One thing that drives travelers to visit outdoor destinations is wildlife spotting. This is especially true for Juneau, as the bear viewing in Alaska is world-renowned. Juneau specifically is in the heart of bear country, and is home to numerous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rob_kir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is pretty much a full day tour in a small, comfortable custom van/bus. There was plenty of space for back packs, camera bags, etc. The pick-up and drop-off was convenient as advertised. We opted for the very up close and informative glacier cruise. Definitely worth the time and extra expense. Our driver/guide was a very knowledgeable local lady who definitely knew the area, making the tour that much more inclusive and interesting. The highlight of this tour, for us, was the stop at a wild game preserve. We got an up close look at moose, elk, black and brown bears, wolves and porcupine in their natural environment. The entire tour was fun, informative and relaxing.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Lauren H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely a good way to visit the glacier. Saves doing this than booking through the cruise line. We spent the afternoon hiking the trails - even saw a bear and 3 cubs cross right in front of us. Great hiking and views!

Doing what: Round-Trip Mendenhall Glacier Shuttle Service

Corliss B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful Experience - Very knowledgeable Tour Guide - also recommending local things for us to do after the Tour. The food was wonderful at the café! Saw many animals at the Conservatory including Bears, Moose and he even stopped by a local stream where we saw Salmon. The Glacier cruise was fabulous. I highly recommend - it was everything and more. Thank you Viator

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience! Knowledgable and friendly guides and bus drivers. Saw almost 20 Humpback whales even a couple of full breaches! Staff knew exactly where to go. Local guides very pleasant and enthusiastic about their work and even knew how to identify particular whales. Mendanhall glacier site is beautiful with excellent facilities! Telescope available on stands free of charge from Visitor Center Viewing area. Missed the bears fishing for salmon as we were a week early for Salmon spawning run. Great walkway and viewing area for this along the spawning creek. Beautiful walking path around glacier lake. Well worth the purchase price. Saw hundreds of Bald Eagles lined along rivers out side of Juneau awaiting Salmon run too!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Amy F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour!! The guide / driver, Rebecca, is amazing. She was very friendly and flexible. When some people on the coach noticed a pretty area, she added an impromptu stop so we could get out and take more pictures. She wasn't at all in a rush like most tours she asked if anyone had dinner plans or a preferred time to return to Anchorage, and then gave us extra time to enjoy the scenery. It is a stunning drive, and the wildlife park doesn't disappoint. It's great to see the conservation efforts in action. The animals have plenty of room and a semblance of normal life. Make sure you try to catch the bear feeding. This tour with Rebecca was the highlight of my time in Anchorage.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

Annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The uphill climb is highly compensated by the glacier hike experience. You must do this while in Seward. The guides were excellent! We learned about the area and even saw tiny bear cubs in a tree. Pictures and words cannot describe the views and emotions at the top. All equipment provided.

Doing what: Exit Glacier Ice Hiking

Leasa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great!! The Mendenhall Glacier was amazing. While we were there we saw a black bear. It was amazing!! The beauty of the area is amazing. The tram ride was great as well!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Richard Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide and captain were both very knowledgeable, and found a group of humpbacks which we trailed for a period of time before seeking and finding other whales, sea lions - even caught a glimpse of a bear onshore. Would recommend this crew for my next trip.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Excursion

The GypsyNesters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Seward Highway passes through some of Alaska's most spectacular scenery, with glacier topped mountains rising right out of the sea. Then for a different perspective we rode the tram to the top of Alyeska and got the view of it all from above. To top it off we wandered through the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, walking within a few feet of musk ox, moose, and even a grizzly bear. All in all an incredible day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Lisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The BEST!! Lucky was my pilot and he was Lucky we saw bears, goats and had a blast!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

Christine A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

well planned out day. Wildlife Conservation Reserve was fantastic. Got to see bears close up in a lovely environment. Also bison, moose and musk oxen.
Portage Glacier cruise was excellent.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

eyesonchrist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I were both thrilled with this tour. From the very beginning to the very end there was a great degree of personalized service and congenial conversation. Ben the bus driver was a native Tlingit and delighted us by stopping along the route so we could have a photo op of dozens of salmon entering a stream to spawn. While we were there, a Bald Eagle came to rest atop a nearby tree. Then we spent a couple of hours walking around the Tongas National Forrest enjoying the sights of the Mendenhall Glacier and the nearby waterfall. The next shuttle driver, Donald drove us out to the docks were we saw 30-40 bald eagles scavenging on the shore looking more like a flock of buzzards than eagles. Then the boat captain, Ken, took us out to view the whales - holy cow batman! We were nearly on top of them, he had to work hard to maintain the proximity rules as the whales kept coming right toward us as they used the bubble net fishing technique. Our on-board biologitst, Michelle, explained the process and was a fount of fun trivia about not only the humpbacks we saw but also the harbor seals and the stellar sea lions. We could not have been more pleased. The weather was perfect, the wildlife was spectacular and the staff was exceptional. We even got a bonus, on the way from the glacier to the doc, we got to see a black bear crossing a field, right near the Walmart - definitely inside the city limits of Juneau. It was an experience that will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Peggy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Richard was fun and friendly. Loved the stop for a terrific home cook style lunch, food was delicious. Wildlife stop was awesome to see elk, bears, moose, and eagle up so close.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Suzanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Mendenhall Glacier was very beautiful. It didn't take long to cover the park but was able to take some very nice photos. Some people said they had seen bears.

For the whale-watching cruise, It took a while before we spotted any whales, but when we did, they were putting on quite a show for us. There were a few in one location, later there were a few more in a different location. Very active and made for many great pics.

I missed the City Tour but I figure I lucked out when I saw all the whales that I did, so I won't complain. :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Jill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Juneau Whale Watching was fabulous. Booking with Junea Tours Whale Watching made the trip. From seeing Orca's to having porpoises play in the boat wake was the best. Yes we saw Humpback whales, and bald eagles and seals and the "Jabba the Hut" big daddy seal. Everything was great. Glad we didn't book with the cruise, heard they didn't see what we saw!!! Only wish we did the whale watch before the Mendenhall Glaciar so we could have spent more time with the bears out on the Glacier and hiked out to the waterfall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Pauline G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Booked this for husband and son and it was the most amazing trip they have ever been on. They absolutely recommend it and their guide was very good. I have seen footage and pictures from their trip and it was mind blowing. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

Charlaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time. The Salmon Bake was delicious and what a wonderful site. Mendenhall Glacier is a breath taking, we even saw a bear. But the best was the Whale Watching, we saw so may whales. The boat was new and the crew was just

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Take me away

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Only one word: AMAZING! This was a great company to deal with. Corey was a fantastic guide and pretty good photographer! Would highly recommend this tour. Not only did we see bears, but we had a float plane trip and kayak included. Magical day.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

TravelTammy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an amazing day tour, the kayaking was fun, and getting to see the grizzlies was great. We were also lucky to get to see another 12+ grizzlies as we were flying back at the end of the night including babies. We had two fun and informational tour guides. This is a tour that I would highly recommend to others.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

Gail R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was fantastic, unfortunately the weather wasn't the best and we didn't get to see any bears but that can't be helped. Great to hear the history of the First Nation from our tour guide and hear him speak the language.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Anne and Greg R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The glacier is impressive as is the crowded conditions at the glacial visitors center. The shuttle driver, Fred, was great with his narrative. Fun jokes for the kids, and he spotted bears and bald eagles for passengers.

Doing what: Round-Trip Mendenhall Glacier Shuttle Service

Kim H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour. Our guide worked hard to ensure we had a good trip. We got to see two black bear cubs playing on the river bank.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour

Denise C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Steve, was terrific. He was very knowledgeable about the area, the history and nature. Always on the lookout for moose or bear or bald eagles, etc to point out however we were not fortunate enough to to get a glimpse of any animals. We were able to see a bald eagle in its nest. Steve was very accommodation to our schedule and picked us up on time as planned. The min-bus was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this tour if you want to get out of Anchcorage downtown area and see more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anchorage 3-Hour Tour

snomastv

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very nice intro to Anchorage. Had beautiful weather and saw a black bear with cubs on the way to a view point above the city.

Doing what: Anchorage City Tour with Optional Alaska Native Heritage Center Upgrade

Teresa S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Saw a bear, eagles and a few sightings of whales. It was chilly so dress warmly.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message