Ross Castle was built in the late 15th century by the O'Donoghue clan and has a wonderfully eventful history of battles and legends. In the Desmond rebellion of the 16th century the castle changed hands and was then occupied by the Brownes who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Benjamin Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely stunning walking through the Gap of Dunloe, you had 2 options to go through it. Either physically walking it or taking a horse ride, the walk was 3 hours and horse is 90 mins. The road is completely paved so there's no way you can get lost, there are TONS picturesque moments so I do recommend the walk.

There is a boat ride back to along the rivers to Ross Castle which was roughly about 60 mins I could be wrong but I found that part was absolutely gorgeous, we also completely lucked out since the weather was sunny were as the week before it was raining like no tomorrow.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

BRIAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was lucky with the weather when going through the Gap of Dunloe which was stunning.Went on the pony and trap but if you choose you can walk the 7 miles although their is a lot of up.Unfortunately the 14 mile trip on the lake it rained but it was made by the knowledge of the guide.Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Nitzan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

that was the highlight of my trip. It is a hike, and it is stunnigly beautiful. if you can, walk it, it's worth it!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Joshua S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I decided to hike instead of doing the horse carts. Amazing views and scenery. We had a great time and would definitely recommend it. It was quite a long hike but we were looking to get a little exercise. Great trip!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Francesca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing journey! Really worth it!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Cheryl B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was nice for the price. It included drop off at the entrance to the gap. At that point one had to either walk or hire a pony trap. We chose to was but when we were supposedly,1/2 way into what was to be a 2 hour walk, we realized it was much more than 2 hours and worried we wouldn't get to boat launch in time. Luckily we were picked up by a nice couple driving the gap. Allow yourself 3 or more hours for the walk. The boat trip was nice and we were able to see wildlife with the guide sharing local history along the way.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

thomas f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was perfect. Picked you up on the Main Street in Killarney, friendly staff drives you to the trail head at the gap of dunloe where you can get a snack, coffee or souvenirs at an adorable cafe before your trek. The hike was a good amount of time, not too long, beautiful views around every turn

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Milton P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was a great one hour tour! The owner of the boat gave a lot of great history and was funny at the same time. Very calm ride, no waves. There is an open air back of the boat where you can go to take photos of you like. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Boat Ride On The Lakes Of Killarney National Park

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is great! This tour was a little hard to find but once you did they were very helpful. The hike is beautiful! And the boat ride is even better. The boat driver was really nice and gave some good informative info about the lakes and park! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Julia C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Here are some photos taken along the way

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Amelia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. I would recommend it to anyone and Viator always delivers.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best of time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Annilise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view is stunning all along the 11K walk. The boat ride across all three lakes was breath taking.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My grandson's had a marvelous time. The center was easy to find, the trip out fast, our carriage and driver fantastic Thanks Suzie and the boat ride interesting and informative. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Will return next year for more of this beautiful area.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Jeane D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We like to hike in the countryside, so we opted to walk through the gap instead of taking a jaunty cart extra expense, not sure how much it was. It was a beautiful day and took us about 2.5 hours to hike apx 7 miles. There is a cafe at the end of the hike by the lake if you need a drink or sandwich. We almost missed the boat, but they called up another boat to take us across the lake to the Ross castle which is very close to the town Killarney. It was a lovely hike, we had a great time!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

paul.jennings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was by the far the best tour we did in Ireland. The views in the Gap of Dunloe were amazing. We were lucky to pick a nice sunny day for the tour, as weather and visibility are a factor. The trip up by jaunting cart and return trip by boat to Ross Castle are recommended.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sadly, did not get to go on this one because of weather, but WOW the trip we took was amazing. We are going back to do this one. :

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

Rapha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Definitely worth doing if you want an easy way to get around. The Muckross House and Torc waterfall are absolutely gorgeous!

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very nice and intimate tour. Mike the guide was great.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Connie O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a nice afternoon tour when we weren't able to take a full day tour. Our tour guy was nice and the scenery beautiful

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Covered many sights that we probably wouldn't have seen without this tour. Ample time to explore/experience each sight. Relaxing and informative.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Marina G USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour had its unexpected advantages and faults. We were able to spend good time in every stop, walk around and take pictures. The road work prevented us from going to Gap of Dunloe. The guide said that if we went we would spend a lot of time in traffic and would not have enough time in other places. We visited Ross Castle, Muckross House and Gardens, Torc Waterfall and spectacular views of the famed lakes of Killarney. The guide did not really talk about these places. His explanations were so short that they practically did not exist. The tour was in a small van with air conditioning NOT installed. The temperature outside was 28 C, so with open windows we could manage. It would be much better with the air conditioning working. I still recommend this tour because the sites are very nice. If your guide gives you time to walk around and take pictures and enjoy all the beauty of each site you will be glad you went. We are glad we went.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Ronald B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very nice tour by a very competent and informative driver.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Vicky F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I were the only two people signed up for this tour but that was a real plus. We had a great guide and got a very personalized private tour of Killarney.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message