The Gap of Dunloe is a narrow mountain pass formed by glacial ice a couple of million of years ago. The valley winds its way for 6 miles (10km) between Macgillycuddy's Reeks and the Purple Mountains. Along the way it passes five lakes, or loughs, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francesca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing journey! Really worth it!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Cheryl B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was nice for the price. It included drop off at the entrance to the gap. At that point one had to either walk or hire a pony trap. We chose to was but when we were supposedly,1/2 way into what was to be a 2 hour walk, we realized it was much more than 2 hours and worried we wouldn't get to boat launch in time. Luckily we were picked up by a nice couple driving the gap. Allow yourself 3 or more hours for the walk. The boat trip was nice and we were able to see wildlife with the guide sharing local history along the way.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Brittney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Phenomenal! This was such a wonderful experience. Laura was a treat on our drive to Kate Kearney's cottage and the Irish coffees were wonderful. My sister and I were paired up with 2 fun ladies from Wyoming and Jim and Thomas the horse were wonderful. The views and whole experience is breathtaking. I love the boat tour and the hunting lodge for lunch. I would recommend this tour to anyone. The Tangney family is a delight and anyone would be lucky to partake in this tour. I took several hundred photos and they just don't do it justice. My favorite part was when I stopped trying to capture it on film, but just sat back and enjoyed the view.

Doing what: The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Tour from Killarney

J'lene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a beautiful day of fun and sunshine! The pony and trap ride was great and our driver so very nice. I've waited six years to taste the vegetable soup again at lunch and it was great! Our guide on the river was so informative and funny! He was young and lives close to The Lake Hotel but I have forgotten his name. He made this the best day of our trip! Thank you!

Doing what: The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Tour from Killarney

thomas f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was perfect. Picked you up on the Main Street in Killarney, friendly staff drives you to the trail head at the gap of dunloe where you can get a snack, coffee or souvenirs at an adorable cafe before your trek. The hike was a good amount of time, not too long, beautiful views around every turn

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is great! This tour was a little hard to find but once you did they were very helpful. The hike is beautiful! And the boat ride is even better. The boat driver was really nice and gave some good informative info about the lakes and park! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Ingmar K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We started with the Jaunting car tour through the Gap of dunloe and we really enjoyed the beautiful landscape. The impressions are hard to getting in words, so let me only say it's a MUST SEE!
After the Jaunting Car Tour we had a small break of approx. 1 hour in a Irish cottage. The cottage itself it's not really a comfortable place, also the scope of foot or drinks is not the best and it's no closed cottage, that means only a roof without walls, so at cold and rainy days it could be very cold and ugly.
But never the less, after the cottage we had the boats trip and this was for me the best part of the complete tour. Shipping over the lakes of Killarney is really an amazing expirience and I like to repeat it in near future. Sure during this boat tour we had a bit luck with the wether and we had only sun for this 1,5h. In general the wether was changing continiously during the trip from rain to sun to hailstorm, but if you are prepared fur usual Irish wether, you'll have a gorgeous trip.
I hope this fiew words could give you guys a small impression, if you find any spelling mistakes you can keep it -
English is not my native tongue.....

Doing what: The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Tour from Killarney

Julia C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Here are some photos taken along the way

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

ptmickey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience not to be missed. From the boat across the three lakes to the horse carriage through the gap the scenery and guides were wonderful. Laura was great getting us to the start of the adventure and picking us up at the charming pub at the end. If you do one thing while in Killarney this would be it!

Doing what: The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Tour from Killarney

Amelia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. I would recommend it to anyone and Viator always delivers.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best of time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Annilise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view is stunning all along the 11K walk. The boat ride across all three lakes was breath taking.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My grandson's had a marvelous time. The center was easy to find, the trip out fast, our carriage and driver fantastic Thanks Suzie and the boat ride interesting and informative. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Will return next year for more of this beautiful area.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Jeane D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We like to hike in the countryside, so we opted to walk through the gap instead of taking a jaunty cart extra expense, not sure how much it was. It was a beautiful day and took us about 2.5 hours to hike apx 7 miles. There is a cafe at the end of the hike by the lake if you need a drink or sandwich. We almost missed the boat, but they called up another boat to take us across the lake to the Ross castle which is very close to the town Killarney. It was a lovely hike, we had a great time!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

paul.jennings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was by the far the best tour we did in Ireland. The views in the Gap of Dunloe were amazing. We were lucky to pick a nice sunny day for the tour, as weather and visibility are a factor. The trip up by jaunting cart and return trip by boat to Ross Castle are recommended.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sadly, did not get to go on this one because of weather, but WOW the trip we took was amazing. We are going back to do this one. :

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Rapha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Definitely worth doing if you want an easy way to get around. The Muckross House and Torc waterfall are absolutely gorgeous!

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very nice and intimate tour. Mike the guide was great.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Connie O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a nice afternoon tour when we weren't able to take a full day tour. Our tour guy was nice and the scenery beautiful

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Covered many sights that we probably wouldn't have seen without this tour. Ample time to explore/experience each sight. Relaxing and informative.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Marina G USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour had its unexpected advantages and faults. We were able to spend good time in every stop, walk around and take pictures. The road work prevented us from going to Gap of Dunloe. The guide said that if we went we would spend a lot of time in traffic and would not have enough time in other places. We visited Ross Castle, Muckross House and Gardens, Torc Waterfall and spectacular views of the famed lakes of Killarney. The guide did not really talk about these places. His explanations were so short that they practically did not exist. The tour was in a small van with air conditioning NOT installed. The temperature outside was 28 C, so with open windows we could manage. It would be much better with the air conditioning working. I still recommend this tour because the sites are very nice. If your guide gives you time to walk around and take pictures and enjoy all the beauty of each site you will be glad you went. We are glad we went.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Ronald B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very nice tour by a very competent and informative driver.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Vicky F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I were the only two people signed up for this tour but that was a real plus. We had a great guide and got a very personalized private tour of Killarney.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip. starting location was easy to find, the Jaunty Driver was very entertaining. The scenery was breath taking. The boats used on the lakes seemed a bit small but were very cozy. Lots of fun on this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message