One thing that drives travelers to visit outdoor destinations is wildlife spotting. This is especially true for Juneau, as the bear viewing in Alaska is world-renowned. Juneau specifically is in the heart of bear country, and is home to numerous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good day out with lots of information on Whales to explain what we were to see. The crew made sure everyone was safe and kept us informed then it was up to us to whale spot. The background information on how and why they were there about was good. We saw whales and sealions sun bathing. Lots of great scenery too. Much warning about inclement sea conditions seemed fine to me compared to North Sea of UK.
Mendenhall was awe inspiring. We hiked to the viewing area and saw a white bear or as it turned out on checking the camera carefully a mountain goat . We missed out on the mother and 3 cubs that wondered past the car park area whilst we were keeping fit hiking, but what a view. Porcupine overhead nodded to us and we returned the compliment carefully.
Well organized but you do need to pay careful attention to which bus you get after the whale watching check it with the driver before you get on it!
Thoroughly recommended if you like wildlife . You could be idle or go off as we did and hike. Photographs are incredible , driver was great collecting and dropping us off at the ship. Others went in huge buses this was far less formal but more intimate. Like going out with friends.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to spend our limited time in Juneau. We probably saw 25-30 whales, including both Humpback and Orcas! Apparently the Orca's were a rare siting so we were happy to have had perfect timing. We even saw some sea lions sunning themselves on a buoy! There was both inside and outside viewing on a smaller boat and snack mid way through the trip bagel and drinks. The second part of the trip was to Menenhall Glacier. We had enough time to hike down to the waterfall to get closer to the glacier and take some photos. There was a salmon walk too but since time was limited, we only walked a bit on that path. Enough to see the salmon in the creek and a porcupine in a tree. We missed a bear by minutes according to some others on our tour which was our only disappointment. I would have liked to spend a bit longer 30 minutes maybe here because we felt rushed but that was our cruises fault not the tour. We only had limited time. Next time I guess.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Anthony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our excursion in Juneau was an amazing experience, that just happened to be a great value compared to buying through the ship. The glacier was cool, saw salmon and a bear, but the highlight was the whale watching. Ben and Jeremiah were amazing captains, super enthusiastic, funny, and informative.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Corliss B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful Experience - Very knowledgeable Tour Guide - also recommending local things for us to do after the Tour. The food was wonderful at the café! Saw many animals at the Conservatory including Bears, Moose and he even stopped by a local stream where we saw Salmon. The Glacier cruise was fabulous. I highly recommend - it was everything and more. Thank you Viator

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience! Knowledgable and friendly guides and bus drivers. Saw almost 20 Humpback whales even a couple of full breaches! Staff knew exactly where to go. Local guides very pleasant and enthusiastic about their work and even knew how to identify particular whales. Mendanhall glacier site is beautiful with excellent facilities! Telescope available on stands free of charge from Visitor Center Viewing area. Missed the bears fishing for salmon as we were a week early for Salmon spawning run. Great walkway and viewing area for this along the spawning creek. Beautiful walking path around glacier lake. Well worth the purchase price. Saw hundreds of Bald Eagles lined along rivers out side of Juneau awaiting Salmon run too!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Amy F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour!! The guide / driver, Rebecca, is amazing. She was very friendly and flexible. When some people on the coach noticed a pretty area, she added an impromptu stop so we could get out and take more pictures. She wasn't at all in a rush like most tours she asked if anyone had dinner plans or a preferred time to return to Anchorage, and then gave us extra time to enjoy the scenery. It is a stunning drive, and the wildlife park doesn't disappoint. It's great to see the conservation efforts in action. The animals have plenty of room and a semblance of normal life. Make sure you try to catch the bear feeding. This tour with Rebecca was the highlight of my time in Anchorage.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

gabriela h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on this tour, we saw so many whales, a mom and a calf, sea lions, bald eagles and tons of birds. Even though bear season started we didn't glimpse them on the glacier. All of the tour operators were nice and corteous and made sure we got back to the shop in time. We had 1 hr total on the glacier. i also liked that the boat was smaller and didn't feel crowded unlike others we saw on the water.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Leasa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great!! The Mendenhall Glacier was amazing. While we were there we saw a black bear. It was amazing!! The beauty of the area is amazing. The tram ride was great as well!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

The GypsyNesters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Seward Highway passes through some of Alaska's most spectacular scenery, with glacier topped mountains rising right out of the sea. Then for a different perspective we rode the tram to the top of Alyeska and got the view of it all from above. To top it off we wandered through the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, walking within a few feet of musk ox, moose, and even a grizzly bear. All in all an incredible day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Jackson T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful and very enjoyable. We were lucky to see whales on the boat and a bear when we were on our way to Mendenhall. We also enjoyed the details and the information from our driver to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Christine A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

well planned out day. Wildlife Conservation Reserve was fantastic. Got to see bears close up in a lovely environment. Also bison, moose and musk oxen.
Portage Glacier cruise was excellent.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

eyesonchrist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I were both thrilled with this tour. From the very beginning to the very end there was a great degree of personalized service and congenial conversation. Ben the bus driver was a native Tlingit and delighted us by stopping along the route so we could have a photo op of dozens of salmon entering a stream to spawn. While we were there, a Bald Eagle came to rest atop a nearby tree. Then we spent a couple of hours walking around the Tongas National Forrest enjoying the sights of the Mendenhall Glacier and the nearby waterfall. The next shuttle driver, Donald drove us out to the docks were we saw 30-40 bald eagles scavenging on the shore looking more like a flock of buzzards than eagles. Then the boat captain, Ken, took us out to view the whales - holy cow batman! We were nearly on top of them, he had to work hard to maintain the proximity rules as the whales kept coming right toward us as they used the bubble net fishing technique. Our on-board biologitst, Michelle, explained the process and was a fount of fun trivia about not only the humpbacks we saw but also the harbor seals and the stellar sea lions. We could not have been more pleased. The weather was perfect, the wildlife was spectacular and the staff was exceptional. We even got a bonus, on the way from the glacier to the doc, we got to see a black bear crossing a field, right near the Walmart - definitely inside the city limits of Juneau. It was an experience that will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Robert J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the trip. It was our favorite. We saw many whales and thought we were going to get to walk on the glacier. We saw some salmon, a mother bear and 3 cubs. The cubs climbed a tree

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Peggy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Richard was fun and friendly. Loved the stop for a terrific home cook style lunch, food was delicious. Wildlife stop was awesome to see elk, bears, moose, and eagle up so close.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Suzanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Mendenhall Glacier was very beautiful. It didn't take long to cover the park but was able to take some very nice photos. Some people said they had seen bears.

For the whale-watching cruise, It took a while before we spotted any whales, but when we did, they were putting on quite a show for us. There were a few in one location, later there were a few more in a different location. Very active and made for many great pics.

I missed the City Tour but I figure I lucked out when I saw all the whales that I did, so I won't complain. :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Jean h S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant whale watching on AukeBay. Saw about eight whales but the best was when two whales swam under the boat, surfaced within a couple of yards and blew their spout. Not only did we see whales we smelled them! Not pleasant. Captain Derek and naturalist Ali were excellent, full of useful info and finding good sites. Glacier very good but just missed seeing bear catching salmon. Best trip in Alaska.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Ron Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of the most spectacular sights was to see the humpbacks make their bubble net. At Mendenhall Glacier was able to see Bear and Bear Cub. Waterfall was spectacular.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Jill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Juneau Whale Watching was fabulous. Booking with Junea Tours Whale Watching made the trip. From seeing Orca's to having porpoises play in the boat wake was the best. Yes we saw Humpback whales, and bald eagles and seals and the "Jabba the Hut" big daddy seal. Everything was great. Glad we didn't book with the cruise, heard they didn't see what we saw!!! Only wish we did the whale watch before the Mendenhall Glaciar so we could have spent more time with the bears out on the Glacier and hiked out to the waterfall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Spanky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Such a beautiful and breathtaking experience. We definitely saw whales, three in fact. The skipper of the boat took us to a great location for viewing. We were so close that one particular whale was only 100 yards off the starboard side of the boat. WOW! We also viewed sea lions hanging off a channel marker on our way to the whales. One of them actually followed the boat as we circled the marker.
Mendanhall Glacier was fantastic. We spent a while in the information center, where we enjoyed a short movie about the glacier, as well as, many interesting facts about the animals that frequent the area such as bears and mountain goats. Although it was raining, the rain held off long enough for us to take some wonderful picture of the glacier. The tour was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Charlaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time. The Salmon Bake was delicious and what a wonderful site. Mendenhall Glacier is a breath taking, we even saw a bear. But the best was the Whale Watching, we saw so may whales. The boat was new and the crew was just

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a fantastic trip, highly recommended. It was the highlight of our Alaskan trip and we did see a number of whales, one of which was so close to the boat - absolutely incredible. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was just as fantastic and completed a wonderful day. We decided to take the 20 minute walk along the trek to the fabulous waterfall and on the way spotted a mother bear and cub, and a juvenile bear. On the return we were amazed to see a bear crossing the path ahead of us and managed to get such a great photo. What an experience, do not miss this excursion, so well worth the money.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Richard H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We saw a group of 5 whales that came together to feed for over an hour. The glacier was exceptional, and we saw a mother black bear and two cubs catching and eating salmon, climbing trees, and nursing. Outstanding!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

David R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Both the glacier and whale watching were spectacular and well organized. We saw humpback whales bubble feeding for a good 45 minutes. At the glacier, we saw a mother bear and 2 cubs, an eagle, and a porcupine.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Gail R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was fantastic, unfortunately the weather wasn't the best and we didn't get to see any bears but that can't be helped. Great to hear the history of the First Nation from our tour guide and hear him speak the language.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message