Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natasha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great way to spend your day in Juneau. After not spotting any whales for 1 hour, our guides were determined to show us a good time - we saw mating sea lions, and then, through their determination we changed location and spotted a whale!
Salmon bake was delicious, with very nice staff.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Jennifer M E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was by far my favorite excursion while visiting Alaska. It was about an hour canoe paddle to the glacier. We got to trek around for about 1.5hrs and was about 45min canoe trip back. Our group was pretty fit so the sooner we got to the glacier the more time we had to trek around. Was definitely worth the money. The guides are down to earth and overall was a positive experience.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A must do if you love the outdoors and a beautiful glacier. Sam our guide was great and took very good care of everyone in the group. We all agreed he made the experience a trip to remember for ever. The company had all the equipment that was needed to climb,stay dry and be safe. Everything was in great condition and good working order. The guides are responsible for setting up snacks and equipment so you don't spend all your time at the shop and more time on the glacier. From phone calls direct to vendor/beyondak and the guides everyone was great and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE had an amazing time. Elliott was our guide and he was great! I felt safe the whole time! His assistant I'm sorry I can't remember his name was great as well. They made everyone feel comfortable and experience something that not many people in the world will ever experience. The ICE CAVE was gorgeous and of course the canoe to the glacier itself was breath taking. I recommend this excursion to anyone that wants to experience something different. It is pretty challenging actually trekking on the glacier, but Elliott was all about safety and preparation. It would say go for it if you can before the Mendenhall glacier is gone!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

slepse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A once in a lifetime experience. To walk around a glacier and beneath into an ice cave was an awesome experience. Our tour guide Aaron? was everything we could ask for in a guide.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

Reynold G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Very slow getting off ship due to poorly organized tendering. Whale watch disappointing saw spouts of four whales total, but only two of them surfaced and none breached. Saw more from the cruise ship on return toward Seattle. Salmon bake was fair at best, much better many years ago at Rotary Club bake in Fairbanks. Mendenhall Glacier was nice. Guides were average.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Muy profecional con equipo de audio guía, mochilita con barras de energía y agua, Erik el guía muy buena onda, te internas en el bosque lo disfrutas y llegas a unos lugares con unas vistas increíbles de la laguna y el glaciar

Doing what: Adventure Hike Along Mendenhall Glacier and Alaskan Beer Tasting

ajith.rajeswari

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good:
- Organized well , from start to end
- Describes each sights during the tour
- Friendly staff
- Awesome sights Ice cave , glacier, lake, iceberg etc

Bad:
- Pace is a bit fast
- Less time in sights including ice cave
- Paddle with no stops Lake is one of the best sight -- not even 5 mins stop
- Less time for photography Not recommended for photographers

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

Adriana B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Pretty underwhelming and expensive for the type of trip. I thought the trek was going to be a bit longer and way more interesting. Big lack of organization since they mentioned one hour but we ended up leaving hours later. The paddle to the glacier was hard and exhausting since some people weren't fit for it and it was just an ok view.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

kathchristy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saw the most incredible sightings of orcas and humpbacks up close. A very memorable viewing of the glacier and great salmon bake. Lots of food and tasted great.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

marianne789

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we had a great time one of the bucket list check. The Guides where the best Dylan, Mike, and Luk.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Canoe Paddle and Trek

Alyssa Flora R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Liam was awesome and very knowledgeable. The day we went, the rapid were tame. Wish it was more exciting, but can't control nature. Snacks were tasty!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

MARTINE P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Peu à dire sur cette observation: 3 baleines dont 1 seule nous a montré une nageoire. Nous sommes restés sur notre faim malgré l'optimisme du personnel. Peut-être y avait-il quelques phoques dans les parages mais on ne nous en a pas parlé. Dommage!

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even though it rained, the rafting tour was very enjoyable due in part to Rex, our GREAT tour guide. The scenery was amazing and the rapids were thrilling but not to point of death defying! Our group was pretty lively and we gained knowledge and friends.I think you will enjoy it even if you are a beginner, as I was.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

dhudson52

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We were very satisfied with this excursion the guide did an excellent job the weather was perfect

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Ken F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you enjoy a moderate walk in the company of an informative guide (Eric), with spectacular views and sometimes challenging terrain. Then you should enjoy this tour. The service provided is outstanding and you will struggle to find fault with your experience. Enjoy!!!!!9

Doing what: Adventure Hike Along Mendenhall Glacier and Alaskan Beer Tasting

Ahmed M. B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I was expecting more and the buffet was not to my expectations.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Elaine Chan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marvellous experience! Love the tagline of "Full refund if Whale are not spotted". We were surrounded by whales and spot a hill of sea lions. Dinner at Salmon Bake is good as well

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Terrific experience with my 8 year old granddaughter - you put in at the lake close to Mendenhall, not right in front of it, but you still get gorgeous views. The short time on white water rapids was very fun. Our guide was terrific and knew a lot about the geography of the area. Customer service was outstanding - we accidentally got on the kayaking tour and missed our rafting tour. A rep from the company came to the rafting site, took us back to the ship, showed us exactly where to be to pick up the rafting tour and got us on the next one. I was so impressed that they were so accommodating and kind. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Mildred Fay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had the best float trip ever. Beautiful scenery and amazing guide. We felt the tour people really talk care to see we were well taken care of. We will do it again. It was amazing

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was great. the Tour guide was young, energetic, and was having fun with us. He made sure the group had a good experience individually and collectively. One really good aspect was while the ship's large tour buses were being loaded and everyone herded, we had a small group that bussed together and did the tour together. The trip itself - lake, glacier, and river were just terrific. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely stunning scenery. I would have enjoyed a little more white water, but my eight year-old said it was perfect!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and two boys, 18 and 13, absolutely loved it. It was raining most of the time but our guide, Sam, was so energetic and fun that we could have cared less about the rain. Super fun. Do not miss this!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message