Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Judy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kats was the best tour guide ever! She made an effort to know our names and made us feel like family. She was informative and answered any question we had about other areas to visit on Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Although it was a long day on the bus, I had a really good time and a great orientation to this beautiful island. Our tour guide Jack was funny and entertaining. I still can't get over the fact that he can drive and give such a detailed tour at the same time. The sights along the drive are beautiful, but I wish there was time to stop at the Kauai Coffee Co. Plantation since it's on the way from Waimea Canyon to Waialua River. I also wish we had more of a choice of where to go to lunch. We were taken to a golf course for lunch. Overall, it was a fun and very informative tour. I really appreciated the hotel pick-ups/drop-offs.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Ray Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded all expectations. And the tour guide was amazing. Very special time. Highly recommend this trip and guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Lester F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was really good and thorough. Make sure you have full day. Boat ride was excellent. Tour guide talked too much about personal life and a lot of phony information. Hard to tell what to believe or listen to at times.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Laurie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip, the guide/driver was the best!

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Ricky L M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was good for seeing the island and learning some interesting facts. The tour driver was knowledgeable but Very NOT pc! We do not get offended easily and he managed to offend even us. Nice guy and knew lots about the island. The bus was comfortable. If you are looking to just relax and not move around much I recommend this tour. If you are looking to get out a little more then a hike might better suit you. But we did get to see a lot of the island we may not have.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Harry, our pilot, was awesome and the views were spectacular!! We would do it again and again.

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Nathan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is worth the money. There is so much to see and do on the island, however it takes a lot of time to drive to all of the sights because there is only one major road around the island. This tour easily checks a lot of sights off the list saving you time the rest of your vacation.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Donald E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very memorable tour with an ethnic Hawaiian guide who informed us about flora and fauna, Hawaiian history and native traditions. I had learned when I was 12 the motto of Hawaii and recalled it because of his running narrative.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Saw many parts of the island that we probably would not have visited. Our driver. Juan, was great! We were a small group, only 11, which was nice. It was just a couple of hours too long. I would skip the cruise and fern grotto and call it a day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mike W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Our pilot was very professional, but also very knowledgeable. He filled us with a great deal of facts and interesting tidbits about the area. And the Sights !!!!!! Oh my gosh. Incredible scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Tim B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of much of Kauai. Mark is an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Juan was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She showed us everything on our tour and more. It was a great day and well worth the price.

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

mfuss1 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was ok. The driver was fine but the canyon consisted of a grand total of 30 minutes at one overlook, that's it. We did the Sunshine helicopter the day before and you can see so much more that way.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was fantastic, a don't miss tour. Our guide, Vinnie, was very informative about the history and gave us insite into what we were looking at. Take this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message