Recherches récentes
Effacer
Kisenyi
Kisenyi

Kisenyi

Entrée gratuite
Kampala, Uganda

Les bases

Les visiteurs de Kisenyi ont l'occasion de voir comment les ONG locales ont lancé des projets locaux, tels que le projet d'aide aux taudis, pour apporter des contributions durables à l'amélioration de la vie des populations les plus vulnérables d'Ouganda. Avec un résident local de Kisenyi comme guide, les voyageurs peuvent explorer la région et rencontrer les habitants du district pour entendre des histoires et acquérir une compréhension claire des réalités et des défis de la vie quotidienne ici. Les visites s'arrêtent souvent au Parlement ougandais, au marché Owino, au marché Nakasero, à l'ancien parc de taxis, à la mosquée nationale de Kadhafi et au palais Lubiri.

Tout afficher

Choses à savoir avant de partir

  • Une visite éducative de Kisenyi peut offrir un aperçu puissant de la capitale ougandaise.

  • Portez des chaussures fermées adaptées à la marche sur des surfaces inégales.

  • Les recettes des tournées de Kisenyi servent souvent au financement de projets communautaires.

Tout afficher

Comment aller là

Kisenyi est situé au cœur de la division centrale du centre-ville de Kampala, et bien qu'il soit possible de s'y rendre par vous-même, il est préférable de visiter un guide expérimenté de la communauté pour rendre votre visite aussi éducative et non invasive que possible.

Tout afficher


Quand y arriver

Prévoyez de visiter Kisenyi pendant les heures ouvrables de jour, lorsque les diverses entreprises et petites industries sont en plein essor. De mars à mai et d'octobre à novembre sont les mois les plus pluvieux à Kampala.

Tout afficher

Une note sur l'éthique du tourisme dans les bidonvilles

Nous sommes sensibles aux problèmes et aux préoccupations entourant les bidonvilles, et nous comprenons que leur visite peut ne pas convenir à tout le monde. Nous croyons fermement que ces visites sont éducatives et permettent une meilleure compréhension de la vie ougandaise à Kisenyi.

Tout afficher

Recent Searches
Clear
Kisenyi
Kisenyi

Kisenyi

Free admission

Kisenyi, located in the heart of Kampala adjacent to the capital's central business district, is a huge neighborhood where some of Uganda’s poorest and most vulnerable residents live in extremely close quarters, many without access to running water. Despite these challenges, Kisenyi has a lively, vibrant atmosphere filled with informal businesses—everything from butcher shops and fresh produce vendors to furniture and metalworking shops. It’s been nicknamed Little Mogadishu after the 18,000 Somali refugees who call the slum home.

Learn more
Kampala, Uganda

The Basics

Visitors to Kisenyi have the opportunity to see how local NGOs have started grassroots projects, such as the Slum Aid Project, to make sustainable contributions to improving the lives of those in Uganda’s most vulnerable populations. With a local Kisenyi resident as a guide, travelers can explore the area and meet district residents to hear stories and gain a clear understanding of the realities and challenges of daily life here. Tours often stop at the Uganda Parliament building, Owino Market, Nakasero Market, Old Taxi Park, Gaddafi National Mosque, and Lubiri Palace as well.

Show all

Things to Know Before You Go

  • An educational tour of Kisenyi can offer powerful insight into the Ugandan capital.

  • Wear closed-toed shoes suitable for walking over uneven surfaces.

  • Proceeds from Kisenyi tours often go toward funding community projects.

Show all

How to Get There

Kisenyi is situated in the heart of downtown Kampala’s central division, and while it’s possible to get there on your own, it’s preferable to visit with an experienced tour guide from the community to make your visit as educational and noninvasive as possible.

Show all


When to Get There

Plan to visit Kisenyi during daytime business hours, when the assorted businesses and small-scale industries are in full swing. March through May and October to November are the rainiest months in Kampala.

Show all

A Note on the Ethics of Slum Tourism

We are sensitive to the issues and concerns surrounding slums, and we understand that tours of them may not be suitable for everyone. We strongly believe that these tours are educational and allow for a better understanding of Ugandan life inside Kisenyi.

Show all
Frequently Asked Questions
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What are the nearest attractions to Kisenyi?
Q:
What else should I know about attractions in Kampala?
A:
As well as visiting the Kisenyi, check out these trip ideas to make the most of your visit: