Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 296 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Russa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. They picked us up on time and the bus driver gave great info on way to glacier. We were able to hike to the beach and falls. Whale watching was great. The boat was really nice. Captain Ken and Ashley were informative and excited. Saw lots of whales and wildlife

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. John and Troy were superb. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Janice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our tour. Easy access from the ship and we saw several whales. Then we went on to the glacier and was returned to the ship in plenty of time to board.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Brittany E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour ever! First time in Alaska and it was worth the money for sure. We saw alot of orcas and whales, the glacier was gorgeous and the tour of juneau wad beautiful. Highly recommended this trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

JAY C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, especially whale watching. One of our favorite Alaskan excursions.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Muy profecional con equipo de audio guía, mochilita con barras de energía y agua, Erik el guía muy buena onda, te internas en el bosque lo disfrutas y llegas a unos lugares con unas vistas increíbles de la laguna y el glaciar

Doing what: Adventure Hiking and Mendenhall Glacier Viewing from Juneau

Abba United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, the boat is very fast and comfortable, there are snacks and drinks being served by the tour guide, the boat is not crowded and very comfortable, great value for the money.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the excurion very much. The two guides were fun and helpful...my husband has a disability and they could not have been more helpful!
Would recommend this tour in a heart beat!.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

HJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Unbelievable! Magical experience. A challenging, yet beautiful hike brought us to the ominous Mendenhall Glacier. Wow! Our very small group with Above and Beyond Alaska (ABAK) ran into another ABAK group and was able to discover a brand new (that day!) ice cave! Amazing experience. A must!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

Amavin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! We were two adults, two kids (teens) and we all had an exciting and awesome time.Tour guides were excellent and very knowledgeable about the area and sea life.We saw humpback whales, seals, orcas, eagles and lots of beautiful mountains, glacier and waterfall views. A must see!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

gfraz27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat captain did a great job of finding whale activity. Would have liked a little more time at the glacier to complete all the hiking. Well organized and on time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was about the right to see Mendenhall Glacier and take a whale watching trip. We spend an hour at the glacier and the museum. This is after a 15-20 minutes bus trip that was narrated by a local resident. She was well informed and shared a lot of information that you wouldn't get from just any driver. The whale watching trip was a bit of a disappointment. The trip was fine but the whale just weren't there yet. We only say 3 compared to some trips when I have seen over 20. Overall great trip for the money. 10 cheaper than the cruise ship.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Jane United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great guides, great boat and lots of whales!
The Mendenhall Glacier Tour needs to be expanded to give at least another 45 minutes to walk to water falls or take advantage of what the visitor's center provides - short film, ranger presentations, different viewing areas. We wanted to see the glacier from the waterfalls, but could not make the complete walk because we would have missed the tour bus. Other than that we would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Yuki M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I liked the city of Juneau and the tour package was reasonably priced. The first part of the tour is sight seeing of the town and visit to Mendenhall Glacier. Then you take the tramway on your own and have lunch on the top of the mountain. The town is charming, and the walk to the glacier was pleasant. So was the tramway ride. My only complain is that this is not so much of a guided tour. The driver or the guide will give you a ride to places, but she does not come off the bus and explain things for you. If there was a public transportation available, you can do it all by yourself with the help of a guide book. Our driver/guide was actually nice and I am not complaining about her. I just think that it would be better if the guide is more involved so that we have better understanding of the area. Lunch on the mountain was surprisingly delicious. The salmon was properly cooked and the corn on the side was so delicious. Overall I recommend the tour.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Joanne L J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The whale watching portion of the trip was great. The city tour not so much. The guide was great, but could not see out of the bus, the head rests were in the way.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Lawrie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was good with a local guide. The glacier is awesome but we could have spent a little longer there.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Mary D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The sights we saw were so incredible! The tram ride and Salmon meal were wonderful. The glacier park was lovely. The information shared on the bus tour lacked interest. Perhaps the guide could have more training to share the special highlights of Juneau.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

denisedunsing

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Not much of a city tour, but did enjoy the glacier and tram ride. Also, the salmon dinner was awesome!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

csroberson3

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour was okay. Deck hand were friendly, captain was not. Biggest issue we had was the captain staying so far away from the whales. Other boats were getting really close to the whales. We would try someone different next time

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Charlotte P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Directions to meet the tour were perfect. The tour around town was informative, all be it a little boring. After about 40 minutes driving around we headed to the glacier. The bus was climate controlled and comfortable. We saw whales spouting and a few we could see their backs and tails.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Jacqueline B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour was just okay. Hard to make Juneau anything other than the small city it is. Guide repeated himself continually. Would have liked more than 50 minutes at Mendenhall Glacier to hike to the waterfall without hurrying back to the bus. Tram ride gives great view of the area. Dinner was delicious.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Pilar Rosario H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

It was not well- organized. The salmon dinner took so long. We missed the trolley tour.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message