on the bus and was enjoyable and adequate.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best Whale watching tour I've ever been on. The wales really put on a show for us. We had them come up under the boat and could have almost reached out and touched them. Crew was great, captain did everything to make sure everyone saw and got to photograph the wales.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Constance D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Way better than I expected. The crew went above and beyond our expectations! Would do this tour again

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure

Hitesh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was our one of the best excursion. Capt. Steve and Emma did the nice job, we couldn't ask for better.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Erwin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although the weather was bad it was a great experience. We saw such a lot of whales - thanks to Jason, Jon and Emma

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Susan R Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well done - great guides on the boat who led us to whales. Bus driver was informative and helpful. Loved Mendenhall Glacier!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was amazing! Our city tour driver, Bea, was great! Not much to see in the city but she was very interesting and entertaining. Glacier was unreal, got to see salmon spawning. The real treat was the whale watching! Amanda was very knowledgeable and fun. We saw a huge pod of 13-15 whales. Great experience. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message