Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wailua River

Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cathie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Be ready to get muddy. We went in December, and the trail was very difficult to manage with the mud. However the younger people in the family had no troubles with the trail. The waterfall was beautiful and well worth the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wound up being a small group with nice people and we were able to see from the van easily. The assorted stops were great and the narrating by the driver was informative and interesting. As a native Hawaiian it was great to hear the history. We were able to make a lunch stop and good recommendation as to where to eat. Food truck ! Great ! The ride up Waimea Canyon was wonderful and the river boat ride was great too. We were last pick up so didn't have long pre ride but others had been in van much longer than us. We were dropped off last. It is a long day but was pleasant !

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Louis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great experience on our Wailua River and Hike trip. My wife and I loved the views from the river and the hike was just right to see the fauna and flora. The guide was awesome and the water fall was the big pay off. We totally recommend this trip.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience from welcome at office through great trip with guide, Jamie! There WILL be mud that is sometimes slippery so wear appropriate footwear without socks!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Kevin F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very nice, trip up the river was easy and the guide was very knowledgeable of the area. Walk to the falls was a bit challenging, a walking stick would have been good to have.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Bruna B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It is with much sadness that I cannot give this tour a good rating. I have taken this tour several years ago and with great anticipation looked forward to his one. Once on the boat we were told that the Fern Grotto was closed. This was a experience, but a greater one was to follow. The presentation outside the grotto was the worse I have seen. Just a parody on the original. Where the first visit left me in awe this left me in tears. Possibly, if a person has not seen the original this ride on the river may be satisfactory. I cannot say. But if done it before or not, there is very little that make this tour enjoyable .

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! Well worth the time! The tour guide Pete was great and knowledgable about the island and the property. The equipment was well maintained, and the water wasn't deep, so it was very kid friendly.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had already done a helicopter ride, so the bus journey provided a second view. Really enjoyed the river part of the trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This adventure is the essence of Hawaii! Beautiful scenery all along the approx. 40 min. the river. The hike as a little challenging at times be sure to wear hiking-type sandals/water shoes - no flip flops! path was mostly flat and was dry the day we went. Jamie our guide was knowledgable and made you feel relaxed he carried our picnic lunch included in the price, food was good! The Secret Waterfall is unbelievable! Swimming in and around the falls is like a fantasy! The company provided waterproof backpacks for each kayak great for your phone/camera , etc. Recommend you bring/ buy bug repellant at the base store. Reasonable price for the adventure. Would highly recommend if you like to be active!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was a nice view of the North and East side of Kauai. Jeff our travel guide was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch

Brenda L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My only complaint was that the first 2 hours were spent picking people up from various hotels. That is a long time to be on a bus before starting the actual tour. Otherwise, we were satisfied. Lisa, our guide/driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

JOCHU H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour guide was quite good, and I enjoyed the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River trip. But it was really disappointed that we failed to see Opaekka Falls. This spot is on the schedule and this is one of the reasons I booked this tour. But I ended up seeing no falls and even without an explanation. I asked the driver who dropped me back to my hotel whether it is the end of the tour or not, since we didn't go to the Opaekka Falls. The driver told me that maybe it was too late so no time to go. This is actually really not an explanation. I paid for this tour expecting to see both Waimea Canyon and Opaekka Falls. I feel like I had been deceived.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Nathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Loved Loved!!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Anthony R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hiking was awesome and so was the Kayaking adventure, I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful time on this tour. The Canyon alone was worth the money by itself. Hopefully you'll get Lisa as your guide. She had a lot of informaion and loved to weave jokes into her narration.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour to Waimea Canyon was a little too brief. I am glad we went there on own and went to places the tour bus did not. The Wailua River tour was good, beautiful, and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

bonne.becker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an unbelievable experience, and worth every cent. The Kayaking was a first time event for the three of us, and the climb to this breathtaking waterfall was not to be missed. This had to be our favorite event of our time in Kauai. Thank you to our wonderful guide Tristan, who took such good care of us, We will be back

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Although it was a long day on the bus, I had a really good time and a great orientation to this beautiful island. Our tour guide Jack was funny and entertaining. I still can't get over the fact that he can drive and give such a detailed tour at the same time. The sights along the drive are beautiful, but I wish there was time to stop at the Kauai Coffee Co. Plantation since it's on the way from Waimea Canyon to Waialua River. I also wish we had more of a choice of where to go to lunch. We were taken to a golf course for lunch. Overall, it was a fun and very informative tour. I really appreciated the hotel pick-ups/drop-offs.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

dockcf

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Waimea Canyon was awesome! Some stops were not necessary and could have been removed to shorten the tour. If staying in Princeville, expect about 11 hours on the tour bus as you will be picked first and dropped off last.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Ray Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded all expectations. And the tour guide was amazing. Very special time. Highly recommend this trip and guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Lester F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was really good and thorough. Make sure you have full day. Boat ride was excellent. Tour guide talked too much about personal life and a lot of phony information. Hard to tell what to believe or listen to at times.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Laurie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip, the guide/driver was the best!

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message