Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natasha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great way to spend your day in Juneau. After not spotting any whales for 1 hour, our guides were determined to show us a good time - we saw mating sea lions, and then, through their determination we changed location and spotted a whale!
Salmon bake was delicious, with very nice staff.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Reynold G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Very slow getting off ship due to poorly organized tendering. Whale watch disappointing saw spouts of four whales total, but only two of them surfaced and none breached. Saw more from the cruise ship on return toward Seattle. Salmon bake was fair at best, much better many years ago at Rotary Club bake in Fairbanks. Mendenhall Glacier was nice. Guides were average.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Muy profecional con equipo de audio guía, mochilita con barras de energía y agua, Erik el guía muy buena onda, te internas en el bosque lo disfrutas y llegas a unos lugares con unas vistas increíbles de la laguna y el glaciar

Doing what: Adventure Hike Along Mendenhall Glacier and Alaskan Beer Tasting

kathchristy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saw the most incredible sightings of orcas and humpbacks up close. A very memorable viewing of the glacier and great salmon bake. Lots of food and tasted great.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Alyssa Flora R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Liam was awesome and very knowledgeable. The day we went, the rapid were tame. Wish it was more exciting, but can't control nature. Snacks were tasty!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

MARTINE P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Peu à dire sur cette observation: 3 baleines dont 1 seule nous a montré une nageoire. Nous sommes restés sur notre faim malgré l'optimisme du personnel. Peut-être y avait-il quelques phoques dans les parages mais on ne nous en a pas parlé. Dommage!

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even though it rained, the rafting tour was very enjoyable due in part to Rex, our GREAT tour guide. The scenery was amazing and the rapids were thrilling but not to point of death defying! Our group was pretty lively and we gained knowledge and friends.I think you will enjoy it even if you are a beginner, as I was.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

dhudson52

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We were very satisfied with this excursion the guide did an excellent job the weather was perfect

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Ken F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you enjoy a moderate walk in the company of an informative guide (Eric), with spectacular views and sometimes challenging terrain. Then you should enjoy this tour. The service provided is outstanding and you will struggle to find fault with your experience. Enjoy!!!!!9

Doing what: Adventure Hike Along Mendenhall Glacier and Alaskan Beer Tasting

Ahmed M. B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I was expecting more and the buffet was not to my expectations.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Elaine Chan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marvellous experience! Love the tagline of "Full refund if Whale are not spotted". We were surrounded by whales and spot a hill of sea lions. Dinner at Salmon Bake is good as well

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Terrific experience with my 8 year old granddaughter - you put in at the lake close to Mendenhall, not right in front of it, but you still get gorgeous views. The short time on white water rapids was very fun. Our guide was terrific and knew a lot about the geography of the area. Customer service was outstanding - we accidentally got on the kayaking tour and missed our rafting tour. A rep from the company came to the rafting site, took us back to the ship, showed us exactly where to be to pick up the rafting tour and got us on the next one. I was so impressed that they were so accommodating and kind. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Mildred Fay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had the best float trip ever. Beautiful scenery and amazing guide. We felt the tour people really talk care to see we were well taken care of. We will do it again. It was amazing

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was great. the Tour guide was young, energetic, and was having fun with us. He made sure the group had a good experience individually and collectively. One really good aspect was while the ship's large tour buses were being loaded and everyone herded, we had a small group that bussed together and did the tour together. The trip itself - lake, glacier, and river were just terrific. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely stunning scenery. I would have enjoyed a little more white water, but my eight year-old said it was perfect!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and two boys, 18 and 13, absolutely loved it. It was raining most of the time but our guide, Sam, was so energetic and fun that we could have cared less about the rain. Super fun. Do not miss this!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Jimmy N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Wished for a little more time at the Glacier. Whale watching was great. Salmon Bake was okay.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Marisa M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Misery. Rained the entire time. Cold of course. But at the end they had porta potties that were unreachable sitting in a pond of water instead of on a high spot. Silly really. The boat guide was nice and did the best he could to keep people happy.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Mark B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were fortunate to have a beautiful day in Juneau and a chance to be on the sea on a relatively calm day. The boat was a new high powered vessel that could get us quickly to sighting of whates before any other craft on the water that day. We saw many humpback whales, sea lions and eages on this tour. We had a great time and the salmon bake afterword was delicious. It is located next to a fast flowing creek with a beautiful view of a waterfall close by. All in all an exellent day in Juneau. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We all suited up from head to tow got into the raft and away we went. We had enough rowers to make it easy for our guide as a result we took the long way. the non rowers sat in the middle and the trip was just as enjoyable for them. The water temp. was 38* and the rapids were tamable. Hot cider and snacks at the end. The guides were and enthusiast and knowledgeable. A fun outing.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Dewey H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were picked up at a correct time from out ship and driven to the tour boat. On the way the driver told us many facts about this location and was very pleasant. The boat was fast and clean and the captain and his first mate did their best to find the whales for us and we got some great pictures. All in all I was very pleased but the tour and would do it again if in the area.

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

Johnny B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The tour itself was ok, the staff on the boat were very informative and upbeat. The "administrative end" of it emailed us the wrong time to show up so we missed the morning tour which I preferred the morning. They told us we didn't pay when we called in the 24 hours prior and we had paid. It was just a disaster from the start. I would not want to do this again.

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

Sabrina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a great time and the guides were great.

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message