Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wailua River

Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Loved Loved!!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Anthony R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hiking was awesome and so was the Kayaking adventure, I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful time on this tour. The Canyon alone was worth the money by itself. Hopefully you'll get Lisa as your guide. She had a lot of informaion and loved to weave jokes into her narration.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour to Waimea Canyon was a little too brief. I am glad we went there on own and went to places the tour bus did not. The Wailua River tour was good, beautiful, and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

bonne.becker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an unbelievable experience, and worth every cent. The Kayaking was a first time event for the three of us, and the climb to this breathtaking waterfall was not to be missed. This had to be our favorite event of our time in Kauai. Thank you to our wonderful guide Tristan, who took such good care of us, We will be back

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Although it was a long day on the bus, I had a really good time and a great orientation to this beautiful island. Our tour guide Jack was funny and entertaining. I still can't get over the fact that he can drive and give such a detailed tour at the same time. The sights along the drive are beautiful, but I wish there was time to stop at the Kauai Coffee Co. Plantation since it's on the way from Waimea Canyon to Waialua River. I also wish we had more of a choice of where to go to lunch. We were taken to a golf course for lunch. Overall, it was a fun and very informative tour. I really appreciated the hotel pick-ups/drop-offs.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

dockcf

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Waimea Canyon was awesome! Some stops were not necessary and could have been removed to shorten the tour. If staying in Princeville, expect about 11 hours on the tour bus as you will be picked first and dropped off last.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Ray Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded all expectations. And the tour guide was amazing. Very special time. Highly recommend this trip and guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Lester F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was really good and thorough. Make sure you have full day. Boat ride was excellent. Tour guide talked too much about personal life and a lot of phony information. Hard to tell what to believe or listen to at times.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Laurie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip, the guide/driver was the best!

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was good for seeing the island and learning some interesting facts. The tour driver was knowledgeable but Very NOT pc! We do not get offended easily and he managed to offend even us. Nice guy and knew lots about the island. The bus was comfortable. If you are looking to just relax and not move around much I recommend this tour. If you are looking to get out a little more then a hike might better suit you. But we did get to see a lot of the island we may not have.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Keiko F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything (kayaking, hiking, and swimming at the waterfall) was great. The guide, Sage, was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I felt the tour was short in each segment and wanted it longer, but it probably means it was that good. The weather was very nice, too. If it rained before or duing the tour, the whole experience could be different, but it is life.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome one. We really enjoyed this tour. Bryan was our guide. He was very patient with us. We had some difficulties in the beginning with the kayak. He was patient enough to teach us and guide us. He was also very entertaining and knowledgeable of the local customers and events. He shared lots of information with us on the things to do there. The tour consists of about 2 miles of kayaking and 1 mile of hiking to the falls. Not a hard one. Nice experience getting to the falls.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent excursion. We had Kelly as our guide and he was knowledgeable, patient, and interesting. The scenery is spectacular and the kayaking and hike were adventurous, but not difficult. Everyone at Smith's was very polite and accommodating.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Sean K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! Good mix of kayaking, hiking, and swimming!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Nathan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is worth the money. There is so much to see and do on the island, however it takes a lot of time to drive to all of the sights because there is only one major road around the island. This tour easily checks a lot of sights off the list saving you time the rest of your vacation.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Donald E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very memorable tour with an ethnic Hawaiian guide who informed us about flora and fauna, Hawaiian history and native traditions. I had learned when I was 12 the motto of Hawaii and recalled it because of his running narrative.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message