Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wailua River

Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paula R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Kris was very patient, informative and personable. It was a beautiful kayak trip and hike. Just make sure to wear good shoes that can get wet, but that are also good to hike in. I loved it as well as the two other people in my party.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Dee Dee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our family had a fabulous time! Our 11 and 13 year old boys thought it was great and even the 16 year old daughter had a good time. Our guide Trevor was informative and fun. Bring shoes that you can get wet and hike in. The hike is muddy. Keen closed toe shoes worked well.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Diana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour covered so much ground I'd highly recommend it to people who want to get a good overview of many of the sights. We had a wonderful tour guide Lisa was extremely knowledgeable, outgoing, friendly and funny. In addition to seeing the Spouting Horn blowhole and Waimea Canyon and taking the river boat ride down the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto, we stopped at a coffee factory to taste different samples of coffee and see a comprehensive video of the coffee-making process. Fortunately, it was a beautiful day to see Waimea Canyon in all its colorful glory. We had plenty of rest-stops along the way, spent some time shopping and stopped in Waimea for lunch the Shrimp Station was a fun stop for coconut shrimp yummy. This was definitely a highlight of our stay on Kauai....thanks to Viator and Polynesian Adventures Tour!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Cathie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Be ready to get muddy. We went in December, and the trail was very difficult to manage with the mud. However the younger people in the family had no troubles with the trail. The waterfall was beautiful and well worth the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Jillene L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our experience could not have been any better. Fast and easy check-in. The company provided large 'dry bags' for our personal items in addition to ice cold water. Our guide was FANTASTIC! He provided a thorough demonstration on kayaking for those who had never paddled before. On our paddle down-river our guide gave us a history of the area and told us about the Royal Hawaiian traditions that were part of the history. After portaging the kayaks there is a bit of a climb to get up the slope to the hiking trail. Another adventure party member slipped in this area and fell into the river. Bring or wear water shoes or hiking shoes for this portion of your journey as the trail is muddy and difficult to traverse in some areas. The water shoes will come in handy when you arrive at the beautiful falls at the end of the trail. Our guide packed in and provided lunch for our group prior to the return hike and paddle up-stream. After our journey he provided tips for places to dine and visit around the island AND provided an ice cold fresh cut pineapple for all of us to enjoy as we cleaned up our gear and said our goodbyes to the new Ohana we made on the trip. I would recommend this trip and the charter service to anyone.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Eugene Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good and informative tour with a knowledgable guide. We would prefer to have a bit more time at Waimea Canyon as it was one of two destinations for this tour. Half an hour was not enough to walk around and check out the views. River cruise was very good.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wound up being a small group with nice people and we were able to see from the van easily. The assorted stops were great and the narrating by the driver was informative and interesting. As a native Hawaiian it was great to hear the history. We were able to make a lunch stop and good recommendation as to where to eat. Food truck ! Great ! The ride up Waimea Canyon was wonderful and the river boat ride was great too. We were last pick up so didn't have long pre ride but others had been in van much longer than us. We were dropped off last. It is a long day but was pleasant !

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Louis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great experience on our Wailua River and Hike trip. My wife and I loved the views from the river and the hike was just right to see the fauna and flora. The guide was awesome and the water fall was the big pay off. We totally recommend this trip.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience from welcome at office through great trip with guide, Jamie! There WILL be mud that is sometimes slippery so wear appropriate footwear without socks!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Kevin F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very nice, trip up the river was easy and the guide was very knowledgeable of the area. Walk to the falls was a bit challenging, a walking stick would have been good to have.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Bruna B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It is with much sadness that I cannot give this tour a good rating. I have taken this tour several years ago and with great anticipation looked forward to his one. Once on the boat we were told that the Fern Grotto was closed. This was a experience, but a greater one was to follow. The presentation outside the grotto was the worse I have seen. Just a parody on the original. Where the first visit left me in awe this left me in tears. Possibly, if a person has not seen the original this ride on the river may be satisfactory. I cannot say. But if done it before or not, there is very little that make this tour enjoyable .

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! Well worth the time! The tour guide Pete was great and knowledgable about the island and the property. The equipment was well maintained, and the water wasn't deep, so it was very kid friendly.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had already done a helicopter ride, so the bus journey provided a second view. Really enjoyed the river part of the trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This adventure is the essence of Hawaii! Beautiful scenery all along the approx. 40 min. the river. The hike as a little challenging at times be sure to wear hiking-type sandals/water shoes - no flip flops! path was mostly flat and was dry the day we went. Jamie our guide was knowledgable and made you feel relaxed he carried our picnic lunch included in the price, food was good! The Secret Waterfall is unbelievable! Swimming in and around the falls is like a fantasy! The company provided waterproof backpacks for each kayak great for your phone/camera , etc. Recommend you bring/ buy bug repellant at the base store. Reasonable price for the adventure. Would highly recommend if you like to be active!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was a nice view of the North and East side of Kauai. Jeff our travel guide was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch

Brenda L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My only complaint was that the first 2 hours were spent picking people up from various hotels. That is a long time to be on a bus before starting the actual tour. Otherwise, we were satisfied. Lisa, our guide/driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

JOCHU H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour guide was quite good, and I enjoyed the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River trip. But it was really disappointed that we failed to see Opaekka Falls. This spot is on the schedule and this is one of the reasons I booked this tour. But I ended up seeing no falls and even without an explanation. I asked the driver who dropped me back to my hotel whether it is the end of the tour or not, since we didn't go to the Opaekka Falls. The driver told me that maybe it was too late so no time to go. This is actually really not an explanation. I paid for this tour expecting to see both Waimea Canyon and Opaekka Falls. I feel like I had been deceived.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Nathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Loved Loved!!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Anthony R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hiking was awesome and so was the Kayaking adventure, I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful time on this tour. The Canyon alone was worth the money by itself. Hopefully you'll get Lisa as your guide. She had a lot of informaion and loved to weave jokes into her narration.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour to Waimea Canyon was a little too brief. I am glad we went there on own and went to places the tour bus did not. The Wailua River tour was good, beautiful, and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

bonne.becker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an unbelievable experience, and worth every cent. The Kayaking was a first time event for the three of us, and the climb to this breathtaking waterfall was not to be missed. This had to be our favorite event of our time in Kauai. Thank you to our wonderful guide Tristan, who took such good care of us, We will be back

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message