The Ring of Kerry is a amazing route passing through some of the most beautiful scenery is southern Ireland. The route is circular and around 110 miles (180km) in distance. It passes through Killarney with its lovely National Park alongside Lough ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 634 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another great tour. Our guide was amazing! Couldn't have asked for a better day from the moment we met our guide at Hueston station until the return home. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true vacation! Rail Tours and Deros Tours looked out for me every step of the way. Dingle tour guide Morris was engaging and entertaining. Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay tour guide Jonathan foresaw the groups needs with a flawless plan. There's is no way I could have coordinated a tour this encompassing on my own.

Doing what: 4-Day Cork, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay Rail Tour

Dr James K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour operators were very efficient in checking us in. Great amount of of area and information.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Only way to see the ring of Kerry with out driving the edge. Very informative, bus very comfortable. however not being a tour bus fan, was a couple hours longer than would have liked ....

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Jonathan did a fantastic job handling transfers from bus to train with all train travel in first class reserved seating. Everything went without a problem. He produced a great tour by being highly knowledgeable on the history of Ireland!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

crs013

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome experience. A must-do if you are travelling to this beautiful region in Ireland. Don't plan anything else during the day as it will be packed up from 10am till 5.30pm, which is enough to make you want to rest after this 179km ride. Our driver Maurice was very knowledgeable and friendly at the same time, making the trip as pleasant as one could ever expect. The sheepdog training was very entertaining and enjoyed, especially since we were travelling with young kids.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. The driver was knowledgeable and interesting. There were several stops and they were all excellent. Don't miss the sheepdog exhibition.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

karin c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really nice time, great tour guide Patrick, interesting itinerary and the lovliness of Ireland and all the hospitable friendly faces of the people who inhabit this Most Green Island.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Norm P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is outstanding! Our tour guide, Patrick Foley was simple the best. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

gracelin814

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, well organized. Our local guide Patrick is such a great guy who is knowledgeable and humorous. The whole group had a lot of fun!

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Adele Higgins O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great -- weather not very cooperative, so we did not get to appreciate the beautiful scenery as much as we had anticipated. Highlight of the tour was the sheep dog demonstration.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Lauren B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I was pretty excited about this trip but ended up being disappointed. We stopped at too many places where we had to spend €5+ (like the dog show). Would have liked to have known that ahead of time. Also stopped at too many towns where there was nothing to do but spend money or stand in the rain.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Christina B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The good: Ring of Kerry is gorgeous. Champion sheep dog herder demonstration was one of my favorite things on our trip entrance fee sep.
The bad: Big bus with lots of people maybe 40ppl. Tour guide didn't share a whole lot of info. I've been on other viator tours where the guide essentially leaves the mic on and shares a lot along the way. This one was friendly but only spoke about a short paragraph every hour and it sounded scripted. The last half of the trip was covered in fog so you couldn't see anything...not their fault of course.

Bottom line: The Ring of Kerry is worth a tour. Much better then trying to drive and not see what's around you. If I could do it again I'd spend a few days in Killarney and last minute book the nicest day OR spend a little extra on a small group tour that has the flexibility to change up the locations based on weather.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Diana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip. Our guide was great and knew lots of information. My children really enjoyed the dog exhibition.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Christine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip! The driver was amazing with both the history he shared and his driving skills. We were able to see the Ring of Kerry stress free and fully enjoy the views! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was the right amount of time, the right amount of stops and a great way to get to know Ireland. Our tour guide Patrick Foley was so welcoming and full of facts and interesting tidbits about his homeland. This size tour is great because the van can get in and around some areas where the larger buses cannot go. I was traveling with two other friends and we opted to stay at the hotels. All the accommodations were wonderful and close to restaurants/pubs and shopping. Patrick took his time to introduce us to towns where we were staying and made sure we knew where to go and how to get there. I highly recommend this tour if you've never been to Ireland before and want to get a really great introduction and want to check the kissing the Blarney stone off your bucket list. Slainte!

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just loved this tour! It was one of our favorites of the trip. Jonathan was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

GMR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Norman was a wealth of know and his enthusiasm for trains was evident. I was able to add an addition day to see the Cliffs of Moher. Wish I could have stayed another day to go to the Aran Islands. Rail tours are well designed and fun to use the trains instead of the couch the whole time. Thanks NORMAN!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Alyssa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ray was absolutely fantastic. Great tour, would do it again.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Natalie S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

So early!! Other than that, it was a great trip. There was only the slightest bit of a sprinkle, and we weren't inconvenienced by it. The scenery is spectacular, of course, and I took many pictures that turned out quite well. The lunch stop had good food, not unreasonably priced. One day out from Dublin, around the Ring, and back to the city is a crazy trip to make, with not much time in any one place, but that's what I knew to expect. We were well taken care of by the personable guides, who are not full-out tour directors. The guide on the bus, of course, was more informative. The trip was no more than, but as much as I expected. Since we'd already spent time in Killarney on two previous trips, we wanted to do the Ring in the limited time we had available, and that is what we did.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

ckuch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall it was a good trip. A large area was covered and we got to see many things. Blarney Castle grounds are amazing and a horticulturists dream. The long line to kiss the Blarney Stone was anticlimactic but part of the process. The B and B accommodations in Killarney were sub par. While the host was pleasant and the breakfast was very good, the place was old and tired. My expectation for a charming Irish cottage was way off! I emailed Rail Tours to resolve for the second night but they were not helpful and said there were no more B and Bs and if I wanted a hotel we'd have to pay an extra 78euro for the two of us. Not a good option for standard lodging.

There were several stops along the way to the major attractions. We had photo opps and lunch breaks however, the tour company didn't include the fees for some of the stops sheep dog demo, peat village. Very nit picky for 5-7 euro per person...make it an all inclusive. The train had some construction delays, which Railtours was aware of. We got off the coach bus to get on a train, sat for nearly 2 hours with various delays while our coach bus continued to our next destination with empty seats and our luggage. Seemed crazy when we had this transportation option. The tour guide said it was some contractual thing with train?!

The tour guides were good, some better than others. We saw a lot and learned a lot. Like any tour, there are places that you would like to spend more time. This tour allowed us to see some major sites on our short trip to Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Joshua S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this bus trip. Many spectacular views.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Melissa G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Bad guide. Little information given about location. He drove the bus and directed us to picture location.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry plus Killarney Lakes & National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message