The first port of call on the fabled Alaska Marine Highway, frontier Ketchikan is a fishing and timber town with a rich Native Alaskan heritage. Get the lowdown on totems and wildlife, and learn about the town’s rip roaring days of a century ago ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was excellent, they picked us up and returned us on time. The boating experience was very exciting. Got to see lots of wildlife. Our guide Billy was great fun and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this excursion to everyone!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Rajendra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an incredible venture

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Terri K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were glad that we walked to the dock and didn't wait for the pickup at the ship. Arriving early we were able to get seats that were completely out of the rain. Fun boat trip. Great eagle spotting and we learned alot about the crab industry. The fake trap was corny but informative. That is a very dangerous occupation and we are glad that the people care for each other.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our pilot was great, the weather was perfect and the views were very scenic. We only got to see seals, as far as wildlife was concerned, but that has nothing to do with the pilot. He was nice, professional and a cute.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Tibor N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

float plane was great and the crab feast was worth doing

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our group of 5 had a wonderful experience. The weather was overcast, and misty, but we could see everything below us, and beautiful vistas glided by as we listened to commentary and music over our headphones. It was a very smooth and peaceful ride, and our pilot was calm and reassuring. We eventually landed in a waterway between some gorgeous peaks, where we could emerge and walk on the flotation edges of the plane. What an experience. A must do!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Emily R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was incredible. Staff was personable, friendly, and very informative. Boat was awesome! They had a touch tank full of lots of sea creatures (sea stars, octopus, different crabs, shrimp,etc). Seriously- do this tour! I can and #39;t recommend it enough.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

mswigg14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Terry, Andy and Derek were very entertaining and informative. We saw bald eagles, along with the different types of crab. I had not been interested in going, but my husband wanted to go, and now I'm glad I did. I would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Andres H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth the money. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Oh my gosh, it was fabulous!!!! Loved the plane ride and the crab was to die for!!! And I have never had better cheesecake in my life. Hopefully I will get to Alaska again and I will definitely do this again!!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Jack J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour one of the best on our Alaska vacation. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Donald B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Our pilot was an hour late, which meant that our time in the air was limited, since we were apparently put with another group for the crab feast. The only thing I can say, is the crab was excellent, but we might as well have taken the bus.

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazingly educational - fun excursion . The crew aboard the Aleutians Ballad were men who were able to communicate just how dangerously exciting fishing can be on a crab boat. Made us appreciate those guys who risk life and limb to provide us fresh fish. Best excursion-we and #39;re still reliving it!

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Fjords were truly misty on this day but the views were still exceptional. The background music on the plane was well chosen and the pilot was a fantastic tour guide. Go Taquan!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

penny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great flight! Piolet was very informative.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Yuki M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very informative and was quite interesting. I have never seen so many eagles so close in my life. The area is somewhat small and is not very wild though. It is like walking in a well-maintained arboretum or a small forest preserve. The transportation to downtown area from the sanctuary is a little bit of a problem. We had to ask around and verify when we will be picked up. Still we needed to wait around half an hour or more after the tour.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Susan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Escape to beautiful scenery. Our pilot was very experienced and informative about the area. Our son got to ride shotgun and it was the highlight of our trip for him. Well worth the time and investment.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

bibi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative, not too long we did it with two kids under 3 and it was raining, beautiful scenery, lovely. bring rain boots, rain coats, warm clothes

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Stephen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The crab feast was great, the plane ride was not, just a high price cab ride!!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

leticia.pando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fun and interesting, though it was cut short.

Doing what: Ketchikan Rainforest Canoe and Nature Walk

mjowilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour. The staff on board were friendly and made sure we all had a great time. The surprise was the number of Bald Eagles we saw. The crabs and other sea life were very interesting as well. You could actually touch and hold a crab. The boat is very comfortable and no worries of rough seas.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Brooks K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great time. Easy walk and very informative. We even saw a bear.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

f.combs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful guided flight tour of Misty Fjords. We loved it!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Steven R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very interesting and fun experience.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Billie was a great guide. We got to explore beautiful Alaska. Stopped along the way to see 2 whales, many eagles, and seals. Lovely adventure. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message