The Alaskan capital, Juneau has a tangible sense of history and contemporary charm. Gateway to the region’s otherworldly glacial landscapes, the city has heaps of gold-rush memorabilia as the site of Alaska’s first gold strike. Day 1: A Day in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 368 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vicki B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our 4th time zipping in different places. This particular zip was the best so far. Don't miss the opportunity of a life time with this one! Love, love, loved it.

Doing what: Douglas Island Zipline Tour from Juneau

Alyssa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this tour in July of 2016, on our own when our cruise ship docked in Juneau. We met our tour guide, Tom, and immediately knew that it was going to be a great trip! Tom was the best, he had an amazing personality and was pretty funny! Definitely, ask for Tom! The glacier was amazing! I wish that we would have had a little longer there, but given the overcast weather we walked around the path and visitor center pretty quick and still had some time to explore outside. It was a little wet, so the one path was closed. However, we still got some great pictures. The tramway was great! It was a cool view to see the town and the cruise ships from. At the restaurant, we had the clam chowder and salmon dinner. We paid extra for the crab nachos, the food was pretty good!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Doug C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw humpback whales bubble feeding which was amazing! The Captain and the girl on the boat talking to the group were both very good. Great excursion!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Anthony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our excursion in Juneau was an amazing experience, that just happened to be a great value compared to buying through the ship. The glacier was cool, saw salmon and a bear, but the highlight was the whale watching. Ben and Jeremiah were amazing captains, super enthusiastic, funny, and informative.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

DForest12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour. We saw a great number of whale sightings. We even got to see a bubble net feeding which is not very common. The glacier was amazing. The only small complaint was that the speaker system in the bus could use an upgrade

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour, very professional and organized. Whale watching was amazing and highlight of our cruise! We will definitely do again!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Tracy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had really good guides. We saw a number of humpback whales and then was able to go see some orcas.

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Cruise

Lawrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun and crew was very helpful. Saw many whales

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

DALE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was interesting and informative, it was well planned, amount of time was appropriate, Tram ride a good addition for other views not available otherwise, dinner was good.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to spend our limited time in Juneau. We probably saw 25-30 whales, including both Humpback and Orcas! Apparently the Orca's were a rare siting so we were happy to have had perfect timing. We even saw some sea lions sunning themselves on a buoy! There was both inside and outside viewing on a smaller boat and snack mid way through the trip bagel and drinks. The second part of the trip was to Menenhall Glacier. We had enough time to hike down to the waterfall to get closer to the glacier and take some photos. There was a salmon walk too but since time was limited, we only walked a bit on that path. Enough to see the salmon in the creek and a porcupine in a tree. We missed a bear by minutes according to some others on our tour which was our only disappointment. I would have liked to spend a bit longer 30 minutes maybe here because we felt rushed but that was our cruises fault not the tour. We only had limited time. Next time I guess.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Donald B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Awesome day, even though it was overcast, there were plenty of whales and lots of activities. The captain was active in locating the whales and the Mendenhall Glacier was interesting.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Mary T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Mendenhall Glacier is breathtaking. Unfortunately, we did not have a lot of time to enjoy it. By the time we walked to the glacier and back very quickly, I might add, there was not even enough time to see the videos at the Visitor Center. The whale watching was great. Our guide made a great effort so that we could see the whales. However, when 12 boats are standing around watching one whale, it is a little sad. I hope the whales don't mind the groups that had formed to watch them in their natural habitat.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Debbie F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

It was a rainy day and because of that, lack of enough time in port, and waiting in line for buses prevented us from doing the Tramway and Salmon lunch since we had to get back on the ship....Didn't think things were very well organized, we were kind of on our own changing from one activity to another.....changing transportation, etc...Plus the fact that it wasn't a nice day, just made the whole experience seem like a waste of time.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Russa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. They picked us up on time and the bus driver gave great info on way to glacier. We were able to hike to the beach and falls. Whale watching was great. The boat was really nice. Captain Ken and Ashley were informative and excited. Saw lots of whales and wildlife

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. John and Troy were superb. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Janice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our tour. Easy access from the ship and we saw several whales. Then we went on to the glacier and was returned to the ship in plenty of time to board.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Brittany E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour ever! First time in Alaska and it was worth the money for sure. We saw alot of orcas and whales, the glacier was gorgeous and the tour of juneau wad beautiful. Highly recommended this trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

JAY C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, especially whale watching. One of our favorite Alaskan excursions.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Abba United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, the boat is very fast and comfortable, there are snacks and drinks being served by the tour guide, the boat is not crowded and very comfortable, great value for the money.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the excurion very much. The two guides were fun and helpful...my husband has a disability and they could not have been more helpful!
Would recommend this tour in a heart beat!.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

HJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Unbelievable! Magical experience. A challenging, yet beautiful hike brought us to the ominous Mendenhall Glacier. Wow! Our very small group with Above and Beyond Alaska (ABAK) ran into another ABAK group and was able to discover a brand new (that day!) ice cave! Amazing experience. A must!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

Amavin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! We were two adults, two kids (teens) and we all had an exciting and awesome time.Tour guides were excellent and very knowledgeable about the area and sea life.We saw humpback whales, seals, orcas, eagles and lots of beautiful mountains, glacier and waterfall views. A must see!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message