Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Waimea Canyon

Kauai's most famous destination is rugged Waimea Canyon, a wild and wonderful river gorge that’s known as the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. Spectacular views and favored hiking trails are the canyon's main drawcards, with plenty of scenic lookouts, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour covered so much ground I'd highly recommend it to people who want to get a good overview of many of the sights. We had a wonderful tour guide Lisa was extremely knowledgeable, outgoing, friendly and funny. In addition to seeing the Spouting Horn blowhole and Waimea Canyon and taking the river boat ride down the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto, we stopped at a coffee factory to taste different samples of coffee and see a comprehensive video of the coffee-making process. Fortunately, it was a beautiful day to see Waimea Canyon in all its colorful glory. We had plenty of rest-stops along the way, spent some time shopping and stopped in Waimea for lunch the Shrimp Station was a fun stop for coconut shrimp yummy. This was definitely a highlight of our stay on Kauai....thanks to Viator and Polynesian Adventures Tour!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Eugene Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good and informative tour with a knowledgable guide. We would prefer to have a bit more time at Waimea Canyon as it was one of two destinations for this tour. Half an hour was not enough to walk around and check out the views. River cruise was very good.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wound up being a small group with nice people and we were able to see from the van easily. The assorted stops were great and the narrating by the driver was informative and interesting. As a native Hawaiian it was great to hear the history. We were able to make a lunch stop and good recommendation as to where to eat. Food truck ! Great ! The ride up Waimea Canyon was wonderful and the river boat ride was great too. We were last pick up so didn't have long pre ride but others had been in van much longer than us. We were dropped off last. It is a long day but was pleasant !

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great ride, excellent crew.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a fun experience! The bicycle trip was very well organized, the guides well-versed and expert in their fields.
The bike trip is a great family event...mostly downhill, making the need only to brake the bike to slow it down and some flat riding.
The day starts with a trial for each of us on the bikes, then we travel 40 minutes to the top of the canyon, stopping to take in some views and photos along the way. Once we get to the top, the bikes are unloaded and you begin your descent down, stopping regularly along the way. You travel close to 12 miles in a bit over an hour or so. Fun for all!!!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Bruna B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It is with much sadness that I cannot give this tour a good rating. I have taken this tour several years ago and with great anticipation looked forward to his one. Once on the boat we were told that the Fern Grotto was closed. This was a experience, but a greater one was to follow. The presentation outside the grotto was the worse I have seen. Just a parody on the original. Where the first visit left me in awe this left me in tears. Possibly, if a person has not seen the original this ride on the river may be satisfactory. I cannot say. But if done it before or not, there is very little that make this tour enjoyable .

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

jgeorge764

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent experience. Pilot was very friendly and knowledgeable and the views were amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ryan and Dee ROCK!!! Okay, so you know its an easy ride downhill on a cruiser bike. But if you want to really see the canyon and you do, on this tour, someone else drives you to the top at sun rise and you get the 360 view you want riding down on the bike. But even better, Ryan keeps you entertained the entire trip while at the same time giving you an excellent flavor of Kauai history and culture with timely tip ins by Dee. Then Dee after a brief trial period reorganizes the group, allowing the more experienced riders to the front. Then the last few miles, she lets those with the need for speed actually to the descent! Exhilarating and Awesome. A to Ryan and Dee!!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had already done a helicopter ride, so the bus journey provided a second view. Really enjoyed the river part of the trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Diane L A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing tour. Everyone at this company was awesome. Our pilot/guide was Marcus. He was so knowledgeable about the area and spared no effort to make this experience special. The scenery we experienced on this flight literally brought me to tears. Such amazingly beautiful and spiritually uplifting vistas that can only be experienced by air. If you are afraid to fly in a small plane, this is the pilot for you.Takeoff and landing so smooth, you wouldn't know if your eyes were closed!! Thanks to all at Wings over Kauai!

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was a nice view of the North and East side of Kauai. Jeff our travel guide was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch

Nrsimhananda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our pilot was the best. You would never even know that we took off or landed as it was light as a feather. He had great information about everything that we were seeing and had great advice on hiking.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

Brenda L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My only complaint was that the first 2 hours were spent picking people up from various hotels. That is a long time to be on a bus before starting the actual tour. Otherwise, we were satisfied. Lisa, our guide/driver was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

JOCHU H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour guide was quite good, and I enjoyed the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River trip. But it was really disappointed that we failed to see Opaekka Falls. This spot is on the schedule and this is one of the reasons I booked this tour. But I ended up seeing no falls and even without an explanation. I asked the driver who dropped me back to my hotel whether it is the end of the tour or not, since we didn't go to the Opaekka Falls. The driver told me that maybe it was too late so no time to go. This is actually really not an explanation. I paid for this tour expecting to see both Waimea Canyon and Opaekka Falls. I feel like I had been deceived.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! Very friendly, experience and knowledgeable pilot even though he looked very young.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wir hatten einen sehr guten Piloten, der uns alle Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Umgebung zeigte. Es gab genug Möglichkeiten Bilder zu machen. Die Zeit ging leider viel zu schnell vorbei. Empfehlung für alle Altersklassen.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful time on this tour. The Canyon alone was worth the money by itself. Hopefully you'll get Lisa as your guide. She had a lot of informaion and loved to weave jokes into her narration.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Terry M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great to do for something different. Downhill so anyone that can get on a bicycle can do this. Gorgeous view. If you get cold quickly take a sweater or light jacket.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour to Waimea Canyon was a little too brief. I am glad we went there on own and went to places the tour bus did not. The Wailua River tour was good, beautiful, and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Dona J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour with great entertainment, fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Don T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding travel guide/driver, one of the most informative we have ever had, and the experience was fantastic.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kaui Waimea is a MUST DO! Breath taking and beautifully.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Although it was a long day on the bus, I had a really good time and a great orientation to this beautiful island. Our tour guide Jack was funny and entertaining. I still can't get over the fact that he can drive and give such a detailed tour at the same time. The sights along the drive are beautiful, but I wish there was time to stop at the Kauai Coffee Co. Plantation since it's on the way from Waimea Canyon to Waialua River. I also wish we had more of a choice of where to go to lunch. We were taken to a golf course for lunch. Overall, it was a fun and very informative tour. I really appreciated the hotel pick-ups/drop-offs.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

dockcf

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Waimea Canyon was awesome! Some stops were not necessary and could have been removed to shorten the tour. If staying in Princeville, expect about 11 hours on the tour bus as you will be picked first and dropped off last.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Ray Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded all expectations. And the tour guide was amazing. Very special time. Highly recommend this trip and guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message