Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wound up being a small group with nice people and we were able to see from the van easily. The assorted stops were great and the narrating by the driver was informative and interesting. As a native Hawaiian it was great to hear the history. We were able to make a lunch stop and good recommendation as to where to eat. Food truck ! Great ! The ride up Waimea Canyon was wonderful and the river boat ride was great too. We were last pick up so didn't have long pre ride but others had been in van much longer than us. We were dropped off last. It is a long day but was pleasant !

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had already done a helicopter ride, so the bus journey provided a second view. Really enjoyed the river part of the trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Laurie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We saw so many beautiful places and Kats was an amazing tour guide! She narrated the drive around the island with tales of history and explanations. A truly unforgettable day!

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Natasha Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Kevin and the girls in the office are the best! Had a great time and we are planning on doing it again next year!!! Loved it!!!

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Brenda L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My only complaint was that the first 2 hours were spent picking people up from various hotels. That is a long time to be on a bus before starting the actual tour. Otherwise, we were satisfied. Lisa, our guide/driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

JOCHU H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour guide was quite good, and I enjoyed the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River trip. But it was really disappointed that we failed to see Opaekka Falls. This spot is on the schedule and this is one of the reasons I booked this tour. But I ended up seeing no falls and even without an explanation. I asked the driver who dropped me back to my hotel whether it is the end of the tour or not, since we didn't go to the Opaekka Falls. The driver told me that maybe it was too late so no time to go. This is actually really not an explanation. I paid for this tour expecting to see both Waimea Canyon and Opaekka Falls. I feel like I had been deceived.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful time on this tour. The Canyon alone was worth the money by itself. Hopefully you'll get Lisa as your guide. She had a lot of informaion and loved to weave jokes into her narration.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour to Waimea Canyon was a little too brief. I am glad we went there on own and went to places the tour bus did not. The Wailua River tour was good, beautiful, and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Judy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kats was the best tour guide ever! She made an effort to know our names and made us feel like family. She was informative and answered any question we had about other areas to visit on Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Although it was a long day on the bus, I had a really good time and a great orientation to this beautiful island. Our tour guide Jack was funny and entertaining. I still can't get over the fact that he can drive and give such a detailed tour at the same time. The sights along the drive are beautiful, but I wish there was time to stop at the Kauai Coffee Co. Plantation since it's on the way from Waimea Canyon to Waialua River. I also wish we had more of a choice of where to go to lunch. We were taken to a golf course for lunch. Overall, it was a fun and very informative tour. I really appreciated the hotel pick-ups/drop-offs.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Rebecca J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour gave us lots of stops and chances to see the beautiful cannon and the grotto. A great trip, but a long day!

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

dockcf

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Waimea Canyon was awesome! Some stops were not necessary and could have been removed to shorten the tour. If staying in Princeville, expect about 11 hours on the tour bus as you will be picked first and dropped off last.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Ray Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded all expectations. And the tour guide was amazing. Very special time. Highly recommend this trip and guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Lester F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was really good and thorough. Make sure you have full day. Boat ride was excellent. Tour guide talked too much about personal life and a lot of phony information. Hard to tell what to believe or listen to at times.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Laurie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip, the guide/driver was the best!

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Ricky L M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was good for seeing the island and learning some interesting facts. The tour driver was knowledgeable but Very NOT pc! We do not get offended easily and he managed to offend even us. Nice guy and knew lots about the island. The bus was comfortable. If you are looking to just relax and not move around much I recommend this tour. If you are looking to get out a little more then a hike might better suit you. But we did get to see a lot of the island we may not have.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Harry, our pilot, was awesome and the views were spectacular!! We would do it again and again.

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message