The first port of call on the fabled Alaska Marine Highway, frontier Ketchikan is a fishing and timber town with a rich Native Alaskan heritage. Get the lowdown on totems and wildlife, and learn about the town’s rip roaring days of a century ago ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our group of 5 had a wonderful experience. The weather was overcast, and misty, but we could see everything below us, and beautiful vistas glided by as we listened to commentary and music over our headphones. It was a very smooth and peaceful ride, and our pilot was calm and reassuring. We eventually landed in a waterway between some gorgeous peaks, where we could emerge and walk on the flotation edges of the plane. What an experience. A must do!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Emily R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was incredible. Staff was personable, friendly, and very informative. Boat was awesome! They had a touch tank full of lots of sea creatures (sea stars, octopus, different crabs, shrimp,etc). Seriously- do this tour! I can and #39;t recommend it enough.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

mswigg14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Terry, Andy and Derek were very entertaining and informative. We saw bald eagles, along with the different types of crab. I had not been interested in going, but my husband wanted to go, and now I'm glad I did. I would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Andres H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth the money. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Oh my gosh, it was fabulous!!!! Loved the plane ride and the crab was to die for!!! And I have never had better cheesecake in my life. Hopefully I will get to Alaska again and I will definitely do this again!!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Donald B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Our pilot was an hour late, which meant that our time in the air was limited, since we were apparently put with another group for the crab feast. The only thing I can say, is the crab was excellent, but we might as well have taken the bus.

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazingly educational - fun excursion . The crew aboard the Aleutians Ballad were men who were able to communicate just how dangerously exciting fishing can be on a crab boat. Made us appreciate those guys who risk life and limb to provide us fresh fish. Best excursion-we and #39;re still reliving it!

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Fjords were truly misty on this day but the views were still exceptional. The background music on the plane was well chosen and the pilot was a fantastic tour guide. Go Taquan!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

penny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great flight! Piolet was very informative.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Yuki M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very informative and was quite interesting. I have never seen so many eagles so close in my life. The area is somewhat small and is not very wild though. It is like walking in a well-maintained arboretum or a small forest preserve. The transportation to downtown area from the sanctuary is a little bit of a problem. We had to ask around and verify when we will be picked up. Still we needed to wait around half an hour or more after the tour.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Susan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Escape to beautiful scenery. Our pilot was very experienced and informative about the area. Our son got to ride shotgun and it was the highlight of our trip for him. Well worth the time and investment.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

bibi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative, not too long we did it with two kids under 3 and it was raining, beautiful scenery, lovely. bring rain boots, rain coats, warm clothes

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Stephen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The crab feast was great, the plane ride was not, just a high price cab ride!!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

leticia.pando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fun and interesting, though it was cut short.

Doing what: Ketchikan Rainforest Canoe and Nature Walk

mjowilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour. The staff on board were friendly and made sure we all had a great time. The surprise was the number of Bald Eagles we saw. The crabs and other sea life were very interesting as well. You could actually touch and hold a crab. The boat is very comfortable and no worries of rough seas.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Brooks K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great time. Easy walk and very informative. We even saw a bear.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

f.combs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful guided flight tour of Misty Fjords. We loved it!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Steven R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very interesting and fun experience.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Billie was a great guide. We got to explore beautiful Alaska. Stopped along the way to see 2 whales, many eagles, and seals. Lovely adventure. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Dr_R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Because of high winds, we were offered to fly high or to cancel. I elected to take the high trip so I acknowledge that the company gave me the option to cancel. I give them two stars for taking safety as the first priority. Warning to other travelers... flying at 6,000 feet over Alaska is just plain boring. I wish I had been given better information about what I was giving up, but still paying for. This was the worse of our three Viator excursions and much more expensive. Wish they had warned us about how much we would give up by taking the high trip. Don't do this if the weather keeps them from flying at the level of the cliffs and land on the water. The company's taped commentary was poor quality. This airline should stick to flying packages or else invest in people skills for passengers. A major disappointment.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

vsamuel7608

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was absolutley wonderful, our guide Summer was amazing, we saw bears, eagles, otters, heron, banana slugs and so much more. There was a totem pole being worked on while we were there which was great to see and talk with the craftsman. Would definately repeat this tour - I love nature and all it has to offer.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Lex B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great tour. The flight was awesome. Landing on the Fjord was great.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Ohiofreebird United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour was exciting and challenging. I was very fearful of falling off of the platforms, and the rain increased me fear. However, our guides were kind and truly helpful. We hoped to see bears, but we didnt see any. Other people from our ship did see bears in this area, so they are present here.

Doing what: Ketchikan Zipline Adventure

BOB W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message